WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Steven Spielberg to Direct Bee Gees Biopic?

Posted: October 18th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Steven Spielberg to Direct Bee Gees Biopic?Submit Comment
The Daily Mail is reporting that Steven Spielberg has signed on to direct a biopic about the 60's and 70's music group Bee Gees, who have sold more than 200 million records with such hits as "Stayin' Alive," "How Deep is Your Love" and "More Than a Woman."

"The movie is going to be done by some very important people," said Robin Gibb. "It will be our life story. Barry and I will be involved in the technical side."

Robin added that he does not want the group's sound to be replicated in the movie. He said: "I'd like our original recordings to be used, because it's very hard to emulate them."

We can only hope that Spielberg is considering Justin Timberlake and Jimmy Fallon to play the Gibb brothers.

Source: Daily Mail


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on October 18th, 2010 at 6:38:06 AM

f*ck that.make that robots sci-fi movie.
Pig Newtons writes:
on October 18th, 2010 at 8:53:04 AM

If it's going to be a movie about the '70's lets get Paul Thomas Anderson to direct it. Speilberg sugarcoats everything. Remember "Boogie Nights" and how good it was because it really looked like the '70's? Let's get that kind of vision for a Bee Gee's treatment.
CCBlev writes:
on October 18th, 2010 at 9:26:07 AM

So no Indy 5???
Pig Newtons writes:
on October 18th, 2010 at 9:46:05 AM

@CCBlev: We're gonna be forced to sit through Shia LeDouche for another 2 hours...

Are you REALLY sure you want Indy 5?

(on a side note: I'd like to see Indy 5 just so I can watch the South Park episode afterwards, lol )
billofill writes:
on October 18th, 2010 at 11:48:53 AM

I'd rather have 8 Indiana Jones spin offs staring Shia than a f*cking Bee Gee's movie.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 18th, 2010 at 12:23:28 PM

It's a good thing Andy didn't live to see this.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 18th, 2010 at 12:24:35 PM

Robin added that he does not want the group's sound to be replicated in the movie. He said: "I'd like our original recordings to be used, because it's very hard to emulate them."

Unless you stomp hard on the singer's nuts.

Or have Che, Amadeus, Jake or Vdodson sing it.

Ranger writes:
on October 18th, 2010 at 1:42:50 PM

The positive impact the BeeGees made in/on music history doesn't even need defending. They're like Queen, ABBA, Elton, and MJ.

I'd watch this in a heartbeat.

If any are so inclined, find: 'Queen - Champions of the World!' - it's their best doc*mentary to date.
CCBlev writes:
on October 18th, 2010 at 2:41:00 PM

@Pig-You do know there's suppossed to be an Indy 5 anyways right?
Crazyhorse writes:
on October 18th, 2010 at 2:47:51 PM

Im wondering if Speilberg will put aliens in this one

Yes with bell bottom jeans, and handle bar sideburns singing the Do The Hustle

Just a thought
Ranger writes:
on October 18th, 2010 at 2:53:30 PM

And Shia LaDouche sliding down their jeans on a refrigerator (Che would jack to that)!
Crazyhorse writes:
on October 18th, 2010 at 3:15:24 PM

Yes La BOOF would be a great pick,

Those 10 inch platform shoes on him would make him look like he was 5ft 10
kmccarney88 writes:
on October 18th, 2010 at 3:19:37 PM

When the hell is he going to make Interstellar??
rocketman writes:
on October 18th, 2010 at 4:18:29 PM

How many beards on set? and yeah,f*ck that Spielberg,remake Jaws instead,or a cool special forces film with guns n stuff.
trailertrash writes:
on October 18th, 2010 at 6:39:28 PM

rocket lol

Ranger -

Good points , Don't forget the impact they had on the movie soundtracks too , Saturday Night Fever opened a whole load of doors for studios and Artists alike.

It Was the biggest selling album of all time until thriller came out ....
mrstretch writes:
on October 18th, 2010 at 7:04:17 PM

Gay
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on October 18th, 2010 at 7:14:25 PM

@trailertrash Did you know that Michael Jackson was not only a fan of the Bee Gees but was friends with them too? He's godfather to Barry's son Michael and was working with the Bee Gees when Maurice died so hopefully we'll get to hear what they were working on sometime soon. (Hopefully at least some of it was finished.)
qwertyuiop22ful writes:
on October 18th, 2010 at 7:27:13 PM

It could be Ok... I guess.
trailertrash writes:
on October 18th, 2010 at 7:31:21 PM

JUSTSMILE-

I didn't know that , That would be great to hear what they had recorded together.

MJ could have done with these song/songs coming out, it would have done his career the world of good back in the early 2000's

Thanks for the info.
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on October 18th, 2010 at 7:37:59 PM

@trailertrash Well he was locked in a legal battle with Sony and had that little trial to worry about, lol! It's shocking that the executors of his estate (which suspiciously don't include any of his family but rather lawyers that he'd previously fired and who only came back into his life 2 or 3 weeks before he died) signed that big deal with Sony (against Michael's family's wishes) when Michael would have never signed such a deal if he were still alive since he spent years trying to get away from them!
Ranger writes:
on October 18th, 2010 at 8:27:23 PM

@tt - thx, and yes.

@just smile - nice facts.

There's some audio out there with MJ recording a bit with Freddie Mercury. Too bad those new never made a full album together.
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 19th, 2010 at 1:46:35 AM

again awesome posts...and @ Max Rockatansky Junior that was funny 'Unless you stomp hard on the singer's nuts'....i really hope justin timberlake ISN'T being considered for this...no offense, but stomping on his nuts still wouldn't make him sound close...for example, watch the yogi bear trailer...his voice as boo boo has no way shape or form come close to sounding like these masterpieces...i would ask the bee gees themselves who should portray them in the film to sound like them...and/or look like them...we've all seen justin timberlake with facial hair in his comedy videos...he wouldn't look believable with a beard and long hair...james franco looked more believable with long hair in pineapple express...so for the fans' sake...cast somebody who actually would look like bee gees...jimmy fallon isn't actually a bad choice, but i'm still siding with the bee gees as far as their original recordings should be used in the film instead
jdl107 writes:
on October 19th, 2010 at 2:03:06 AM

I can tell you right now, I know pretty much nothing about this group. But I think I'm going to gain some knowledge in a bit, 200 million? Holy sh*t. I guess not knowing much about them would also mean I hav no clue how successful they were.
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 19th, 2010 at 2:16:27 AM

@ jdl107...just watch films like saturday night fever and short circuit...they'll grow on you more after watching those films...short circuit helped spark what was awesome about the bee gees and saturday night fever, because everybody in the 80s was zoning out to artists like paula abdul and madonna...but even those artists are still better than too many to list from this decade
trailertrash writes:
on October 19th, 2010 at 7:51:56 PM

JUSTSMILE-

Michael just seemed to be around the wrong sorts of people for most of his life, too many hangers on etc ...

What ever people's opinion of MJ the music world is a poorer place without him.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 4:05:31 AM

If this is true and get's made will definetly have a look.
dimesforever99 writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 7:53:26 PM

I'm glad he's doing this and not the crappy robot film. I can't wait to see this movie, it'll be awesome.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved