WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Tom Cruise is the Star of "Top Gun" Sequel

Posted: October 27th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Tom Cruise is the Star of "Top Gun" SequelSubmit Comment
We recently learned that Paramount Pictures made offers to producer Jerry Bruckheimer and director Tony Scott to develop a sequel to "Top Gun." Both men signed on for the film and are now doing their research, while Christopher McQuarrie (The Usual Suspects) is working on the script.

At first, Tom Cruise was rumored to get a cameo role as Maverick, but several sources then squashed that rumor. Now McQuarrie has revealed to NY Mag that "there is no 'Top Gun 2' in which Maverick is not the starring role."

Sounds like Cruise will return for the sequel and actually have a starring role. Unfortunately, it sounds like Maverick will be grounded since Scott is looking to replace fighter pilots with computer geeks who operate unmanned aircraft in the Air Force.

Source: NY Mag


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 37 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Taco writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 6:25:44 AM

Tony Scott hasn't made a good movie since enemy of the state. This is gonna blow. Tom, just do the Les Grossman movie we all actually want to see! Hint hint.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 6:40:12 AM

@Taco
Didn't Tony Scott direct Man on Fire?
darkraven28 writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 6:44:42 AM

Knew this was coming. Cruise had kept working with Tony Scott's cinematographers on the M:I sequels so you knew he'd eventually get back with Tony himself.

Speaking of '80s sh*t, where's my goddamn Breakfast Club sequel? You gotta get them all back together when Emilio's character dies or some sh*t.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 6:57:45 AM

I still don't see how they are going to make this a "Gay" movie like the first.
johnny_boy writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 7:25:19 AM

I wouldnt necessarily call Enemy of the State a good movie
boogiel writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 7:30:34 AM

I smell remake is coming...
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 7:47:52 AM

boogiel writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 7:30:34 AM

I smell remake is coming...


@boogiel

and it smells like a stall at a men's restroom in a New York subway. At midnight. After a homeless guy had diarrhea and the janitors refused to clean up the mess.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 8:47:35 AM

@johnny

Gene Hackman was good in it though
Rambo writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 9:00:40 AM

trailer revealed:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ekXxi9IKZSA
johnny_boy writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 9:19:33 AM

@Dave- no doubt. Fine acting, made good points in terms of "big brother," and had the right idea but it was not good nor entertaining, least in my opinion.
CCBlev writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 10:04:01 AM

Just remake the greatese scene ever, the vollyball scene.
lebowski writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 10:43:47 AM

it is actually true that you cant have top gun without cruise and i am glad that he is back.i still like cruise as an actor dont like his believes or some things that he said from time to time but that doesnt mean that he is not a good actor.most of his movies are good with the exception of few last samurai comes to mind.top gun 2 is going to be a mix of the first with that other movie stealth
Dre-EL writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 11:50:31 AM

It wouldnt be top gun without cruise.
Ranger writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 1:09:22 PM

Cruise has signed on... little surprise there.

His career is sucking so bad right now, he'd sign up to do a tampon commercial!
kudanrt writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 2:11:59 PM

Ha ha ha ha ha hA!!! That's funny! But yea I don't see this movie makin a crap load of cash but I would watch it..... on dvd!!!!! HIGH WAY TO THE OLD FOLKS
HOME!!!!!! LOL
kudanrt writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 2:13:08 PM

Ha ha ha ha ha hA!!! That's funny! But yea I don't see this movie makin a crap load of cash but I would watch it..... on dvd!!!!! HIGH WAY TO THE OLD FOLKS
HOME!!!!!! LOL
kudanrt writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 2:13:58 PM

Ha ha ha ha ha hA!!! That's funny! But yea I don't see this movie makin a crap load of cash but I would watch it..... on dvd!!!!! HIGH WAY TO THE OLD FOLKS
HOME!!!!!! LOL
kudanrt writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 2:13:58 PM

Ha ha ha ha ha hA!!! That's funny! But yea I don't see this movie makin a crap load of cash but I would watch it..... on dvd!!!!! HIGH WAY TO THE OLD FOLKS
HOME!!!!!! LOL
kudanrt writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 2:14:51 PM

Ha ha ha ha ha hA!!! That's funny! But yea I don't see this movie makin a crap load of cash but I would watch it..... on dvd!!!!! HIGH WAY TO THE OLD FOLKS
HOME!!!!!! LOL
Ranger writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 2:26:17 PM

WHAT would be so difficult making TopGun2 with:

Tom Cruise as a flight instructor at TopGun.

The new X22 Rapto (it's not like the thing is a secret anymore).

A new recruit with competitive issues like Maverick had.

A cameo by Val Kilmer.

A full-on lesbo scene with Kelly McGillis and a hot chick.

YES the above listed is predictable, thus formulaic... but it beats the hell out of this video drone flying f*ckING BULLsh*t they're talking about here!!!!!!!!

minkowski writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 2:29:59 PM

Uh huh. Anyway, Deja Vu was decent in a feel good way. But Revenge, The Fan, Spy Game and Domino sucked. Enema of the State wasn't bad. It had some good moments, but it was overly long and full of lots of bullsh*t. Couldn't stand the annoying shark mouthed bitch that played his wife, who also appeared in the TV series 24. Regina King's her name, prognathic lip-smacking's her game.
Man in Black writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 2:31:07 PM

why not what else did he have going on ?
UnNameable_One writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 2:32:07 PM

Well first, this movie WILL make a sh*t load of cash strictly due to the fact that the first one was so popular. People who like "Top Gun" will definitely go see this. On another note, the whole idea of them trying to i guess come up with something more realistic (the unmanned drone sh*t) is extremely dumb due to the fact that itz just a movie. Who cares that fighter jets are irrelevant now a days......just CREATE a good damn script....key word being "movie" (itz make believe).

Just my 2 centz.
Ranger writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 2:34:41 PM

Rapto being RAPTOR (f*cking keyboard!!!).
Man in Black writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 2:38:14 PM

@ mink i would lobby you to take a 2nd look at spy game ... for robert redford played a great roll by politely saying FU to the cia on his last day all from the confines of langley
kudanrt writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 2:47:32 PM

Yea the movie could make some cash... I liked the first... but what are the odds this one will. And my opinion on val doin a cameo... ha ha ha so wron!! Lol if he does! His head has bloated up like a dam balloon!! Lol he will look so outta place lol! Anywho.... oh and sorry guys on my quadrupled posts.
Internet is actin up. Lol. :)
minkowski writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 2:57:50 PM

I saw Spy Game back in 2000-something, so I may be in error, but I recall that it was as boring as every other Redford film I have ever seen, especially the The Last Castle.


I'm not sure I could suffer revisiting the film to determine if it's better than I recall. Perhaps it is, but I just remember sitting in the theater chair, wishing, begging for a sudden and fatal brain aneurysm.
Ranger writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 3:08:22 PM

Clearly Spy Game was the 'passing of the torch' from Bob to Brad. I liked it... Redford kept his bosses thinking in that one.
trailertrash writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 4:00:33 PM

Spy Game was ok i guess

Funny just finshed Robert Redford's Brubaker. Bloody good movie from back in the early 80's when he made some great films.

Butch Cassidy
Sting
3 days of the condor
All the president men
Bridge to Far (small part just love that movie)

Got to say Sneakers was the last film i really liked of Redford's , Great cast a real throwback to the movies he made back the 70's.
trailertrash writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 4:06:52 PM

On Top Gun , I have to say i've only ever seen that movie once and that was about 20 odd years ago.

And just to add Berlin's take my breath away is my all time hated song !!

But if they make a part 2, Has to have Tom in there somewhere.

Ranger sounds like you've cracked the story line already.
jeffw1978 writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 4:30:20 PM

Since I am a Instructor for the Air Force's Unmanned Aircraft, I can tell you this movie would suck and the pilots of these aircraft have no right to call themselves pilots, unless your ass physically leaves the f*cking ground in the aircraft you are controlling you are not a pilot, you are playing with remote controls thats it. Now seeing a movie with the F-22 Raptor would be kinda cool, but there wouldn't be a dog fight since they can shoot down there enemy from over 100 miles away with their advanced radar systems.

Oh yeah didn't they already make this movie and called it Stealth? just sayin.
trailertrash writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 4:58:00 PM

You Spoil sport Jeff ........ lol
Ranger writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 6:12:50 PM

'Since I am a Instructor for the Air Force's Unmanned Aircraft, I can tell you this movie would suck' ... lol. jeff... you're the best!
minkowski writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 6:36:54 PM

I do hear that Kenny Loggin's 'Danger Zone' played at Tom and Katey's wedding, so that's something, I think.

"Oh yeah didn't they already make this movie and called it Stealth? just sayin."

'Stealth' was a snuff film for the aviator crowd.
Valerie writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 7:40:13 PM

Dont do it Tom, dont lose the last marbles you got left!
minkowski writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 7:43:08 PM

The only marbles the man has left are between his legs. And I hear Katey's pre-nup has dibs on at least one of those.
Rosalie writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 2:18:25 AM

This will work if Maverick's character has morphed into Les Grossman.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved