WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Chinatown" Voted the Best Film of All Time

Posted: October 25th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Chinatown" Voted the Best Film of All TimeSubmit Comment
A panel of The Guardian and Observer critics voted on the seven greatest films of all time, choosing Jack Nicholson's "Chinatown," which was the last movie Roman Polanski directed in the US before fleeing the country.

The Guardian's film critic, Peter Bradshaw, said that "Chinatown" is "such a powerful piece of mythmaking, a brilliant evocation of Los Angeles as a spiritual desert." The Observer's Philip French considers it a movie of "near perfection," ending "unforgettably with the line 'Forget it Jake, it's Chinatown.'"

Check out the full list below, which doesn't include "The Godfather" or anything before the 1980s.

1. Chinatown (Roman Polanski, 1974)

2. Psycho (Alfred Hitchcock, 1960)

3. Andrei Rublev (Andrei Tarkovsky, 1966)

4. Annie Hall (Woody Allen, 1976)

5. 2001: A Space Odyssey (Stanley Kubrick, 1968)

6. Brief Encounter (David Lean, 1945)

7. Apocalypse Now (Francis Ford Coppola, 1979)

Source: The Guardian


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 53 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
AYT BALL writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 7:05:09 AM

Trying to be all arty and up their own asses with this list, some good movies but i dont see weekend at bernies up there! i rest my case
Whitta writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 7:09:51 AM

Nope... Wrong... i do believe this award goes to 'Space Jam'.
wonderBOY writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 7:09:57 AM

how can it be a list without citizen kane or any tyler perry movie
sdpepper writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 7:26:25 AM

What is this list all about?

Is it about old farts who haven't seen a movie since 1979?

Does anyone really give a sh*t about this list?
johnny_boy writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 7:46:00 AM

If I had a say in which movie is the best, it'd have to be The Dark Knight. It was so cleverly done. It's the perfect movie IMO.
Rambo writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 7:50:17 AM

Con Air!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 8:00:10 AM

Donnie Darko, Leon, Fight Club, Goodfellas, Ass Wide Open 2
CCBlev writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 8:03:41 AM

XXX isnt on there? WHY???
BobMcBob writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 8:04:12 AM

you're all wrong! there is no "greatest" film as it is impossible to distinguish between the greatness of all of the Power Rangers films
trailertrash writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 8:20:05 AM

This list makes perfect sense from the Guardian and Observer critics , Films made by Sex cases and Nut Cases.

Right up their street.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 8:24:00 AM

@bob Are you joking Mighty Morphing Power Rangers was easily the greatest
trailertrash writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 8:39:56 AM

CC-

Dont worry that will be in the Sun and Daily Mirror's Critics top 7 films.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 8:48:37 AM

While I would agree that Chinatown is a good movie ... a textbook noir with Jack Nicholson in his prime (circa The Shining, Five Easy Pieces, Easy Rider), I don't know if I would go on and say that it was the best film of all time, especially if you consider that Apocolypse Now was made on the financial backs of both Godfather One and Two, as doc*mented in the award winning Heart of Darkness .... now, Lawrence of Arabia ? ...
trailertrash writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 9:03:46 AM

Max-

I agree Lawrence of Arabia is a good movie (not seen it for a long time now though) and it inspired the likes of Spielbeg and co while they were still young film makers.

Chinatown is a good movie, But not the best movie ever made and they milked it and made The Two jakes which was total sh*t.

Greedy F'in Hollywood
bandolero999 writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 9:22:11 AM

Wat I feel insulted the didn't put

Battlefield Earth
Street fighter the legend of chun li
Gigli
Meet the spartans
The Crow 4
Daredevil
Kurskij writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 9:31:04 AM

Good job! I see they fixed the mistakes I've pointed out.

Apocalypse Now is on the list, 2001 is on the list, definitely not the best movies by Tarkovsky, Lean and Hitchc*ck are on the list...

What's the point of those lists? Around 3000 movies are made each year even if 99% of them are complete and utter rubbish the remaining percent X 100+ years cinema exists makes it impossible to choose 10 best.

And let's face it - there are more then 30 great movies coming out each year.
Kurskij writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 9:37:45 AM

@ Rambo

Rewatched Con Air recently.

Such a guilty pleasure. I miss those days of Rock, Con Air, Face/Off, Bad Boys...

- It smells like someone sh*t in your mouth!
- He told me he loved me...

Jake's favorite line ever I bet - like a throwback into the childhood.



lebowski writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 10:29:03 AM

every movie for its time.thats what i always say
rabid writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 10:52:36 AM

I would put The Shining before Chinatown, but Chinatown would definitely come in second.

I don't think Apocalypse Now belongs in the top 10.
Mr. Wednesday writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 10:57:03 AM

I'm appalled that the Barbershop trilogy wasn't included on this list.
coldplayesence writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 11:11:19 AM

Those f*ckers didn't even consider Robocop.
JohnZee writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 11:26:29 AM

Just another group of critics voicing their opinion of what the greatest movies of all time were. And next year they'll come up with a slightly different list. Not to discount "Chinatown" as it is a great movie, but relatively it is a smaller scale movie.

So I would have to agree that "Lawrence of Arabia" is the better movie comparatively. It is far more on an epic scale, and was just as influential if not more influential than "Chinatown" was.

And I'm not just saying that because a certain young woman was so impressed with the movie "Lawrence of Arabia" when it came out that a few years later she decided to give her newborn
baby "JohnZee" the name Lawrence as his middle name...



Cinemaisdead writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 11:53:02 AM

I'd be more worried about the name JohnZee mate what film is that from?
SaulSilver writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 11:54:58 AM

I've only seen 3 of them...
Peter Parker writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 12:01:16 PM

"Brickhouse Butts 3", all the way!
rocketman writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 12:09:02 PM

Wrong Mr Commie Guardian.
Star Wars is the greatest now f*ck off.I will give you 2001 though,top film.
billofill writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 12:35:28 PM

Chinatown best movie of all time? BOHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAH. NOW THATS HILARIOUS.
Billy_Zane writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 12:47:30 PM

i'm confused... so Blubberella isn't on the list?...
mbh911 writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 2:13:18 PM

Where is Howard the duck? Robocop? This list is terrible
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 2:29:51 PM

Why is Psycho on every motherf*cking "greatest"-list? I won't call it a bad film, it is quite good, but it's probably the most overrated movie of all time.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 2:40:47 PM

No Godfather, no list.
UnNameable_One writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 2:57:00 PM

I agree with Johnny_Boy....The Dark Knight is actually MY favorite.
CCBlev writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 3:25:33 PM

Chinatown does have the best whores. O wait your talking about the movie.
Ranger writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 3:34:11 PM

Bullsh*t!

MegaForce is!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O1NpZxn860M
tonguepunchingpussy writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 3:42:44 PM

f*ck! Smokey and The Bandit didn't make the list!!!?!?!?! Bullsh*t.
trailertrash writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 4:58:04 PM

^^ ha ha

Hooper has to be the best Burt Reynolds film of all time ...

CC-lol
rocketman writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 5:04:26 PM

@Ranger.Best motorbike dismount ever!
qwertyuiop22ful writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 5:46:02 PM

It's funny because my name is Andrei and I HATE this list.
Charlie9 writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 5:46:32 PM

Don't u mean after the 1980's?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 7:14:05 PM

My bottom line to this topic (which is pretty good, Worst Previews ... so major props!) is the same as any other part of pop cuture out there :

One preference is different than another.

If you like noir, which Chinatown is part of, you might say that Payback, The Grifters, The Third Man or L.A. Confidential is better than Chinatown, which was written by Robert Towne, who won an Academy Award for his effort. And with Roman Polaski, it's not going to edge out Rosemary's Baby.

But one peraon's top film maybe than another. If a new film-lover was born in say, 1990, they may say that Fight Club or The Matrix was the best ever. If they were born in 1980, it could be Pulp Fiction or they could have a special connection with E.T., Raiders or Back to the Future.

If they are older than that, they may remember the first screening of The French Connection or Bullitt. Or The Godfather, The Omen, The Exorcist, Taxi Driver, Patton, Dr. Zhivago, Lawrence of Arabia, The Great Santini, Chariots of Fire, True Grit, The Good, The Bad and The Ugly or 8 1/2.

It's based on culture, location, time and genre.
Frank4969 writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 7:29:12 PM

This list is so full of sh*t! I wouldn't put any of these crap films in my top 50. Artsy fartsy.
Crazyhorse writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 7:37:38 PM

Max

Agree with several there on your list, I thought Ben Hur was good during the era you last listed for the older ones.

How can they not even put Gone With the Wind with that list

My favorite though is

Rambo First Blood
trucvylucky852 writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 8:34:27 PM

are u kidding me???? no phantom menace???? crystal skull????
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 8:36:23 PM

I would have thought that the porn tape of Mickey Rooney anally raping Judy Garland (Let's put on a show ... yeah, right) would've been top honors ...
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 8:45:16 PM

It sucks that they went to all that trouble to make their little list and now they're just gonna have to redo it when "Blubberella" comes out.
Ranger writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 10:26:14 PM

@rocket - I feel dirty every time I watch that MegaForce clip!

@tt - my fav. Burt Reynolds movie is his as well... 'The Longest Yard.'

shadowfax845 writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 11:34:13 PM

agree and disagree. but there are too many films that should be on this list that aren't and a bunch that are there don't belong at all.

but Chinatown is so f*cking good. i can't deny J.J. . . . or Faye.
Man in Black writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 1:08:17 AM

f*ck lists .... any fan/ critic / hack can put together a " list " in their opinion and opinions differ , just look at the Oscars the last few years and the winners for best pic and films that werent even nominated so like i said f*ck LISTS !
super_suck writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 2:47:06 AM

Ummmm. Godfather! Well I guess Mr. Evans wins either way.
trailertrash writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 3:54:08 AM

Ranger-

That's a good movie as well.

In truth the guy made some really good movies in the 70's and early 80's ,

Deliverance
Shamus
White Lighting
Stick (with dar robinson great end stunt BTW)
Smokey and the bandit and the 1st CannonBall run

City Heat with Eastwood was only ok but nice to see the 2 biggest stars of that time in a movie together...

Ranger writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 4:42:51 AM

Yeah, that was about the only reason worth watching City Heat (and Clint's eye-twitch when his drink (coffee?) was spilled).

I was watching Burt on a talk show once, and the host asked him his fav. movie. I replied 'The Longest Yard' before he could. He really cranked out the macho stuff in his day.
trailertrash writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 5:58:05 AM

He sure did.

Don't know if you ever saw Switching Channels with Reynolds , Kathleen Turner and Christopher Reeve.

Great scene in that movie where Reeves is afraid of heights and ends up in a glass elevator laying on the floor scared to death ... lol

http://www.chrisreevehomepage.com/images/switching/SwitchingChElev.jpg

Can't find a clip anywhere.....
Kill-the-director writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 5:31:25 PM

where the hell is disaster movie on that list?????

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved