WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James Franco in Talks for "Alien" Prequels

Posted: October 19th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James Franco in Talks for "Alien" PrequelsSubmit Comment
We've already heard that 20th Century Fox and director Ridley Scott are considering Natalie Portman, Carey Mulligan (Wall Street 2), Abbie Cornish (Sucker Punch) and Noomi Rapace (Girl With the Dragon Tattoo) for the lead role in the upcoming "Alien" prequels.

Now comes word from Bloody-Disgusting that Anne Hathaway (Get Smart) and James Franco (Spider-Man) are also in talks. Deals have yet to be signed, but things are moving quickly and an official announcement is expected in the coming weeks.

The new movie, being re-written by "Lost" co-creator Damon Lindoff, will be set 30 years before the 1979 original and explore the origins of the deadly aliens. "Were the aliens designed as a form of biological warfare," said Scott. "Or biology that would go in and clean up a planet?"

Source: Bloody-Disgusting


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on October 19th, 2010 at 4:59:34 AM

bad idea
Venom writes:
on October 19th, 2010 at 5:06:34 AM

nice! love the Franco!
rockkillers writes:
on October 19th, 2010 at 5:09:29 AM

if it's pg13 then this movie has been ruined.
WonDerBanGeR writes:
on October 19th, 2010 at 5:33:07 AM

AS LONG AS ITS HARD-R! as for franco...meh as long as hes killed in an awesome way
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on October 19th, 2010 at 5:40:26 AM

I don't want to know where the aliens are from. Knowing will only take away the mystery surrounding them. You fear what you don't know.
masht7 writes:
on October 19th, 2010 at 5:42:47 AM

I think the theatrical version will be pg-13 and there will be an unrated Director's Cut (please guys, this is Ridley Scott we're talking about here). On topic: Chose someone relatively unknown but not too wimpy and p*ssy-looking.
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 19th, 2010 at 6:23:11 AM

still not convinced...nobody knew where the aliens were from even in the first film...did anybody in the studios ever watch the first film??....i'm with Freudian_Nightmare on this...and to masht7, would you watch hellraiser if it were pg-13 and THEN later comes out on an unrated dvd?...i wouldn't
Pig Newtons writes:
on October 19th, 2010 at 7:15:08 AM

Please God no!!!

This guy sucks almost as bad as McConaughey!

Anne Hathaway is gorgeous though. I had to watch Havoc just for her nude scenes.
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 19th, 2010 at 7:22:10 AM

this film shouldn't be pg-13 anyway, none of the other alien films were...same goes for hellraiser...f*ck, why can't they just make another alien movie with sigorney weaver kicking some alien ass?...that would be worth watching in 3D...unlike titanic or cleopatra, you hear me james cameron??
Kurskij writes:
on October 19th, 2010 at 7:29:47 AM

There is only one explanation for alien origins: your worst nightmare.

This thing is an embodied terror - for Heaven's sake do not explain what it is. Make epic battles with hundreds of aliens battling troopers on other planets. Show other forms of aliens, but don't try to explain where those f*ckers came from, unless it's hell itself.

Freudian is right: the strongest fear is fear of the unknown.
Big_Daddy writes:
on October 19th, 2010 at 8:23:08 AM

@Kurskij

that's what made starship troopers 1 so damn bad ass. 2 and 3 sucked but 1 was awesome. If they would follow that model with the new alien movies then it will be good. As long as they don't go all Cameron on us and make me wear glasses to watch the movie then I will go see it in theaters, Unless Anne hatchways bush is in 3-D then I'm sure I can manage the glasses
supaflywill writes:
on October 19th, 2010 at 10:48:18 AM

get some unkown actors on this film --- NO hearthrobs please but i really do think Noomi Rapace would be really really good choice !!!!
Parker_Von_Mink_Ranger writes:
on October 19th, 2010 at 1:14:06 PM

Im afraid to cheer anư r-rated movies nowadays. Just give me a good movie. When AVP2 was announced as R, and Predators aswell i cheered thinking we were in for e treat. WRONG! They sucked more than my mother.

For gods sake, just make it good. Good, brutal r-rated but can that happen @ FOX?
Parker_Von_Mink_Ranger writes:
on October 19th, 2010 at 1:14:08 PM

Im afraid to cheer anư r-rated movies nowadays. Just give me a good movie. When AVP2 was announced as R, and Predators aswell i cheered thinking we were in for e treat. WRONG! They sucked more than my mother.

For gods sake, just make it good. Good, brutal r-rated but can that happen @ FOX?
Parker_Von_Mink_Ranger writes:
on October 19th, 2010 at 1:14:11 PM

Im afraid to cheer anư r-rated movies nowadays. Just give me a good movie. When AVP2 was announced as R, and Predators aswell i cheered thinking we were in for e treat. WRONG! They sucked more than my mother.

For gods sake, just make it good. Good, brutal r-rated but can that happen @ FOX?
Parker_Von_Mink_Ranger writes:
on October 19th, 2010 at 1:15:49 PM

No edit button and no delete button. My comment is now haveing a threesome
Ted Mosby writes:
on October 19th, 2010 at 2:08:42 PM

everyone who is doubting Franco needs to go watch the "127 Hours" trailer... or go watch James Dean... the guy can act!
Kurskij writes:
on October 19th, 2010 at 2:18:36 PM

^ or watch Pineapple Express. "It's like killing a unicorn, man! With like a bomb!"
Kurskij writes:
on October 19th, 2010 at 2:26:00 PM

@Bid Daddy

So true! Original Starship Troopers is pure badassery in some scenes (like the one with tanker bug - amazing that this movie looks this good after almost 14 years). Too bad Verhoeven couldn't help but add some homoeroticism (and WHERE WERE DENIS RICHARDS TITS I ASK YOU? WHEEEERE?!).

And it's a good path to follow - those bugs always came out of nowhere and their motivations or origins were never explained.

Same scheme improved and done with aliens = win with the right screenplay.
technoreaper writes:
on October 19th, 2010 at 2:37:19 PM

This is a "made by committee" crapfest that will have no soul people. This movie isn't even making an attempt to find good actors. It's just trying to find names. I'd stay far away. This James Franco casting idea is pretty bizarre. I've already established that Ridley Scott sold out his name after Gladiator anyways, like Steven Spielberg.
technoreaper writes:
on October 19th, 2010 at 2:38:12 PM

Someone said James Franco can act? REALLY? You think so?
Big_Daddy writes:
on October 19th, 2010 at 3:00:59 PM

@Kurskij

I too was waiting patiently for the gratu it tits Richards scene. Wild things was a good one for watching but I would have loved a second look before she went all "legit" and covered up those puppies. If Jew wood AKA Hollywood could follow some simple rules:

1: T and A is a must in action movies
2: Action is a must in action movies
3: guy on steroids is a must in action movies
4: T and A is a must in action movies
5: Simple plot is better in action movies
6: clear good guy and bad guy in action movies
7: Hot young starlet required for action movies
8: Big guns required in action movies
9: Cheesy one liners in action movies
10: T AND A IS A MUST IN ACTION MOVIES!!!!!
Anung_un_rama writes:
on October 19th, 2010 at 3:19:09 PM

I've got faith in Ridley scott but why are they so worried about the bloody rating just make the move and see what works and what doesn't. As for who will be in the cast thats a revolving door, new people pop up all the time as long as they can act im not worried.
Kurskij writes:
on October 19th, 2010 at 4:30:33 PM

@ Bid Daddy

Ehhh... I miss the good ol' days when these rules applied... I remember that Van Damme movie "Inferno" - oh, what a treat it was! Young Jaime Pressly, roundhouse kicks in the face, sh*t blowing up, BAR FIGHTS (!!!), Van Damme f*cking not one but TWO hot blonds (and starlets!)he saved during the said bar fight at a time. Plus Danny Trejo AND Pat Morita.

Wow, those were some good times!

Kurskij writes:
on October 19th, 2010 at 4:37:10 PM

"Sexy Woman Infatuated With Eddie #1: That was really nice of him to help us.
Sexy Woman Infatuated With Eddie #2: I wonder how big his penis is."

^ doesn't get much better than this.
now that's some oscar-worthy dialog
Schwasted writes:
on October 19th, 2010 at 5:57:10 PM

He was awesome in 127 Hours, I can't wait to see that again.
warlord writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 1:36:22 PM

this whole alien prequel thing is sounding more and more of a realy bad idea!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved