WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Lots of New "Captain America" Story Details Revealed

Posted: November 1st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Lots of New "Captain America" Story Details RevealedSubmit Comment
We recently showed you a bunch of new photos from "Captain America: The First Avenger" that appeared in this week's issue of Entertainment Weekly. And now we have some of the details that came along with the photos.

* Chris Evans did not want to sign a nine picture deal with Marvel that would have included three "Captain America" films, three "The Avengers" installments and three other appearances in Marvel movies. No word on which three were cut out of the deal.

* Evans had to bulk up for the role, since he will be playing Captain America. But the movie will also needs shots of him as a scrawny soldier. Director Joe Johnston will use "clever camera angles, costume trickery and special effects that will digitally reduce Evans' body or even put his face on a skinny actor.

* When the film gets released in countries other than America, the studio is planning to drop "Captain America" from the title and just call it "The First Avenger."

* Marvel initially wanted the movie to jump between the past and the present, but that didn't work as an origin story. The decision was made to keep it mostly in WWII.

* The plot features Captain America as the leader of a team of international elite soldiers known in the comic books as the Howling Commandos. The mission will deal with the Red Skull, Hitler's head of weaponry and the Cosmic Cube.

* The movie will set up "The Avengers," but since it is set several decades in the past, it will begin and end with the classic "frozen in ice" storyline.

* The classic comic book costume with the wings on the head will appear in the movie. Evans wears it when he's used as a propaganda tool. He hates it and eventually goes to Howard Stark of Stark Industries to help him build the new, more advanced suit that he ends up wearing for most of the film.

Click here to read mor about "Captain America: The First Avenger."

Source: /Film, EW


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 45 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
masht7 writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 7:03:48 AM

For some reason, I'm liking this movie a little more, I don't know why.
johnny_boy writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 7:04:16 AM

Sounds good I guess. Now where's the trailer?
VDODSON writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 7:20:16 AM

The only thing holding this movie back is Johnstons track record. For some reason I just see him f*cking it up somehow. Cap is the greatest super hero ever depicted in writing, they should have given the man the respect he deserves by placing the movie in the hands of a competent director. Johnston- Please prove me wrong.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 7:31:46 AM

* Evans had to bulk up for the role, since he will be playing Captain America. But the movie will also needs shots of him as a scrawny soldier. Director Joe Johnston will use "clever camera angles, costume trickery and special effects that will digitally reduce Evans' body or even put his face on a skinny actor.



He won't. This will be a collosal clusterf*ck.
telur writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 7:35:40 AM

i know they not to use Captain America in international title... because "A" word can mean Australian or African. He's not gay or black right?
masht7 writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 7:37:43 AM

@telur

I'm Australian and I'm not gay, thank you very much (and I don't know many gay Aussies).
boogiel writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 7:39:16 AM

"When the film gets released in countries other than America, the studio is planning to drop "Captain America" from the title and just call it "The First Avenger"

You don't say.
Ari Gold writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 7:51:48 AM

@masht7
Forget Telur she is a dirty mole.

Fuuuck! Three Avengers films? Are they going to set them all up like this one? Is Downey keen to be locked down to Iron Man for that long?
CCBlev writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 8:07:03 AM

Johnston you f*ck this up I'm gonna burn your house down, kill your dog and rape your daughter.
CCBlev writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 8:10:05 AM

Hey miss type something. we have spell check now. Not quite an edit button but it works
johnny_boy writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 8:28:15 AM

@CC-and if he doesn't have a dog, we'll buy him one and then you can kill that too.
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 8:34:14 AM

Check out the exclusive new Transformers from Transformers 3!!!:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ovlaJ-NztdE

;)
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 9:18:41 AM

If he signed on for 6 films as Cap I am assuming that they all will be released in the next 5 years?

It is looking better and better though. I might actually pay to see this.........no no I wont
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 9:25:55 AM

This is sounding better than Iron Man, the Avengers, Thor and Green Lantern.

Ironic, considering I am not a fan of Captain America comics.
rabid writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 10:23:37 AM

Sounds f*cking awesome
Man in Black writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 12:14:29 PM

* When the film gets released in countries other than America, the studio is planning to drop "Captain America" from the title and just call it "The First Avenger."

and so the terrorist win... really is it that hard to give people the finger them to suck it and leave the title the way it is
johnny_boy writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 12:17:59 PM

@man in black- they take down captain america cuz it has "america" in it. Marvel wants to make money world wide and people hate America. Of course when there's trouble and no where left to turn to, they come to us for aid.
bspence writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 1:05:25 PM

looking better. i agree with almost everyone here though and i just dont want my hopes up until i see a trailer cause i just cant trust johntson with his history.

@spookycupcakes
how the hell does this look better then Green Lantern!? jw.

personally im excited for everything DC thats coming out. still wish TDKR had riddler but oh well. as far as marvel goes, i dont judge any of these avenger movies anymore till i see a trailer. so with that said i think thor, spiderman reboot, deadpool, and MAYBE xmen first class cap america, and wolverine 2 is all they got going. and of course avengers as potiental (at best right now).

on a sidenote i was thinking, if robert rodriguez is dumb enough (still love the guy) to turn down deadpool then i think he should do sin city 2 (which i think he is) and then do the daredevil reboot. if you got good writers and cast (like deadpool had) then add RR to it...id pay to watch that version of daredevil!
redbluedevil writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 1:07:02 PM

Agree with VDODSON. This looks promising but Johnston's track record is awful. Hopefully this one works out well...
J.A.Ottley writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 1:24:39 PM

Ok I'm just a little confused, Is this just meant to be a proper film or is Marvel just going to allow Johnston to keep gang-banging this production....

Seriously, a 9 pic deal for the price he got, and seriously I'm starting to wonder about why Disney / Marvel did it this way. And their business tactic is filthy and dirty but smart and admirable, I guess...
If it fails, it fails, which THE FIRST AVENGER will, sorry I'm not in the U.S :) HAHA, just look at the director.

The whole switching the title, for the U.S & other countries will damage its box-office, I guess were prefably probably wait for the patriotic stories that may follow, and well CAPTAIN AMERICA is a unique selling pointing for the title....Who gives two flying titties if his The First Avenger.

And ROTFLMAO at this extract....

"Director Joe Johnston will use "clever camera angles, costume trickery and special effects that will digitally reduce Evans' body or even put his face on a skinny actor."

GTFO Johnson

TRULY is the only spectacular thing about this film...HUGO WEAVING

Ahhhh that was a fine rant HAHA
mrstretch writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 1:30:12 PM

this will suck balls.
BlueJulias writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 1:47:23 PM

I feel like this is just going to be a "GI Joe: The Rise of Cobra" set in WWII. Ever since Marvel did a kick ass "Iron Man," it's all been downhill.
BlueJulias writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 1:47:27 PM

I feel like this is just going to be a "GI Joe: The Rise of Cobra" set in WWII. Ever since Marvel did a kick ass "Iron Man," it's all been downhill.
Rambo writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 2:15:04 PM

joe johnston will f*ck it up for sure,don't worry
Ranger writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 2:26:14 PM

@CC - but not necessarily in that order... right?

'...or even put his face on a skinny actor.' --- sounds like a 'Face Off!' sequel.

'Marvel initially wanted the movie to jump between the past and the present, but that didn't work as an origin story.' --- savvy decision Marvel, considering his 'origin' IS IN THE PAST!!!

Not looking forward to seeing the Captain America - Howard Stark sex scene though.

This is sounding... better.
CCBlev writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 3:12:57 PM

Ranger- if he's smart,which he's not. He'd set it up to where I can get his daughter first and he makes a clean get away. No matter I'd still find him later and then I'll castarte him for this future f*ck up.
Ranger writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 3:25:35 PM

lol... good man!
Ranger writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 3:26:55 PM

Who is the gay soldier that's GLADD to be feeling Captain America's BI-cep?

Ted Mosby writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 3:37:24 PM

Can't agree with anyone saying this looks better then green lantern but I will admit I'm getting more into this film then thor...
CCBlev writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 3:50:02 PM

Rnagwe- I just wanna know who's gonna be GLADD when this atrocity comes out?
CCBlev writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 3:51:05 PM

I mean Ranger, sorry I'll type with 2 hands and get off of j*zzhut
Ranger writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 3:56:26 PM

I know... this could go so well, or so horribly wrong... we all seem to agree Johnston is the wild card on this.

I'm optimistic. I'm more excited for the GL movie though. I've been awaiting that movie (hopefully done really, REALLY well) for decades!
FBO writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 4:38:03 PM

@CCBlev - I thought we were going to Burn his Daughter down, Kill his House and Rape his Dog, but I guess your way works too...
trailertrash writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 4:49:09 PM

CC-

Rnagwe lovely asian girl on j*zzhut loves c*ck in all holes and likes nothing better than a golden shower and a good rim job.
J.A.Ottley writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 5:26:33 PM

@Ranger

You mean the wild card, that should be thrown out and burnt to piece of toast...

The whole funniest thing about this whole CAPTAIN AMERICA Project and this is the biggest joke of all, and I'm dead serious here...

Joe Johnston got this over Darren Aronfonsky.

How in Mickey Mouse's name ridden sideways does something like that happen...

How, I mean how can Johnston have got this job over Aronfonsky...
trailertrash writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 5:38:55 PM

How, I mean how can Johnston have got this job over Aronfonsky...

Jumanji
Jurassic park 3
Honey i Shrunk the Kids
Even Rocketeer

Effects on the Star Wars movies.

He was the safer bet i guess with his track record in family movies already (even though they were average at best), As aposed to Aronofsky darker more adult work.
trailertrash writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 5:51:56 PM

Or he just sucked on the right c*ck , who know's
J.A.Ottley writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 5:59:09 PM

@Trailer

I guess, but have they not seen Johnston recent track records...Johnston's career died 15yrs ago after Jumanji.

Darren's well his been successful on everything he does, I have yet to see 1 film of his I don't like and maybe i don't know, it would have been epic to see his take on it.
His talk on Captain America was sincerly amazing, as a fan of Aronfonsky and a newly found fan of Captain America
trailertrash writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 6:18:38 PM

J.A.Ottley

I make you right , i like Aronofsky as well (not seen Black Swan yet but i will) anyone who can make Marlon Waynes watchable must be some director (lol)

Will just have to see what he can do with Wolverine, If he makes a good movie out of that and JJ messes this up then we will know they hired the wrong man.
darkraven28 writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 6:54:28 PM

Why is Marvel so goddamn stupid? No, your actors don't want to sign a NINE-picture deal, you idiots! Maybe actors just want to try a superhero movie. And then if they like it, MAYBE they'll do a sequel. Then you re-negotiate the deals whether you like it or not. That's life, FEIGE!!!!
J.A.Ottley writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 7:58:57 PM

@Trailer
You just literally defined Aronfonsky, in that paragraph. First time I saw Requiem for a dream I seriously thought it was a comedy about drugs, just because of Marlon Waynes being in the cast... But after the film, I was amazed by Darren and of course Marlon in a proper serious role, living proof he can act in a serious form.

I'm amped for Wolvie 2 but I'm more amped for Machine Boy
Ranger writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 8:24:38 PM

$10. says they got Johnston because he's working for peanuts like Evans is.
CCBlev writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 8:35:11 PM

Trailer-Don't forget the glass bottom boat.
FBO-Either way works for me, bc either way they're f*cked.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 1:50:38 AM

I'm cool with everything except them dropping "Captain America" f*cking douches should leave it there.

He is called "Captain America" for f*cks sake!!
Ranger writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 7:23:37 PM

Every time someone thinks they're being 'politically correct' they lose another vertebra from their spine.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved