WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Experts Say Woman at 1928 "The Circus" Premiere is NOT a Time-Traveler

Posted: October 29th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Experts Say Woman at 1928 "The Circus" Premiere is NOT a Time-TravelerSubmit Comment
The DVD of Charlie Chaplin's "The Circus" movie contains footage from the 1928 premiere of the movie, which shows a woman talking on a device that looks like a cell phone. Many outlets reported on this and had fun guessing what was actually happening there. The most common and most ridiculous conclusion has been that the woman is a time-traveler.

LiveScience decided to go to the experts, who all seem to agree that the device is nothing more than a hearing aid known as an ear trumpet. "Old-fashioned mechanical or resonating hearing aids were not necessarily long and rounded," said one archivist. "Short, compact rectangular forms were not unusual. Besides, I would expect this woman to be over 50 years old, so using a late 19th century design in 1928 would not be a stretch I think."

He added: "Now, I can't really explain why the woman appears to be talking (other than yelling at the man who quickened his pace ahead of her). But I think it's fair to say it would be a hasty judgment to dismiss the possibility that it was a hearing aid she was holding up to her ear."

Check out a photo of an ear trumpet and the footage from the premiere below.

Ear Trumpet Photo:


Footage:


Source: CSMonitor


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pomme writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 8:38:01 PM

noooooo! how is possible????
Preditorian writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 8:47:37 PM

Its official, this is proof that we need to protect John Conner and prep for judgment day!
Big_Daddy writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 9:01:41 PM

If it was a time traveler would they not have gone back and fixed the fact that she / he was filmed ?
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 9:06:42 PM

I can't believe that people thought it was a time traveler.
Big_Daddy writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 9:11:24 PM

f*ck I would quicken my pace to if I was married to a he/she hearing aid having pig like that
Big_Daddy writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 9:16:01 PM

Dammit I just got a visit from my future self and this IS my wife
Kurskij writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 9:51:27 PM

Get the f*ck out! No sh*t!

And I was starting to get nervous...
Ranger writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 10:06:57 PM

Oh great! With this 'cover-up' I believe more than ever now she's a time-traveler!!!

buttabean writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 10:26:55 PM

It's an alien talking to her mother that is nagging her. Technically it could be a man lol. You can't totally tell from the video but it's safe to say that it's either a crazy person or an alien enjoying some good old human entertainment.

DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 10:31:12 PM

I just don't care!!!!
Rodan writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 10:35:57 PM

We have experts in time travel?
jdl107 writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 10:37:10 PM

No, what the f*ck. If that was what she was using then the way that thing is designed she'd have to be holding it farther back, since the earpiece is right next to the speaker-hole. Unless of course she was holding it backwards.
johnny_boy writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 10:55:11 PM

Can somebody go back in time and punch Justin Biebers mothers balls the night he was conceived?
Sinestro writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 11:06:46 PM

We needed EXPERTS to tell us this sh*t?
Detrimental writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 11:13:35 PM

Lol @ Roban.

By experts they mean the organizations that employ Austin Powers led by Doc & his DeLorean. These bastards are covering their fluke of the butterfly effect when pot is legalized in America in the future by distracting us with things like this. Someone call Bill & Ted so we have a fighting chance to stand up to these futuristic douchebags screwing around with us just we forget about trying to legalize pot. It's obvious, pot must therefore be legalized. Weed. Yes. Do it. Bong it up.
CCBlev writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 12:32:35 AM

I'm telling ya, you gotta call the Timecop himself, Van Douche, in to investigate.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 1:11:13 AM

Wow. No sh*t.

I would have been more surprised if this was on f*cking Funny or Die!
Jabronidc writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 1:30:49 AM

Dammit I just bought a Delorean! now what.....
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 1:33:58 AM

Thank God that the experts cleared that one out. I almost felt the world crumble with mystery.
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 2:15:01 AM

This video is nothing. I've got absolute 100% proof of time travel! A TARDIS in a photo from 1931!!!

http://cache1.asset-cache.net/xc/3274676.jpg?v=1&c=IWSAsset&k=2&d=45B0EB3381F7834DDF35C0970443561878CB558644A57C9F0ACFB0318981C9EF

;)
Ranger writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 5:09:14 AM

@Rodan - lol... no sh*t!
Rambo writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 6:58:53 AM

so lady gaga is not an alien as well?
Cybear86 writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 7:40:09 AM

Do be so quick 2 believe the man.
Gomez writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 1:45:37 PM

And next your going to tell me the world really won't end in 2012.....experts my ass!
darkraven28 writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 5:12:21 PM

So, the space time continuum SKEEEEEWWWWWED down into this tangent, creating an ALTERNATE 2010.

This is what happens when you go back to use a cell phone in a horse and buggy, f*ckers! Paradox.
minkowski writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 5:23:59 PM

I like how Alex invents non-movie news just do he can do followups that allow him to invent even more non-movie news. Ah, the paradoxes of time travel pale in comparison.
Bunny X writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 8:44:57 PM

Yeah, so advanced to have time traveling ability but still hasn't advanced cell phone technology beyond a handheld phone........
whoever writes:
on October 31st, 2010 at 1:16:53 AM

Yes but this does not discount the possibility that it might be someone that took in Chuck Norris and lost when he kicked them back in time!
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 5:46:49 PM

wow really?!?!! Thanks for clearing that up experts. Psh, experts.
seveltoto writes:
on November 8th, 2017 at 3:01:42 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved