WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for Antonio Banderas' "The 33" Chilean Miners Rescue Film
Apr 1st, 2015
Trailer for Jack Black's "The D Train" Comedy
Apr 1st, 2015
"Arrow" Star Stephen Amell to Play Casey Jones in "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2"
Apr 1st, 2015
Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje is Killer Croc in "Suicide Squad"
Apr 1st, 2015
New Trailer for "Spy" Comedy, with Melissa McCarthy, Jason Statham and Jude Law
Apr 1st, 2015
Trailer for "Masterminds" Comedy, with Zach Galifianakis and Kristen Wiig
Mar 31st, 2015
Disney to Make Live-Action "Mulan" Movie
Mar 31st, 2015
Trailer: Dwayne Johnson Stars in Disney's Action-Packed "Bambi" Film
Mar 30th, 2015
First Footage From "The Walking Dead" Spin-Off TV Series
Mar 30th, 2015
"Home" and "Get Hard" Perform Well at Box Office
Mar 30th, 2015
"Spectre" Opening Sequence is Biggest in History
Mar 30th, 2015
New Footage in "Jurassic World" TV Spot
Mar 30th, 2015
Photo: Hugh Jackman Hints at Final Appearance as Wolverine
Mar 29th, 2015
"Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2" Title Revealed
Mar 29th, 2015
20th Century Fox to Turn Popular "The Leviathan" Short Film into Feature Film
Mar 29th, 2015
"Spectre" James Bond Film Unveils Trailer
Mar 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Spin-Off TV Series Unveils Title
Mar 28th, 2015
"Transformers" Getting Lots More Sequels and Spin-Offs
Mar 28th, 2015
Antonio Banderas Says Shrek May Appear in "Puss in Boots 2"
Mar 28th, 2015
First Look at Ryan Reynolds in "Deadpool"
Mar 27th, 2015
Trailer for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Southpaw" Boxing Film
Mar 27th, 2015
Trailer for JK Rowling's "The Casual Vacancy"
Mar 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Absolution" Thriller, with Steven Seagal and Vinnie Jones
Mar 27th, 2015
Julia Louis-Dreyfus in Talks for American Remake of "Force Majeure"
Mar 27th, 2015
Trailer for Kit Harington's "Spooks: The Greater Good"
Mar 27th, 2015
First Look at Jesse Eisenberg as Lex Luthor in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Mar 26th, 2015
Trailer for Arnold Schwarzenegger's "Maggie" Zombie Film
Mar 26th, 2015
First Clear Look at The Thing From "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Mar 26th, 2015
Idris Elba May Play Villain in "Star Trek 3"
Mar 26th, 2015
New Photos of Ben Stiller and Owen Wilson From "Zoolander 2"
Mar 26th, 2015
New Trailer for "Entourage" Movie
Mar 25th, 2015
Vin Diesel Predicts "Furious 7" Will Win Best Picture Oscar
Mar 25th, 2015
Trailer for Michael Fassbender's "Slow West" Western Thriller
Mar 25th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Video: Deleted "Avatar" Scene Shows Life on Earth

Posted: October 20th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Video: Deleted "Avatar" Scene Shows Life on EarthSubmit Comment
The opening sequence of "Avatar" shows life on crowded, polluted 22nd century Earth, where city dwellers are bombarded by digital ads and wear masks for protection from the foul air.

Today we have a clip from the sequence, showing Jake Sully (Sam Worthington) before he joins the Avatar program. The ex-Marine lives in a tiny room and hangs around drinking at a bar, where he starts a fight after witnessing a man slapping a woman around. Check out the clip below.

Director James Cameron explained why he removed the sequence. "The guiding principle for me was the movie doesn't really start until we meet Neytiri," he said. "It's about their relationship and where that relationship takes him. So every minute that we delayed meeting her we looked at with extra scrutiny."

The clip and other deleted scenes will appear on the extended cut of "Avatar," which is set to hit stores on DVD and Blu-ray on November 16th.

Clip:

If you cannot see the player, click here.


Click here to read our "Avatar" review.

Source: io9, USA Today


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
wytchesim27 writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 9:05:26 PM

bar fight in a wheelchair? thanks for cutting it..
darkraven28 writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 9:16:19 PM

That flying wheelchair would've ROCKED IN 3-D though. Should've gotten a POV shot with the chair flying, Mr. Cameron.
TRUEMAN writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 9:17:45 PM

HAHAHAHA WHAT A DOUCHE BEST CLIP EVER HAHAHAHAHA
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 9:25:06 PM

Is Reeve's corpse strapped to the wheelchair and flown around the room ? Tie the red towel to his neck and you would believe a paraplegic can fly.
Big_Daddy writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 9:39:39 PM

He cut this out but left the other 3 hours of wasted film in?

But that is f*cked up how he snuck up on him and beat his ass, that's just hitting below the belt
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 10:20:23 PM

Does anyone else think that the scene looks like it was shot on the cheap in 10 minutes about a week ago just to add another deleted scene for the extras? If it wasn't then no wonder it was cut, lol!
CCBlev writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 12:04:45 AM

can i have my 45 secs back please?
jigsaw23 writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 12:18:59 AM

ha already had to go throught that crap last night and wont again. but it would have been the only good scene in the movie if wasnt deleted. GET OUT AND TAKE YOUR WHEELCHAIR TOO BITCH.
TeemSelami writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 1:04:44 AM

beat him up all you want you still can't get a hard-on
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 1:43:24 AM

"The guiding principle for me was the movie doesn't really start until we meet Neytiri," he said...wow, i want my half hour or more of life back...at least i didn't pay a penny for this movie...all the over hype convinced me not to see it until it was out on dvd...and when i watched it on dvd, it was in 2D
rabid writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 1:44:05 AM

Poor Lieutenant Dan...
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 2:36:54 AM

@ rabid lol
Rambo writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 3:29:12 AM

I guess the guy that was sitting in the bar recommended 3 hours before to Sam Worthington 'Avatar' and now Sam came back really pissed after watching that crap.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 4:07:33 AM

Is it a good or bad thing that I can't get the clip?
trailertrash writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 4:51:52 AM

Bad dave , would have been the funniest scene in the movie ...

Teem/rabid lol
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 5:01:15 AM

trailertrash writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 4:51:52 AM

Bad dave , would have been the funniest scene in the movie ...


@tt

Can't be any worse than the entire movie right?
trailertrash writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 5:50:45 AM

Cripple beating dave , i think it would have enhanced the Avatar experience ....
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 6:19:05 AM

I dunno, that and the stupid eco message rammed down our throats for close on to three hours would have been too much....but of course, you can never beat a "CRIPPLE FIGHT!"..as long as it's shot for shot the same fight from "They Live".
TheBlackCatwoman writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 12:17:12 PM

that was worthless . it didnt show what it say it would.

Mexico Pays "Spectre" $20 Million to Rewrite Script

Gal Gadot Responds to Criticism That Her Breasts are Too Small to Play Wonder Woman

Michelle Rodriguez Apologizes For White People's Superheroes Comment

Disney's "Cinderella" Dominates at Box Office

Hugh Jackman Knows Who Would Win in a Fight, Batman or Wolverine

"The Dark Knight" Voted the Greatest Superhero Film of All Time

Stephen King Comments on Early Screening of Guillermo Del Toro's "Crimson Peak" Horror Film

"Avengers: Infinity Wars" Officially Replaces Director Joss Whedon

Neill Blomkamp's "Alien" Sequel Will Give Ripley a Proper Ending

"Insurgent" Takes First Place at Box Office, Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Flops
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved