WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Disney is NOT Working on "Frozen" Sequel
Apr 23rd, 2014
Disney is Considering Moving "Captain America 3" To a Different Release Date
Apr 23rd, 2014
Lou Ferrigno Will Return to Voice The Hulk in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Apr 23rd, 2014
Peeps Candy to Become a Movie
Apr 23rd, 2014
Disney Turning "It's a Small World" Ride Into a Movie
Apr 23rd, 2014
"Pirates of the Caribbean 5" Still Doesn't Have a Script
Apr 23rd, 2014
"Bad Boys 3" Hasn't Happened Due to Bad Timing
Apr 23rd, 2014
First Look: Robert Downey Jr on "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Set
Apr 23rd, 2014
New Photos From Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Thriller
Apr 22nd, 2014
Bill Paxton Will Do Anything to Join "Avatar 2"
Apr 22nd, 2014
"Star Wars: Episode VII" Will ONLY Be Based on First Six "Star Wars" Films
Apr 22nd, 2014
Paul WS Anderson Reveals Title for New "Resident Evil" Film
Apr 22nd, 2014
Watch First Five Minutes From "How to Train Your Dragon 2"
Apr 22nd, 2014
"Terminator" Reboot is Officially Filming
Apr 22nd, 2014
Marc Webb Wants J. Jonah Jameson in "The Amazing Spider-Man 3"
Apr 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "The Grand Seduction," with Taylor Kitsch and Brendan Gleeson
Apr 22nd, 2014
First Look: Paul Walker's Brothers on "Fast and Furious 7" Set
Apr 22nd, 2014
Danny Boyle and Leonardo DiCaprio in Talks for Steve Jobs Biopic
Apr 22nd, 2014
Steven Spielberg Wrote the Story for "The Goonies" Sequel
Apr 22nd, 2014
New Poster for Tom Cruise's "Edge of Tomorrow" Sci-Fi Film
Apr 21st, 2014
Writer Says "Fantastic Four" is a Coming of Age Story
Apr 21st, 2014
"Bioshock" Movie May Still Be Alive
Apr 21st, 2014
Rubin "Hurricane" Carter, the Boxer and Inspiration for Denzel Washington's Movie, Dead at 76
Apr 21st, 2014
"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Still Dominating at Box Office, Johnny Depp's "Transcendence" Bombs
Apr 20th, 2014
"X-Men: Apocalypse" to Focus on Younger Cast, Patrick Stewart Says He May Still Return
Apr 20th, 2014
Hayden Panettiere Won't Return for "Heroes: Reborn" TV Series
Apr 20th, 2014
Trailer for Michael C. Hall's "Cold in July" Thriller
Apr 20th, 2014
Parents Freaking Out Over "Frozen" Merchandise Shortage
Apr 19th, 2014
Is "Batman vs Superman" Changing Its Release Date to Avoid "Captain America 3" Competition?
Apr 19th, 2014
First Look at Ryan Gosling's Directorial Debut "Lost River"
Apr 19th, 2014
Jaden Smith to Play a Slave in "The Good Lord Bird"
Apr 19th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Normal Heart," with Mark Ruffalo and Julia Roberts
Apr 19th, 2014
Producers Say Spider-Man Will Only Join "X-Men" or "The Avengers" When They Run Out of Ideas
Apr 19th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Video: Deleted "Avatar" Scene Shows Life on Earth

Posted: October 20th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Video: Deleted "Avatar" Scene Shows Life on EarthSubmit Comment
The opening sequence of "Avatar" shows life on crowded, polluted 22nd century Earth, where city dwellers are bombarded by digital ads and wear masks for protection from the foul air.

Today we have a clip from the sequence, showing Jake Sully (Sam Worthington) before he joins the Avatar program. The ex-Marine lives in a tiny room and hangs around drinking at a bar, where he starts a fight after witnessing a man slapping a woman around. Check out the clip below.

Director James Cameron explained why he removed the sequence. "The guiding principle for me was the movie doesn't really start until we meet Neytiri," he said. "It's about their relationship and where that relationship takes him. So every minute that we delayed meeting her we looked at with extra scrutiny."

The clip and other deleted scenes will appear on the extended cut of "Avatar," which is set to hit stores on DVD and Blu-ray on November 16th.

Clip:

If you cannot see the player, click here.


Click here to read our "Avatar" review.

Source: io9, USA Today


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
wytchesim27 writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 9:05:26 PM

bar fight in a wheelchair? thanks for cutting it..
darkraven28 writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 9:16:19 PM

That flying wheelchair would've ROCKED IN 3-D though. Should've gotten a POV shot with the chair flying, Mr. Cameron.
TRUEMAN writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 9:17:45 PM

HAHAHAHA WHAT A DOUCHE BEST CLIP EVER HAHAHAHAHA
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 9:25:06 PM

Is Reeve's corpse strapped to the wheelchair and flown around the room ? Tie the red towel to his neck and you would believe a paraplegic can fly.
Big_Daddy writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 9:39:39 PM

He cut this out but left the other 3 hours of wasted film in?

But that is f*cked up how he snuck up on him and beat his ass, that's just hitting below the belt
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 10:20:23 PM

Does anyone else think that the scene looks like it was shot on the cheap in 10 minutes about a week ago just to add another deleted scene for the extras? If it wasn't then no wonder it was cut, lol!
CCBlev writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 12:04:45 AM

can i have my 45 secs back please?
jigsaw23 writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 12:18:59 AM

ha already had to go throught that crap last night and wont again. but it would have been the only good scene in the movie if wasnt deleted. GET OUT AND TAKE YOUR WHEELCHAIR TOO BITCH.
TeemSelami writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 1:04:44 AM

beat him up all you want you still can't get a hard-on
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 1:43:24 AM

"The guiding principle for me was the movie doesn't really start until we meet Neytiri," he said...wow, i want my half hour or more of life back...at least i didn't pay a penny for this movie...all the over hype convinced me not to see it until it was out on dvd...and when i watched it on dvd, it was in 2D
rabid writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 1:44:05 AM

Poor Lieutenant Dan...
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 2:36:54 AM

@ rabid lol
Rambo writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 3:29:12 AM

I guess the guy that was sitting in the bar recommended 3 hours before to Sam Worthington 'Avatar' and now Sam came back really pissed after watching that crap.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 4:07:33 AM

Is it a good or bad thing that I can't get the clip?
trailertrash writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 4:51:52 AM

Bad dave , would have been the funniest scene in the movie ...

Teem/rabid lol
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 5:01:15 AM

trailertrash writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 4:51:52 AM

Bad dave , would have been the funniest scene in the movie ...


@tt

Can't be any worse than the entire movie right?
trailertrash writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 5:50:45 AM

Cripple beating dave , i think it would have enhanced the Avatar experience ....
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 6:19:05 AM

I dunno, that and the stupid eco message rammed down our throats for close on to three hours would have been too much....but of course, you can never beat a "CRIPPLE FIGHT!"..as long as it's shot for shot the same fight from "They Live".
TheBlackCatwoman writes:
on October 27th, 2010 at 12:17:12 PM

that was worthless . it didnt show what it say it would.

"The Goonies" Sequel is Confirmed by Director

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy

Parents Freaking Out Over "Frozen" Merchandise Shortage

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Zack Snyder Explains Why Batman is in "Man of Steel" Sequel

Hugh Jackman Wants Channing Tatum to Take Over Wolverine Role

Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters

"Mrs. Doubtfire" Actress Wants Nothing to Do With Sequel
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved