WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Zack Snyder Wants Middle-Aged "Superman"?

Posted: October 21st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Zack Snyder Wants Middle-Aged "Superman"?Submit Comment
Zack Snyder (Watchmen, 300) has stated that in the new "Superman" reboot Clark Kent will be a journalist traveling the world trying to decide if he should even become Superman, adding that it "will focus on the early days of Superman."

Judging by those statement, the actor who will end up playing the title character will have to be rather young. Not according to two new reports.

News Of The World says that Warner Bros demanded an all-new cast. But since fans have been pushing for Brandon Routh (Superman Return) to return, Snyder revealed that he will consider the actor for the role.

But it seems that Jon Hamm will have a better chance of being cast than Routh. When 24-year-old Armie Hammer (The Social Network) heard of the reboot, he had his agent get in touch with the production. "I think they're going a little older with Superman," he explained. "I hear they're going 35, 40."

Routh is 31-years-old, while Hamm is 39. And both actors are eager to don the suit. In a recent interview, Hamm stated: "If the powers that be are thinking [of casting me], I'd like them to get in touch with me. Maybe we can discuss it."

Click here to read more about "Superman."

Source: NY Mag, CBM


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 49 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
VDODSON writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 7:15:27 AM

Bring Routh back, he was the best part in Superman Returns. f*ck Smallville, and that melon headed dork who cant hold Jor-Els jock strap.
masht7 writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 7:25:26 AM

Give Routh another go, he was the closest thing to Christopher Reeves. Just don't hire Tom Welling, he'll look like a p*ssy in a dominatrix suit.
Rambo writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 7:27:17 AM

Not Routh and not Hamm.someone else.
Crazyhorse writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 7:28:20 AM

Routh is fine with me he looked and acted the part

The problem was the director and writers screwed up Superman Returns

With the right script and director, Routh would do a good job

Same for Tom Welling which he would do fine I think
Cinemaisdead writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 7:34:40 AM

Get Danny Dyer to play superman "you f*cking slags!" haha
Crazyhorse writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 7:35:18 AM

By the way a middle age Superman give me a break.
The last movie they played around with the kid crap, now he might be middle age good grief

Will he walk with a cain
Date Barbara Walters
Have grey hair
Appear on a Medicare commercial

What is that crap all about
rocketman writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 7:39:14 AM

So now i'm f*cking middle aged?
johnny_boy writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 7:48:22 AM

Synder you're f*cking up already. Get your head straight this isn't Watchmen now
sc_kg writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 7:56:53 AM

GOOOOD!
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 8:28:39 AM

Ah yes, let's all believe what Armie f*cking Hammer has to say. You know why he didn't get the role? Because he has a stupid f*cking name, not because of his age. There are 4 people, and ONLY 4 people who I will believe. The Nolans, Goyer and Snyder. Unless it's from one of them, it's horsesh*t. There's no way they're going to cast a "Middle-Aged" (39 - WTF?) Superman. It doesn't even make sense. They want the franchises to last 10 years. We will never see a 50 year old Superman, unless someone decides to make a Kingdom Come movie someday, which would probably end up being terrible. My pick is still Zachary Levi.

VDOD - what happened? Aren't you a huge Hamm fan?
rockkillers writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 8:32:03 AM

I thought Routh was great, and would be a way better choice then Hamm. The problem with the first one for me was that it was a boring superman story. Superman didn't thow a single punch. That plotline of having a child was pretty weak as well.
Bunny X writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 9:03:18 AM

the only problem with bringing Routh back is the f'd up story of Returns, but like I said in a previous post, Dallas that sh*t out and have it all been a dream created by Brainiac to keep Superman down while Brainiac goes after Earth. Superman realizes it's a dream because he knows he couldn't get Lois preggers. And if you ask then wouldn't Brainiac know too? Well Brainiac created the space for Superman's dream he has no idea of what Supes is filling it with. superman just stayed with it because he wanted to experience that life but realizes it's bs and that he can't have "that" life, snaps out of it and "Returns" to Earth to battle Brainiac.
They can spend the first act on covering events in Returns but supes seeing holes in the dream prompting him to awaken, then the second act can be all about the conflict of him returning and dealing partly with the issues of answering "where the hell have you been when we needed you?" and finding out about Brainiac, what he is, and what and why he's done this to Superman. And of course the final act of the big fight. Obviously with Supes eeking out a slim victory leaving the door open for Brainiac to return.

Oh and the reason we haven't heard from Brainiac after all this time is because after the explosion of Krypton, Brainiac stopped off from planet to planet on his way to Earth assimilating planets and species. Since Superman made his trip out there for answers, Brainiac decides to alter his plan and go straight after Earth.

Sounds a bit choppy I know but I'm just so tired of them rehashing superman's story for the umpteenth time!
VDODSON writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 9:46:13 AM

Evil- John Hamm may be one of the better actors working today, but I thought Rouths portrayl of the man of steel was dead on, and paid tribute to the late great Mr. Reeves.
CCBlev writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 9:58:23 AM

This puts me in doubt on it.
lppinto writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 10:07:39 AM

Forget those.. Danny Trejo for Supes..
Crazyhorse writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 10:19:33 AM

Middle Aged Superman, unbelievable.

Why dont they just give it to a bearded Joequim Phoenix and let him fly around throwing feces at his enemies

Oh and let Lohan play Lois

Thoughts anyone?
Johnny Neat writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 11:26:17 AM

Either and or is great. Routh is great as Supes but maybe he's tainted now. Hamm although the man on MadMen and funny on 30 Rock hasn't convinced many of his star power in or for films. The Town I hear wasn't it. Anyhow he needs a break out film and this with Snyder could be it.
johnny_boy writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 11:27:00 AM

"Forget those.. Danny Trejo for Supes.."

Dumb comment of the day,huh?
SaulSilver writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 11:53:49 AM

I think that's just what they told Armie Hammer's people to get them to stop begging for an audition and go away.
rabid writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 12:18:31 PM

Routh doesn't belong in any movie. He should just stand in store windows and model jeans because he's really just a mannequin.
Snyder himself said that Routh was off the table. He knows its vital to the success of the film to avoid the disasterous casting of the last movie.
And how would Tom Welling look like a p*ssy in the suit? He's in much bigger and better shape than Routh.
rabid writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 12:19:16 PM

I'd like to see a middle-aged Superman, but I'm not ready to believe any of these rumors just yet.
LEONCIO writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 12:51:14 PM

A lot of people liked Henry Cavill from The Tudors for a new Superman film in the SHH! boards, he almost got the role in SR, but finally Routh got it. Back then he looked too young and a Hayden Christensen look-alike, but now Cavill is older and maybe a better fit for Supes:

http://julio46.files.wordpress.com/2008/06/henry-cavill-season-26.jpg?w=400

And maybe Gerard Butler or Josh Hamm for Zod or/and Jor-El.
HideousSecretion writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 1:01:32 PM

Routh can go polish turds in that new Alien flick. Returns was garbage. Routh was garbage. He can't act. I'm hoping Supes and Zod are damn good actors so this flick has a chance.
Sinestro writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 1:04:59 PM

Kingdom Come!

That story would make the most epic comic book film of all time. A one time Gotterdammerung-like cluster-f*ck fir the ages. That is probably too good to even think about though.
Kurskij writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 1:46:45 PM

@rocketman

"So now i'm f*cking middle-aged?"

Ahahah! You're in top shape today.

Remember - you grow older but sorority girls remain the same! )

On the topic: I'm confused. On one hand I thought Routh nailed his part in otherwise sh*tty S:R, on the other Hamm will most likely do a great job - and his looks are better suited for Nolan-style movie.

Also: I thought Superman does not age?
Devil writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 1:49:56 PM

Since this is a reboot I wan't everything to be new. Even the classic theme. Superman needs a fresh start. Armie Hammer looks okay for the role. Welling and Routh should stay miles away from this movie.
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 3:13:56 PM

i think a superman movie with brainiac could be good if done right...that's about all there is to say...there's really no need for an origin film all by itself...it can be told in less than 30 minutes and win acceptance among fans...but you know hollywood, they would make an entire origin film more for money than listening to fans...but sometimes listening to fans wins more money...some people in hollywood have learned that valuable lesson like stallone on the expendables
rabid writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 3:46:18 PM

Legally, they can't mention anything about his Kryptonian origin in this film... unless it were the origin shown on Smallville. That was one of the outcomes in the multiple lawsuits they've temporarily settled.
I'm sure they'll skip it, as its already the most well known comic origin story ever.
jigsaw23 writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 4:01:13 PM

bring routh and i have faith in this one
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 4:32:32 PM

Mickey Rourke for Superman!
Ranger writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 4:40:34 PM

Bring Routh back.

Lose the Lois wet spot storyline and completely forget about his kid (WTF was that about?!).

And don't waste our time with a Clark out and about trying to 'find himself!' Bullsh*t!

Get Supes doing Superman stuff. IS THAT SO f*ckING HARD AND/OR TOO OBVIOUS HOLLYWOOD?!?!
Rambo writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 4:53:39 PM

Tom Hardy for superman(as superman not as a date for superman)
markoz writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 4:56:11 PM

I don't believe anything until it's official
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 5:35:48 PM

I'd rather see Brandon Routh in a "Zack and Miri Make a Porno" sequel then in this movie.
nuttie30xx writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 5:53:40 PM

i think most fans would like Routh to have another go i thought he done a god superman shame about the script.
If he dont get it i think tom welling should get a shot the guys gavea round 11 year of his life to the franshise i'd like routh to get it but if the storys are true about his wondering about deciding if he should be superman that sounds a lot like the final smallville
rabid writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 6:18:13 PM

Snyder already ruled Routh out, as did Routh himself in interviews.
Tom Welling is the clear fan favorite. I understand that he's a terrible actor, but good directors can puppeteer bad actors into amazing performances. Normally I'd say Welling's chances are slim to none, but you have to consider that by casting him, it legally opens the door to the Superman mythos we know and love.
If it isn't a spinoff from Smallville, then their only other legal option is to write a new origin story for the character. They wouldn't be able to mention Krypton, Clark Kent, Lois Lane, Daily Planet, Kal-el, Jor-el, the birthship, the classic costume, even the love triangle between Clark/Lois/Supes...

Here's the only thing DC legally holds the license to show on film:
his ability to fly, x-ray/heat vision, Lex, Perry, and Jimmy Olsen. And all the villains that came after the Silver Age. That's it.
So unless it's Tom Welling, I don't think they can legally put anyone else in the costume or do anything with the characters that we've seen before.
I'm sure fans would rather see a Smallville continuation than a complete revamp of the character's story and look.

"Crash-landing with a meteorite from the planet Cryptoid and raised in Topeka, Kansas, this mild-mannered reporter for the New York Times-- Dirk Dent-- upholds Trueness, Fairness, & the American Life... in his guise as the hero Uberman!"

see?... that would totally blow.
Frank4969 writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 7:17:45 PM

The best thing about superman returns was Brandon routh. Bring him back. Don't make a f*cking mistake bringing in some other loser !
G Lantern writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 7:36:03 PM

I still say Tom welling would be good. His what in his early 30's or something but still looks around the 24 25 mark!!!!


if it's not welling bring back routh!!
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 7:52:27 PM

Can we just see superman fight in some intergalactic battles??? thats all we really want anyways.
LEONCIO writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 8:08:55 PM

@Rabid: They lost some rights, but they still use all that stuff in Smallville and in the comics and everywhere else, nothing has changed so far, they can use all that stuff in the new movie (or in the comics, cartoons, etc...) just paying for it to the current owners of those rights, something that I guess they would have to do with a Smallville movie anyway, the same thing with a completely new Superman story, so there will not be a film continuation for Smallville because nobody would want to watch that sh*t, they'll just pay for the rights to use everything from Superman's mythos because nobody would watch the new movie otherwise.
rabid writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 8:45:09 PM

They lost the rights to show any of that stuff in a liveaction format without having a working negotiation, which they don't. Smallville is still allowed to reference it because the Seigel/Schuster families gave their legal consent to Smallville at the start, so it is still acceptable thru the grandfather clause.

Of course DC could always pony up an obscene amount of money to pay the families, but why would they when they have a valid one for free that is mostly the same as the classic?

Even if they did agree to the familes royalties, it would take years to mete out, during which the film would be on hold. The fact that it's speeding forward tells me one of two things: either A) we're getting a Smallville continuation or B) we're getting a version of the character we won't recognize in the classic sense.
billofill writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 10:04:28 PM

A middle aged Superman? So does he also want a Lois who is pushing 80?
velocityknown writes:
on October 22nd, 2010 at 12:02:23 AM

Timothy Olyphant anyone?
Man in Black writes:
on October 22nd, 2010 at 1:19:55 AM

bunny has some good ideas nice twist
SACdaddy writes:
on October 22nd, 2010 at 3:36:07 AM

Hamm would have to do some serious roids before he could dawn the S on his chest.

I'm a big fan of Bunny's idea with Routh. I actually liked SR, so I like the connections she's made to it while still leaving room for vast improvements. f*ck another origin story.
Mudders writes:
on October 22nd, 2010 at 6:50:43 AM

i think someone should ask christopher reeve who he thinks it should be....1 knock routh...2 knocks hamm
rabid writes:
on October 22nd, 2010 at 10:22:01 AM

Christopher Reeve passed the torch to Tom Welling on the tv series and made some interview comments about him being the Superman of our generation.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 22nd, 2010 at 7:55:07 PM

Use a nail gun and staple Christopher Reeve to a plank, tie a red blanket to him and run him around.
Man in Black writes:
on October 23rd, 2010 at 1:33:36 AM

there is only one way to settle this , celebrity death match between welling and routh.... lets get it on ! ( mills lane )

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved