WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Paranormal Activity 2" Sets Midnight Record

Posted: October 22nd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Paranormal Activity 2" Sets Midnight RecordSubmit Comment
"Paranormal Activity" sequel set a record on Thursday for the highest midnight gross for an R-rated film by taking in over $6 million from just 1,800 screens. The film beat previous record holders "Watchmen" and "Jackass 3D," which grossed $4.6 million and $2.5 million respectively.

The first installment eventually got a wide release after five weeks in theaters. It took in $21.1 million for that weekend, which is how much Paramount thought the sequel will take in during its opening weekend.

Now that the midnight numbers are in, the studio has announced that it has set its expectations much higher, especially since the new movie will be playing in over 3,200 locations.

The original film was made for $15,000 and grossed almost $200 million. The sequel was made for $2.75 million and will likely easily shatter the worldwide take of the 2009 hit.

Click here to read our "Paranormal Activity 2" review.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 22nd, 2010 at 8:42:41 PM

*** expect a third ****

Wow, and I thought Twilight would contain the full extent of my pure hatred, disgust and unadulterated depising waves of nausea ...

Then Paranueteral Asstivity comes along ...
Ted Mosby writes:
on October 22nd, 2010 at 8:43:06 PM

PA2 has better reviews then CE's Hereafter... AND it set the midnight record... now i want to definitely see it... has anyone on here seen it yet? I really enjoyed seeing the first one in theaters...
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on October 22nd, 2010 at 8:49:40 PM

I went to see it last night

I give it credit, there were a few scene where everyone in the audience just jumped out of their seats including myself, really good jumpy bits. But really not full on scary...unless of course you are one of the girls that cried, hyperventalited and ran out whilst the film was still going as someone did at the screening i went to last night


Problem i have with going to see this in a cinema is that it is alway open to people to make comments. Although some comment people made last night were funny as all hell, it kinda killed the mood.

I suggest you see this when the mass hysteria is over, go on a date to see this, it will work well. Also the less you know about this, the better. But you will need to understand what happend in the first movie


Also, the canon ending for the last film is Katie kills Micha and goes missing
Cr0wnd212 writes:
on October 22nd, 2010 at 8:51:33 PM

This is definitely the next saw (releasing a new one every year to the point that the future installment dont affect us at all).
TeemSelami writes:
on October 22nd, 2010 at 9:36:05 PM

when you only open on 1,800 screens and you release it in cities that voted to have it first, of course you will beat ones that don't
koul writes:
on October 22nd, 2010 at 11:22:15 PM

is this scary this time? the first one wasn't to me
FBO writes:
on October 22nd, 2010 at 11:26:28 PM

Very clever sequel (prequel?)

@Ted if you liked the first you'll like this one.

@Skippy, We had a girl scream at a part where the phone rings... the rest of the theater laughed like mad, best part of these movies is the crowd interaction, I love it.
rabid writes:
on October 22nd, 2010 at 11:58:27 PM

I enjoyed the original version of the first one, but I hated the new ending they made for theaters where the woman lives.
I'm pumped about seeing the second one, but I might wait for a rental or a good bootleg. The only way these type of films are scary is when you watch them alone. I find it hard to feel suspense in a room full of a hundred other people.
Coda999 writes:
on October 23rd, 2010 at 12:10:34 AM

Make sure you see this movie without a bunch of retarded kids around (i.e. my big mistake on a friday night (should have known)). Watch this at an earlier showing and take advantage of a quiet crowd to really draw out the element of this good suspense/horror flick.

The story flows well together, but there are some moments in the movie that will make you jump and laugh all the same.

I suggest this movie.
jigsaw23 writes:
on October 23rd, 2010 at 12:20:17 AM

another borefest in which ppl sh*t them selves over f*ckin pussies. i wont be seeing this and watch something that isnt wasteful to my life like THE DARK KNIGHT or something
CCBlev writes:
on October 23rd, 2010 at 12:27:22 AM

Don't care.
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 23rd, 2010 at 2:48:51 AM

still haven't seen it yet...i won't watch it in theaters...btw, it's funny how people think just because it made more money that people didn't have the free time when jackass 3D was out or watchmen...stupid executives never take things like that into account...it's worse than drug dealers sorting out their money...but back on topic, i watched the first one for free at home and alone, only to prove to myself that it was as over hyped and sh*t as smart people said it was...i won't fall for that mistake again, even if this one was better...honestly hollywood, if you give some film student his wish to make his movie and manages to succeed, any other regular person deserves a sporting chance as well
Ted Mosby writes:
on October 23rd, 2010 at 3:01:41 AM

@FBO
thats what i like to hear!
c-prime writes:
on October 23rd, 2010 at 4:16:43 AM

Just saw it this evening. It had some jumpy parts, admittedly, but the ending is kind of derivative (and by that, I mean...well, I won't give it away). I'd rate it a 6 out of 10.
WonDerBanGeR writes:
on October 23rd, 2010 at 5:18:45 AM

seen it and as expected not scary and the ending well i will just say it sucked!

SPOILER
i got nothing :)
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 23rd, 2010 at 5:57:33 AM

@ Ted Mosby...no offense, but what was there to enjoy about the first one?...i had to fast foward to all the interesting parts because i couldn't stand a bunch of talk and hardly any action...didn't even jump when i watched it alone...one of the reasons why i like scary movies that make you jump a lot...and i mean A LOT!...you'd think after making 200 million, they could afford to have more jumpy scenes than that, at least from what i've been hearing about this new one....i suspect next they'll make paranormal activity 3, but call it, paranormal activity 3D...and that's not a guess, it's just what will happen in the not too distant future
rabid writes:
on October 23rd, 2010 at 11:40:45 AM

Really man, just don't watch horror films if they scare you so much you have to fastforward through the suspenseful scenes.
Ted Mosby writes:
on October 23rd, 2010 at 3:42:08 PM

@synthetic
Really man? why the hell would you fast foward a horror movie? and also why watch a horror movie alone and claim your not scared? I said PA was fun cause I saw it in theaters and had a good experience with everyone being on edge lol You can't fast foward a suspenseful movie... all the "boring parts" were clearly building the suspense... its one of those movies that f*ck with your head when your alone in a house. Also watched it on DVD with a chick and it didn't bored me nor her? so unless you have severe A.D.D. you shouldn't be THAT bored watching it.
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 24th, 2010 at 3:04:09 AM

^ i'm sorry it's just i've gotten better interest out of better suspenseful horror films than that...and in theaters too, the first 'saw', hostel, the hills have eyes, films of that sort...i'm just saying the first PA could have been better than it turned out to be...i just wasn't impressed with it
jigsaw23 writes:
on October 25th, 2010 at 2:13:54 AM

dam ppl loved to be bored or they are just pussies

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved