WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Christopher Nolan Doesn't Want 3D for "The Dark Knight Rises"

Posted: October 28th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Christopher Nolan DoesnSubmit Comment
Christopher Nolan just revealed that the name of his third "Batman" movie will be called "The Dark Knight Rises," and has now added that he will not make the film in 3D, despite what the studio may want.

"We will be shooting and exhibiting the film in 2-D," he said. "We want the look and feel of the film to be faithful to what has come before in the first two films. There was a large canvas and operatic sweep to 'The Dark Knight' and we want to make a film that will carry on with that look and feel."

But just because "The Dark Knight Rises" won't use 3D technology, it doesn't mean that Nolan isn't thinking of ways to impress fans. "We're looking to do something technologically that's never been done before," he promised.

Nolan went on to explain that the third film will conclude the story that was told in "Batman Begins" and "The Dark Knight." He said: "Our ambition for the third movie is to complete a story that has begun. This is not starting over, this not rebooting. We're finishing something, and keeping a consistency with what's come before has real value."

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 40 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 6:38:38 AM

Good news , Hope Nolan sticks to his guns and doesn't change his mind with pressure from Warners Bros, Who will be just thinking about the easy 3D money they could make.
KallousTom writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 6:57:18 AM

He is one of the few directors left in cinema that I have much faith in. I don't think he's ever made a bad movie, so I'm sure we're going to get a great movie the way Nolan and his team want to tell it.
nitishbhat writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 6:58:15 AM

finally someone who talks sense.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 7:17:29 AM

He has enough power to tell the production companies were to shove their ideas.

WB should learn this, stay away from the creation fo the film, give him everything he needs, and he will repay them back with a huge f*cking profit when people spend the next 6 months talking about the film after its release
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 7:22:18 AM

Nolan knows that the studio knows that they can't afford to let him go. So Nolan can do pretty much what ever the hell he likes. So if he refuse to do 3D, the studio can't make him.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 7:49:23 AM

WOW!! A director with a brain.

Thank you Nolan, thank you.
boogiel writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 7:54:53 AM

Finally, a director who stood up to his principles. Kudos to Chris Nolan
CCBlev writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 9:31:20 AM

Add another reason or 2 in there on why I love Nolan.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 9:31:50 AM

Yeah, glad about the lack of 3D here. No offense to Alex, but I posted this whole bit on here last night in the other thread. If you guys think Nolan has complete control of this movie, think again. It's Warner Bros, for f*ck's sake. They'll give him some room, but who do you think pushed for the new title? Doesn't exactly sound like something the Nolans and David Goyer would come up with. It doesn't even make sense. If the first movie had a play on the word "knight" in the title, I'd be all for it. But to me, this makes "Batman Begins" sound like a stand alone movie, followed by "The Dark Knight" and ITS sequel. Not a trilogy. If he wants to come back and direct 4,5 and 6, ok, that's different. I'm sure this title was pushed by WB because of the recognition it will get from fans of TDK. Like I said before, I'm gonna enjoy it no matter what, but I wish they would have gone with a better title instead of (loosely translated) "Hey Remember That Movie From the Guy That Made 'Inception' That Made a sh*t-Ton of Money And Had Batman In It? This one is Just Like That!"
rabid writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 10:05:23 AM

Dark Knight works better in Imax... but Superman, that one should definitely be filmed in 3D.
Ted Mosby writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 10:22:25 AM

OT:
First look at Chris Evans in costume as Captain America

http://popwatch.ew.com/2010/10/28/captain-america-chris-evans-2/
Ted Mosby writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 10:26:19 AM

they should make a car decal of Calvin (calvin & hobbes) pissing on the 3D symbol
Bunny X writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 10:38:35 AM

This is great and expected news. If there's one director in Hollywood that has the pull and stones to bitch slap the studios, it's Nolan. I applaud him for this. He's going to run this race on his terms and not use any gimmicks. He's like the baseball player that chooses not to steroids!!
The best thing about this is that he doesn't need 3D and he knows it. He knows his movie is going to dominate because he makes great films. Period.
I don't care how much pressure the studios try to put on him, Nolan won't budge. And why not? what are they going to do/ Go with a non-Nolan involved Batman project? Pfffffffttt hahahahahaha
Rio14 writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 10:43:57 AM

"The Dark Knight Rises!!!!!!" What who came up with this title, why don't they just call it the dark knight returns, lol, please to make this film at least close to where it was heading after the Dark Knight, call this one
"The Caped Crusaider", now that should be the title!!!
Rio14 writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 10:44:46 AM

I spelled it wrong it's "Caped Crusader" sorry
UnNameable_One writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 10:57:07 AM

Actually i could really care less about the title. I mean, yeah it's pretty plain, but itz not sh*tty. And if itz a good enough movie, then the title will all but be forgotten...kinda.
rabid writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 11:05:29 AM

Rio, if you haven't noticed with the other films, Nolan's titles always reflect the plot. So assume at some point that Batman will literally rise... from the dead/out of the shadows/out of vigilantism.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 11:05:43 AM

@Ted - Nicely done! Hopefully we'll get a full shot with the mask on soon.

@Rio - Well said. SuperHeroHype.com had a survey a few months ago and "The Caped Crusader" was my top pick. They even set it up in TDK when Bruce was with that Eastern European chick in the restaurant and she said "What if Harvery Dent is The Caped Crusader?" I'm not saying anything about Harvey Dent or Two-Face, but at least there would have been a nice nod from the last movie.

@Bunny - Don't forget, Warner Bros. almost DID go with a "non-Nolan involved Batman project". Remember "Justice League Mortal" starring Armie Hammer as Batman?
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 11:08:02 AM

@UnNameable_One - Good point, they could have gonne with "Batman: Dark Knight of the Moon"!
fadeddragon2469 writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 11:18:30 AM

Damn, thank DOG he's not doing it in 3D. I'm still concerned about who the main villian will be though. If some of the rumors of Killer Croc are right, I just don't see how you can fit that in Nolan's universe of such realistic villians. Unless he's just got some nasty dry skin. Oh, and Ted, thanks for that photo, but as more stuff like this comes out for Cap, I'm becoming less and less interested.
Inception writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 11:47:54 AM

@ eViL.kEv2:

True, I remember reading it yesterday, also agree with you. WB is greedy as hell (that's why the Superman film will probably fail), they are gonna still make their money back, and even way more now with this new retarded title. A better title for the 3rd Batman film would have been "Money never sleeps", but too bad Oliver Stone already used it.
ProfMovies writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 12:54:41 PM

SOooooooooo, one by one the 3D films are dropping! It's about time!!
3D is dumb.
Simple as that...DUMB!
Only appeals to little ADD-afflicted children, and mouth-breathing fan boys.

The funny thing is: The whole home video industry is gambling their future on 3D!

Maybe just making GOOD MOVIES would do the trick, Hollywood?
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 1:23:09 PM

More news about the new movie from superherohype:

Batman Begins and The Dark Knight composer Hans Zimmer talked to PopcornBiz about working again with Christopher Nolan on The Dark Knight Rises.

“He was going to come over next week,” chuckled Zimmer. “We start early. I know he's puttering around with ideas, and we sort of sneak up on things.”

“Working with Chris, he gives me all the freedom in the world and encourages me to go and be daring and unusual and crazy and all those sorts of things and be able to be the sort of emotional center of the film,” he told PopcornBiz. “It's very give and take. I'll start long before he starts shooting. Our conversations start there and it goes both ways: we just have conversations about the movie and less about what the music has to do, and it really comes out of that, whereby I felt that there was a real emotional core to be had and that that was something that the music had to do and I hung on that for dear life.”

Zimmer last worked with Nolan on Inception.

Rambo writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 2:18:28 PM

just saw 'the social network'.what a piece of crap.highly overrated.Fincher keeps falling down.3/10
Crazyhorse writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 2:44:23 PM

Darn no 3D, now that just sucks

I was really hoping to pay an additional $5 to catch pink eye with the re-useable 3D glasses at the theatre

All while watching another good movie ruined by 3D technology
rabid writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 3:00:01 PM

3D isn't any more dumb than any other way of stylizing movies... like shooting black/white or grindhouse style or slow-motion 360-cam Matrix style. It fits the scifi genre particularly well.
Zebastian von Kane writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 3:03:19 PM

OH MY GOD!

Nolan has stated himself as the man that should lead Hollywood to a total overhaul. Reshape what studios have turned into a vicious business.

Christopher Nolan just came from the future to prevent WW3.
TheMovieExpert writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 3:30:41 PM

I was expecting the title to be The "Dark Knight Returns"
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 5:14:25 PM

@Ted - OT Again - more pics from "Captain America" and part of the article from EW:

http://www.superherohype.com/news/articles/109625-more-captain-america-photos
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 5:30:00 PM

I don't want 3-D in this movie either. What emphasis or stunning reasonable effect would it need to bring out ? It's mere marketing and a ploy that can (for some movies) actually make it less appealing than if the story was still in two deminsion ... ex : Resident Evil : Afterlife.

God, I am f*cking sick of this 3-D fad .... what's next ? Dora the f*cking Explorer in 3-D ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 5:31:27 PM

Whatever genre, whatever movie .... the story is the most important thing.

3-D is nice, but if the story is a piece of sh*t, then it's going to be a 3-D, rubberneckin', casualty inflicting piece of sh*t.
Devil writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 5:48:21 PM

The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring
The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers
The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers Rises

Alien
Aliens
Alienses

Die Hard
Die Hard 2: Die Harder
Die Hard 2: Die Harderest

The Silence of the Lambs
Hannibal
Hannibal Rises

X-Men
X2: X-Men United
X2: X-Men United Then Disbanded Then United Again

Oceans 11
Oceans 12
Oceans 12 Rises

Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl
Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest
Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End
Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides
Pirates of the Caribbean: Stranger Tides Rises

I Know What You Did Last Summer
I Still Know What You Did Last Summer
I'll Always Know What You Did Last Summer
I'ill Always Know That You still Knew About What You Knew About What You Did last summer
G Lantern writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 6:37:26 PM

does that mean it concludes this story and leaves it open to start another one ?
Ted Mosby writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 7:06:56 PM

@eViL
NICE man you beat me to it touche lol I just saw it on CBM.com and was thinking about reposting i but you got me bro haha glad they finally got pictures! but god damnit ... I won't be satisfied til i get my GL trailer!!!
minkowski writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 8:17:02 PM

So, to recap:

Bad news: the f*cking title.

Good news: no f*cking 3D.

So far, Nolan is still sitting in neutral on the sh*t-O-Meter. Lets see where he goes when casting is announced.
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 9:53:24 PM

i think 3d is a piece of sh*t
The R1DDL3R writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 11:43:32 PM

f*cked up not going with me for the movie, better get someone just as good
koul writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 2:12:57 AM

can't wait for next year and 2012. they both gonna be the biggest superhero movie years
WonDerBanGeR writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 3:21:36 AM

viva nolan
Salvador writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 1:18:41 PM

Well done, Nolan!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved