WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Tony Scott Confirms "Top Gun 2," Reveals Story Ideas

Posted: October 24th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Tony Scott Confirms "Top Gun 2," Reveals Story IdeasSubmit Comment
About a week ago, we reported that Paramount Pictures has made offers to producer Jerry Bruckheimer and director Tony Scott to develop a sequel to "Top Gun." Now, during his press rounds for "Unstoppable," Scott not only confirmed that he has already signed on for the film, but revealed a few of his ideas.

"I'm not waiting for a script [by Christopher McQuarrie (The Usual Suspects)]. I'm going to do my homework. I'm going down to Fallon, Nevada, it's a whole different world now," he told Hitfix. "These computer geeks -- these kids play war games in a trailer in Fallon, Nevada and if we ever went to war or were in the Middle East or the Far East or wherever it is, these guys can actually fly drones. They are unmanned aircraft. They operate them and then they party all night."

He said that the idea of swapping fighter pilots for computer geeks came to him during a rock climbing trip to Las Vegas. He was sitting next to a young man who was sick from partying all night. When the director asked him what he does for a living, the man replied that he works with unmanned aircraft in the Air Force.

"They operate these drones like it's war games, but it's for real," said Scott. "This world fascinated me, because it's so different from what it was originally. But, I don't want to do a remake. I don't want to do a reinvention. I want to do a new movie."

He wouldn't comment on whether Tom Cruise will reprise his role.

Source: Hitfix


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on October 24th, 2010 at 6:36:14 AM

Well, this sounds fun. Watching a bunch of geeks flying drones without any sense of real danger. Sounds exciting.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 24th, 2010 at 6:46:27 AM

Sounds awful. Maybe he SHOULD wait for Christopher McQuarrie to take a run at the script. Couldn't possible be any worse
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 24th, 2010 at 6:47:55 AM

Maybe they uploaded Goose's brain into one of the drones and Maverick controls that one... with a joystick shaped like a d*ck
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 24th, 2010 at 6:58:48 AM

So how are they going to make it a "Gay" movie with nerds?
CCBlev writes:
on October 24th, 2010 at 8:05:18 AM

You cannot destroy one of the most sacred movies ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on October 24th, 2010 at 8:08:59 AM

'He said that the idea of swapping fighter pilots for computer geeks came to him during a rock climbing trip to Las Vegas.'

Must have had some f*cking awesome drugs

SACdaddy writes:
on October 24th, 2010 at 9:01:26 AM

LOL!!! I only read this post to see if Tony's idea for a Top Gun sequel would be as stupid as Ridley's Alien prequel idea. Well that's a big 10-4 Maverick. This actually sounds a little dumber if that's even possible. I guess Tony won the fight with his brother for the last line of angel dust.
Kurskij writes:
on October 24th, 2010 at 9:38:05 AM

Told you drugs are fun.

Even after you turn 70.
Lloyd Christmas writes:
on October 24th, 2010 at 10:14:41 AM

"Unmanned", huh? Seems like he's going a little overboard to make sure there's no "accidental" homosexual themes in the movie this time.
Rambo writes:
on October 24th, 2010 at 10:18:58 AM

Thank you Tony for one of the best movies in the past decade:Man on Fire.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 24th, 2010 at 10:29:33 AM

Rock Climbing, eh ?

Too bad Tony didn't have his 127 Days moment and came home without an arm. That would've been more f*cking interesting than hearing that f*ckers fly drones around for the Air Force, then for a break go grab a Snickers.

f*ck, this is a sh*tty idea.
trucvylucky852 writes:
on October 24th, 2010 at 10:41:00 AM

wow they should not call this top gun. DO NOT CALL THIS A SEQUEL TO TOP GUN. call it war games 2 with mathew brodrick
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 24th, 2010 at 11:22:07 AM

trucvylucky852 writes:
on October 24th, 2010 at 10:41:00 AM

wow they should not call this top gun. DO NOT CALL THIS A SEQUEL TO TOP GUN. call it war games 2 with mathew brodrick


@trucvylucky852

Exactly! It couldn't do any worse than that sh*tfest of a sequel WarGames: The Dead Code
HideousSecretion writes:
on October 24th, 2010 at 1:09:29 PM

Your dangerous Maverick. You break all the rules. I'm half-convinced I should take your wings. How many times have I told you no beverages next to your computer?

If this is true it will be epically gay. How do you get drama from a couple of PC Jockeys essentially playing a video game. They aren't risking their lives. They aren't battling inner demons. It seems like the only thing they;ll be battling are hangovers. How f*cktardedly gay will it be to have a Kenny Loggis song blasting over some guys sitting in a trailer wiggling their joysticks? An important military role. But a sh*tty movie. Wake the f*ck up Tony Scott.
Ranger writes:
on October 24th, 2010 at 3:29:10 PM

I know the Rocky Mountains pretty well. Whatever 'rocks' he was climbing in Vegas would be a JOKE... like this movie idea... HIS movie idea!

As for seriously updating TopGun, has this twat EVER heard of the X22 Raptor? 5 countries, $200 BILLION to make?! VTOL, stealth, bomber/fighter!

Yeah... do the unmanned drones with the geeks looking at a TV screen for 90 minutes.

He doesn't know if Tom will reprise his role?! Of WHAT... the guy that brings soda pop to the geeks flying the unmanned craft?! The ONLY reason Tom would take on this project is because he and his career are desperate!

Tony Scott... this idea is pathetic!
technoreaper writes:
on October 24th, 2010 at 10:17:09 PM

Actually, this sounds like a pretty good idea. Think about it, these guys are flying unmanned drones, killing people thousands of miles away, like it's a video game. It has real world decisions. You can screw up.

Don't knock it yet.
AshTrey writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 1:48:17 AM

BEFORE I READ ALL THE NEGATIVE COMMENTS sh*tTIN ON THIS.

IT SOUNDS KINDA OF INTERESTING... IF IT HAS AN AMAZING SCRIPT... IM JUST GLAD IT ISNT TOP GUN FOR 2011. and actually has an original idea... i'm all for ORiGINALITY. HOLLYWOOD!!
darkraven28 writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 1:55:55 AM

So, this is gonna be like if the movies Top Gun and Enemy Of The State ended up f*cking each other senseless and had a love child.

top state gun of the enemy!!!!!!!!!!!!WAAAHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 3:06:19 AM

So Top Gun 2 is basically going to be about a bunch of guys sitting around playing After Burner? Lol! Well I hope they still have Danger Zone in the movie, maybe this version (in case you didn't know, the blonde girl is Stacy "Fergie" Ferguson! Although Martika is the main singer on this song):

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t4_pgmmB3Hc

Ranger writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 3:09:37 AM

So Top Gun 2 is basically going to be about a bunch of guys sitting around playing After Burner?


Yep!


= Zzzzzzz...
telur writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 4:33:31 AM

i bet Shia LeBaouf will play the main role
masht7 writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 4:48:46 AM

I feel the need... the need... for scientology.
Pig Newtons writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 7:44:33 AM

So why even f*cking call it "Top Gun"? Call it "Drone"
Bunny X writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 11:24:01 AM

Tony must've fell and cracked his skull open to come up with this idea. If not, then I hope he does fall and crack his skull open just for coming up with this idea.
There's no way to salvage this idea. What are you going to do? Argue that we need to have human pilots going up and getting killed rather than unmanned drones doing the work?
Leave this idea out in the Nevada desert to die.
tonguepunchingpussy writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 3:34:49 PM

This movie has been made, it was called Stealth and it sucked. That is all.
Champ1432 writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 5:05:31 PM

Level of enthusiasm plummeting.
Orias writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 7:16:45 PM

The whole awesomeness of a Tank vs Tank or fight jet vs Fighter jet competition in warfare is the thrill of seeing two equal matched opponents fighting to the death in their respective areas of expertise man on man! Itís like an updated version of a knight fighting a knight, a solemn and honorable competition to the death. I don't want to see a bunch of virgin Star Trek nerds killing people from tens of thousands of miles away with no danger to themselves while they drink Tang and Sunny Delight and eat hot-pockets in between jerking off in their socks of reruns of Jessica Alba in Alias. The idea is pathetic and retarded idea, a BIG f*ck YOU to Hollywood is warranted here!!!!
Ranger writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 12:26:24 AM

@telur - I'll bet you're right.
Orias writes:
on October 26th, 2010 at 11:56:09 AM

I Fell The Need..The Need for Mac 'n' Cheese!

Since they are nerds they have no female lead, just a REAL DOLL they dance with and screw while the song "Take my Breath Away" plays in the background.


The big fight between the Goose and Maverick type lead characters is on who has the clean the microwave after a bean and cheese burrito explodes in it.

Instead of the Goose type character ejecting and dying after a high speed maneuver he gets into a fender bender and gets a slight case of whiplash after rushing to taco Bell on a food run.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved