WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Could "Tron" Blu-ray Kill "Tron Legacy"?

Posted: October 28th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Could "Tron" Blu-ray Kill "Tron Legacy"?Submit Comment
Steven Lisberger, director of the original 1982 "Tron" movie, has been saying that Disney will release the film on Blu-ray around the same time as the theatrical release of "Tron Legacy." We're now only about eight weeks away and the studio has yet to mention anything about the "Tron" Blu-ray.

BlueSkyDisney believes that "Tron" won't reappear in stores until "Tron Legacy" is released on DVD and Blu-ray some time next year. The reason is because the original movie was screened at one of the theme parks earlier this year and was laughed at and mocked for its now-outdated effects and silly costumes. Those in attendance even called the movie dull and boring.

Now that Disney has spent hundreds of millions on "Tron Legacy," the last thing the studio wants is for a young person to buy "Tron" on Blu-ray and be disappointed by it. Then go tell all of his friends and collectively avoid "Tron Legacy."

Question: Is Disney correct in thinking that people under 20 years old may find "Tron" silly?

Source: BlueSkyDisney


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 80 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
dhkenobi writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 6:42:50 AM

Wow...Really? f*cking kids wouldn't know a classic film if it's d*ck was slapping them in the face.
johnny_boy writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 6:55:18 AM

Here's more proof of idiocracy coming about. Tron was great. As dhkenobi said kids don't know classics.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 7:28:02 AM

The studio actually may have a point. I had never seen Tron before, but when I heard about the sequel I downloaded the original. And it might have been groundbreaking at the time, but it hasn't aged very well and it was, quite frankly, a bit boring. However, I will still see Legacy in the theatre, but I don't think the kids of today will as forgiving as I am.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 7:59:57 AM

Right on dhkenobi!! "Tron" is f*cking brilliant!!

Yes the effects are dated, but the story still holds, and if kids today think it's boring then f*ck 'em!!!
Big_Daddy writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 8:04:00 AM

What? No re-release in 3-D?
boogiel writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 8:39:54 AM

Another example of how retards rule Hollywood.
KindredMac writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 9:04:15 AM

It's really about how uneducated and unappreciative this current generation of 12-25 years old today.

Kids think that reading a book is torture.

They also would be more apt to be able to tell you who every single American Idol winner and runner up has been than to tell you who the last 7 Presidents were.
CCBlev writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 9:27:51 AM

What kinda crack is this guy on? Kindred you're right the 12-25 generation right now is f*cked. I work with kids and my god, i'm blown by some of stuff they talk about and do.
johnny_boy writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 9:30:09 AM

@CC-you work with kids and deal with how dumb they are? You're a strong man for going this far. I Would've Probaly shot myself by then
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 9:46:09 AM

Well guys, my 19year old nephew loves "Tron" and can't wait to see "Tron: Legacy", he really appreciates "Tron" for what it is and done for special effects.

Also he is a littel dissapointed that the IMAX in Waterloo is not doing a double header of the two movies.

And he has his two uncles to thank for showing that there are movies before the year 2000.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 10:05:13 AM

@CC- Did you mean "blown AWAY"?

I couldn't believe what I heard on the radio yesterday. Apparently, (though I'm hoping this was total horsesh*t) the top two Halloween costumes for people under 25 this year are "Snookie" and "The Situation". Now, I have no idea who these people are, besides that they're both *ssholes from some reality show that will fade into obscurity faster than Randy Quaid's sense of morality, but this is proof that the future of this planet is completely f*cked. As far as the original "Tron", I haven't seen it in about 20 years, and I've been looking forward to the Blu-ray. It is both a classic AND dated movie. It's still awesome in every way, especially when you consider what they had to work with back then. I'm sure that "Legacy" will blow AWAY (CC!) the special effects of the first one, but as far as the story, we'll have to wait and see. If they're gonna hold off on the Blu-ray version, then it better be worth the wait. I want a 3 disc set with two discs being really cool special features and behind the scenes stuff and the other being an enhanced and remastered version of the original.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 10:07:36 AM

@Dave - Glad to hear your nephew is on the right path! Now just get him to spread the word.
sc_kg writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 10:23:31 AM

Bad choice.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 10:25:33 AM

@evil

Cheers, and don't worry he does every chance he get's.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 10:29:24 AM

@Evil: If that's true I'm out. I do not longer see any sense of purpose in life if that's what people wants. I'm out.

And how the f*ck do you even dress up like them? Put on some swimtrunks and spray yourself orange? That's a costume even lazier than being a sheet-ghost.
Bunny X writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 10:33:26 AM

This article is absolutely right. The majority of today's youth have no sense of time placement. They can't take a movie like Tron and appreciate it against its own time. They end up comparing it to today's standards and that's where the problems happen. This is perhaps the biggest reason behind SOOOOOOOOO many remakes. Studios want to update films for the younger generations because they know the majority of the audience is too stupid to appreciate an original. My kids saw the trailer for Tron Legacy and were wowed. I showed them the original and they loved it. If anything, it made them want to see Legacy even more. But I know that's not the majority position.It's a sad state of affairs but true nonetheless.
Ted Mosby writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 10:36:06 AM

This article just completely bummed me out... even if you don't SOMEHOW like Tron you have to at least RESPECT it for what it did nearly 30 years ago
BigTate writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 10:48:14 AM

I've got the Tron: SE DVD and though the extras aren't that great, the movie itself is fantastic. I'm going to test some friends' kids and get another opinion on it. Screw the fools who laughed at the film.
billofill writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 10:51:17 AM

The DVD is still in Print and i've seen it on HDMovies and HDNet quite a few times this year. ummmmmmmm Bull sh*t. That and having seen the dvd and the HD version its not that much different.
trailertrash writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 11:36:17 AM

Ted-

Thats pretty much how i see Tron.

Watched it at the cinema 1st time round didn't really like it that much (sorry people) and for some reason i have never seen it again, but i thought the effects were very good.

I Would have liked to have seen it again before i watched Tron Legacy (which does look pretty good BTW) but i will wait for the blu ray next year now.
trailertrash writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 11:39:45 AM

Freudian -

Thought the samething but back then the effects seemed really good, But will give it another viewing at some point.
Inception writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 11:57:32 AM

This generation is f*cked up, seriously, they don't value art, wise move by the studios.

Inception writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 12:13:19 PM

"The reason is because the original movie was screened at one of the theme parks earlier this year and was laughed at and mocked for its now-outdated effects and silly costumes. Those in attendance even called the movie dull and boring."

The real reason is because they show the freaking movie to people who actually like
98 and Hanna montana.
Ranger writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 12:54:29 PM

The first Tron was mind-blowing in the theaters back when. I've since updated my VHS copy to a DVD one. I feel sorry for the close-minded of today that can't even try to conceive how ground-breaking the effects of Tron.

Close-mindedness = their loss. For this and many, many other things I suspect.

Oh well... f*ck 'em.
CCBlev writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 1:33:42 PM

yes i meant blown away lol Good catch! Yea i work with kids on boxing and kickboxing and trying to help them stay outta trouble. But its pretty sick when you hear about 12 yr olds giving out bj's.
CCBlev writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 1:36:02 PM

Evil-yea almost a the chicks on my friends list on facebook are dressing as the c*nt. whats so special about her. It's bitches like Snookie, that are giving women a bad name.
ShizPaf writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 1:44:24 PM

I'm torn by the idea of people not giving the old one a chance and the concept that folks live into the expectations others set for them. On one hand they would look at it and current gaming standards (not even cinematic standards)and say "Self, you would ne'er play a game that looks this sh*tty". On the other hand people never make the right choices if they are not available to make...
KindredMac writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 1:45:34 PM

@Inception: LMAO!!!! 98??? Wow dude... You're REALLY showing your age thinking that any kids today even know who that group is! Kids don't even know who the Jonas Bros are anymore as it is!
Ranger writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 1:59:13 PM

lol... I was chuckling over Inception's post as well. How true what he said!
Ranger writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 2:11:58 PM

And Bunny and others have hit the nail on the head here.

I think I grew up in a perfect time for movies.

I LOVE: Spartacus, Planet of the Apes (Heston, and ONLY the first one, and not much I liked about Wahlberg's version), Josey Wales is my fav. western with Rio Bravo right behind. I'll NEVER get tired of the amazing feat that is The Matrix trilogy (all 3 for effects, first one only for story), Star Wars (1977) - the REAL FIRST ONE! etc. To Kill a Mockingbird, The Boys from Brazil, 12 Angry Men (Fonda, Cobb... holy crap... ALL stars in that movie!), Winchester '73. To Braveheart, Blues Brothersm, Stripes, Fast Times at Ridemont High (if you didn't see then that Penn was a genius... YOU'RE AN IDIOT!!!), Ben-Hur, Soylent Green (and The Omega Man), Shawshank to a practically scriptless 'Gladiator' (yes... they made a lot of it as they went along).

'Entitled kids' these days, chicks acting like they're Paris Hilton (HINT: your family needs to be billionaires to pull it off just right), close-minded... even the lurkers come on here spouting their own policy of what and how things should be posted on here (clearly their parents have indulged them and set them up for a world of disappointment coming down the tracks), etc.

I watch movies and appreciate them for the time period in which they were made.

You 'kids' keep telling us that have not only been 'around the block' - yeah, I surveyed the land the f*cking block was built on, f*cky!

Your 'attitude' just has you missing out... and it's actually funny to see. Now, make sure you run out and get the latest smartphone (I do so like the BlackBerry Torch... lol), get the latest and greatest of everything NOW! Don't worry about your credit limit or your retirement... I'm sure it's just fine.

LOL!
BayHarbor_Butcher writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 2:27:34 PM

Screw 'em! who cares what the newfags think! All movies show their age after 20 odd years! hell look at jurassic park! it looks horrible now! and it still in its tweens!
rocketman writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 2:45:37 PM

Never got Tron when i was a kid,more spaceships and ninjas for me.
Crazyhorse writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 2:50:20 PM

I think I saw About 5 mins of Tron and was absolutely bored so I turned the channel. That was 25 yrs ago so I have never seen it though maybe I should before I see this new one
rabid writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 2:52:13 PM

Kids are spoiled for sure these days. But Tron was always kind of boring to begin with. Even as a kid I never wanted to watch it all the way through.
Ranger writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 2:54:20 PM

I don't think many would debate the 'Light Cycles' were the film's highlight.
rabid writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 2:55:39 PM

I can see the costumes not making sense either in the modern age. Kids in the atari age had no illusions about their games being simple points of light on the screen, and the costumes in Tron reflected that. These days, games look like real-world camera footage, and that leaves TRON no longer resembling a modern video game world.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 3:36:57 PM

Ranger writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 2:11:58 PM

And Bunny and others have hit the nail on the head here.

I think I grew up in a perfect time for movies.
----------------------------------

We can't be too far apart in age and I agree with you completely.

I remember seeing the original Star Wars/Star Trek in theaters and can apprieate how far movie FX have come.

It's not like I don't notice when a movie that is 2 decades shows signs of being dated. (My favorite would be "Revenge of the Nerds". Those computers that they show them using so damn old I can't help but laugh)

Still, when a movie like the original "Tron" is shown, I can sit back and enjoy the plot and ignore the dated graphics.

In short: f*ck the youth. They worship Justin Beaver and Edward Cullen.
Ranger writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 3:42:00 PM

Movies, like music take me back to the time I viewed/listened to them. So, yes, by today's 'standards' the first Tron could/would suck. But when I saw it in the theater in 1982 - it was AMAZING! Thus, I remember it as so.

The difference is...

I can watch movies BEFORE my time (Rio Bravo for example), and STILL appreciate for what it was and what it must have meant to those watching it in '59... today's generation of getting everything so new and improved doesn't bother to make that distinction and 'appreciate'... they're dismissive (as I am of box-thinking comments from lurkers repeatedly on here under new alias's).

Again... their loss.
ShizPaf writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 3:48:22 PM

Hey Ranger, Rio Bravo is one o my faves too, just edged out by the very very similar El Dorado, though I like Dean Martin a touch better as El Borachone.
Ranger writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 4:21:57 PM

Borachone... lol. You DO know those movies well.

It's still Josey Wales for me as my all-time fav.
Ranger writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 4:22:36 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hvf8r3cX3vo
Ranger writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 4:32:21 PM

C'mon... EVERYONE SING!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jYcniWMMVfI
dhkenobi writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 4:39:49 PM

Sadly I fall into that 12-25 y/o range that someone mentioned, but unlike the majority who give this current generation a bad name, my favorite films of all time include: The original Star Wars trilogy, Shawshank Redemption, 12 Angry Men (Henry Fonda one), and Hunt For Red October, just to name a few.

Wait a minute! Outdated special effects and funny costumes? Wouldn't Star Wars fall into this category?
trailertrash writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 4:49:54 PM

Good list there dhkenobi and lucky you for being in the 12-25 age bracket lol
Ranger writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 4:50:19 PM

@dhk - it would...

'f*cking kids wouldn't know a classic film if it's d*ck was slapping them in the face.' --- lol. Nice!
Ranger writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 4:53:10 PM

Great for dhk keeping an open mind to older movies. There's a LOT of enjoyment in those!
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 5:02:16 PM

It would be like kids putting down the music of Patsy Cline simply because she didn't use a voice corrector (or whatever the hell T-Pain uses).

"The Ten Commandments" is works for me even though the FX are very dated. (Its a tradition in my family to watch this movie when it is shown on tv every Easter)
Ranger writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 5:04:31 PM

It's a Wonderful Life.

Miracle on 34th St. (Natalie Wood version).

etc.
trailertrash writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 5:07:31 PM

Ranger - Nice list also, I agree with all on there and Fast Times is a great movie in the same vain as Animal House.

My top movies off top of my head

Sting
Butch Cassidy
Goodfellas
Die Hard
Raiders of the lost ark
Jaws
Animal House
Bullitt
Towering Inferno (Newman and McQueen greatest movie pairing ever)
Great Escape
Rocky
Saving Private Ryan
Outlaw Josey Wales and Unforgiven
Ranger writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 5:08:24 PM

Nice list!
trailertrash writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 5:11:17 PM

Horror -

10 Commandments thats always on here at Easter or Christmas.

Charlton Heston is Mr Epic ...
Ranger writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 5:13:09 PM

Yep. Late 50's to early 70's, Hollywood was that man's oyster!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 5:19:21 PM

Could "Tron" Blu-ray Kill "Tron Legacy"?

Absolutely not. Tron is a movie about the world of computers and hackers. Hacker movies actually had a start in the 80s, when the first wave of hacking, computer language and computers were introduced for the everyday consumer, combined with the fact that Tron introduced first of its kind technology into the mainstream sci-fi movie ethos. So would Blu-Ray Kill Tron Legacy ? How ? This movie and the introduction of it into Blu-Ray only makes sense and even moreso than most movies that were introduced into Blu-Ray long way before it. It goes to prove that TRON and TRON LEGACY are exactly what they are meant to be : revolutions in both entertainment and also portrayls of technology within and in entertainment itself.
trailertrash writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 5:20:39 PM

It sure was...

Always wondered how Jaws would have been if he had taken the part of Brody and not Roy.

Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 5:22:47 PM

BlueSkyDisney believes that "Tron" won't reappear in stores until "Tron Legacy" is released on DVD and Blu-ray some time next year. The reason is because the original movie was screened at one of the theme parks earlier this year and was laughed at and mocked for its now-outdated effects and silly costumes. Those in attendance even called the movie dull and boring.

* Because they have been introduced into technology that is more advance than it once was and also design/costuming and production way more advanced than the 80s had. While I can't condone their actions (youth always disrespect that which they cannot comprehend or appreciate until they later understand the impact a point in history has made), I can certainly understand why they would not be able to stay tuned into the story, due to our more rapid culture and our shortened attention spans. Case in point : This movie came out when role playing games and books were still in fashion.
trailertrash writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 5:27:17 PM

The 1st tron came out when we thought this was a great game:

/ .


Atari Tennis lol

Ranger writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 5:36:06 PM

I had one of these as a kid:

http://www.gooddealgames.com/articles/Game%20Consoles/6%20Coleco%20Telstar.jpg

It sucked sh*t even back then. But it was cheaper than quarters spent in the arcades (yeah, I said... 'arcade'... some of you are going to have to GOOGLE THAT!!!!).
trailertrash writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 5:37:15 PM

RIP to James MacArthur from Hawaii Five-0

Book 'em Danno , one the Clasic tv lines of all time...
vaodsi writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 5:39:18 PM

if you didn't grow up seeing tron and thinking it was awesome.. then you won't think it is awesome now.
It is silly and slow.....
it's also groundbreaking for it's time.
trailertrash writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 5:41:43 PM

Nice pic

Arcade's lol

All those old game machines ended up in Hotel games rooms in Florida ..
Ranger writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 5:50:32 PM

RIP (the REAL) Danno!

http://www.imdb.com/news/top
Ranger writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 5:51:03 PM

Nice catch tt.
trailertrash writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 5:59:10 PM

Sad news ..

Can't believe they made 259 episodes of Hawaii Five-O that is some going.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 6:04:04 PM

trailertrash writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 5:59:10 PM

Sad news ..

Can't believe they made 259 episodes of Hawaii Five-O that is some going.


@trailertrash

Amen to that. And Christopher Walken had a guest star role as a Navy swabbie in one of them. Back when he died his hair blonde for the role!
trailertrash writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 6:22:04 PM

Max- Nice !!

Just reading they were going to Link Hawaii Five-O with Magnum PI and even quoted McGarrett and Dan in early episodes but Lord retired from acting and it never happened.
minkowski writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 7:54:56 PM

Someone actually said they enjoyed Bullitt? Seriously?

That was one of the most boring films of the late sixties. I only watched it to see what San Fran looked like during that time, but hated everything else.

If McQueen was supposed to embody some sort of action hero, or even an interesting actor, he failed. And the Towering Inferno didn't do him any jollies either.

As for Tron, it's a a film based on technology only marginally more advanced than vacuum tubes. I'm older than twenty, though I wish I wasn't, and I find the original Tron film not only laughable but boring as well.

But that's what happens when you wrap an entire f*cking film in technology meant to become obsolete overnight. I mean, no one is going to take seriously a film where people upload themselves into a crappy computer through the f*cking floppy drive or whatever, just to ride around on goofy neon-lit motorcycles.

That's not fantasy, that's just out-dated stupidity based on the even more whimsical notion that computers are somehow imbued with a magical aspect. In an age where my watch has more computation power than a house full of Apple IIe's and computers are disposable appliances and where even the cheap video games mimic reality, no one is going to fall for the original Tron.

As for the sequel, it's going to flop like Escape from Witch Mountain.

And Disney needs to drop this whole re-inventing their past live-action films for the modern audiences. It isn't working. They think they can slap on a thick patina of CG sh*t to cover up the film's glaring plot and character deficiencies, but no one falls for that sh*t and they never will.
minkowski writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 7:57:15 PM

"I had one of these as a kid:

http://www.gooddealgames.com/articles/Game%20Consoles/6%20Coleco%20Telstar.jpg

It sucked sh*t even back then. But it was cheaper than quarters spent in the arcades (yeah, I said... 'arcade'... some of you are going to have to GOOGLE THAT!!!!)."

Coleco Telstar would've sucked back when people made butter with broomsticks.
Ranger writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 9:53:04 PM

lol... pretty much, yeah.
Ranger writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 9:53:25 PM

Tying a string around a rock was more fun.
Zebastian von Kane writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 10:31:27 PM

While a bit slow at some sequences, Tron is actually brilliant.

However, believing some people today are going to pass on the original for being outdated is not as far-fetched as you may think. People today needs to be more understanding of history.

As for me, I'll buy both films as soon as they're available.
ChainsawX writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 1:29:05 AM

trons effects are better than most of the movies made on the sci fi channel and that was 20 years ago hell its better than a lot of hollywood films now
trailertrash writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 4:40:08 AM

Mink

Have to disagree with you on Bullitt i really did enjoy that movie.

If your not a fan of McQueen (sounds like your not) And you don't like his on screen style of the brooding man, That will say very little with a don't give a sh*t attitude and has little or no sense of humour i can see why you didn't enjoy Bullitt.

Never really thought of McQueen as an action hero and i don't think it's something he would have wanted to be anyway.

He always tried not to repeat the same sort of Character's when choosing his film roles, which is why he turned down the lead in Dirty harry (thank god).

But granted his acting stayed pretty much the same no matter what character he played.

But because of the success of Bullitt it opened the door for other Cop thrillers such as Dirty Harry and French Connection (both also great movies) and set the bench mark for all car chases in the movies from then on.

I Do agree with you on Tron though.

Supersweetguy writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 10:35:06 AM

Who cares? Even some youth in my country thinks today's culture is cool. Nobody would care if something is a classic.
Bunny X writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 11:39:30 AM

The only issue I have with Tron, (and a lot of other movies) is that they relied on the visuals to get the movie by and did little on the story.
I love Tron, but it is basically a story about personifying the parts of a computer and seeing what life if like inside.
Hell someone did a better job of that in the cartoon series Reboot.
My fear is that Disney takes the same road and has no story in Tron Legacy and just hopes to wow everyone with eye candy effects.
Ranger writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 2:08:07 PM

@Bunny - I thought about that yesterday after my other posts on here.

As some movies are a soundtrack first, story second, it can be said of Tron that is is a showcase for special effects first, story second. No argument here. But it did have a story. And the effects were fab. for their time (as a standalone piece of work... they still really stand up on their own well). The story was simple (maybe intentional to give way/make room for said effects), but enjoyable (Disney was a lot more pure back then). I haven't re-watched it since upgrading my VHS copy to DVD... so it's been a while... and still looking forward to it.
Rodan writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 11:16:03 PM

I've never seen Tron but I do wanna try it out sometime. And I'll be seeing Tron Legacy as well.

Ranger, it's funny you mentioned It's a Wonderful Life. That's the official Christmas Eve movie of my family. We'd watch it every year. I really liked it but after a few years we knew it too well to really enjoy it anymore (for awhile at least). So naturally I commandeered the Christmas Eve movie-picking privilege and started a family tradition based on the OTHER prototypical Christmas movie...Die Hard. And next year it was Die Hard 2, and Die Hard with a Vengeance last. That must have been a few years ago. I'm not really sure what we'll be watching this year but I'll make sure it's badass.
darthraige writes:
on October 30th, 2010 at 12:31:19 AM

Kids don't know a great f*cking film these days.
Captain Bennett writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 11:45:21 AM

Maybe these geniuses @ Disney should've screened the original before dumping millions into a sequel for a 28 year old movie. Obviously the audience will have more people in their 30s and 40's. The people that know this movie isn't about Tron from Chappelle's Show.
warlord writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 2:36:24 PM

the frist tron was awesome and yes it is out-dated but in 20 years from now tron legacy will be too so whats there point? just relese tron on dvd or blueray what ever!
OSanBrazil writes:
on December 29th, 2010 at 6:56:39 PM

These young kids are so stupid! Tron is great! I love the movie, and I'm just waiting for the blurays (Tron and Tron Legacy) to be launched. I will buy them both at the same time!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved