WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Child's Play" Remake to be Scary and Disturbing

Posted: October 26th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"ChildSubmit Comment
Back in 2007, it was revealed that a "Child's Play" remake was being written by Don Mancini, the man behind all five Chucky films. Now, ScreenJunkies caught up with Mancini to get an update.

The reason why the remake hasn't happened yet is because MGM (owner of the original film) and Universal Pictures (owner of the sequels) have yet to get together to figure out who owns the rights to the remake.

"I was talking about the rights issues before," said Mancini. "I don't think it's necessarily what we'll end up doing as a strict remake. I think we'll reboot it in the sense that it will just be more conventionally scary and it will only be Chucky and we won't have Tiffany and Glen, but it won't necessarily be a strict remake."

Sounds like the remake will pretend to be a sequel to avoid the rights issue. So will Chucky still look recognizable? "Oh yes, I think we would do a slight redesign on him but not so much that you wouldn't," Mancini explained. "He's got to be recognizably Chucky. I think we'll take the scars away."

He added that the goal is to make the new movie a lot scarier. "I'm definitely pushing to go in a very disturbing direction because I feel like if we’re going to go back to it being a horror movie, let's make it really disturbing."

Source: ScreenJunkies


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 38 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Frank4969 writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 7:32:55 AM

Wow another sh*tty reboot. It's a doll people. A retarded stupid little doll. Put me in this movie just so I can shove my foot in chuckies ass. God I hate these movies!
johnny_boy writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 7:44:37 AM

This one I'm excited about but if it's a remake we gotta have a different writer
boogiel writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 7:44:42 AM

Aw geez, another remake. Just sign Lindsay Lohag to play instead of Jennifer Tilly. That gonna make the movie scarier than before.
trucvylucky852 writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 9:19:51 AM

make chucky, charlene the blow up doll.
trucvylucky852 writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 9:20:26 AM

make chucky, charlene the blow up doll.
CCBlev writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 9:30:33 AM

Will it be a letdown the A Nightmare on Elm st remake? f*ck yes it will be. God I hated that remake, only JEH as Freddy was the only watchable part.
Rambo writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 9:31:13 AM

"Child's Play" Remake to be Scary and Disturbing

unlike the original which was a love story and emotional
bandolero999 writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 9:46:51 AM

Only if Shannon Price plays Chucky
johnny_boy writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 9:49:55 AM

@boogiel- Lindsey is a ginger bitch she can Probaly just play Chucky
Dre-EL writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 10:16:40 AM

oh f*ck off
rabid writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 10:42:49 AM

Could be good. The original Childs Play was pretty frightening. The sequels turned it into a comedy franchise. Reel it back in, and give the character a total redesign.
SaulSilver writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 10:58:19 AM

Scared the f*ck outta me when I was like 5, but that was a different generation...I don't think kids(or anyone for that matter) would be scared by Chucky these days.
trailertrash writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 11:10:24 AM

If this new series ever makes it to a part 3

I hope there's a scene where rocks can be thrown at Thompson and Venables then they could be beaten with an iron bar and have paint poured into their eyes and left on the train tracks to die !! c*ntS
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 12:15:57 PM

Not to "play" down Don Mancini, but which would you rather see : a remake of Child's Play or a remake of the prequel to Puppetmaster ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 12:17:42 PM

They oughta do a "mashup" movie and combine the plots of the John Ritter comedy with this and call it Problem Child's Play
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 12:19:34 PM

This idea is as aweful as when they had Warwick Davis dress up as the Leprechaun and have him haunt people in space (much like Jason X).
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 12:21:13 PM

^ awful


I don't know about Hollywood, but I would love to see a decent remake of only these two films :

Invaders from Mars and

Killer Klowns from Outer Space
nuttie30xx writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 1:01:48 PM

these f*cking film makers should have some f*cking respect 3yr old james bulger was kidnapped and brutaly mudered by 2 11 yr olds after watching chucky they should think about that family and kill the childs play films once and for all. R.I.P JAMES
mbh911 writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 2:12:46 PM

Awww man I was hoping they add Elmo as chucky
Ranger writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 3:36:17 PM

@nuttie - that was tragic for sure. But if Hollywood was considerate over profit, stuff like the latest Swank movie wouldn't get made either (not that I'm complaining).

@Rambo - lol... you beat me to it!
UnNameable_One writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 4:07:00 PM

Nuttie30xx, making specific movies has nothing to do with not having respect for tragedies like that. If THAT were the case, pretty much MOST movies wouldn't be made. We are alwayz so quick to blame things such as music/movies for things of that nature, when in actuality, those kids were just f*cked up. Just because 2 lil retarded ass kids did something like that, itz not the fault of the movie. 11 yr olds whouldn't have been watching "Child's Play" in the first place.
UnNameable_One writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 4:07:16 PM

Nuttie30xx, making specific movies has nothing to do with not having respect for tragedies like that. If THAT were the case, pretty much MOST movies wouldn't be made. We are alwayz so quick to blame things such as music/movies for things of that nature, when in actuality, those kids were just f*cked up. Just because 2 lil retarded ass kids did something like that, itz not the fault of the movie. 11 yr olds whouldn't have been watching "Child's Play" in the first place.
Ranger writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 4:31:58 PM

Well said.

I still think they should have been tried and treated as adults in court (seriously). Even at 11 (I thought they were 13, but let's NOT go on my memory!!!), a kid knows murder is wrong (not to mention going through the effort of shoving batteries up the dead kids butt).
Ranger writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 4:39:41 PM

@bandolero - good call on Shannon Price. But I think we all agree she's too ugly to play Chucky!
Champ1432 writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 4:56:53 PM

Yet another remake we don't need. Has there been some hidden clause written into the deals of every movie since 1980 that the movie MUST be remade in 20-30 years? How about some original ideas? Oh I forgot, we're out of those. Besides, this is already played out, the first one was ok, the sequels got pretty stupid.

And the best point of all, like Frank said: It's a doll.
mrstretch writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 5:36:41 PM

Maybe this will be the true story of Michael Jackson.
Whitta writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 6:00:20 PM

pray they dont f*ck this up, really looking forward to this
Whitta writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 6:01:10 PM

pray they dont f*ck this up, really looking forward to this
darkraven28 writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 6:15:43 PM

The most important question is whether they recast Brad Dourif. And you know the answer is yes, unfortunately. If they can remake Freddy with a sh*tty recast (which they did), they'll do the same for Chucky. Thank god for DVD!
trailertrash writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 6:32:19 PM

Nuttie-

I know what your saying fella.

I dont know if your from the UK but that story affected everyone here back 1993 and it was a truly shocking crime, Just like that c*nt Huntley there are some sick f*ckers out there .....

But You Can't blame Hollywood for what happened that day, those boys Thompson and Venables are just Evil kids (which has been proved with Venables going back to prison this year for child pornography) , they just wanted to see what it was like to Torture someone and poor Jamie was in the wrong place at the wrong time.

I have 2 sons 9 and 4 and they both know right from wrong, But those 2 boys didn't and i put the blame right at the feet of the parents not Hollywood.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Murder_of_James_Bulger
Anung_un_rama writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 6:51:21 PM

haha no new idea, not a surprise... but I thought recycling was to be good for us not smell like more dung?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 8:19:09 PM

@nuttie30xx

You know, you have a point.

I usually get on here and say something juvenile, because quite frankly, I'm bored of life and figure I might as well spend the rest of it getting sh*ts and giggles as I go.

But seriously, whatever is said, it doesn't condone a kid brutually raping, murdering or harming another kid, even if they are not influenced by a film.

Case(s) in point :

a. Kid who kill brother or sister based on a wrestling move they saw a wrestler do on television.

b. Kids harm a human being, torturing them after watching Hostel.

c. Kids burning down a house, because they saw it on Beavis and Butthead.

d. Two people killing a homeless person for their blood, after watching a show about vampires on cable.

e. A kid killing his brother, after watching another show about a serial killer on another cable network.

As much as it would be easy and justifiable to blame television/film/pop culture for the unjustifiable tragedies that occur, done by fans of the genre, author, etc., it doesn't exactly mean that it is exactly right. A person may be mentally handicapped, challenged or just sick in the head and the imagination, creativity or talent they are subject to may INFLUENCE their decisions in life, but it is their CONSCIENCE and sense of MORALS that they've either have or have not been institutionalized with that determines whether they sepearate FICTION from NONFICTION and understand that with every consciousable ACTION, certain reprocutionable ACTION must follow.

I may not like Justin Beiber and may inquire into whether or not the assassination attempt to him at the end of the movie occured, but I don't go out and PHYSICALLY take time out to plan his demise, purchase the device in which to do it or stalk him to locate his whereabouts and do the deed. Why ?

Because not all of us in life are John Hinkley Juniors, Nuttie30xx

That being said, I hope you've eaten well and are okay. Tell your mom I said hi.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 8:20:53 PM

Like John Valby says, " Thank God I'm a pubic hair! "
Ranger writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 11:06:17 PM

@mrstretch - lol.
Man in Black writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 3:35:26 AM

looks like some one has to crank out a piece o sh*t to keep the rights
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 4:58:43 AM

If done well I'll go along with this but....
blinkbomber writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 4:27:10 AM

thank you darkraven for being the only one to mention Dourif so far.

to me, you can change how Chucky looks any way you like, it was always the voice that made him.
dynastygod2000 writes:
on October 28th, 2010 at 11:35:07 AM

i just hope he say hi my names chucky do you want to play and then do something horrible to somebody

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved