WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

John Carpenter to Direct "Darkchylde" Comic Book Movie

Posted: October 31st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
John Carpenter to Direct "Darkchylde" Comic Book MovieSubmit Comment
STYD is reporting that John Carpenter, the man behind the original "Halloween" movies, "The Thing" and "Escape From New York," has signed on to direct a big screen adaptation of "Darkchylde" comic book. WETA workshop is on board to provide the effects.

The story is about an amiable southern teen cursed to become the creatures from her many recurring nightmares. Every time Ariel Chylde transforms, she sheds her skin and a new nightmare emerges from her Id to act out her deepest, darkest impulses.

"Randy Queen's hijacked angel, Ariel Chylde, is the best young female character since Laurie Strode in 'Halloween,'" said Carpenter. "Bringing Ariel and her dark mysteries to life should be quite an adventure for us all."

"Darkchylde" was a breakout sensation of the late 90's and early 2000's, garnering immediate acclaim and an unusually large female fanbase. The property went on to outsell "Spider-Man," "Superman," and "Batman" in both domestic and foreign markets, and has become toys, trading cards, apparel, and lunch boxes.

Promo Poster: (click to enlarge)


Source: STYD


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 8:38:59 AM

"Bringing Ariel and her dark mysteries to life should be quite an adventure for us all."

Not for me, John. Not for me.



boogiel writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 8:43:37 AM

Oh btw, John, just stick to the original concept and THEN we can talk about adventure
Lederhosen writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 9:37:32 AM

Funny, I thought John Carpenter was dead. What do I know. Halloween is a classic.
rabid writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 10:32:30 AM

Never understood how these creators got past Marvel's lawyers. This character is clearly a ripoff of Darkchylde from Marvel Comics, the sister of Colossus. She even looks the exact same.
Anung_un_rama writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 10:38:58 AM

well this sounds good to me, the comic was ok buy it has the nuts and bolts to be good horror.
elrei writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 1:43:13 PM

Never heard of it.. sounds interesting at least.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 2:43:51 PM

Thank you Worst Previews,

Now you explained the real reason Carpenter's ticker started giving him fits and almost killed him off ...
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 2:47:31 PM

"Randy Queen's hijacked angel, Ariel Chylde, is the best young female character since Laurie Strode in 'Halloween,'" said Carpenter. "Bringing Ariel and her dark mysteries to life should be quite an adventure for us all."

Is John kidding ? The best young female character to come along since Laurie Strode ? There would be a number of Buffy the Vampire Slayer fans that would disagree with you. I don't know if something publicly disclosed from a guy named Randy right now would be favorable accepted by the masses. Just as Randy QUAID.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 3:17:29 PM

Never heard about it, but it does sound interesting. John Carpenter really need yo pull his sh*t together and make another good film.
Rambo writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 4:06:16 PM

When some wild-eyed, eight-foot-tall maniac grabs your neck, taps the back of your favorite head up against the barroom wall, and he looks you crooked in the eye and he asks you if ya paid your dues, you just stare that big sucker right back in the eye, and you remember what ol' Jack Burton always says at a time like that: "Have ya paid your dues, Jack?" "Yessir, the check is in the mail."
minkowski writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 4:17:34 PM

"This character is clearly a ripoff of Darkchylde from Marvel Comics, the sister of Colossus. She even looks the exact same."

That's not a rip-off, that f*cking copyright violation.

But what do I know about Carpenter. Ii fact, what does anyone know, other than he had a few good movies back when people thought Gary Coleman was hip, and that he once directed a movie bad enough to evoke tears from the dead (Ghosts of Mars), and that no one has heard from him in all the years in between, but hey, that's it.

"Randy Queen's hijacked angel, Ariel Chylde, is the best young female character since Laurie Strode in 'Halloween,'" said Carpenter. "Bringing Ariel and her dark mysteries to life should be quite an adventure for us all."

He's comparing this new film's main character to that of Laurie Strode, the female lead in a film nearly three decades old, back when Curtis had a fine, firm ass and black people bought Afrosheen by the gallon.
Ari Gold writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 4:23:56 PM

Yuuuuck!!! Look at those hands! I'd never let her touch my c*ck..
minkowski writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 4:40:39 PM

Yeah, but judging by the poster, she's good at giving head.
minkowski writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 4:50:32 PM

Randy Queen, second worst male name, right after number one worst male name, d*ck Sucher.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 6:01:56 PM

Ari Gold writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 4:23:56 PM
Yuuuuck!!! Look at those hands! I'd never let her touch my c*ck..

@Ari

Yeah, but I bet she can suck the chrome (and rust) off a trailer hitch ....

just imagine what she can do with your c*ck.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 6:52:26 PM

minkowski writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 4:17:34 PM
"This character is clearly a ripoff of Darkchylde from Marvel Comics, the sister of Colossus. She even looks the exact same."

That's not a rip-off, that f*cking copyright violation.

But what do I know about Carpenter. Ii fact, what does anyone know, other than he had a few good movies back when people thought Gary Coleman was hip, and that he once directed a movie bad enough to evoke tears from the dead (Ghosts of Mars), and that no one has heard from him in all the years in between, but hey, that's it.

"Randy Queen's hijacked angel, Ariel Chylde, is the best young female character since Laurie Strode in 'Halloween,'" said Carpenter. "Bringing Ariel and her dark mysteries to life should be quite an adventure for us all."

He's comparing this new film's main character to that of Laurie Strode, the female lead in a film nearly three decades old, back when Curtis had a fine, firm ass and black people bought Afrosheen by the gallon.

@minkowski

I know that Carpenter upped the ante on Howard Hawks' Rio Bravo with Assault on Precinct 13, a vying picture that competed with Fort Apache : The Bronx for a western theme of a fort of heroes versus violent adversity on the outside. He also revamped Howard Hawks again with The Thing, a horror movie that was as gripping and intensefully suspenseful as the first Alien and other horror movies about space and the invaders from above. And with Halloween, he borrowed from Tobe Hooper in regards to the silent killer and revamped the slasher film.

Carpenter's best movies were when story was meatier and stronger than now. It had to be, since SFX was more technical and hands-on in regards to engineers building effects rather than using a computer and PhotoShop (and other FX software) to create a horror atmosphere. And actors really fleshed out their characters, even if they are menial supporting characters that were not on the screen very long. It didn't matter if it was a procedural drama like The French Connection, a thriller like The Conversation, a science fiction genre movie like Close Encounters with the Third Kind or a horror/action genre film like Big Trouble in Little China, They Live or Halloween.

Is Darkchylde a ripoff of Pietro's sister (from the Infrerno series ... one of only two XMen series I loved (the other being a tie between Mojoworld and The Brood)), who cares ? It is getting more and more rare to have originality in story or character these days.

Jamie was always sexy. She didn't try to hide or have plastic surgery on herself. She was sexy from Halloween through to Trading Places (my God, the scene in the hooker's bathroom where she flashes Winthorp the jugs by accident is my favorite screensaveer) to True Lies and even now. She isn't afraid of her body and shouldn't be. Sexy is sexy.

She's like PJ Soles. She just sexy and nubile.
Ari Gold writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 7:07:41 PM

I like it when they cup my balls
Eben1277 writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 3:02:00 AM

Never heard of the sh*t, but I like the poster
Jensama writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 5:34:23 PM

Is it only me who's scared of them f*cking up another great story?

I mean, look at what they did to Witchblade! That comic was my fav and she kicked ass. f*ck that TV-series!! Argh.

I HOPE, they will do well with this, and then reboot Witchblade. Make it into several movies instead. And put some big money in them. That's what they deserve atleast.

Sigh. My mind grows clouds because of this.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved