WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Texas Chainsaw Massacre" Reboot is Moving Forward

Posted: October 30th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Texas Chainsaw Massacre" Reboot is Moving ForwardSubmit Comment
After "Texas Chainsaw Massacre: The Beginning" hit theaters back in 2006, Platinum Dunes producers Brad Fuller and Andrew Form revealed that the franchise is officially dead.

Then about a year ago, it was announced that Lionsgate and Twisted Pictures were working on a deal to acquire the rights to franchise in order to put Leatherface and Jigsaw (from "Saw") under one roof. Stephen Susco (The Grudge) was hired to write the script.

Bloody-Disgusting is now reporting that Susco's script has been scrapped and writers Adam Marcus (Jason Goes to Hell: The Final Friday) and Debra Sullivan have been brought on to pen the 3D reboot. The story will pick up immediately where Tobe Hooper's original left off before flashing forward 35 years. The site added that a cult may be involved. The studios will be announcing a director soon.

Last year, producer Mark Burg said: "It's 35 years later, there's a relative going back. Why is he going back? I don't want to set it in a dusty town. How do we make it more urban but keep that feel. There will be some relatives, some new people. There's still the subtext of 'are they eating these people?' The whole idea of cannibalism, we're bringing it back."

Source: STYD, Bloody-Disgusting


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 48 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
White-Man 50000 writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 8:22:46 AM

fking stupid
GlasgowHero writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 8:50:07 AM

just make a new damn IP!!! Quit with the remakes already. and unless they're fighting f*cking godzilla - i don't want to see a 'vs' in the title!
boogiel writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 8:56:36 AM

WTF? Another remake? This is a prime example of Hollywood's Zero creativity. Those f*cking retards at Hollywood are truly at their utmost stupidity.
rocketman writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 9:26:09 AM

Again? you f*cking kidding?
johnny_boy writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 9:27:57 AM

Why not a sequel? Like a conclusion. I enjoyed the prequel. I actually found it quite scary and intense. Don't remake, A's boogiel, it shows zero creativity.
CCBlev writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 9:41:41 AM

God I wake up this sh*t?? Wow, f*ck this!!
trailertrash writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 10:05:19 AM

Tobe's movie is a classic and even today it's still scary movie to watch.

The remake, best thing in that was Jessica Biel (damn she looked mighty fine in that movie).

As This ,Nightmare on elm st and Friday 13th have showed you just Recapture those horror films from 70's and 80's
trailertrash writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 10:06:34 AM

Reboot a Reboot is this a Hollywood 1st
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 10:07:18 AM

@boogiel & johnny_boy OK, so the title of the article is misleading (again!) but did you actually read the article? It clearly describes the new movie as a sequel to Tobe Hooper's movie (although why a sequel to the first, not the second?), not a remake! Look:

"The story will pick up immediately where Tobe Hooper's original left off before flashing forward 35 years."

&

"It's 35 years later, there's a relative going back. Why is he going back? I don't want to set it in a dusty town. How do we make it more urban but keep that feel. There will be some relatives, some new people. There's still the subtext of 'are they eating these people?' The whole idea of cannibalism, we're bringing it back."
Preditorian writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 10:14:42 AM

WTF AGAIN??!!?!
rabid writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 10:30:13 AM

Some of you just read the headline and not the article. It's not a reboot, it's clearly a sequel set 35 years after part 1.
And it actually sounds like a great idea. Of all the TCM, my favorite was part 2 because it was a change of setting. Moving the family to the city sounds like a f*cking awesome idea.
Rambo writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 11:02:06 AM

so I guess the next reboot should be around 2015?
Parker_Von_Mink_Ranger writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 11:10:33 AM

Me: Hello, do u have Superman on blu-ray?

Video Clerk: Yes we do! *Handles it over*

Me: No, this is the wrong one, i mean the reeboot not the original.

Video Clerk: Oh ok, here you go, heres the reboot from 2006.

Me: No thats the wrong one aswell, i mean the newest reboot.

Video Clerk: Oh, no we dont have that one yet.

Me: Ok, how about Spiderman then?

Video Clerk: Yes we have those.

Me: Those?

Video Clerk: Yes, its a trilogy.

Me: No but i mean the reboot of a f*cking movie that isnt even 10 years old yet.

Video Clerk: Oh, no we dont have that one yet sorry.

Me: Ok, just give me one movie that hasnt been planned for a remake or a easy cash grab follow up.

Video Clerk: *Hands over Showgirls*.

Me: you wont believe it but theres actually a second one coming.

Video Clerk: *Hands Over Top Gun*.

Me: Dont even get me started.

Cybear86 writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 11:28:38 AM

Feck off with the reboots and 3 fecking D Please
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 11:31:16 AM

Talk about running out of f*cking idea's lol this is pathetic!
darkraven28 writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 11:39:28 AM

It was dead after TCM: The Beginning? Really? Says who? I remember watching that and enjoying it (not sure enjoy is the right word).

But still, I'm starting to get kind of sick of Andrew Form and Brad Fuller, especially after that Nightmare On Elm Street 2010 bullsh*t. They are a huge part of the problem in that they ACTIVELY SEEK OUT to remake EVERYTHING. And yes, Bay-bashers, I'm well aware that Michael Bay is part of Platinum Dunes as well. At least on a DNA level though he is coming at the issue from the right place in that he wants to give fresh directors a start in Hollywood like he was given. I'm not going to comment on the resulting films other than to say that you win some, you lose some.
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 12:09:27 PM

The "Texas Chainsaw Massacre" series is a mixed bag. The Tobe Hooper original is a classic; the remake was a whole lot better than it deserved to be, and actually pretty scary, too. All the sequels & prequels were just plain bad. I can't really see what a new reboot can add to the story.

Anyway, this whole reboot/remake/reimagining trend is going to end eventually. Movie trends always do. I gave up complaining about it after the sadistic butchering and cinematic rape of "Halloween" by Rob Zombie; after that I realized that no film is sacred. The *ssholes in Hollywood ARE going to remake EVERYTHING, and it's not going to help to sit and bitch about it.

The only thing we can do as fans of the originals, is sit back, NOT go see the films, and wait for the trend to die. Hopefully it dies out before we get remakes of The Evil Dead, Poltergeist, The Exorcist, Phantasm, Rosemary's Baby, and Jaws.
rabid writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 1:01:31 PM

yeah yeah... except it's not a remake.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 1:16:20 PM

Bloody-Disgusting is now reporting that Susco's script has been scrapped and writers
Adam Marcus (Jason Goes to Hell: The Final Friday) and Debra Sullivan have been brought
on to pen the 3D reboot. The story will pick up immediately where Tobe Hooper's
original left off before flashing forward 35 years. The site added that a cult
may be involved. The studios will be announcing a director soon.

@ What ???? Another reboot ??? In 3-D ???? With a cult ??? (trying to tie in a Manson
style slant to the story) ... they are trying too much and this is DEFINITELY A TRAINWRECK
OF A VERY BAD IDEA. What the f*ck are they thinking, those retards ?????

They are missing the WHOLE DAMN POINT THESE MOVIES were originally made. The Texas Chainsaw Massacre was created as a response to the casulties being reported during the years when Kennedy/Johnson/Nixon had the Vietnam war. Prior to then, you didn't have any 'gore' horror. This idea of theres is to throw everything but the kitchen sink into a Leatherface movie, since they've recently had SAW come out in 3-D. They need to just stop. Just f*cking stop, you money grubby motherf*ckers ... and stop with the rebooting. You saw how bad the prequel was.
TheMovieExpert writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 2:18:49 PM

A sequel that is set 35 years after the 1974 version. hope it's good.
minkowski writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 4:44:42 PM

Awesome! Add this to to the woodchuck pile of sh*t I will never watch!
minkowski writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 5:03:55 PM

How about a franchise tie-in with another abominable set of films?

ChainSAW, the newest murder glorification film from director of explosions and stupid camera shots!

Watch as some old ugly guy (a true leather face!)with a bad voice, and a stupid-looking talking clown-Muppet on a bicycle stalk and kill people! Yes, they'll juggle rotating lumber equipment! Yes, they'll hack you to bits on lumberjack's bed!

ChainSAW! And look for the PS3 game from FI (f*cking Idiots) Entertainment! Coming soon to rape your eyes and your wallet!
minkowski writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 5:07:18 PM

""Texas Chainsaw Massacre" Reboot is Moving Forward"

Nothing about this film is 'forward', and the only thing it might move is some unearned cash and the swollen bowels of a few fat, lonely old men.
minkowski writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 5:52:46 PM

"And it actually sounds like a great idea."

You always say that to the absolutely worst ideas.
minkowski writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 6:01:09 PM

"The Texas Chainsaw Massacre was created as a response to the casulties being reported during the years when Kennedy/Johnson/Nixon had the Vietnam war."

Max, look, I like you, you're funny and you actually post something that's independently-minded, rather than being a follower, but I have to disagree.

To put it simply, TTCM film was in large part motivated and influenced by the new wave of serial killer true crime, and people like Ed Gein and the events depicted in Truman Capote's In Cold Blood.

Furthermore, Hooper has said that he got the idea for the film after getting stuck in a hardware store. He wanted to bypass the store crowds, and after spying some chainsaws, he put the two elements of the situation together.
GuyBushwithWood writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 6:30:47 PM

ok we don't need any more reboots, reboot seems to be the word these days. People hate remakes so now they call them reboots. ohh no no it's not a remake the story is slightly different and set 35's after the original, ok sorry then I guess I was mistaken it's a reboot.


We really don't need another TCSM, The first one is a cult classic, the sequals were terrbile, ok it was funny seeing Dennis Hopper having a Chainsaw fight with Leatherface, that was funny as hell in number 2.

However Hollywood is fresh out of Horror ideas, so epect more TCSM's, Halloween's, Night mare on Elm street's and Friday the 13th's.

in 10 yeats time they'll still be making reboots of the reboots.

Jesus when will it end, when I ask, when.

f*cking originality has been pissed away by Hollywood. Nobdy has any fresh ideas just rehashed ones.

Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 10:47:51 PM

@minkowski

You're right again, sir.

Hooper claims to have come up with the idea for The Texas Chain Saw Massacre while standing in the hardware section of a crowded store. While thinking of a way to get through the crowd, he spotted chainsaws for sale. The highly successful film changed the horror film industry and landed Hooper in Hollywood. Media reports of audiences throwing up and storming out of theaters showing the film swept the nation. Hooper wanted an MPAA PG rating for The Texas Chain Saw Massacre, as there was no PG-13 at the time. Despite having no sex or sexual situations, no drug use, no hard profanity, and a low level of violence, the film received an R rating. The MPAA cited the film's intense tone as reason enough to issue the R rating.


* Note : It had little blood, compared to the torture porn of now.
rabid writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 12:51:57 AM

GuyBush, did you miss the part where it mentioned this is a new idea with new characters in a new setting, not a reboot?

You see the title of the article up there?
There's actually words that come after it as well. English words so that they're easy to understand.

Texas Chainsaw Massacre wasn't the first gore film around. It was just the first to stick in the American consciousness. I've always thought what made it famous was Hooper's direction with sh*tty super8 film. It wasn't as polished and slick as other horror films. At times, the screen was pitch black, which made it feel like you were watching someone's old home movies. TCM resonated with the audience like the Blair Witch Project, and was even scarier when you could finally rent it on betamax and watch it alone with the lights off.
I'm hoping this sequel can realize the same, turn down the soundtrack volume and keep the gore realistic. The remake a few years ago was just too slick and modern-looking to cause any real suspense.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 12:52:28 AM

I want to say something inteligent about how Hollywood is devoid of originality...but I just....
Jabronidc writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 6:37:39 AM

This will be amazing, not only a reboot!, but a rebot of a reboot!
johnny_boy writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 7:16:22 AM

No other news today? So...anyone watching the World Series?
GuyBushwithWood writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 10:11:36 AM

@rabid yes I did read it, obviously you don't understand what i'm saying. Just because it's new characters and a new setting doesn't mean it's not a reboot. Reboots are not always set in the same location or have the same characters.

Just because it' set somewhere else doesn't mean it's not a reboot.

Reboot simply means you take an old idea and try make it a new one. Even if it's some kind of sequal it's a sequal of an old movie and they are dramatically changing how it feels and looks, then it's a reboot.

Rabid, suck on my ball. i would say Balls but the other is in some other f*ckers mouth.
GuyBushwithWood writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 10:14:06 AM

"GuyBush, did you miss the part where it mentioned this is a new idea with new characters in a new setting".


you f*cking idiot, you just practically described the definition of a reboot using your own words douchebag.
trucvylucky852 writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 10:30:29 AM

i wish they reboot star wars episode 1,2 and 3
rabid writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 10:38:06 AM

nice job scrambling to act like you actually read the article. It's clearly a sequel. If you don't like it, then don't watch it, but without revamping films for each generation, today's gen wouldn't give two sh*ts about watching or buying the old version.
GuyBushwithWood writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 11:04:46 AM

@rapid, I did read it, for the last time, I read it. I just have a different opionion you.

I'm not saying the sequal as you call it will be bad, When I watch it i'll let you know but horror Sequals as you call them made from horrors decades ago have a reputation for being bad so it's hard to get excited by a new version of TCSM.

look at the latest friday the 13th what absolute sh*t.

As for the next gen needing the new ones or they won't see the originals are you talking about TCSM or Star Wars because I don't think the next gen give a sh*t either way, why would they, movies are so much more advanced than they use to be.

To them those movies might as well be oil paintings. A New TCSM won't inspire them to watch the original and if it does, they'll see it and turn it of after a few minutes. They would react just like they did when showing the orginal Tron at that theme park event.
lostwarrior writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 4:14:25 PM

are they f*cking joking, how many reboots and sequels are they going to do with this, soon tcsm will be a straight to dvd collectors choice, right alone with saw part 11teen. then lions gate and twisted pictures can have their f*cking bullsh*te merge together.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 6:17:42 PM

DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 12:52:28 AM
I want to say something inteligent about how Hollywood is devoid of originality...but I just....

@Dave The Photo Guy

Don't worry about it. Say whatever you feel like saying. Nothing you say will be as hackneyed as what Hollywood's cronies have done in regurgiating this schlock-O-vomitas
Man in Black writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 12:57:38 AM

NOOOOOOOO!
hunter207 writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 1:08:18 AM

in the words of my mexican friends: FTP!!!!
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 7:43:55 AM

@GuyBushwithWood Reboot is basically another word for reset (or remake in film terms) and it means to start over and replace what was there before. A sequel is NOT a reboot. Is The Empire Strikes Back a reboot? Are any of the 6 Saw sequels a reboot??

The only sequel I can think of that's regarded as somewhat of a reboot is Evil Dead 2 but that's because the original movie got banned in some countries and Sam Raimi wanted to make a sequel but include many aspects of the original in it for people who were unable to watch the original due to its banning. Actually I just remembered The Incredible Hulk but that was meant to be a proper sequel it's just that Edward Norton re-wrote some of it including having a different origin (basically the live action TV show version of the origin) shown during the opening credits so therefore transforming the movie into a reboot.
GuyBushwithWood writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 8:43:28 AM

@JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! all i'm going to say is it's in the title ""Texas Chainsaw Massacre" Reboot is Moving Forward"

I'm done with this. On to the next one.

GuyBushwithWood writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 8:59:36 AM

@JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME!

Columbo style, "Just one more thing."

Everybody knows about Sam Raimi and the Evil D dead series, and how and why and when and at what date and where and everything else about the Evil dead series. Don't need a history lesson on why he remade the first one. Everybody knows why and the reasons for it.

I hate when people talk about Raimi, it makes you sound like one of these Jackasses who when talking about movies pull the evil dead out there ass as if it will make them appear as some sort of presudo movie buff.

Like "awww I'm an Evil Dead Fan" that makes me cool and part of the film buff community.

I like Evil dead by the Way...
el-ray writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 5:22:41 PM

@rabid
but without revamping films for each generation, today's gen wouldn't give two sh*ts about watching or buying the old version.

What, so you think that we need to re-boot ET or Jaws next so that younger people will watch them again!!!
billofill writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 7:52:49 PM

Sounds like a Superman Returns like sequel to me f*ck THAT i actually like Texas Chain Saw Massacre 2.
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 12:44:59 AM

@GuyBushwithWood I just used Evil Dead 2 as an example of a sequel that was also sort of a reboot. I didn't explain it to sound like a movie buff I just explained it in case somebody asked why it was if I didn't. And you obviously haven't noticed that this website's article titles are often misleading or sometimes just plain wrong so just because the article's title says it's a reboot doesn't mean it is.
GIANT_midget writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 6:20:47 AM

just f*cking leave it alone for god sake, when are people gonna learn that some things better left alone... I didnt even get close to the end of Texas Chainsaw Massacre The Beginning the piece of sh*t that was and their just gonna do the same thing over again.
GIANT_midget writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 6:24:58 AM

and thinking about it I cant think of one decent remake of a horror (speaking mainly of big name horrors like elmstree, friday 13th and stuff like that) everyone has been sh*t when are they gonna see that the modern day remakes do not work come up with new ideas and you may get somewhere

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved