WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Halloween Only: Watch First 16-Minutes of "In Memorium," "Paranormal Activity" Predecessor

Posted: October 31st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Halloween Only: Watch First 16-Minutes of "In Memorium," "Paranormal Activity" PredecessorSubmit Comment
Back in 2005, director Amanda Gusack (The Betrayed) put together a horror film called "In Memorium" on a tiny budget. The film appeared at several film festivals, where it garnered critical praise, but the filmmakers opted to shelve it after failing to find an offer that would cover their selling costs.

Now thanks to the popularity of "Paranormal Activity," the movie has become in high-demand, despite the fact that "Paranormal" is considered a rip-off of "In Memorium" and not the other way around.

To get the film to the public, the filmmakers have decided to release the movie independently later this year through a paid 30-day-rental stream on IndieFlix. To get people excited, a 16-minute opening scene has appeared on the official website. The clip will stay on there all day Halloween (October 31st) and will then be swapped out for the release date.

I (Alex) had a chance to see the movie and can tell you that it's as good as "Paranormal Activity." I'm glad it's finally getting a release, because it has a great concept and delivers just as many scares. To see for yourself, check out the opening scene before it's taken down.

Plot: The story centers on a struggling filmmaker who rents a house with his girlfriend to document his final days after a diagnosis of terminal cancer. To capture their lives without invasion, he installs motion-triggered security cameras in every room. But an invasion of a different sort is captured on the footage - an inexplicable presence in the house.

Check out the 16-minute opening scene

Source: official website


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
The Real Joker writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 8:08:07 AM

What a joke. Worst actors around.
CCBlev writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 8:13:13 AM

i got better things to do wtih my 16 mins then watch that sh*t......pass!!!!
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 9:02:19 AM

I'm surprised they didn't sue the pants off the director of PA. If people in the US will sue a company over coffee being too hot...and WIN then I'm surprised this hasn't been dragged into court.
trucvylucky852 writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 10:38:29 AM

didnt see it all but i must say was nice to see the chick with the shaving cream on her tits! ONLY REASON TO WATCH THIS CRAP, movie is UNBEARABLE TO WATCH.
otis writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 12:30:08 PM

Reasons why this didn't last:
-Writing is too scripted for this "mockumentary" style, and is just generally sucky. This should be reserved for soap operas.
-Actors are horrid. Fakey-fake faketown. Every time that chick enters frame with clothes on I want to gag.
-Cameras around the house, in color, beautifully lit, in every possible angle framing the characters in the center? This guy could have used the $5000 he spent on cameras on like hookers or something, to replace that twat.
-Plot points are too chronological and non-conforming to real life reactions.
-The whole thing is too presentational, like a high school drama club got some capes and knives and put on Hamlet in some kid's backyard.


Alex, I'm sorry, but I can't see how this can even come close to being comparable to the same quality of Paranormal Activity, albeit same sort of plot.
Rambo writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 12:33:22 PM

horror movies are so boring
mariachi writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 2:33:19 PM

Just watched the 16 mins. The dialogue was terrible and felt completely unnatural. Poor acting and the whole thing felt awkward. Paranormal Activity may have ripped them off but at least they managed to make something good out of what I'm sure is a sh*tty movie.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 3:31:55 PM

No thank you. I'll pass this, thanks.

I'm still sh*tting runs of Mexican food from seeing the initial promotional teaser for The Blair Witch Project back in 1999 ...
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 3:33:09 PM

There's more cardboard on the screen than on the back of my nephew's Big Chief alphabet practice tablet.
minkowski writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 3:38:16 PM

PA sucked. It tried hard to shock you, but it was no Blair Witch, and that one sucked too but at least had the nerve to be the first of this type of crap.

And I watched the feature-length film alone in a darkened room. I had to fast forward the damn thing several times just because it was so unbelievably boring.

When the ending arrived, I yawned and pulled the sleep-inducing thing from the player, never to see the light of day again. I'm yawning now just thinking about that lame 'horror' film.

I figure, if ghosts and demons and the f*cking bogeyman want me so damned bad, they can come and take me. They'd regret it, I'm sure.

Besides, it beats having the cops or the IRS or those f*cking Jehovah's Witnesses beating down the door any day.
minkowski writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 3:43:25 PM

"-Plot points are too chronological and non-conforming to real life reactions."

You mean to say that the film lacked life, aka spontaneity? Yeah, I get that, but so do most films, which is why having a contrived script is an immediate death-knell for any film, no matter how well made it is otherwise.

"This guy could have used the $5000 he spent on cameras on like hookers or something, to replace that twat."

Ah, hookers. Now we're talking some good sh*t.

Just kidding. Sex with a condom isn't sex. It's an obnoxious act with latex that hardly fulfills a man's need to enjoy a woman's body. It's like humping the space between Barbie's legs. Not that I would know anything about that.
ian_918 writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 3:43:37 PM

This situation remind os The Social Network. It's like the creators of PA just took an idea and made it 10x better.
minkowski writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 3:46:06 PM

I find the title somewhat ironic. In memoriam means 'in the memory of', and yet, no one will remember this little pile of celluloid schlock.
minkowski writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 4:23:00 PM

"I'm still sh*tting runs of Mexican food"

Sounds like the opposite of eating Mexican food, which tastes and looks like sh*t. sh*t in, sh*t out. It's like the food isn't either absorbed or changed before hitting the toilet.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 9:17:44 PM

minkowski writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 4:23:00 PM

"I'm still sh*tting runs of Mexican food"

Sounds like the opposite of eating Mexican food, which tastes and looks like sh*t. sh*t in, sh*t out. It's like the food isn't either absorbed or changed before hitting the toilet.


@minkowski

That night it was a bottle of Tequila (with the worm), a bottle of Mexico's finest bacteria laced water, a tranny hooker by the name of 'Conchita De La Consuelo' with a hair lip and a case of old dead-man's breath, Warren Oates (or a bum that looked like Warren Oates), greasy Mexian food cooked on a stove that looks like it hadn't been cleaned since the insurrection led by Pancho Villa, a bootleg copy of The Blair Witch project and an EXTREME case of Montezuma's Revenge, analyzed by a dwarf proctologist that just kept calling himself 'Chuy' ....

Runs in, runs out.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 9:18:31 PM

Oh, and Happy Helloween, everyone.
otis writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 11:55:53 PM

@ Nihilistic Michael Maus

You too man.

by the by, I just watched Paranormal Activity 2 because I felt it was in season or something, and I have to say- it wasn't as good as the first. Same contrived father figure who doesn't believe in ghosts, same girls whimpering the whole time. The only respite was that dog, who, aside the fact that it was a dog, wasn't a bad little actor. I see it going places.
jdl107 writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 12:25:44 AM

So who watched The Walking Dead, man, that sh*t was great. f*cking innntense. At least when Dexters over I got a new show to look forward to.
trailertrash writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 3:44:50 AM

^^ Will be Watching it Friday night , Glad to hear it was good, Really Looking forward to it.
johnny_boy writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 6:31:56 AM

"I (Alex) had a chance to see the movie and can tell you that it's as good as "Paranormal Activity.""

To say any movie is as good as PA shows what little taste you must have in movies. I can see why you(Alex) don't review the films yourself. PA sucked donkey balls
otis writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 7:57:30 AM

@ johnny

Well, on his behalf, he never said it was good. He just said it was AS good. Like in the sentence "It was as good as my mother's cooking." My mother can raise the dead with her fish souffle
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 7:37:35 PM

Rambo writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 12:33:22 PM

horror movies are so boring
---------------------------------

Not all of them.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 7:41:20 PM

Just kidding. Sex with a condom isn't sex. It's an obnoxious act with latex that hardly fulfills a man's need to enjoy a woman's body. It's like humping the space between Barbie's legs. Not that I would know anything about that.


Why Mink, you romantic you.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved