WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James Cameron on "Avatar 2" and "Cleopatra"

Posted: October 19th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James Cameron on "Avatar 2" and "Cleopatra"Submit Comment
It was recently announced that James Cameron is getting ready to sign a deal with Sony Pictures to direct a big-budget 3D "Cleopatra" with Angelina Jolie set to star as the Queen of the Nile. The movie could be Cameron's next project, over "Avatar 2."

NY Times now caught up with Cameron and asked him about "Cleopatra." He said: "There's a 'Cleopatra' project in work, meaning that it's been in development at Sony. And it's a subject that's always fascinated me. So yeah, I've been talking to them about it but no decisions have been made. But it sounds hot, doesn't it? I mean, Angelina Jolie and Cleopatra? To me, that's like a slam dunk. Whether I wind up doing it or not, I think it's going to be a great project."

When asked about the "Avatar" sequel, Cameron said: "I wouldn't say [the sequel is] inevitable because we still haven't worked out our deal with 20th Century Fox. So we're still in an ongoing negotiation on that. Because it's a big piece of business, and I'm trying to map it out as a game plan that stretches forward 10 years. And they don't like to think that long term. We'll get it worked out, probably. I would assign a high probability to that. Whether that's my next film or not remains to be seen."

Judging by only those two statements, sounds like Cameron is more excited and more ready to begin work on "Cleopatra," while "Avatar 2" will likely soon follow. Stay tuned.

Source: NY Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
CCBlev writes:
on October 19th, 2010 at 10:26:20 PM

3D the sh*t out em James. While your at it, begin prepping for your funeral to be in 3D as well.
LeeMaca writes:
on October 19th, 2010 at 10:36:29 PM

how do you go from aliens, terminator 2 and true lies to f*cking blue things and there f*ck nugget sequels Avater is the one and only time in my life that i've fell asleep in a cinema
WonDerBanGeR writes:
on October 19th, 2010 at 11:10:20 PM

to believe this man here gave us terminator.... come one cameron do that comic or manga adaption battle angel or what was it called *checks* yeh its called battle angel give us that!
Pig Newtons writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 12:57:34 AM

Cleopatra starring a rail thin, Jolie doing her usual "Transylvania" accent.

Remember how she pretty much RUINED Alexander? Think of watching that same character for over 2 hours.

FAIL
Man in Black writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 1:22:44 AM

what hasnt he raped the cinemas enuf ?
Zebastian von Kane writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 1:38:38 AM

Jame Camero + Sony Pictures = EPIC S**T FAIL!

Alexander? Kingdom of Heaven? King Arthur? ANYONE?
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 4:15:25 AM

let me just say 3D is only worth money when no glasses of any kind are involved to see the third dimension...till then, f*ck 3D!!
Rambo writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 4:19:50 AM

If I were him I would spend the rest of my life f*cking models
GIANT_midget writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 6:06:12 AM

@leemaca - how do you go from aliens, terminator 2 and true lies to f*cking blue things and there f*ck nugget sequels Avater is the one and only time in my life that i've fell asleep in a cinema

truer words were never spoken.. Unfortunately I didnt have the pleasure of sleep during that piece smurf sh*t
rabid writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 6:52:44 AM

Avatar is still the best movie I saw at the cinema this past year, and I saw nearly every film that came out.
Bashing Avatar is like bashing the Beatles. Sure, it makes you sound witty in front of your friends, but secretly everyone knows you're full of sh*t.
rabid writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 6:54:40 AM

I do hope he hasn't forgotten about Battle Angel Alita though. He should stick with 3D fantasy films for a while.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 7:35:15 AM

rabid writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 6:52:44 AM

Avatar is still the best movie I saw at the cinema this past year, and I saw nearly every film that came out.
Bashing Avatar is like bashing the Beatles. Sure, it makes you sound witty in front of your friends, but secretly everyone knows you're full of sh*t.

@rabid

Yes most of us on here are bashing "Avatar" but for good reason...

1- The storyline for the movie was something that had been done before and better.

2- Eventhough 3D did work for this movie, as it was ment to be seen in 3D, but because of the money it made every studio then decided to bring every movie out with 3D.

ie: Clash of the Titans, Alice in Wonderland, Toy Story 3D, Reident Evil:Afterlife3D, Shrek:The Final Chapter3D, How To Train Your Dragon...well you see where I'm going with this.
Valerie writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 8:02:30 AM

No,no, no this COULD be good! If Cameron didnt write the script, and they really plan to make a different Cleopatra movie (more truthful), and not the Hollywood glam sh*t they did before, it could be great. Jolie is a decent actress when in a hands of a good director, so i hope it happens, and he takes on the job!
rabid writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 11:24:19 AM

None of that takes away from it being a great film. Sure the plot wasn't the most original thing, but everything is a rehash these days. Just because Batman Begins is almsot the Same as Iron Man doesn't make it any less watchable.
And honestly as much as people rip on Avatar for being unoriginal, i can't think of any other ecological tribal space opera films made.
And James Cameron didn't start the 3D craze, he's just the only director so far who was prepared for it.
Rambo writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 1:39:59 PM

@rabid

I hated the movie.the story was cheesy.
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 2:21:15 PM

@rabid Exactly! You can find similarities to previous movies in plenty of movies, even critically acclaimed ones. For instance Christopher/John Nolan's "original masterpiece" Memento is basically just a serious rip-off of the 1994 comedy Clean Slate! (But played out in reverse.) Avatar is a great movie with the best 3D and CGI. (And that's a fact, not just opinion, so anyone who says otherwise is just plain wrong. I'm a huge Star Wars fan but even I admit that Avatar bests Star Wars in the CGI department at least technically, although the Star Wars movies' effects have wider artistic scope in my opinion and are better movies in general.)
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 3:57:58 AM

rabid writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 11:24:19 AM

None of that takes away from it being a great film. Sure the plot wasn't the most original thing, but everything is a rehash these days. Just because Batman Begins is almsot the Same as Iron Man doesn't make it any less watchable.
And honestly as much as people rip on Avatar for being unoriginal, i can't think of any other ecological tribal space opera films made.
And James Cameron didn't start the 3D craze, he's just the only director so far who was prepared for it.


@rabid

Yes you are right most things these days are a re-hash, and nor can I at this moment think of any space eco movies.

But as I pointed out "Avatar" was filmed to be shown in 3D, which I have no problem with if the movie is ment to be seen that way ok, what I and most people were/are pissed about is because of the money it made Major Film Studios just saw the dollar elemant and completely disregarded the fact that "Avatar" is an experience but on a different level.

So all I can say is that most people are pissed at "Avatar" because it re-hashed a story that has been done better and with more emotion elsewhere and that it has made 3D virtually mandatory for every movie coming out.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved