WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Tim Burton's "Superman Lives" Costume Designs Revealed

Posted: October 29th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Tim BurtonSubmit Comment
Back in 1998, Tim Burton was set to direct a brand new Superman movie, called "Superman Lives." Nicolas Cage was attached to star, Kevin Smith wrote the script, and Warner Bros threw millions of dollars at the project before scrapping it due to budget concerns.

Before shutting down pre-production, a large amount of work went into the concept art and costume design phase. Now, visual effects artist Steve Johnson has unveiled 22 photos of the suit that he and his team were working on.

The costumes are so radically different from the original design that many would never guess what movie this was for. Check out the photos below and notice how the dummies all look like Cage.

Photos: (click to enlarge)


Source: Facebook


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 66 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Blink_pimp_182 writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 8:51:26 PM

As much as I like all three people envolved (Cage, Burton and Smith) this appears the greatest decision to stop this movie as it all appears to be extremely terrible. Thank you Warner Bros. for not making one of the worst movies ever
BDeck writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 8:53:03 PM

just another example of how burton is off his rocker.
Preditorian writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 8:54:59 PM

So..... the suit is made of glass?
DesignaCoda writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 9:00:09 PM

Isn't that the year that "Batman and Robin" came out? Kind of fits in with that gaudy superhero trend of the time I guess. Still It's such a radical departure I'd probably want to check it out.
Big_Daddy writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 9:05:57 PM

Johnny depp would look stupid in that costume and Helen bonum carter would have been a sh*t Lois lane
c-prime writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 9:07:12 PM

Jesus H. Christ...that sh*t looks like something Lady Gaga would wear to a trannyfag pageant.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 9:09:20 PM

I don't know why they ever considered Cage in the role of Supes any damn way.
Big_Daddy writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 9:13:20 PM

96 to 00 was cages heyday he made everything
boogiel writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 9:40:01 PM

Definitely gay
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 9:44:37 PM

The glow in the dark stuff is interesting, but the color schemes and overall design is so... alien.
JohnZee writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 9:50:15 PM

f*ck! Okay new rule...keep Tim Burton, Nicholas Cage, and Kevin Smith away from anything and everything even remotely resembling the Superman mythos. What the hell! This sh*t is just embarrassing.
Kurskij writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 9:53:42 PM

My eyes!!!! My beautiful eyes!!!

But seriously. That's Gayver, not Superman...
Ranger writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 10:03:28 PM

Nice suit.

Does c*m wipe off the back of it with but a damp rag?
Ranger writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 10:05:11 PM

Part Borg, part Studio 54.

Burton, stick to letting Depp ass-rape you and leave Supes to... well... ANYone ELSE!!!
Ranger writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 10:05:51 PM

Give the suit to Wonder Woman. She can wear it when she's flying her invisible plane!

f*ckin' bullsh*t!
billofill writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 10:09:31 PM

I DONT f*ckING CARE, I Just Thank God it never got made.Well technically a similiar story did get made by the animated department but i digress.
Ranger writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 10:10:20 PM

Looks like Tobey McGuire wearing it shortly after getting canned from Spidey!
jdl107 writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 10:33:59 PM

Funny that DesignaCoda mentioned it before me, that stuff really looks along the lines of Batman & Robin.
BDeck writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 10:37:00 PM

johnzee:

kevin smith never + superman= awesome screen play

in till burton got signed on and changed the whole thing around,fired smith and brought all new writers onboard.
Rodan writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 10:43:45 PM

I bet that kid is PISSED these photos got released. There goes your sex life.
BDeck writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 10:48:35 PM

what the hell did i just type?

kevin smith+superman= awesome screen play.
BDeck writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 10:50:08 PM

in other news kevin smith is wrapping red state tonight and having a party where the cast and crew will see the whole movie front to end,edited to 92 mins 98 with credits.

that fat ass moves quick.
jsoto127 writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 10:53:34 PM

THANK GOD!!!IT NEVER CAME OUT TIM BURTON SUCKS!! HE SHOULD STICK TO GAY animation PUPPET MOVIES
johnny_boy writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 10:56:36 PM

Could've sworn I saw on TMZ Tim Burton wearing this outfit at club rainbow
Sinestro writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 11:01:00 PM

I think people need to remember that in the late 90's Superman wasn't wearing his regular costume. He wore the Electric costume for a while in those years.

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/b/b8/Supesredblue.jpg
Sinestro writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 11:03:44 PM

Btw, I'm not trying to defend this garish nightmare of a costume, or say that it could have worked, but I can see where Tim is coming from. He was just tripping on acid at the time, this is actually based on what Kal-El looked like at the time. :)
BDeck writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 11:09:02 PM

Sinestro-

oh i never forgot,it was a sh*tty time in superman comics also.there was/is no reasons to bring that comic to life in a movie.

It was like burton opened a comic the day he was signed,and said this is what we'll do,f*ck that fat f*cks script.
filmgeek73 writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 11:09:44 PM

Suit makes this guys look like they've got a turtle head poking out, maybe brilliant Cameron helped him design this Abyss like suits. Big dummy.
kudanrt writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 12:06:55 AM

Ooooooo my crap!!!!! What the hell are they doin to superman!!! A glass suit?? That means you can see his balls of steal????? Tim burton??? What the?? Jeez... now they've managed to ruin eveythin...
Man in Black writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 12:07:45 AM

Pass .....
CCBlev writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 12:20:51 AM

I bet Che and Jake are jacking themslevs off to these pics.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 1:08:38 AM

...wooooow... and I thought just wearing his red underwear over his blue thermals was GAY ...
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 2:28:56 AM

You're all missing the REAL story. Check out photos 13 & 14. Nicolas Cage has a nubbin!
Zebastian von Kane writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 2:46:13 AM

Burton used to have great ideas. So, is this the moment of his declive?
Since Alice in Wonderland, this guy lost all of any respect.
Zebastian von Kane writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 2:48:02 AM

But yes. I remember the comics Sinestro is talking about. However, that Superman was average weaker than usual.
FBO writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 2:57:55 AM

Is it just me or does the mannequin that they used as Nic Cage look like it has better acting talent than Cage?
darkraven28 writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 3:01:43 AM

WTF????????
rocketman writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 3:33:23 AM

Bullet dodged.
trailertrash writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 4:28:02 AM

This Looks Terrible

I Did like what he did with Batman back in 1989 though.
Ranger writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 4:43:15 AM

@Sinestro - '...people need to remember that in the late 90's Superman wasn't wearing his regular costume. He wore the Electric costume for a while in those years.'

Yeah... I seem to remember seeing something like that:

WARNING - ONLY watch this on an empty stomach!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0zXiClnK8oE
trailertrash writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 4:46:38 AM

Ranger -

Does c*m wipe off the back of it with a damp rag

Looks like it would just slip right off !!
trailertrash writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 4:48:27 AM

Love the fire cracker that nearly hits him in that clip !!
Ranger writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 4:57:49 AM

Kryptonian Teflon!
Ranger writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 4:59:50 AM

@trailer - too bad it wasn't a bullet!
Ranger writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 5:02:38 AM

Speaking of 'Super' - I must be responsible for about half a million viewers of this video myself:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PJQVlVHsFF8

And while we're on the topic of Superheros... this is still one of the best going... Batman vs. Gibson!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p9ge02eybjY
trailertrash writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 5:08:34 AM

lol, He still wouldn't have died

His singing was responsible for most of the wall coming down that night
trailertrash writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 5:22:44 AM

lol that 1st video is always a doozy

Speaking of Doozy , i know it's been posted on here before but always worth a look ...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0H9AN5gitco&feature=related
Ranger writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 5:31:25 AM

David has more hundreds of millions than he knows what to do with (he owns EVERYTHING BayWatch!). And he keeps busting his ass to stay in the public eye... insecure or what? He'll take KITT (Knight Rider) to a burger place in LA (in front of his Walk of Fame Star), just to 'meet the people.'

Jesus man... RETIRE! Travel! See the world! Spend time with your kids. Go see the f*cking pyramids! Drunken douche bag!
Ranger writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 5:43:50 AM

TO: trailertrash

HAPPY 1 YEAR ANNIVERSARY ON WP MY FRIEND!

Thx. for all the laughs!
Rambo writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 6:52:19 AM

that suit looks nice and I'm sure 'Superman lives' would have turned out to be much better then that poop fiesta called 'superman returns'
JohnZee writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 7:26:50 AM

@BDeck

You said:

"kevin smith+superman= awesome screen play."

Now if I know anything about Kevin Smith, it is that he's an *sshole and he tends to downplay the skill and ability of any other director. For instance he was critical of Peter Jackson and the Lord of the Rings trilogy on the Jay Leno show at least once. And then later made fun of the trilogy in Clerks # 2.

And Kevin didn't care for Paul Thomas Morgan and his film Magnolia

Kevin Smith on Paul Thomas Anderson’s Magnolia:

“They sent me an Academy screener DVD [of ’’Magnolia’’] this week. I’ll never watch it again, but I will keep it. I’ll keep it right on my desk, as a constant reminder that a bloated sense of self-importance is the most unattractive quality in a person or their work.” He also likens the film to, “a cinematic root canal.”

So that's three directors that Kevin has been overly critical off, and used his role as a public figure to lampoon and ridicule.

And I'm sure there are more.

But I know what you are thinking. The only reason that Kevin says those bad things about other directors is that he is just very critical, yet very objective when it comes to criticism.

Really?

Then why did he rant so much against critics when they rightfully hated and panned "Cop-Out"?

He ain't all that. And as his career has went on he's gotten much better at the being a celebrity and manipulating information that gets out about him, but I don't think anyone would say that he's improved.

Either as a director or a screenwriter.

I'd throw him in the same exact category as Joss Whedon. A tight core group of fanatic followers that he could literally crap in a bucket and smear it on the silver screen writing out the letters K-E-V-I-N S-M-I-T-H and those fans would think that it was brilliant.

So to summarize @BDeck.

That damned Kevin Smith Superman script that he's so proud of, and rants and raves about how if only Tim Burton has just not been a schmuck and f*cked things up.

The script that Kevin proudly signs with a little "f*ck you Tim Burton"?

That script sucks fat hairy Mexican midget balls. I'm a huge fan of Deadshot, but obviously Kevin isn't because he doesn't have a clue.

In fact the majority of his Superman script is only good for inducing headaches. The man was clearly completely and totally out of his league.

Crap. Crap, crap, crap, crap, crap.

I'm actually embarrassed about how crappy that script really is.

Kevin needs to stick to small little movies, where he can write about characters that act, sound, and think just like him.

Kevin is having problems getting movies financed.

Kevin + Superman = Awesome?

No, and I am a big fan of Superman, and after reading portions of Kevin's script I would have to say that Superman is just not awesome enough to make up for Kevin Smith's negative awesomeness...



The Skippy Spartan writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 8:18:18 AM

The mould of Nicohals Cage's face: The lst time he sxpressed any emotion on camera
trailertrash writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 9:30:33 AM

Ranger -

That's very kid of you, we do all have a good laugh, thanks Buddy

Your right on David the guy should just relax, He is so tightly wound

We had a show over here called The Hoff: When Scott Came to Stay.

He seemed so desperate for attention and reassurance at all times, He must be exhausting to be around physically and mentally.

Just Put your feet up and enjoy your hard earned cash and your life dave ...
Crazyhorse writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 1:01:44 PM

The suit sucks

Nicolas Cage absolutley not

Thank goodness this never got off the ground

Though I still dont understand how they allowed the Brady Bunch "He has a kid" crap in Superman Returns

Whoever had that idea ought to be sent to the PHANTOM ZONE for a decade for rehab
Ranger writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 1:14:30 PM

Or shot!

Supes kid was clearly the worst thing about that movie (aside from seeing Clark and Supes resurface at the same time and no one put it together... lol... there must be a gas leak in Metropolis!).
rabid writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 1:50:42 PM

I'd rather have watched Cage's Superman in the neon suit than sit through Superman Returns again.

But what i really want to see is the missing hour of footage from Superman IV, where Lex creates a Bizarro clone of Clark Kent.
Dark writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 1:58:43 PM

LOL!!! Mother f*cker. Damn! I almost spilled my coffee... LMFAO!!!
TheMovieExpert writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 2:20:19 PM

Thank god. first tim trashed batman. i'm happy superman was'nt the next.
swoooop writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 6:25:51 PM

I would actually liked to have seen this movie. Just for the heck of it. I might be a masochistic of a prick, but I like it when Hollywood makes sh*tt and tries to sell it.
bacci40 writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 6:32:50 PM

quick correction needed

smith wrote a script (which is online) there was alot of interference by jon peters...who forced him to add a gay robot, a braniac vs polar bear fight and a spider monster

smith was paid for that script, but it was not going to be the shooting script

when burton came along, he brought in his own script doctors, who basically changed everything....that script has never seen the light of day

minkowski writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 6:44:58 PM

"Isn't that the year that "Batman and Robin" came out? Kind of fits in with that gaudy superhero trend of the time I guess. Still It's such a radical departure I'd probably want to check it out."

That was precisely my first thought. It looks like Burton and his costume designers were taking lessons from Joel Shumacher.

Bad Superman designs for sure. Cool for something else perhaps, but I think Burton was looking for a more literal visionary interpretation. He's really never heard of the art of implication through subtle design, I guess.
GuyBushwithWood writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 7:12:32 PM

the suit looks like it's made of the kind of plastic you get on those holographic labels you see on DVD's. This costume is totally lame.
Aingx writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 2:06:13 AM

Very very FAGGISH. Hate to say it, since i have gay friends, but I like to think they'd agree.......
rabid writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 10:40:56 AM

That wasn't the actual Superman costume. It was the suit he wears to soak up solar energy and regenerate after Doomsday nearly kills him. In that respect, it would have definitely worked in a 90s film.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 1:39:50 PM

2nd last picture reminds me of Dynamo one of the Stalkers from The Running Man. Kevin Smith's Superman Lives (I think that was the title) was a very good story and read if you can find the script. Can't blame him for Burton's kaleidoscopy interpretation of the Kryptonian regeneration suit.

One has to bear in mind the film-making technology that was available back in the late 90s which included battery powered glow sticks. If this film were done today, the suit would look awesome - just think of the CGI suits being designed for Green Lantern and Tron.
GIANT_midget writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 6:14:22 AM

nothing strikes fear into crime then a guy dressed in a superhero costume that looks like he just come out of gay halloween party... f*cking idiots

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved