WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Deadpool" Drops Robert Rodriguez for an Unknown Director

Posted: October 27th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Deadpool" Drops Robert Rodriguez for an Unknown DirectorSubmit Comment
20th Century Fox attached Ryan Reynolds to star and Robert Rodriguez (Sin City) to direct "Deadpool," a spin-off of "X-Men Origins: Wolverine." But the two men have been so busy, that the studio has been considering replacing Reynolds.

LA Times is now reporting that Reynolds is staying and Rodriguez is getting replaced with little-known Swedish commercial director Adam Berg, who has never helmed a feature film before but gained plenty of acclaim for his "Carousel" short (watch it below).

"Deadpool" script is being penned by "Zombieland" writers Rhett Reese and Paul Wernick with the help of Reynolds. At this point, the movie is being targetted for 2012.

"Carousel" Short:


Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 6:35:02 AM

"Deadpool" Drops Robert Rodriguez for an Unknown Director


WooHoo! I knew that if I kept sending Marvel my dirty underwear in a ziplock bag, I'd get a shot at directing one of their movie!

Oh wait. Damnit. I didn't read the rest about the Swedish guy. He must've done the undies thing too.

This movie will suck more than ever now. f*cking "Spy Kids".
masht7 writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 6:37:50 AM

That short was actually quite cool. It's a shame Rodrigeuz dropped out.
Kurskij writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 6:39:28 AM

Wow!

Nice, Fox! Just stand as far away from the guy as possible and we might have an awesome action movie.

Ari Gold writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 6:50:36 AM

I believe this bloke can do this movie. You got to start somewhere right? This looks pretty cool too. At least they aren't looking at the guys who do pop music clips..

I've have the current script thats out for Deadpool at the moment, I think its the first draft. The opening sequence plays out kinda like this!
rabid writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 7:09:43 AM

The video won't play for me, but I think I've seen it already. Is it the slow-mo video of a crime scene with clowns?

Weird, but ok. Rodriguez must be too busy making childrens' films. We'll see how this turns out. At least it sounds like they can keep the star of the show.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 7:39:24 AM

"Deadpool" Drops Robert Rodriguez for an Unknown Director ... due to Delays (almost forgot that).

Isn't it Twentieth Century COX drops Robert Rodriguez, or am I being too f*cking critical of the f*cking editors of this f*cking site, for f*ck's sake ?

It it was Deadpool dropping Robert, it would be from a 50-story window to the busy downtown street below.

*** Wonder if the new director will keep the fourth wall concept ?


Ari Gold writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 7:52:16 AM

@rabid
That's the one man!

@max
The fourth wall is broken a couple of times in the script, I'm sure they'd keep it in there.
Big_Daddy writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 9:39:07 AM

This project looks to be getting better. Hopefully they will get a budget around 15 mil so they can do a gritty ass kicking movie not dependent on cgi and sh*t....the way its suppose to be done and they better get right to the dead pool killing machine part of the story. I don't want a repeat of Wolvie and how the killer came to be sh*t
CCBlev writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 10:08:52 AM

i'll give him a chance.
dissident187 writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 10:34:49 AM

Dunno why nobody seems to understand that hiring the new guy is a very bad thing.

It's all about creative control. Robert Rodriguez wouldn't allow Fox to f*ck around with his vision. They know this, hence they hire an unknown to push around and have their way.

I'm sure the new guy Adam Berg may prove to be a talented director on another film, but with Deadpool, he's just gonna end up another Fox puppet like Gavin Hood and Xavier Gens (Hitman).
HideousSecretion writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 11:09:14 AM

I can only think of this as a good thing. Rodriguez isn't known for making films with a coherent story. And the humor/dialogue in a Deadpool movie would seem completely alien to his work.
Chewbacca writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 1:03:54 PM

Best news of the day. Now Rodriguez can actually get started with Sin City 2 in the near future. And the short was pretty cool so hopefully this Adam Berg character can handle this project with some care.
UnNameable_One writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 2:25:16 PM

Just look at it THIS way.......if the movie DOES wind up being phucked up, itz just "Deadpool".
Man in Black writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 2:30:06 PM

loved the short this might pay off
Rambo writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 4:31:21 PM

this is like 'watchmen' opening credits
GuyBushwithWood writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 5:14:22 PM

sorry but is everyone blind. This short is crap, it's not even a shot, It's just camera mapping. It doesn't prove he's a good director.
GuyBushwithWood writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 5:14:32 PM

sorry but is everyone blind. This short is crap, it's not even a short, It's just camera mapping. It doesn't prove he's a good director.
el-ray writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 5:54:19 PM

@GuyBushwithWood you need a map back to newcastle is what you need!!
Ari Gold writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 7:02:31 PM

If you're keen here is another video of this directors work

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uPpMWaSPt-s
GuyBushwithWood writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 8:35:59 PM

@ El ray, yeah maybe your right, Bet things have got quiet since I left.
JohnZee writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 11:18:53 PM

Sorry people, very little in that short that implies that this director is good at anything besides having a semi competent production crew available to work for him.

Don't kid yourself, the primary thing that got him hired wasn't his directing skill, it was his willingness to snatch up any bone that was thrown at him.

Even the dirt cheap bones.

But then again what do you expect from a C or D list Marvel hero?

Deadpool fans should just count their blessings that the studio didn't hire some dude who makes movies in his basement with sock puppets.

Rodriguez is gone, and if something happens and Ryan Reynolds can't fully commit, this little project is about as dead in the water as month old corpse.

And I give it three months maximum before there's an announcement that Ryan Reynolds has had to pull out of this Deadpool project...

...But hey at least all of you Deadpool fans got a decent script out of it.

And btw, wasn't there a report that some idiot on a website leaked parts of that script on their website, and may have cause serious unintentional difficulties for the production of a movie that they were so fanatically hyped up for?
technoreaper writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 6:03:49 PM

OMG THANK GOD, Rodriguez SUCKS!
Rodan writes:
on October 29th, 2010 at 11:27:50 PM

That short was awesome. I'm not sure if that showcases his skills as a director though seeing as how nobody was moving or speaking. But then again I don't know anything.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved