WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

No Khan in "Star Trek 2"

Posted: October 26th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
No Khan in "Star Trek 2"Submit Comment
BadassDigest has learned that the story for the upcoming "Star Trek" sequel has been agreed upon and has now learned that the villain will not be Khan as expected by fans.

The site's source wouldn't reveal anything specific, but said that the film won't have a traditional villain and that the story will focus on a classic "Star Trek" character, who appeared in the first season of the original series.

The source stated: "It's definitely a character that will make fans of TOS excited. Think along the lines of Harry Mudd or Trelane or Gary Mitchell or the Talosians or the Horta. Actually it's one of those that I named."

Harry Mudd: A charlatan who first comes into contact with the Enterprise when they find him smuggling a ship full of beautiful women. It turns out that Mudd has been making these women beautiful with an illegal "Venus Pill."

Trelane: A godlike creature who ensnares the Enterprise and toys with the crew. It turns out that Trelane isn't as big a guy as he pretends though he's actually a baby god, and in the end his parents spank him and take him away.

Gary Mitchell: Kirk's best friend and the Enterprise's helmsman. When the ship attempts to go outside the galaxy, they hit a weird energy field that gives Mitchell godlike abilities. Mitchell couldn't deal with his power and began to crack, forcing Kirk to battle his best friend who could now kill him with a thought.

The Talosians: When Captain Pike was still in charge, the Enterprise visited Talos IV and discovered the local inhabitants to be a big-headed race who wanted to keep humans in a zoo and who could beam any image into their brains. The Talosians were considered so dangerous the planet was quarantined.

The Horta: A silicone based life form that is killing miners on the planet Janus IV. These shambling rock monsters aren't evil, they're just trying to protect their eggs, which miners can't tell apart from rocks.

Source: BadassDigest


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 7:37:11 AM

KHAAAAN!
Rambo writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 8:01:38 AM

He tasks me!
CCBlev writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 9:37:04 AM

I got a hunch it'll be Gary Mitchell
sc_kg writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 11:30:52 AM

Good.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 12:24:10 PM

As much as I hate to say it, it is probably a good thing they don't introduce Khan (again) back into the Trek mythos.

If you remember when he came back in Star Trek II : The Wrath of Khan, the first movie that Paramount produced and released after the show ended almost was the death knell of the series and was panned by both critics and fans.

I say let's give JJ a chance.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 12:25:49 PM


Trelane: A godlike creature who ensnares the Enterprise and toys with the crew. It turns out that Trelane isn't as big a guy as he pretends though he's actually a baby god, and in the end his parents spank him and take him away.

.... A prelude to Q and the Continuum ?


Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 12:28:05 PM

CCBlev writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 9:37:04 AM

I got a hunch it'll be Gary Mitchell


@CC Blev

It's a good possibility. It would have to been when they met at the Academy though and they would have to show flashbacks (maybe), since the only guy Kirk hung around with in the first movie was Bones.
tonguepunchingpussy writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 12:31:47 PM

Harry Mudd: A charlatan who first comes into contact with the Enterprise when they find him smuggling a ship full of beautiful women. It turns out that Mudd has been making these women beautiful with an illegal "Venus Pill."

NICE! Just an excuse to do a casting calling of hundreds of hot chicks. Little did Harry Mudd realize that this concept was done long before but involves men to digest or consume this product called alcohol, it was perfected by a guy named Jack Daniels.
tonguepunchingpussy writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 12:32:21 PM

Harry Mudd: A charlatan who first comes into contact with the Enterprise when they find him smuggling a ship full of beautiful women. It turns out that Mudd has been making these women beautiful with an illegal "Venus Pill."

NICE! Just an excuse to do a casting calling of hundreds of hot chicks. Little did Harry Mudd realize that this concept was done long before but involves men to digest or consume this product called alcohol, it was perfected by a guy named Jack Daniels.
CCBlev writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 12:57:21 PM

@Max
Also since the 1st gave us an alternate reality and the Kirk and Spock friendship was still devloping. Before they become best friedns you have to get rid of the current best friend first.
Ranger writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 2:21:20 PM

@CC - I thought Gary Mitchell should have been brought back for decades now! That headstone falling on him, in he weakened state would only have knocked him out... and by the time he awakes... the crew were long gone. He'd be a God by now, time-traveling at will.

Thank GOD they're not re-doing Khan. Khan AGAIN in a SECOND ST film is TOO predictable. Shame on ANY TRUE fans wanting excellent wokd of the past rehashed. It was done PERFECTLY in the original ST2! LEAVE IT ALONE!!!!!

Great they're moving ahead. Can't wait to see a 'gorn' again (even though he didn't make this short list).

Keep moving ahead. Keep it NEW! Leave the old (great) stuff behind. Coincidentally, they've been running ST2 only last weekend on TV - even though I have it on DVD... still took the time to watch it again, why?

He tasks me.
He tasks me and I shall have him!
I'll chase him 'round the moons of Nibia and 'round the Antares Maelstrom and 'round Perdition's flames before I give him up!!!

After the movie, I 'prepared to alter course' and actually got some sh*t done around here!
Ranger writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 2:26:42 PM

As for the actor that played Trelane - he KNEW from the script that would be his performance of a lifetime.

The Devil in the Dark - was filmed while Shatner was away for part of the week in Florida attending his father's funeral. When Kirk is 'Mind-Melding' with the creature, note the stand-in playing Kirk is clearly not him.

Neat thing about Star Trek... is their guest star actors every week just stole the show. The regular crew were consistent (as we'd expect and hope for), but the guest stars always stole the show.
Champ1432 writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 5:13:05 PM

Can't imagine it being Mudd, if they do him the same way, anyway. He was more of a bumbling, funny villain than a really evil person.

The other points are good, Mitchell would be cool to see again, especially with what they could have him do with his powers now with today's effects. Trelane was awesome too, but I can't see anyone else playing the part better than it was already played.

But I think it will be the Talosians. They've already had Pike in the first movie, this would let them include him again. Even though I guess you could argue in this timeline he may have never had that encounter, I think they'll do that just as a way of continuing to tie in old elements to the new film series.
mrstretch writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 5:56:04 PM

The real bad guy will be Shia Labeouf coming to ruin another movie franchise.
Rambo writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 6:00:58 PM

Avatar uncut :-)

http://hustlercash.com/gallhit/387472/17656/9/2/0/0/0
darkraven28 writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 6:11:35 PM

I say the Talosians. Just based on the fact that it involves Pike (and everybody loves Greenwood's work from the last film) and because the basic summary sounds like some prison type sh*t they could use to comment on how we use prisons today in the script they write. So, no baby Gods, rock monsters (Hello Star Trek V!!!) or possessed Ensigns. Please no.
Ranger writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 9:13:22 PM

@Champ - good post. As much as I'd like to see Gary Mitchell... you're right... the timing with Pike and the Talosians is spot on. Plus they gave the crew one of the best mind f*cks ever!
Ranger writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 9:19:29 PM

@Rambo - that makes me blue with envy.
Ranger writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 9:22:33 PM

'blew' with envy I meant.

f*ck WP... WHAT'S WITH THE PATHETIC SPEED OF YOUR SITE FOR THE PAST 2 DAYS?!?!?!?

Server down? You running on a Commodore 64 these days... WHAT?!?!?

No WONDER so many people have been having DOUBLE/TRIPLE posts!

So WTF?!
JohnZee writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 10:04:12 PM

Wow, I've been talking about a Star Trek movie featuring a Harry Mudd or Harry Mudd Jr. played by John Lithgow since Star Trek IIIV came out...

...Wouldn't that be a coincidence if the sequel to the reboot not only featured Harry Mudd, but Lithgow in the role?
Ranger writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 10:48:53 PM

Meg Wyllie of 'The Last Starfighter' fame looked EXACTLY like the lead Talosian... although I'm having difficultly backing that up with any info from IMDB... but I'm pretty sure it was her (pretty sure I read somewhere long ago the lead Talosian was played by a woman).

http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0943816/


JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 12:43:05 AM

It's obviously going to be the Talosians since in the new timeline Kirk has replaced Pike earlier than in the original timeline so now Kirk and his Enterprise crew will be the first to encounter the Talosians!
Man in Black writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 3:40:21 AM

@ ranger ,no an IBM 5150
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 4:55:15 AM

If I had to choose then I would go with "Gary Mitchell", but what you guys are saying about "The Talosians" could be a good movie too.
Ranger writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 5:08:43 AM

@MiB - no joke... lol. Has this site been slow for you for the past couple of days?
Man in Black writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 1:49:01 PM

@ ranger .... loading slow, not loading at all error 404 , haveing to resubmit login id , you name it has happened minus WP taking a full on Cleveland steamer on my laptop - hey alex how about an edit feature ... no .... well keep the stool sample
Ranger writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 6:14:16 PM

@MiB - yep. No need to re-log on here... but just slllloooooowwwww as molasses in January lately!
Champ1432 writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 6:42:47 PM

@Ranger

Thanks... yeah, they were pretty awesome, right down to the end when they revealed the girl to be the messed up jigsaw puzzle that she was. Lots of potential there I think for a great story.
dynastygod2000 writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 10:49:23 AM

i can careless who the bad guy going to be in this one because i knowits going to be another classic
Moose756 writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 12:47:26 PM

I cant wait for this to come out regardless who the villian is.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved