WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Thomas Jane is Happy He Wasn't Cast in "Jonah Hex"

Posted: October 28th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Thomas Jane is Happy He WasnSubmit Comment
Thomas Jane (Punisher) worked very hard to be cast as the title character in the "Jonah Hex" movie. Unfortunately, directors Mark Neveldine and Brian Taylor (Crank) didn't feel that Jane was right for the role and went with Josh Brolin instead.

Brolin agreed to star in the movie, but only if the directors were replaced. So Warner Bros fired Neveldine and Taylor and brought on "Horton Hears a Who" helmer Jimmy Hayward. The studio then had trouble meeting deadlines and finally released the film with very limited marketing. "Jonah Hex" ended up being trashed by critics (13% on RottenTomatoes) and grossing only $10 million on a $47 million budget.

MTV News has now caught up with Jane to get his thought regarding how everything worked out. "I think I dodged a bullet there," he said. "The script that I read was totally different than the movie they ended up doing. I think once Josh Brolin came on board, they changed directors and they changed writers and it turned into a whole different animal. The movie I would've done was a completely different animal."

Click here to read our "Jonah Hex" review.

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ted Mosby writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 8:42:53 PM

TJ "I think i dodged a bullet there" probably the best quote I've heard in a while lol At least hes still passionate with trying to take another run at the punisher and doesn't want to sell out to make a "disney friendly" version of it. I'd love to see them reboot it... in a few years... ALSO Thomas Janes cameo in Scott Pilgrim a couple months back was fantastic lol
Bob82 writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 8:46:34 PM

"I think once Josh Brolin came on board, they changed directors and they changed writers and it turned into a whole different animal. The movie I would've done was a completely different animal."

Which animals were those?!
pomme writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 8:48:04 PM

i see Brolin disliked Crank movies
minkowski writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 8:50:16 PM

Thomas Jane, Josh Brolin, Jesus f*cking Christ in a pair of Nikes.

No matter who took the lead on Jonah Hex, it was doomed to fail. And besides, the real hex was having that brain dead bombshell on board. Well, that an a script meant to be read by the blind and the lobotomized.

As for Megan Fox, that chick has three orifices, and it's a toss-up which one gapes more.
Rambo writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 8:50:27 PM

it would have bombed either way.Jane,anyhow is a box office poison.
minkowski writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 9:01:42 PM

Got that right. He was totally miscast in The Mist and The Punisher. I'm not sure the guy has the personality to act his way out of a whorehouse.
Ari Gold writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 9:21:06 PM

I'm happy I never watched this film.
minkowski writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 9:31:45 PM

Thomas Jane is Happy He Wasn't Cast in "Jonah Hex"

Yes, and the two people that watched Jonah Hex are both happy Jane wasn't cast.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 9:41:49 PM

Thomas probably bought a fruit basket and got a nice Thank You Card from the Hallmark store for his agent saying,

" Thank f*cking God you told me to get the f*ck out of there! "
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 9:44:28 PM

minkowski writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 9:01:42 PM

Got that right. He was totally miscast in The Mist and The Punisher. I'm not sure the guy has the personality to act his way out of a whorehouse.


@minkowski

Then there was that Golden Globe, Academy Award winning Punisher : War Zone.

And the first Punisher with Dolph Lundgren dresses as Frank Castle as a Hell's Angel ...
Punisher : The Movie
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 9:46:12 PM

Bob82 writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 8:46:34 PM

"I think once Josh Brolin came on board, they changed directors and they changed writers and it turned into a whole different animal. The movie I would've done was a completely different animal."

Which animals were those?!


Hint : Johnny Knoxville and Steve-O claim to be ONE.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 9:47:21 PM

Ironically, Charles Bronson played the quintessential Frank Castle ... it just was named 'Death Wish'.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 9:48:24 PM

They misnamed the movie. It wasn't Jonah Hex. It was Jonah Wrecks.
minkowski writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 9:49:31 PM

"Hint : Johnny Knoxville and Steve-O claim to be ONE."

Human??
c-prime writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 9:49:33 PM

Say what you will about Mr. Jane, but I enjoyed Jonathan Hensleigh's "The Punisher".

Oh, yeah, and "Hung" is a good show. Mmmmm...sooo much boobage...
minkowski writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 9:54:37 PM

Dolph Lundgren was a way better Punisher, and so was that old fat guy in the War Zone sequel. Jane always has that "I'm waiting for my other testicle to drop" look.
c-prime writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 10:09:12 PM

@ minkowski: I've yet to see the other ones. I'm willing to give Dolph's movie a look, but I won't budge on "War Zone". Unless I feel like putting a gun in my mouth.

I can't fully understand why Jane's "Punisher" never got a lot of love - maybe it's because John Travolta co-stars and he has a history of playing such great villains (as I've probably expressed before). While Howard Saint is nowhere near as memorable as his roles in "Face/Off", of course, "Broken Arrow", or even "Swordfish" (mmmm...Halle Berry's luscious mammaries), it's still a enjoyable, hammy performance. I swear, every time you see him as an evildoer, he always looks like he's just reveling in it.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 10:45:01 PM

minkowski writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 9:49:31 PM

"Hint : Johnny Knoxville and Steve-O claim to be ONE."

Human??


@minkowski

Sorry. I wasn't very clear on the hint.

The hints answer was Jackass.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 10:51:57 PM

My contention with the continuation of Frank Castle on film is that they should go with Frank, during his years in Vietnam ... the 'Nam series.

I didn't care for Jane's Punisher after whetting my appetite with Bradstreet's posters and art on the covers because they went with Ennis' "Welcome Back, Frank" storyline, which was great in COMIC format, but for a film, was laughable (especially my pet peeve with the f*cking movie wasn't even Travolta OR Jane. It was Kevin f*cking Nash playing the Russian). That's when I resign on it.

I didn't care for Punisher : War Zone because of Jigsaw. That was d*ck Tracy f*cking cheezy (I was f*cking surprised they didn't try to slip in Dustin Hoffman as Mumbles in a scene, mumbling until they tape him again and run his dialogue at a slow f*cking speed). Dominic West should've sued his f*cking agent after that schlocky, hammy sh*t.

Lundgren's Punisher ? Sure, he didn't wear the skull on his chest (perhaps it was a good thing), but for all it's 80's faults ... it was the most realistic and closest to the true nature and development of the Punisher as a character .... and it had Louis Gossett Junior.

HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 1:37:11 PM

As for Megan Fox, that chick has three orifices, and it's a toss-up which one gapes more.


You don't mind if I use that as a siggie on another site do you Mink?
gotsghostrider writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 2:11:34 PM

I preferred Ray Stevenson in War Zone, he was a good choice, also looked like Castle too.
minkowski writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 6:49:09 PM

HorrorJunkie: It's all yours.
darkraven28 writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 3:05:30 AM

Just as we are all happy that Bill Murray was NOT cast as Batman, Jane is right to be happy he wasn't in this movie. That might be the quote of the day.
GuyBushwithWood writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 7:25:45 PM

will a truly great Punisher ever be made, God all these films have such a bad rep and of course we can gudge them all on there level of crapness but they all still suck just some suck more.

I want to see them succeed in making a good Punisher and one where everyone can go "That's how it's done".

Just a little dream of mine.
GuyBushwithWood writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 7:27:12 PM

Judge*
bspence writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 1:49:08 PM

reboot in what... couple years? at the latest?
seveltoto writes:
on November 8th, 2017 at 3:08:15 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved