WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Hobbit" Leaving New Zealand and Taking Its $500 Million

Posted: October 20th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Hobbit" Leaving New Zealand and Taking Its $500 Million Submit Comment
Just recently, director Peter Jackson said that if issues with the Australian actors union continues, he will movie "The Hobbit" production from New Zealand to Europe, especially when the tax rebate is double what New Zealand is offering.

And even though Warner Bros stated that everything will work out, now comes word that the studio is considering a UK location for the two prequels. The location has been used for several "Harry Potter" films.

Jackson said that even if the union drops their complaint, that "does nothing to help the film stay in New Zealand. The damage inflicted on our film industry by [the actors unions] is long since done."

Warners lost confidence in New Zealand and is now concerned about their $500 million investment. "Next week Warners are coming down to New Zealand to make arrangements to move the production offshore," Jackson continued. "It appears we cannot make films in our own country even when substantial financing is available."

Click here to read more about "The Hobbit."

Source: Stuff


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 9:05:06 PM

And now those NZ folks are out of work and most likely have scared off other studios.

Good work guys! You've probably been black listed by Hollywood.
Big_Daddy writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 9:31:54 PM

Who gives a sh*t.

I guess new Zealand with have to find another director to film there. The only other films shot there and worth a sh*t are Avatar, the last samurai and 30 days of night the rest are sh*te fests.

*Note* I am not saying Avatar was a good movie
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 9:40:37 PM

"The Hobbit" Leaving New Zealand and Taking It's $500 Million .... because how can you trust an island that burns down your warehouse in protest ?

How dare they move the Hobbitt! Harumph!


rocketman writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 9:43:10 PM

Film it in Britain for Hobbiton anf EU for Middle Earth,Black Forest for Mirkwood?
wonderBOY writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 9:52:06 PM

Take that NZ
Damon242 writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 10:07:51 PM

Seriously Australia.....were you really that jealous?

Thank you for succeeding in tarnishing our film industry, all because you're no longer the talk of everyone.

At least we can still have Cameron's investment.
boogiel writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 11:25:05 PM

Finally. Take that, you Union Sons of bitches. Who's laughing now, huh? US$500 Million down the drain...Start crying now, you f*cking *ssholes.
CCBlev writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 11:45:58 PM

Who gives a sh*t just make those god damned movies already!!!!!
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 1:51:55 AM

@ Alex, i've spotted an error...first paragraph in the article...'if issues with the Australian actors union continues, he will MOVIE "The Hobbit" production from New Zealand to Europe'...you're welcome
WonDerBanGeR writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 1:58:50 AM

OMG WHY THE f*ck DID WE DO THAT?!?!?!? NOW there wont b any dam movies filmed downunder or the sheep shagging country New Zealand -_-
Man in Black writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 2:31:17 AM

tuff times NZ... Better start exporting more .... what is it you contribute again ?
Detrimental writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 2:53:10 AM

@Synthetic We just ignore the mistakes now. If I went on a grammar binge of everything horrible with the posts, the site would crash. Besides, if I'm right, he does everything else on this site that we predominantly focus on. I guess that main attraction can suffer for the effort it takes in sprucing up the decorations..right?
Long Pants Tramp writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 3:01:04 AM

As long as Middle Earth still looks like New Zealand.

It was awkward enough to see Kubrick shoot Vietnam on his own backyard in England.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 4:19:01 AM

Got to love those Unions.
darkraven28 writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 4:42:37 AM

I don't even know what to say. I only ever watched the theatrical versions of LOTR. And since the extended versions of the trilogy are like 15 hours or something total, was there anything left in New Zealand that they hadn't bothered to shoot for those films? Just sayin', as a casual fan and all.
masht7 writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 5:59:38 AM

I f*cking hate my country right now, tarnishing one of my most anticipated films ever.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 7:32:22 AM

@Max I DIDN'T GET A HARUMPH OUT OF THAT GUY!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 7:57:27 AM

@cinemaisdead

Harumph!
swoooop writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 11:23:39 AM

Good work Union people. Keep protecting your workers, and don't let the money greedy film folks dictate you.
The-BRAD writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 1:41:04 PM

Film it in Canada. Talk about perfect scenes for middle earth.

At least in New Zealand a bottle of wine is cheaper than a bottle of water. They can drink themselves happy to get over the 'loss'
Cinemaisdead writes:
on October 22nd, 2010 at 10:14:42 AM

@Dave YOU WATCH YOUR ASS! lol

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved