WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Zoolander 2" Teaser Trailer Arrives Online
Aug 1st, 2015
First Look at Robert Redford as Dan Rather in "Truth"
Aug 1st, 2015
New Photos of Emma Watson in "Colonia" Cult Thriller
Aug 1st, 2015
"They Live" Actor and WWE Star "Rowdy" Roddy Piper Dead at 61
Aug 1st, 2015
First Look at Jake Gyllenhaal in "Demolition," From Director of "Dallas Buyers Club"
Jul 31st, 2015
New Trailer for Johnny Depp's "Black Mass"
Jul 31st, 2015
Trailer for "The Night Before" Comedy, with Seth Rogen, Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Anthony Mackie
Jul 30th, 2015
Trailer for Michael Bay's "13 Hours" Benghazi Thriller
Jul 30th, 2015
Channing Tatum Quitting "Gambit" Film?
Jul 30th, 2015
Trailer for Mark Ruffalo's "Spotlight," About Pedophile Priests
Jul 30th, 2015
New Trailer for "Sicario" Thriller, with Emily Blunt and Josh Brolin
Jul 30th, 2015
Vince Vaughn Joins Mel Gibson's "Hacksaw Ridge" WWII Film
Jul 30th, 2015
Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals
Jul 25th, 2015
Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
Jul 25th, 2015
New Trailer for Zac Efron's "We Are Your Friends"
Jul 25th, 2015
"Jurassic World" Sequel Gets Release Date, Chris Pratt to Return
Jul 24th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson's "Baywatch" Movie Hires "Horrible Bosses" Director
Jul 24th, 2015
Russell Crowe in Talks to Join "King Kong" Prequel
Jul 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 2" is Here!
Jul 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "Maze Runner" Sequel
Jul 24th, 2015
LeBron James Signs Deal with Warner Bros, "Space Jam 2" Happening?
Jul 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Ryan Reynolds' "Mississippi Grind" Poker Film
Jul 23rd, 2015
Final Restricted Trailer for "Vacation" Sequel
Jul 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Patrick Wilson's "Zipper" Thriller
Jul 23rd, 2015
Full Trailer for "Spectre" James Bond Film
Jul 22nd, 2015
Full Trailer for Pixar's "The Good Dinosaur" Animated Film
Jul 22nd, 2015
"Kung Fu Panda" Director Making "Emoji" Movie
Jul 22nd, 2015
"Pacific Rim 2" to Begin Filming in November
Jul 22nd, 2015
Backstreet Boys and 'NSync Members Unite for "Dead 7" Low-Budget Horror Film
Jul 21st, 2015
Benicio Del Toro May Play Villain in "Star Wars: Episode VIII"
Jul 21st, 2015
Trailer for "Before We Go," Chris Evans' Directorial Debut
Jul 21st, 2015
"The Godfather" Actor Alex Rocco Dead at 79
Jul 21st, 2015
New Trailer for "American Ultra," with Jesse Eisenberg and Kristen Stewart
Jul 21st, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Video: Deleted "Avatar" Scene Shows Life on Earth

Posted: October 20th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Video: Deleted "Avatar" Scene Shows Life on EarthSubmit Comment
The opening sequence of "Avatar" shows life on crowded, polluted 22nd century Earth, where city dwellers are bombarded by digital ads and wear masks for protection from the foul air.

Today we have a clip from the sequence, showing Jake Sully (Sam Worthington) before he joins the Avatar program. The ex-Marine lives in a tiny room and hangs around drinking at a bar, where he starts a fight after witnessing a man slapping a woman around. Check out the clip below.

Director James Cameron explained why he removed the sequence. "The guiding principle for me was the movie doesn't really start until we meet Neytiri," he said. "It's about their relationship and where that relationship takes him. So every minute that we delayed meeting her we looked at with extra scrutiny."

The clip and other deleted scenes will appear on the extended cut of "Avatar," which is set to hit stores on DVD and Blu-ray on November 16th.

Clip:

If you cannot see the player, click here.


Click here to read our "Avatar" review.

Source: io9, USA Today


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
wytchesim27 writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 9:05:26 PM

bar fight in a wheelchair? thanks for cutting it..
darkraven28 writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 9:16:19 PM

That flying wheelchair would've ROCKED IN 3-D though. Should've gotten a POV shot with the chair flying, Mr. Cameron.
TRUEMAN writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 9:17:45 PM

HAHAHAHA WHAT A DOUCHE BEST CLIP EVER HAHAHAHAHA
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 9:25:06 PM

Is Reeve's corpse strapped to the wheelchair and flown around the room ? Tie the red towel to his neck and you would believe a paraplegic can fly.
Big_Daddy writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 9:39:39 PM

He cut this out but left the other 3 hours of wasted film in?

But that is f*cked up how he snuck up on him and beat his ass, that's just hitting below the belt
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 10:20:23 PM

Does anyone else think that the scene looks like it was shot on the cheap in 10 minutes about a week ago just to add another deleted scene for the extras? If it wasn't then no wonder it was cut, lol!
CCBlev writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 12:04:45 AM

can i have my 45 secs back please?
jigsaw23 writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 12:18:59 AM

ha already had to go throught that crap last night and wont again. but it would have been the only good scene in the movie if wasnt deleted. GET OUT AND TAKE YOUR WHEELCHAIR TOO BITCH.
TeemSelami writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 1:04:44 AM

beat him up all you want you still can't get a hard-on
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 1:43:24 AM

"The guiding principle for me was the movie doesn't really start until we meet Neytiri," he said...wow, i want my half hour or more of life back...at least i didn't pay a penny for this movie...all the over hype convinced me not to see it until it was out on dvd...and when i watched it on dvd, it was in 2D
rabid writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 1:44:05 AM

Poor Lieutenant Dan...
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 2:36:54 AM

@ rabid lol
Rambo writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 3:29:12 AM

I guess the guy that was sitting in the bar recommended 3 hours before to Sam Worthington 'Avatar' and now Sam came back really pissed after watching that crap.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 4:07:33 AM

Is it a good or bad thing that I can't get the clip?
trailertrash writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 4:51:52 AM

Bad dave , would have been the funniest scene in the movie ...

Teem/rabid lol
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 5:01:15 AM

trailertrash writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 4:51:52 AM

Bad dave , would have been the funniest scene in the movie ...


@tt

Can't be any worse than the entire movie right?
trailertrash writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 5:50:45 AM

Cripple beating dave , i think it would have enhanced the Avatar experience ....
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 6:19:05 AM

I dunno, that and the stupid eco message rammed down our throats for close on to three hours would have been too much....but of course, you can never beat a "CRIPPLE FIGHT!"..as long as it's shot for shot the same fight from "They Live".
TheBlackCatwoman writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 12:17:12 PM

that was worthless . it didnt show what it say it would.

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

Spider-Man Contractually Cannot be Black or Gay

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

"Star Wars" Actor Arrested After Insane Car Chase

"Spider-Man" Reboot Announces Actor and Director

Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"

"The Amazing Spider-Man 3" Would Have Brought Characters Back From the Dead
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved