WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for Will Smith's "Concussion" Football Drama
Sep 3rd, 2015
Trailer: Eddie Redmayne is First Transgender Person in "The Danish Girl"
Sep 3rd, 2015
Vincent Cassel is Main Villain in New "Jason Bourne" Film
Sep 3rd, 2015
Trailer for Chloe Moretz's "The 5th Wave" Sci-Fi Thriller
Sep 3rd, 2015
Trailer for Nicolas Cage's "Pay the Ghost" Thriller
Sep 3rd, 2015
"Captain America: Civil War" Concept Art Shows Two Avengers Teams
Aug 30th, 2015
First Look at Michael Fassbender in "Assassin's Creed" Video Game Movie
Aug 29th, 2015
Matt Damon Reveals "Bourne" Sequel Plot Details
Aug 29th, 2015
New Trailer for Jack Black's "Goosebumps"
Aug 29th, 2015
Jennifer Lawrence and Amy Schumer Working on New Comedy
Aug 27th, 2015
Christopher Meloni Joins "Holding Patterns"
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Love the Coopers" Comedy, with John Goodman, Ed Helms and Olivia Wilde
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for Nicholas Hoult's "Kill Your Friends" Crime Thriller
Aug 26th, 2015
James Franco is a Tech Billionaire in "Why Him" Comedy
Aug 26th, 2015
General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 20th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Jungle Cruise," Based on Disney's Theme Park Ride
Aug 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Blunt Force Trauma," with Mickey Rourke and Freida Pinto
Aug 20th, 2015
First Trailer for "Victor Frankenstein," with Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy
Aug 19th, 2015
"Prometheus 2" Delaying Neill Blomkamp's "Alien 5"
Aug 19th, 2015
Freddie Highmore and Odeya Rush Join "Holding Patterns"
Aug 19th, 2015
New Trailer for Matt Damon's "The Martian" is Here!
Aug 19th, 2015
Post-Apocalyptic "Zorro" Reboot is Moving Forward
Aug 19th, 2015
Hugh Jackman Hints at Sabertooth and Berserker Rage in "Wolverine 3"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for "Star Wars: The Force Awakens"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at "Star Wars: Rogue One" Spin-Off Film
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Aug 18th, 2015
New Photo From Pixar's "Finding Dory"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for Disney's Live-Action "The Jungle Book"
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for "Carol," with Cate Blanchett and Rooney Mara
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for Kevin Hart's "Ride Along" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
First Posters for "Alice in Wonderland" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
Bradley Cooper is a Chef in "Burnt" Trailer
Aug 15th, 2015
First Look at Black Panther on "Captain America: Civil War" Set
Aug 13th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Video: Deleted "Avatar" Scene Shows Life on Earth

Posted: October 20th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Video: Deleted "Avatar" Scene Shows Life on EarthSubmit Comment
The opening sequence of "Avatar" shows life on crowded, polluted 22nd century Earth, where city dwellers are bombarded by digital ads and wear masks for protection from the foul air.

Today we have a clip from the sequence, showing Jake Sully (Sam Worthington) before he joins the Avatar program. The ex-Marine lives in a tiny room and hangs around drinking at a bar, where he starts a fight after witnessing a man slapping a woman around. Check out the clip below.

Director James Cameron explained why he removed the sequence. "The guiding principle for me was the movie doesn't really start until we meet Neytiri," he said. "It's about their relationship and where that relationship takes him. So every minute that we delayed meeting her we looked at with extra scrutiny."

The clip and other deleted scenes will appear on the extended cut of "Avatar," which is set to hit stores on DVD and Blu-ray on November 16th.

Clip:

If you cannot see the player, click here.


Click here to read our "Avatar" review.

Source: io9, USA Today


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
wytchesim27 writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 9:05:26 PM

bar fight in a wheelchair? thanks for cutting it..
darkraven28 writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 9:16:19 PM

That flying wheelchair would've ROCKED IN 3-D though. Should've gotten a POV shot with the chair flying, Mr. Cameron.
TRUEMAN writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 9:17:45 PM

HAHAHAHA WHAT A DOUCHE BEST CLIP EVER HAHAHAHAHA
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 9:25:06 PM

Is Reeve's corpse strapped to the wheelchair and flown around the room ? Tie the red towel to his neck and you would believe a paraplegic can fly.
Big_Daddy writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 9:39:39 PM

He cut this out but left the other 3 hours of wasted film in?

But that is f*cked up how he snuck up on him and beat his ass, that's just hitting below the belt
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 10:20:23 PM

Does anyone else think that the scene looks like it was shot on the cheap in 10 minutes about a week ago just to add another deleted scene for the extras? If it wasn't then no wonder it was cut, lol!
CCBlev writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 12:04:45 AM

can i have my 45 secs back please?
jigsaw23 writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 12:18:59 AM

ha already had to go throught that crap last night and wont again. but it would have been the only good scene in the movie if wasnt deleted. GET OUT AND TAKE YOUR WHEELCHAIR TOO BITCH.
TeemSelami writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 1:04:44 AM

beat him up all you want you still can't get a hard-on
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 1:43:24 AM

"The guiding principle for me was the movie doesn't really start until we meet Neytiri," he said...wow, i want my half hour or more of life back...at least i didn't pay a penny for this movie...all the over hype convinced me not to see it until it was out on dvd...and when i watched it on dvd, it was in 2D
rabid writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 1:44:05 AM

Poor Lieutenant Dan...
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 2:36:54 AM

@ rabid lol
Rambo writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 3:29:12 AM

I guess the guy that was sitting in the bar recommended 3 hours before to Sam Worthington 'Avatar' and now Sam came back really pissed after watching that crap.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 4:07:33 AM

Is it a good or bad thing that I can't get the clip?
trailertrash writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 4:51:52 AM

Bad dave , would have been the funniest scene in the movie ...

Teem/rabid lol
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 5:01:15 AM

trailertrash writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 4:51:52 AM

Bad dave , would have been the funniest scene in the movie ...


@tt

Can't be any worse than the entire movie right?
trailertrash writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 5:50:45 AM

Cripple beating dave , i think it would have enhanced the Avatar experience ....
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 6:19:05 AM

I dunno, that and the stupid eco message rammed down our throats for close on to three hours would have been too much....but of course, you can never beat a "CRIPPLE FIGHT!"..as long as it's shot for shot the same fight from "They Live".
TheBlackCatwoman writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 12:17:12 PM

that was worthless . it didnt show what it say it would.

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?

Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot

Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"

Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved