WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Danny Boyle Confirms He'll Direct "28 Months Later"

Posted: October 20th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Danny Boyle Confirms HeSubmit Comment
About a month ago, "28 Days Later" writer Alex Garland told me that "28 Months Later" will likely never happen due to a rights issue, adding that there is no script. Then came word from an unnamed source that not only will the third installment happen, but that Danny Boyle (28 Days Later, Slumdog Millionaire) himself will direct it.

Now, during a press conference for "127 Hours" (in theaters November 5th), I (Alex) spent a few minutes with Boyle getting every possible bit of information about "28 Months Later," including whether he will direct it.

He said: "I'd love to direct another one of it actually because I watched the second one, and I wasn't that involved in the second one, and I really enjoyed watching it as a punter (aka average person). When you make films, you never really see them the way punters see them, it's weird. You're entrusted with editing a film for an audience and preparing a film for an audience, and yet you're as far away from what they will see as you can ever get, because you've watched it hundreds of times. But I watched [the sequel] as a punter and I thought I'd love to direct the next one, and that's where that began really. It's a question of time."

Knowing that Boyle is working on a "Frankenstein" stage play in London and is putting together the opening ceremony for the 2012 Olympics, I next asked if he will direct "28 Months Later" after 2012. He said: "Well, if we're all spared, yes. If I'm still alive after the opening ceremony of the Olympics. To answer your question: I would love to."

I then asked if there is a script. "Not at the moment, no," he said, adding: "There's an idea, but not a script."

A few years ago, Boyle mentioned that even though the sequel hints that the virus has spread to France, "28 Months Later" will actually take place in Russia. And during the press conference, I asked the director to confirm that his idea revolves around Russia. He nervously laughed and said: "It might be."

The only thing left was to find out the deal with the rights issue. Boyle didn't specifically address it, but said that if he can put together a new interesting story for "28 Months Later," he doesn't envision any rights issues stopping the film from happening.

So there you have it. As promised, I got all the information that could have been possibly gotten about "28 Months Later." The project is very much alive and even has Danny Boyle, an Oscar-winning filmmaker and the creator of the franchise, attached to direct.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Bob82 writes:
on October 19th, 2010 at 10:04:18 PM

I want the Trainspotting sequel!
lebowski writes:
on October 19th, 2010 at 10:18:58 PM

nice
CCBlev writes:
on October 19th, 2010 at 10:20:59 PM

Thats awesome
Gates writes:
on October 19th, 2010 at 10:48:08 PM

YES! This is fantastic! I love this series.
Schwasted writes:
on October 19th, 2010 at 11:35:53 PM

Seriously? He NEVER confirms 28 Months Later will even be made! This is the 3rd or 4th post about a movie that is still only a THOUGHT, and he's got 127 Hours coming out in days. Why hasn't there been any coverage on that? 28 Days Later stood just great on its own and what's pathetic is that you've asked Boyle the same thing there has already been tons of coverage on, instead of asking a good question. Whatever- 127 Hrs is awesome
murphyslaw93 writes:
on October 19th, 2010 at 11:38:31 PM

"If we're all spared. If I'm still alive after the 2012 Olympics..." Can be interpreted two ways, both are not very lighthearted or optimistic
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 19th, 2010 at 11:43:07 PM

Danny Boyle Confirms He'll Direct "28 Months Later" ... and 28 months later, you'll be able to rent it for $ 16.00.


WonDerBanGeR writes:
on October 19th, 2010 at 11:55:03 PM

wooopeeedoooo
technoreaper writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 12:11:36 AM

You know, I was happy with just the first one. The sequel was terrible, and I can't imagine the third will be better.
SaulSilver writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 12:24:47 AM

I bet they wish they didn't kill off Jeremy Renner...
otis writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 12:26:02 AM

Nice reporting Alex! Thanks~
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 1:29:27 AM

It's so far ahead in time, that I won't hold my thumbs for it to happen.
Man in Black writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 1:31:55 AM

straight to beta max i figure ?
Zebastian von Kane writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 1:55:18 AM

One of the best news in a long time. Boyle is clever enough to understand Trainspotting's sequel is not meant to work.

Boyle FTW!!!
AYT BALL writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 4:38:45 AM

Good work Alex. Best news of the day
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 4:58:08 AM

the only way i could see this next one being as good as the first one especially with danny boyle directing is with two names...cillian murphy
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 6:36:26 AM

Great job, you (Alex)!


@syn - is the other name Naomie Harris? Just saw her in "Ninja Assassin" the other day. Still hot, but she should always have that teased new wave hairdo from 28DL.
rabid writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 6:49:46 AM

Wake me when we get to 28 Centuries later... when a rage virus spreads amongst the robots and drives them to exterminate all humans on the Mars colony.
Johnny Neat writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 10:46:16 AM

How can this not be green lit and pushed through? Come on!

P.s. A Trainspotting sequel with original actors would be great.
SmokeyDesperado writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 1:34:51 PM

thank you so much alex! so excited for this..just wish it was coming earlier..any chance murphy might come bACK?!
White Noise writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 6:43:54 PM

@Smokey-That would make this great news better news if Murphy would come back.
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 21st, 2010 at 12:35:56 AM

@ eViL.kEv2...well since she's still hot, yes...i mean, why not give fans what they want...it pays

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved