WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Will Smith's "Focus" Takes Top Spot at Box Office
Mar 2nd, 2015
Michelle Rodriguez Apologizes For White People's Superheroes Comment
Mar 1st, 2015
"Star Trek" Actor Leonard Nimoy Dead at 83
Feb 28th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Black Widow, Thor and Nick Fury Posters
Feb 28th, 2015
First Look at Eddie Redmayne as First Transgender Person in "The Danish Girl"
Feb 28th, 2015
Leonardo DiCaprio to Have 24 Personalities in "The Crowded Room"
Feb 28th, 2015
"Brewster's Millions" Remake Gets a Director
Feb 28th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils The Hulk Poster
Feb 27th, 2015
Director Neill Blomkamp Says His "Elysium" Film is Not Very Good
Feb 27th, 2015
Harrison Ford Confirmed for "Blade Runner 2," Director Announced
Feb 27th, 2015
Neill Blomkamp Clarifies His "Alien 5" Comments
Feb 27th, 2015
"Red Sonja" is Happening Again
Feb 27th, 2015
Neill Blomkamp's "Alien" Sequel Will Give Ripley a Proper Ending
Feb 26th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Iron Man Poster
Feb 26th, 2015
Official "Creed" Plot Synopsis Hints at Rocky's Health Issues
Feb 26th, 2015
Four New Photos From "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Feb 26th, 2015
"Tomb Raider" Reboot Hires "Divergent" Writer
Feb 26th, 2015
Poster for Marvel's "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Feb 25th, 2015
Arnold Schwarzenegger Says He'll Return For "Terminator Genisys" Sequel
Feb 25th, 2015
Dark "Power Rangers" Short Film with James Van Der Beek
Feb 25th, 2015
"The LEGO Movie" Sequel Announces Director
Feb 25th, 2015
Next Spider-Man Will NOT Be White?
Feb 24th, 2015
Chris Pratt Comments on Starring in "Indiana Jones 5"
Feb 24th, 2015
Rooney Mara Says "Girl With the Dragon Tattoo" Sequel is Dead
Feb 24th, 2015
New Trailer for Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Action Film, From Director of "Taken"
Feb 24th, 2015
"Fifty Shades of Grey" Still First at Box Office, "Hot Tub Time Machine 2" Bombs
Feb 23rd, 2015
Academy Award Winners Announced!
Feb 22nd, 2015
Steven Spielberg May Direct Chris Pratt in "Indiana Jones 5"
Feb 22nd, 2015
Hugh Jackman Wants to Play Wolverine Until He Dies
Feb 22nd, 2015
"Wonder Woman" Set to Begin Filming This Fall
Feb 22nd, 2015
2015 Razzie Winners Announced!
Feb 22nd, 2015
Trailer for "Infinitely Polar Bear," with Mark Ruffalo and Zoe Saldana
Feb 22nd, 2015
First Look: Jason Momoa is Aquaman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Feb 21st, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Video: Deleted "Avatar" Scene Shows Life on Earth

Posted: October 20th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Video: Deleted "Avatar" Scene Shows Life on EarthSubmit Comment
The opening sequence of "Avatar" shows life on crowded, polluted 22nd century Earth, where city dwellers are bombarded by digital ads and wear masks for protection from the foul air.

Today we have a clip from the sequence, showing Jake Sully (Sam Worthington) before he joins the Avatar program. The ex-Marine lives in a tiny room and hangs around drinking at a bar, where he starts a fight after witnessing a man slapping a woman around. Check out the clip below.

Director James Cameron explained why he removed the sequence. "The guiding principle for me was the movie doesn't really start until we meet Neytiri," he said. "It's about their relationship and where that relationship takes him. So every minute that we delayed meeting her we looked at with extra scrutiny."

The clip and other deleted scenes will appear on the extended cut of "Avatar," which is set to hit stores on DVD and Blu-ray on November 16th.

Clip:

If you cannot see the player, click here.


Click here to read our "Avatar" review.

Source: io9, USA Today


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
wytchesim27 writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 9:05:26 PM

bar fight in a wheelchair? thanks for cutting it..
darkraven28 writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 9:16:19 PM

That flying wheelchair would've ROCKED IN 3-D though. Should've gotten a POV shot with the chair flying, Mr. Cameron.
TRUEMAN writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 9:17:45 PM

HAHAHAHA WHAT A DOUCHE BEST CLIP EVER HAHAHAHAHA
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 9:25:06 PM

Is Reeve's corpse strapped to the wheelchair and flown around the room ? Tie the red towel to his neck and you would believe a paraplegic can fly.
Big_Daddy writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 9:39:39 PM

He cut this out but left the other 3 hours of wasted film in?

But that is f*cked up how he snuck up on him and beat his ass, that's just hitting below the belt
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 10:20:23 PM

Does anyone else think that the scene looks like it was shot on the cheap in 10 minutes about a week ago just to add another deleted scene for the extras? If it wasn't then no wonder it was cut, lol!
CCBlev writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 12:04:45 AM

can i have my 45 secs back please?
jigsaw23 writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 12:18:59 AM

ha already had to go throught that crap last night and wont again. but it would have been the only good scene in the movie if wasnt deleted. GET OUT AND TAKE YOUR WHEELCHAIR TOO BITCH.
TeemSelami writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 1:04:44 AM

beat him up all you want you still can't get a hard-on
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 1:43:24 AM

"The guiding principle for me was the movie doesn't really start until we meet Neytiri," he said...wow, i want my half hour or more of life back...at least i didn't pay a penny for this movie...all the over hype convinced me not to see it until it was out on dvd...and when i watched it on dvd, it was in 2D
rabid writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 1:44:05 AM

Poor Lieutenant Dan...
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 2:36:54 AM

@ rabid lol
Rambo writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 3:29:12 AM

I guess the guy that was sitting in the bar recommended 3 hours before to Sam Worthington 'Avatar' and now Sam came back really pissed after watching that crap.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 4:07:33 AM

Is it a good or bad thing that I can't get the clip?
trailertrash writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 4:51:52 AM

Bad dave , would have been the funniest scene in the movie ...

Teem/rabid lol
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 5:01:15 AM

trailertrash writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 4:51:52 AM

Bad dave , would have been the funniest scene in the movie ...


@tt

Can't be any worse than the entire movie right?
trailertrash writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 5:50:45 AM

Cripple beating dave , i think it would have enhanced the Avatar experience ....
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 6:19:05 AM

I dunno, that and the stupid eco message rammed down our throats for close on to three hours would have been too much....but of course, you can never beat a "CRIPPLE FIGHT!"..as long as it's shot for shot the same fight from "They Live".
TheBlackCatwoman writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 12:17:12 PM

that was worthless . it didnt show what it say it would.

Joss Whedon Blames Edgar Wright for Not Having Ant-Man in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"

Will Smith Trashes "Another Earth," Vince Vaughn Trashes "The Internship"

More Details on Marvel's Spider-Man Deal, New Spider-Man to be Younger

Mark Ruffalo Discusses The Hulk in "Avengers: Age of Ultron" and in New Solo Film

It's Official: Spider-Man to Appear in Marvel Films

Next Spider-Man Will NOT Be White?

Matthew Vaughn Reveals His Version of Quicksilver Scene in "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Director Matthew Vaughn Wanted Two Wolverines in "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Confirmed: Neill Blomkamp Will Direct New "Alien" Film

Jared Leto Talks Playing The Joker in "Suicide Squad"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved