WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ron Howard Refuses to Cut "Gay" Joke from "The Dilemma"

Posted: October 31st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ron Howard Refuses to Cut "Gay" Joke from "The Dilemma"Submit Comment
Ron Howard has announced that he will keep the controversial gay joke in his upcoming "The Dilemma" comedy that is now dealing with a renewed protest from GLADD, the gay advocacy group that has targeted the film.

Howard explained that the scene in which Vince Vaughn describes an electric car as "gay" was scripted, not ad libbed, and that it was intended to dramatize the fact that Vaughn's character "is far from perfect and he does and says some outrageous things along the way."

GLAAD responded: "Unfortunately, by leaving it in the movie, they are now contributing to the problem. The conversations started as a result of the community's response to this slur will help schools, media and parents understand the impact of the word 'gay' being used as a pejorative. Hopefully in the future, Universal and Ron Howard will recognize the power of their words and use their films to bring people together rather than drive us apart."

In his defense, Howard said that by eliminating potentially offensive jokes could ruin comedy. He said: "I defend the right for some people to express offense at a joke as strongly as I do the right for the joke to be in a film."

Click here to read more about "The Dilemma."

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 75 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
rocketman writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 7:56:50 AM

Richies bald,thats all i ever get when i see a photo of this 'Ron Howard' gentleman.
The Real Joker writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 8:09:38 AM

It's like he is holding 2 golden d*cks. That's gay.
CCBlev writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 8:15:42 AM

The Real Joker-You beat me to it. With that gap in his 2 frint teeth he can fit another one in there.
johnny_boy writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 8:38:09 AM

You go, Ron. Electric cars are gay
boogiel writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 8:48:13 AM

"I defend the right for some people to express offense at a joke as strongly as I do the right for the joke to be in a film."

Damn straight. Keep up the good work, Ronnie.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 9:02:22 AM

The electric car is gay

seriously, they are insulted with the quote 'The electric car is gay'

That is by far the most stupidist thing i have ever heard. GLAAD, sounds like you need to get your priorities straight and actually some real work and not just try and piss people off
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 9:03:53 AM

Maybe the fine folks over at GLAAD should focus on what they do best (touching each others weiners) and leave the film-making to the professional. I don't remember hearing anything when "The 40 Year Old Virgin" came out, with all those "You know how I know you're gay?" jokes. They're probably just offended because THEY ARE the only ones who have electric cars.
Lederhosen writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 9:30:02 AM

Thank goodness Ron isn't cow tailing to GLADD. Funny in their world, GLADD doesn't protest the gay movies where gays make fun of themselves, but a mainstream movie is a problem for them? The joke is lame anyway, but I'm proud of Ron for not backing down.
johnny_boy writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 10:05:44 AM

I concur with all the above. I cast Ron Howard A's man of the year for standing up to those GLAAD fags
Kurskij writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 10:11:24 AM

Men who actually choose to f*ck each other in the ass oppose to what?..

I'll never understand this. You want to be a part of the society - integrate, don't try to stand off.

There was a line in "The other guys" when Wahlberg tells Ferrell that he feels driving around in Prius like "driving around in vagina". I don't remember any claims from women (or Jake) that "It's offensive, because I clearly don't have a place for four, steering wheel and Will Ferrell in my vagina! (At least not right now)"
rabid writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 10:34:13 AM

The folks at GLAAD should watch that particular South Park episode and realize they never will and never have owned the word "gay".
guitar_dudester91 writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 11:03:52 AM

Well if they weren't c*ck sucking faggots then they wouldn't get offended. Simple as that.
Rambo writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 11:06:00 AM

insert hidden advertise for a crappy movie nobody wants to see
MeganFoxPlease writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 12:06:03 PM

@guitar_dudester91

i second that...
mrstretch writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 12:11:47 PM

Boo hoo, more crybaby homos. At least electric cars won't give you AIDS.
scotty7471 writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 1:19:17 PM

i as a gay man commend Ron Howard for keeping the joke in. i do find some of the 'overly sensitive 'don't make gay jokes' people a bore. i can tell you as a gay man the reverse happens A LOT (gay people slamming and making jokes about straight people)
now as far as the IGNORANT comments on here -- you guys that say assassin crap on here are as ignorant as the KKK. get over your 'fear' of gay people, or just come out of the closet already.
Syman404 writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 2:27:04 PM

Jokes don't make gay haters, that just doesn't make any sense. That would mean by watching ANY stand-up routine, I should hate all races, and people in general. I think anyone watching a comedian has more sense than that. Well, except for the cable guy or gallagher.
Ranger writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 2:36:55 PM

Ron Howard - one of the few left in the biz that has a set of balls!

Hey GLADD, suck my d*ck (wait... hey, no! I WAS JOKING... GET OFF OF THAT!!!!!)!!!

Ranger writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 2:38:11 PM

'GLAAD responded: "Unfortunately, by leaving it in the movie, they are now contributing to the problem.' --- like AIDS isn't?! f*ck you pillow-biting (Che & Jake), rump roasters!!!
Ranger writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 2:40:23 PM

@scotty - good post.
Ranger writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 2:43:39 PM

I haven't seen that Southpark episode (mentioned above) whereby the gays don't own the work gay.

Great for Southpark, because gays don't own the word.
Ranger writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 3:02:09 PM

work = word.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 3:25:47 PM

@Skippy: "get your priorities straight"

Sounds a bit contradicting, doesn't it? :)
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 3:29:48 PM

Tell those politically correct f*ckers to suck off your brother's gamma-ray exposed balls, Ronny ...

They are good enough to suck out ReadiWhip with a straw out of Clint Howard's hairy anus.
minkowski writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 4:01:37 PM

Ron Howard's a moron. Electric cars aren't gay. Have you ever seen one f*cking another in the automotive ass while performing a reach around with one hand and fist f*cking another car with the other hand?

No. And that's why Ron Howard is a moron, while also having a head like a midget's d*ck.
minkowski writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 4:03:51 PM

"gays don't own the work gay."

No, but if you've seen the Steelworkers of America on the job, you know *they* work gay.
minkowski writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 4:06:32 PM

"get over your 'fear' of gay people, or just come out of the closet already."

The only thing a straight man fears from a gay man is the accidental contraction of AIDS

Besides, haven't gay men been 'coming' in the closet for years?
minkowski writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 4:09:43 PM

"you guys that say assassin crap on here are as ignorant as the KKK"

That's right, because we all know making a few jokes at the expense of effeminate guys that toss salads in the bowl of another man's ass is the same as the lynching and burning of black folks that just want to vote....
Ranger writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 4:30:06 PM

Black folk want to vote now?!?!

WHAT'S NEXT... WOMEN WITH THEIR DRIVER'S LICENSES?!

2012 CAN'T COME FAST ENOUGH!!!
minkowski writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 4:31:10 PM

"Sounds a bit contradicting, doesn't it? :)"

Maybe, but we all know that GLAAD has a natural talent for getting one thing, and only one thing, straight: a gay man's d*ck. And they do a great job rounding out a sphincter, too, I hear.

Yes sir, they're a very geometrical bunch of butt pirates, for sure.
minkowski writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 4:33:43 PM

Sure black people like to vote. How else would BET know who's the next rapper to get gunned down in a Detroit crack house?
minkowski writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 4:36:29 PM

"2012 CAN'T COME FAST ENOUGH!!!"

Damned right. Either Obama will be gone or the world will end, but either way, America and I will finally get some f*cking peace.
minkowski writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 4:45:58 PM

Hopefully in the future, Universal and Ron Howard will recognize the power of their words and use their films to bring people together rather than drive us apart."

I'm sure the homosexuals at GLAAD have no problem 'bringing people together', and apparently, judging from their incessant semen-sipping orgies, they can't be driven apart.

So what are they worried about? It's not like Ron's trying to take away their motor oil and gerbils, right?
spider-man writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 4:53:29 PM

seriously, there getting pissed because he called an electric car gay? what a waste of time.
FBO writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 4:56:08 PM

GLADD is starting to sound kinda gay
minkowski writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 4:58:55 PM

I'm just GLAAD they're so gay, and I'm not. I mean, it's a gay day when GLAAD is gay. Or so they say. But hey!
Ranger writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 5:03:54 PM

I'm just GLADD I don't have a GLADD bag pressed up against me arse!
minkowski writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 5:05:19 PM

"seriously, there getting pissed because he called an electric car gay? what a waste of time."

Yeah, but what's more a waste of time: being gay or owning an electric car?
minkowski writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 5:06:16 PM

"I'm just GLADD I don't have a GLADD bag pressed up against me arse!"

In homosexual circles, that's known as a colostomy bag.
TeemSelami writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 5:07:58 PM

I want to frame that photo
Ranger writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 5:08:43 PM

@Mink - lol.
minkowski writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 5:13:47 PM

"I want to frame that photo"

As a prop for AIDS Awareness Day?
minkowski writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 5:14:06 PM

Thanks Ranger.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 5:20:36 PM

GLAAD responded: "Unfortunately, by leaving it in the movie, they are now contributing to the problem. The conversations started as a result of the community's response to this slur will help schools, media and parents understand the impact of the word 'gay' being used as a pejorative. Hopefully in the future, Universal and Ron Howard will recognize the power of their words and use their films to bring people together rather than drive us apart."


GLAAD ... f*ck off.
minkowski writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 5:25:39 PM

Has no one else noted that Ron faced quite the dilemma while working on a film named The Dilemma. Almost what Carl Jung would've called synchronicity.

Of course, the fact that a bunch of prostate punchers butted in makes the irony moot.
minkowski writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 5:28:08 PM

"In his defense, Howard said that by eliminating potentially offensive jokes could ruin comedy."s

I'm confused. Is that sentence *supposed* to make grammatical sense, or is it the verbal equivalent of an MC Escher optical illusion?
minkowski writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 5:29:50 PM

"Vince Vaughn describes an electric car as "gay""

Reminds me of the time George W. Bush called nuclear reactors 'stupid'.
minkowski writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 5:34:21 PM

"sounds like you need to get your priorities straight and actually some real work and not just try and piss people off"

First, GLAAD finds the use of the word 'straight' both offensive and oppressive. Second, they do not piss off people, they enjoying pissing on them instead.
minkowski writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 5:39:52 PM

"WHAT'S NEXT... WOMEN WITH THEIR DRIVER'S LICENSES?!"

Women definitely need a driver's license. How else would they buy their shoes?
DirtyMartini writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 6:44:40 PM

Worst thing about going to a gay bbq....the hot dogs taste like sh*t.

Now Ron should add that joke to the movie
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 7:22:22 PM

minkowski writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 5:09:27 PM

In related news, somebody somewhere died doing something; consequently, he was immediately eulogized as savior of the world.


@minkowski

If they acted like Horse-faced Carrie our SuperSlut Charlotte from Sex in the City, it would involve some "protein parking" near a dumpster in a back alley somewhere with suspicious looking men,followed by "sliding the salami in BrownTown " ...
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 7:24:08 PM

Ron, you've got the money. Spend it on plastic surgery.

You know when Clint is starting to look like the George Clooney of the family that your looks are fading faster than Henry Winkler cameos ...
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 7:51:49 PM

^ The resembleance to Ed Gein .... uncanny.
FBO writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 9:21:13 PM

When will you guys learn not to make funny of gays?! You're going to make them run back into their closest and cry! We all know how weak their emotional control is!
Eben1277 writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 11:00:45 PM

I'd like to congratulate GLADD on doing a great job of setting their own cause back and giving truth to a stereotype. Great job guys!!!
telur writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 1:01:39 AM

mink is a crazy f*cking gay lol
Ranger writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 3:01:52 AM

Organizations like GLADD set back their very causes by decades.

Nice work!
trailertrash writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 3:37:43 AM

I bet Ron's pissed off that the Funniest joke of the whole movie has been leaked !!

Thanks Glaad
Ranger writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 3:48:18 AM

I'd let the gay community have exclusivity on the word 'gay' if they kept AIDS all to themselves.
trailertrash writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 3:52:05 AM

I bet they would take that !!
trailertrash writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 3:52:38 AM

If you know what i mean ...
Ranger writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 3:54:53 AM

I don't... but Jake, Che and COC do (and WOOD)!
trailertrash writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 4:02:08 AM

They sure WOOD get it and enjoy it too !!
trailertrash writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 4:09:02 AM

Lucky for them they can't catch AIDS twice..
Sonic writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 5:26:54 AM

For GOD Sake!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 6:43:03 AM

People who are offended by this should just jew off!! and stop being so black about it!!
TRUEMAN writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 10:36:56 AM

@mink is very serius about this gay joke, who cares about it, come on people this post have more entrace tham the avatards post, who really care about electric cars been gays, see south park episode of electrics cars, they are gay and you know it!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 11:53:22 AM

Only a ginger can call another ginger ginger!
lawman writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 1:27:40 PM

CINEMAISDEAD>>>> LOL

MINK>>> Jesus Christ man! I just pissed my pants! Nice rant!
billofill writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 1:49:18 PM

Gay Pride Parades Contributes to the Problem too but i dont see them stopping their dancing on floats in assless chaps.
Ranger writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 2:12:38 PM

@Cinemaisdead - lol. Priceless.
Ranger writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 2:17:21 PM

@billofill - I thought those parades always hurt their case as well.

God forbid there be a 'Straight Pride Parade!'
struck21 writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 7:12:27 PM

I've had conversations with gay friends about "That's so gay" Cause while I have no issue with gay people in the least, I still catch myself saying it. It comes down to something that won't be change by taking a joke out of one movie.
Ranger writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 8:27:14 PM

I have no problem with gay people either. I have a problem with all people when they get uppity about stupid sh*t to draw attention to themselves just like whiny bitch GLADD is doing. Funny thing is... they're so self-centered, this very attention-whoring actually hurts their cause.
joedirt writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 12:57:10 AM

it shouldnt matter what GLADD says anyways, gays arent people.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved