WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Christopher Nolan Reveals "Batman 3" Title

Posted: October 27th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Christopher Nolan Reveals "Batman 3" TitleSubmit Comment
Christopher Nolan spoke to LA Times, revealing that his third "Batman" movie will be called "The Dark Knight Rises," adding that the movie will pick up after "The Dark Knight."

"We'll use many of the same characters as we have all along, and we'll be introducing some new ones," he said. And as much as fans wanted to see The Riddler in the franchise, Nolan quickly eliminated the villain as one of the contenders. "It won't be the Riddler," Nolan stated. If you're keeping track, he has now said "no" to The Riddler, The Joker and Mr. Freeze.

Right before "The Dark Knight" hit theaters, the director revealed that the title referred to Harvey Dent as much as Batman. So does the title of the third film mean that Dent will be brought back? Stay tuned.

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 81 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 8:08:42 PM

No Harvey Dent, no damned Joker. No damned TDK title-spin off. Either make it fresh through and through or don't make the bugger at all.
shamusot00le writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 8:12:49 PM

It's Alex isn't it? Alex, I feel as though as have a firmer grip on the English language than, say, our friend Telur, but I fail to see how the title 'The Dark Knight Rises' even eludes to Dent. Dent was the 'White Knight' and his death by falling from a building is in Nolans world, not comic book world...
Bob82 writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 8:18:57 PM

Hate the title, hate the idea of bringing Dent back and hate there's no Riddler!

But, what the hell, I love Nolan so why not have some faith, right?
triggax writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 8:23:26 PM

is this guy serious?

You should have a look at your own errors when questioning someones grasp on the English language.

One.

"Alex, I feel as though as have a firmer grip"

.... After reading this, I feel as though, Telur has a "firmer grip" on the human language than, say, you.

Two.

At the time The Dark Knight was released Nolan himself stated that the title referred as much to Batman, as it did to Harvey Dent. For example, if a man were to be labeled, say, The White Knight. When and If that man ever became criminal, he would most probably be referred to as The Dark Knight.

So. Maybe you should take your friend Telur to a few more ESL classes before you start spouting off crass ignorant statements that are irrelevant and stupid.

Thanks.

Triggax.
crimsonshaft writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 8:24:14 PM

Was 'Batman Begins Again' already taken? Would have loved to be a fly on the wall for that brainstorm session.

Love what Nolan is doing but that title is pretty weak.
minkowski writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 8:26:15 PM

@Shamus:

Alex is merely repeating what Nolan said regarding the title of The Dark Knight. Asking why that title refers to Dent isn't right, because Alex didn't make the claim. Nolan did. So don't kill the messenger.

And yes, your grasp of the English language indeed exceeds Telur's, no doubt, but than again whose doesn't?
LEONCIO writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 8:26:37 PM

Like Shamuso said, The Dark Knight is and always has been Batman, not Dent/Two-Face, in the movie he was "The White Knight".
LEONCIO writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 8:28:50 PM

Nolan meant, I guess, that the title was bexause of the "White/Dark Knight" duality with Dent and Batman, not because Dent was TDK too.
technoreaper writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 8:29:03 PM

I knew Harvey Dent was coming back. All the people who said he wasn't look like fools now. It was totally obvious that The Dark Knight was a brilliant set-up for the character in the 3rd movie. Excellent decision.
lostwarrior writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 8:30:30 PM

well first off i bet that sofia gigante falcone is the female part that nolan is looking for makes sense. and I can see them bringing in Bane, perhaps the mob hires him to take out Batman. and what about the clue master, u know. I can see Hardy in that role too. Nolan though does know what he is doing, and is one of the few directors has a streak of making brilliant films.. But having a love interest doesnt sound right, only because Batman is dark and having his love taking away by the joker in the DTK only adds to the background....
minkowski writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 8:32:08 PM

Thanks for the recap, Leoncio. Well that's what I would say if I, and every other living human, hadn't already seen the movie.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 8:33:02 PM

At least I can continue to use my TDKR acronym...
Crazyhorse writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 8:33:29 PM

I would really like to see what Nolan can do with Mr. Freeze
minkowski writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 8:37:38 PM

The Dark Knight Returns would have worked a lot better. They could have even had a Frank Miller cameo. And perhaps a 'lucky' off-set fatal mishap, if you know what I mean.
GuyBushwithWood writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 8:39:17 PM

"The Dark Knight Rises" what did he get a boner looking at Catwoman.
AYT BALL writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 8:39:42 PM

Well its not like the movie isnt in good hands, which ever villain they go with im sure Nolan would settle for nothing but a meaty rival to heaths Joker, other wise whats the point?
Ted Mosby writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 8:39:42 PM

MINK!!!
your back you crazy f*ck... been a while!
Big_Daddy writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 8:40:13 PM

Bane would be good, they need to break bats in the beginning of the film then during his recovery mid film Dent could rise to power and then the final fight

end movie, role credits hookers, drugs and fast cars on me
LEONCIO writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 8:43:59 PM

"Thanks for the recap, Leoncio. Well that's what I would say if I, and every other living human, hadn't already seen the movie."

Yes, I know, but the guy who wrote this article said that maybe the new tittle could mean that Dent would be back because TDK could be also him and not just Batman, and that is not right, TDK was and always has been Batman (years before these movies) and Nolan didn't mean that they both could be TDK, indeed he has already said that the new title is because of Batman and his triumphant return in the last movie of the trilogy (I don't know if I can link to other sites with film news).

Anyway, the "Dent's return" theory is just copied from the LA Times article used as a source.
lostwarrior writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 8:47:37 PM

You have to think that Nolans world of batman, is more realistic, for a comic book film. As he goes for a more dramatic feel, than fantasy. And Bane as well as Sofia would make perfect sense. She comes to power, and hires Bane, and Two Face may be in this, maybe not. But as long as he doesnt use no f*cking killer croc, which is more along the lines of f*ck wad schumacher's batman....
minkowski writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 8:47:54 PM

"you crazy f*ck"

That's the sweetest f*cking thing any one has said to me. Sniff sniff. Just tell me where to send the Hallmark 'Thank You' card.

"Bane would be good, they need to break bats in the beginning of the film then during his recovery mid film Dent could rise to power and then the final fight"

Snap his spine totally in half, so there's like two of them now, but half the height. One can growl from the mouth, the other from the *sshole. But they both get to wear the suit. Call it "Rise of the Gargling Bat Dwarves".
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 8:48:33 PM

dam you heath for dying! this wouldave been sheer gold!
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 8:53:37 PM

@Trig - Nicely done.

@Mink - Nice to see you.

@Christopher Nolan - Nice f*cking try, but you failed miserably with that title. I could see that title making sense if TDK was part one of a trilogy, with TDKR as the second, followed by "Knightfall" as the final in the series. Having the second and third movie tie in closely, while keeping the original as a watchable stand alone didn't work out very well for "The Matrix", and I'm not so sure it can work out here either. I'm still on board and will reserve all judgement until I see a trailer (and hear Bale's voice), but I definitely would've preferred another stand alone movie. I don't see any possible way to keep The Joker out of this if it's going to pick up right where the last one left off. At this point, I'm thinking it's pretty obvious why the're using that title. Warner Bros. is probably forcing them to make it as a sequel to TDK because they're expecting a massive return from it. I'm sure there are a lot of people out there (somewhere) that didn't know TDK was a Batman movie, but now when they hear "The Dark Knight Rises", they'll recognize it as a sequel to a movie they liked. Oh and I'm happy as sh*t that The Riddler isn't gonna be in this! Most people that suggest The Riddler do it because they liked Jim Carey's portrayal and the cartoon version. I'm a huge Batman fan and I want something original. Since it's not the title of the movie, it's gonna have to be the cast of characters. Killer Croc and Black Mask are definitely at the top of my list. If there has to be a female lead in this, I'd prefer Talia to Catwoman. Throw in the f*cking Clok King for all I care, just leave The Riddler out.
minkowski writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 8:59:55 PM

A Jeremiah Arkham appearance would be nice. But you'd have to have the original Black Mask first.

And we will leave Damian for when Sc*mmaker returns to the helm in Batman 4: The Plastic Bat-Dildo.

"At this point, I'm thinking it's pretty obvious why the're using that title. Warner Bros. is probably forcing them to make it as a sequel to TDK because they're expecting a massive return from it."

Bingo. Give this man a friggin' cookie! He's spot on, unlike Nolan's titling attempts.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 9:13:04 PM

Here's some more info from superherhype:

"He also said that the studio has agreed with him not to shoot the film in 3D. but that he'll be experimenting with the scope of IMAX in unprecedented ways.

”We’re looking to do something technologically that’s never been done before," Nolan explained.

The filmmaker also reiterated that The Dark Knight Rises will close out his trilogy.

"Our ambition for the third movie is to complete a story that has begun," he said, "This is not starting over. This not rebooting. We’re finishing something and keeping a consistency with what’s come before has real value.”

PhantomCloneInX writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 9:27:49 PM

I like the title. It's not what everyone was expecting, but neither was "The Dark Knight". Before that film had a title, everyone was thinking it would be called "Batman: Escalation", "Batman Continues", etc. And as with the other 2 titles so far, I'm sure that "The Dark Knight Rises" will have some meaning within the context of the story.

It's already been confirmed by both Nolan and Aaron Eckhart a couple times that Dent/Two-Face is dead at the end of TDK, so I don't know why people would think his character would be returning.

Also, the best news out of all this so far is that the Riddler won't be appearing. While Nolan probably could have pulled something interesting off with the character, he's one of my least favorite Bat-villains, and is not really a formidable enough enemy (IMO) to challenge Batman in the conclusion of Nolan's trilogy.

I imagine that the main ensemble will be returning (Bale, Caine, Oldman, Freeman), and that we'll see Batman being hunted by the police, and eventually seeking redemption. As far as antagonists go, I wouldn't be surprised to see Catwoman as a anti-heroine/love interest, with Tom Hardy playing The Black Mask, acting as a dark mirror of Bruce Wayne and acting as a bridge between the mob and the rise of "freak" supervillains.
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 9:29:37 PM

Also, so pumped that Nolan isn't shooting in 3D!
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 9:29:47 PM

@lostwarrior - you do realize that Schumacher was the person responsible for the last attempt to bring Bane to the big screen right? Remember - big green guy that had trouble walking and putting his arms down? Portrayed by the only actor in Batman movie history to play two completely different villains in the same series, Jeep Swensen, who died of a heart attack from steroid abuse right after the movie came out. If that didn't leave a bad taste in the average movie-goer's mouth, I don't know what would, short of Lindsay Lohans crusty vag.

@mink - Jeremiah Arkham would be a nice touch as well. Two things I really missed in TDK, besides a tradtional bat-suit, were Arkham Asylum and the Bat-Cave. I really hope they work those back in (and a better suit with a less-hoarse voice coming from it) because without them, it's just not the same. And thanks for the cookie!
minkowski writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 9:38:46 PM

"Two things I really missed in TDK, besides a tradtional bat-suit, were Arkham Asylum and the Bat-Cave. I really hope they work those back in (and a better suit with a less-hoarse voice coming from it) because without them, it's just not the same."

You get another cookie, because I really missed those two locations as well. One of my biggest gripes, actually. But I won't get into those. But spot on again. And you're welcome of course.

So, off topic, any fans of the Bat here? If so, how do you feel about his return? You know, the whole time-traveling bit? Yeah, it's not the Return of Superman, is it? Not just very epic.

Though I am feeling the whole d*ck Grayson as Batman thing, and Damian is definitely providing some interest there. Almost hate to see them go. And you have to wonder if Batman's trip through time will heavily alter present-day Gotham. I wonder if his parents will be alive when he returns. That's never been done.

But back to the "Arise, Batman, Arise" thread, or whatever.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 9:42:23 PM

@Phantom - A lot of great points. Don't forget about "Rory's First Kiss". JK. I believe you're mistaken on one point though. I'm pretty sure what's keeping everyone's hope of Two-Face returning is that Eckhart had a 3 picture deal and every time he's asked, he says "Harvey Dent is dead and not coming back." When someone asked him specifically about Two-Face returning he wouldn't answer and gave a smirk as he walked away. There was a video on this site a few months ago. If this movie is supposed to tie in with the previous installment, what can we expect without The Joker, Two-Face or Salvatore Maroni? (Not saying Maroni's dead, but he's not in any shape to be picking a fight with Batman) So what's left from TDK? The f*cking Bat-pod, motocross armor and the 'Batman is the villain' angle. No thank you.
FBO writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 9:42:38 PM

And Nolan said no Harvey Dent, or atleast that's what he told Aaron Eckhart

http://www.superherohype.com/features/articles/97411-aaron-eckhart-on-two-face
minkowski writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 9:46:54 PM

Two things I never understood with TDK: the damned 'bat-pod' and the day shots. The first was just silly, especially the off-the-wall shot Nolan did, and the second, the day shots, really undermined what I accepted as conventionally expected: a night-time Caped Crusader. None of that worked for me.
minkowski writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 9:47:35 PM

Harvey Dent in flashback, then.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 10:01:02 PM

@mink - I wasn't really a fan of the time travel part. It was just way too far of a departure for me. I woulod have preferred if they would have went with a "Bruce somehow faked his own death to save the world" type of storyline. Not even focusing on him. Just somewhere down the line, we start seeing a shadowy figure in the background. Then eventually, there are unexplained vigilante deads being done, ending with everyone searching for Bruce. You could have d*ck and Damian, Catwoman and a host of villains that are onto him searching, but always coming up short. End it with a big grande reveal with a slightly redesigned suit and some new hardware. Done and done. That way, we could have the d*ck and Damian - Batman and Robin last much longer, plus it could take the whole series in a new direction.
c-prime writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 10:01:43 PM

I'm ready for a new "Batman" installment as much as the next guy, but I can't say I'm that impressed with the title. It sounds a little bit bland. (To be honest, it sounds like something my white lady friends tell me every morning when I wake up with morning wood.)

And I've been fighting off the speculation of Dent returning since the first film came out. People insist on claiming it's gonna happen, despite Christopher Nolan and Aaron Eckhart's consistently denouncing the rumors. They had a funeral for Dent, for Christ's sake. The body did not vanish. Surely, some character would've noticed and brought it up if it did. To all "Dark Knight" conspiracy theorists: please stop suggesting Harvey Dent is alive. It's gotten more annoying than the "sightings" of Captain America's corpse in the snow in the alternate ending of "The Incredible Hulk".

@ minkowski: So nice to see you back on here, you magnificent bastard. You must contribute to these discussions more often, man.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 10:10:51 PM

Day shots. Good call. There really was no reason at all to have Bruce Wayne crash his Lamborghini, especially since we saw Mike Engel was on the evening news at the beginning of the movie. Is he the only reporter in one of the biggest and busiest cities in the world? I want Bat-f*cking-man in a Bat-f*cking-suit driving a Bat-f*cking-mobile hanging out in a Bat-f*cking-cave fighting Bat-f*cking-villains by the light of the Bat-f*cking-signal. And give him a goddamn Bat-f*cking-cough-drop!
WV-Films writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 10:13:08 PM

I don't know if I like this title too much. Makes Batman Begins look sort of like the odd man out.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 10:26:20 PM

@c-prime - I'm not instigating or anything, but I'm having a hard time remembering and I don't have my iPod handy. Did they ever actually say it was a funeral? I'm just thinking about it now. That could be the twist that connects the movies. It could've been a ceremony honoring Dent's bravery in facing the Batman. Again, just speculating due to a terrible memory and crippling bout of laziness that prohibits me from finding out on my own.
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 10:31:31 PM

@ eViL.kEv2, I remember them saying that "Dent is dead". Personally though, I think this means that Two-Face won't be returning either. I mean, there's no real way that the character could realistically return. Someone with that much of their facial tissue destroyed, without pain medication or skin grafts would not realistically survive long.

Besides, I think that a large part of the film should focus on Batman's eventual redemption. If Harvey/Two-Face were to show up and start carrying out mob-related attacks on Batman or the city, it would immediately clear Batman's name. I personally think that Batman's redemption will be a large struggle, and it would be easier to do that story-wise by upping the ante, such as having the police hunting Batman, while The Black Mask tries to destroy Bruce Wayne. To see Batman/Wayne dealing with threats to both his personas, would really add to his conflict.

Plus, it's almost a given that in each subsequent film in a superhero series there will be new villains.

The most obvious evidence that Two-Face won't be returning though is this direct quote from TDK screenplay: "Dent lies at the bottom of the hole, neck broken. Dead."

Anyway, whatever happens, I have faith that Nolan will make another great film.
rabid writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 10:48:34 PM

I hope to see Harvey Dent back in some capacity as well as the Joker. Nolan didn't exactly rule either of them out, and obviously Batman villains don't die.
The title makes me think of Ra's al Ghul rising from the dead. Maybe Bruce will get his ass kicked and Talia heals him in a Lazarus Pit.
Those script notes that were rumored to exist mention a Dr. Friez in the script, but not as Mr. Freeze, just a scientist.
They also supposedly mention the Flying Graysons, which wold go with the whole Killer Croc rumors. Perhaps Batman's Joker investigation leads him to the circus outside of town in Slaughter Swamp.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 10:48:50 PM

Good to see you back Mink! Now we just need to have Peter Parker posting again and our little family will be complete.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 10:50:49 PM

@Phantom - I agree with a lot of what you said, but as I've said before in related threads, realism is out the window. The majority of what happened in TDK was impossible. The Joker rigged a hospital, two ferries and a bunch of bridges and tunnels tol explode... all before lunchtime? And this is AFTER most of the crooked cops in the town have been fired? Only half of Harvey Dent's face is harmed by the fire after almost completely soaking in gasoline for 5 minutes? The fact that he didn't die from shock amazed me, considerring how severe they made the injury. I'm not saying it didn't look cool, but working in to the script the part about refusing drugs and skin grafts and then a few scenes later, he goes out and gets into a serious car crash - that's when the realism of these movies officailly died for me. All that radar nonsense? Terrible plot device, just like the monorail in the first movie. Two grown men fighting over Maggie Gyllenhaal? That's just an insult to our intelligence.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 11:00:13 PM

... and quoting something from a screenplay that's never actually established in movie can't count as proof. Maybe I would buy that if Chris Nolan showed me a real copy of the screenplay and it said that in there, but as far as a screenplay on the net, not exactly proof positive. I'm sure somewhere in M. Night Shyamalan's screenplays it says "Really cool plot twist that no one will see coming that will put me back on top". Just because it's in there, doesn't make it true. Now that I think about it, wasn't that quote from the graphic novel of TDK and not the screenplay? I could be wrong, but I think that's how I remember it.
whoever writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 11:02:42 PM

I would like to see Hush with Mr. Zsasz as the main villains!
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 11:02:49 PM

@rabid - What script notes are you talking about? Do you have a link or any more details or anything? It's probably just fan-made, but I'd still like to check it out.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 11:07:29 PM

@whoever - I'm a pretty big Hush fan also, but for this movie, I want a villain that's a little more freaky than Tommy Elliot hellbent on calling Bruce Wayne a poo-poo head. Don't forget, even though it was pretty much an extended cameo, we already had Mr. Zsasz in "Begins" and he was pretty forgettable. And bald for some reason.
rabid writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 11:28:56 PM

it made the rounds months ago. It was supposedly some insight taken from notes taken during a Nolan/WB meeting. I take all that with a grain of salt, but what the notes said about the Superman film turned out to be true.

WP covered it... http://www.worstpreviews.com/headline.php?id=16723
rabid writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 11:31:12 PM

Could be/probably is total BS though.

Hush is an okay villain, but I don't think Nolan would pass up a bunch of iconic characters for one that's so new and unfamiliar to people.
But if they do some Arkham scenes, they could potentially show all of his rogues.
c-prime writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 11:36:10 PM

@ eViL.kEv2: The way I figure it, man, if Dent's body went missing when Batman and Gordon have their parting words, I would assume somebody would've said something. A "Where the f*ck did he go?" or "Holy sh*t, he just vanished" or something. I just don't think Nolan would let something like that transpire without writing in some sort of acknowledgement by the characters, you know? Plus, as shown during the events in the closing montage, how could the Gotham authorities (or more specifically, Gordon) sell the public that kind eulogy about Dent if the deformed whackjob was still out wreaking pandemonium in the streets?

Now, would I have been open to Dent being the main villain in the next flick? Absolutely. When I first saw "The Dark Knight", I was actually expecting Nolan to set up Two-Face as the main bad guy in the third one. I figured he would've made the transformation at the very end of the film and be setting up some diabolical plot that carried over into the sequel. But with him being almost certainly dead (and there being no real evidence that I see suggesting the contrary), I just think it would be really lame for them to basically reincarnate him for a second appearance. Hell, I'd be more open to another appearance from The Scarecrow than Nolan going through with that (not that I would ever be against that to begin with, mind you).
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 11:38:47 PM

Awesome, thanks rabid. I do remember that now. I must have initially dismissed it back then. I still don't buy it now though. Barbara Gordon and d*ck Grayson? I have serious doubts there. Dr. Fries, who knows, maybe he'll end up being in there somewhere. The Riddler? Well, thankfully we now know that was bullsh*t.
YoungChris writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 11:45:47 PM

No riddler no Mr. Freeze??? Chris u stupid f*ck wtf r u trying to bring this time?
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 11:48:27 PM

@c-prime - the way I was thinking, which for some reason I never wrote, was that maybe he could just end up in Arkham for intensive rehabilitation. I'm not really saying either way that he's dead or alive, I'm just saying we don't have concrete evidence that supports either. No matter what direction Nolan takes this film, I'm sure I will enjoy it. I'll still nitpick every last detail, but I'll enjoy it nonetheless. Like I said, I'm a huge fan of all things Batman, but they've already taken a lot of liberties with changing around the characters (and adding new ones when there are tons of already established ones) to fit into their particular universe. I'm OK with that to a certain extent, because as a comic fan, I'm very accustomed to retconning. With this installment, I really hope they stick a little closer with the smaller details that drive nerds like me crazy.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 11:53:06 PM

The Dark Knight rises ?

They finally are making a big budget, triple X video in IMAX, funded by Warner Brothers ???
SaulSilver writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 12:05:42 AM

I
BELIEVE
IN
HARVEY
DENT





'S DEATH BEING PERMANENT
Bring on Tom Hardy as Black Mask with a side of Thalia Al Ghul as the Love/Hate female lead.
CCBlev writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 12:07:03 AM

Mink glad to see you back. I'll give you a hug.
Who cares what the title is, this is gonan be off the wall, I cant wait. Just who's the goddamned villan??????
Inception writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 12:52:20 AM

"My d*ck Rises" is a better title.

Seriously I thought he was gonna go with "The cape crusader" title, damn, they went downhill with that one.

No Riddler, means Catwoman will possibly appear, and if she appears then this will be a big pile of sh*t in tribute to Joel Schumacher.
Man in Black writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 12:56:25 AM

the red hood come on !!!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 1:44:41 AM

Title seems ok to me, I can see why they went for it and people on here have said it..$$$$

I think quite a few of us on here will change our minds as more details of the story emerges.

So let's just sit back relax and wait, Nolan rarely disapoints.
leezy84 writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 2:45:05 AM

Dunno why you guys are worrying about the title and this film its Christopher Nolan for f*ck sake, its going to be f*cking awesome, and why wouldnt Killer-Croc work ? have you guys read the graphic novel Joker by Brian Azzarello ? Killer-Croc is just a big black guy with a skin disorder, gotta agree with total film a bit that this mite be like the novel "Prey".
anaheimducks writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 2:51:02 AM

Can't wait nolan can do no wrong he's awesome.
darkraven28 writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 3:05:54 AM

I await the trailer with baited breath.
nolanknowsbest writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 3:44:00 AM

i think what nolan means when he says the dark knight refers to harvey dent is becuase it matches the conclusion of the dark knight. harvey dent was supposed to be the white knight but at the end he is corrupted and turns into the dark knight in a way.
Rambo writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 4:16:06 AM

i think main villain will be catwoman
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 5:31:39 AM

No Riddler

then HUSH will have to do
Aingx writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 7:11:09 AM

Pretty obvious that it's going to be either Bane, Hush or a Joker origin story and the female lead could be either for Cat woman or Harley Quinn.

Hush and Quinn just make more sense...
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 9:15:33 AM

@Aingx - How exactly did you come to that conclusion? Nothing "obvious" about it. Nolan has given us the title and said The Riddler won't be involved. That's it.
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 9:57:26 AM

He better not fvck up and mis-cast the villain again. I doubt he can get lucky and have the actor die again to mis-direct public opinion. The Dark Knight AKA The Emporer's New Joker.
rabid writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 10:02:44 AM

There's not a snowball's chance in hell that he'd use Hush, a suckass villain with a terrible costume design who's never starred in a good story and whom almost nobody is familiar with.
rabid writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 10:04:22 AM

My guess is the Ghul family with Killer Croc, Zsasz, Scarecrow and Joker making appearances.
Bunny X writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 11:22:13 AM

I'm fine with the title. I'm fine with no Riddler. I actually would enjoy Dent's return as well. Although a Nolan-esque Riddler would have been very interesting. My only fear is that it would have somehow been taken out of context and related to Jigsaw of the Saw series in that this Riddler would have probably been a brooding disturbed individual who set a number of puzzle traps for Batman.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 1:25:12 PM

More news about the new movie from superherohype:

Batman Begins and The Dark Knight composer Hans Zimmer talked to PopcornBiz about working again with Christopher Nolan on The Dark Knight Rises.

“He was going to come over next week,” chuckled Zimmer. “We start early. I know he's puttering around with ideas, and we sort of sneak up on things.”

“Working with Chris, he gives me all the freedom in the world and encourages me to go and be daring and unusual and crazy and all those sorts of things and be able to be the sort of emotional center of the film,” he told PopcornBiz. “It's very give and take. I'll start long before he starts shooting. Our conversations start there and it goes both ways: we just have conversations about the movie and less about what the music has to do, and it really comes out of that, whereby I felt that there was a real emotional core to be had and that that was something that the music had to do and I hung on that for dear life.”

Zimmer last worked with Nolan on Inception.

Dannoob writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 4:49:20 PM

I was really hoping that HUSH would be the next villain in the franchise
Dark writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 5:12:48 PM

Okay. Firstly I love Chris. But man, this title is lazy and gay as hell. Dark Knight Rises?!

Okay this is how it should have gone.

First one- BATMAN BEGINS
Second one- DARK KNIGHT (without "THE")
Third one- GOTHAM CITY

See, those titles flow well. It's in the alphabetic order so there's no need to put that 1,2,3 crap. Secondly theres 2 words in each one. This Title is beyond disappointing. But the movie will ROCK! no doubt about that. after all he is CHRIS NOLAN!
Devil writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 5:49:45 PM

The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring
The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers
The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers Rises

Alien
Aliens
Alienses

Die Hard
Die Hard 2: Die Harder
Die Hard 2: Die Harderest

The Silence of the Lambs
Hannibal
Hannibal Rises

X-Men
X2: X-Men United
X2: X-Men United Then Disbanded Then United Again

Oceans 11
Oceans 12
Oceans 12 Rises

Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl
Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest
Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End
Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides
Pirates of the Caribbean: Stranger Tides Rises

I Know What You Did Last Summer
I Still Know What You Did Last Summer
I'll Always Know What You Did Last Summer
I'ill Always Know That You still Knew About What You Knew About What You Did Last summer
Devil writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 5:51:07 PM

How about?!

3atman
G Lantern writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 6:34:40 PM

Ya know i was under the impression that this one would have been called "Shadow of the bat" cause his not worshipped now like he was in the other ones!!! but the dark knight rises.....i think whoever came up with that was in front of someone rising!!!!
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 11:27:57 PM

@Devil The last Hannibal movie was actually called Hannibal Rising! (It's a prequel set at the end of WW2.)
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 1:51:04 AM

jesus, for the last flick in the Batman franchise (at least the Nolan one, or until they reboot the sh*t again) they definitely should introduce a new villian, or make the fans happy and create a reincarnation of the Riddler!
Skywalker121289 writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 9:05:27 AM

I would have preferred a title with "Cowl" in it. Hasn't been used yet. I don't doubt you Nolan- But currently? CRAP this sounds like feces!!
Parametric writes:
on November 19th, 2010 at 3:06:56 PM

If you're not going to push Batman to his mental limits with the Riddler then push him to his physical limits with Bane I say. Make Bane cheat by using a strength and intellect enhancing drug of some sort.
Parametric writes:
on November 26th, 2010 at 10:44:17 PM

CHRISTOPHER NOLAN!!!

The thing I wrote in 2007 which you inspired was basically about how "I am not a hero". It draws referrence to Batman and Superman (who is really Batman's partner/challenger, even when he turns against Batman, he still has something deep down in him that prevents him from going all the way to finish off Batman in a fight). Fictitious characters may seem fictitious but they may exist anyway because they are possibilities. Who's to say that there aren't Superheroes trying out/unlocking their powers either way? We are certainly not ones to say.

I ask the question "who am I?" without searching for it in invisible entities. I ask it by self-discovery of every new moment. I ask it by self-expression.

I AM A MASK!!! I DOUBLE AS BOTH A SUPERIOR AND INFERIOR INTELLECT.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved