WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

McG to Direct Christopher Columbus Movie

Posted: October 18th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
McG to Direct Christopher Columbus MovieSubmit Comment
Billionaire Richard Branson recently launched the Virgin Produced production company and is now in negotiations to acquire "Columbus," a script by TS Nowlin that has McG (Terminator Salvation) attached to direct.

The film is described as a "300"-style film about Christopher Columbus and his discovery of America. Hollywood has learned that people don't want to see the explorer on the big screen, but Virgin is hoping that technological advances in visual effects and 3D may get audience into theaters.

Back in 1992, to commemorate the 500th anniversary, two films about Columbus were released. The film is "1492: Conquest of Paradise," directed by Ridley Scott (Gladiator) and starring Gerard Depardieu as Columbus and Sigourney Weaver as Queen Isabella. The film grossed $7 million on a $47 million budget.

Around the same time, director Jon Glen (For Your Eyes Only) released "Christopher Columbus: The Discovery," featuring a cast comprised of Georges Corraface, Rachel Ward, Marlon Brando, Tom Selleck, Catherine Zeta-Jones and Benicio Del Toro. The film grossed $8 million on a $40 million budget.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on October 18th, 2010 at 6:35:46 AM

there's one thing I know for sure : Vangelis soundtrack of '1492' is one of the best soundtracks ever made.
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on October 18th, 2010 at 7:03:30 AM

better be some tits!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on October 18th, 2010 at 7:06:52 AM

I remember liking "1492" when I was a kid. Don't understand how it could fail so hard. That being said: I really don't think a "300"-approach and McG is the right way to go.
bandolero999 writes:
on October 18th, 2010 at 8:33:50 AM

HaHA both Columbus movies didn't even make half their budget this will be another failure in the works Mcg is another sh*t douchebag director that watered down terminator.He can suck balls along with Michael Bay,Brett Rattner,Tyler Perry. f*cking Charlies Angels great film resume
Pig Newtons writes:
on October 18th, 2010 at 8:41:14 AM

NO.

1492 is one of my favorite movies (I'm a Ridley fanboy), and we DON'T need a PC version of Columbus. 1492 was violent, gritty, but realistic.

On a side note: Can anyone tell me why 1492 is seemingly 'ignored' by everybody involved with that movie? You can't get it in stores, Ridley Scott never discusses it, and none of the actors in the movie ever discuss it. Is there a legit reason this movie has been "swept under the rug"?
Blank x2 writes:
on October 18th, 2010 at 9:39:51 AM

I know people didn't like Terminator: Salvation, and the Charlie's Angels movies are pretty bad, but McG still gets points from me for We Are Marshall. Being from this town and attending Marshall, I can honestly say he did a great job on that film. Pretty nice guy, too.

And McConaughey is the man. That dude parties hard and is cool as sh*t.
Blank x2 writes:
on October 18th, 2010 at 9:40:44 AM

@Pig Newtons

Great question. I'd love to know why it was basically forgotten about on purpose as well.
jdl107 writes:
on October 18th, 2010 at 10:13:40 AM

1492 300 style, the best thing I can say is that doesn't really make much sense lol.

But whatever, I can't forget to comment on the big f*cker out of this article though, McG is direct. Ahhhhh, I will not see this. :)
Salvador writes:
on October 18th, 2010 at 10:41:19 AM

@Rambo: Not only the soundtrack, but the 1492 movie is better than this...

and McG directing, what the hell are they thinking?

"Christopher Columbus: The Discovery" worst movie ever, It should've called instead "Indiana Jones and the New World".
trailertrash writes:
on October 18th, 2010 at 11:10:15 AM

Salvador

I will see you your Christopher Columbus: The Discovery" worst movie ever and raise it to Carry On Columbus (also came out 1992).

Makes Christopher Columbus: The Discovery look like 1492 ....
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 18th, 2010 at 12:25:40 PM

McG to Direct Christopher Columbus Movie ... I didn't know McG wanted to do a biopic on the first director of the Harry Potter series ....

hunh ? Oh, the explorer ?


Oh. My Bad.
Crazyhorse writes:
on October 18th, 2010 at 3:12:42 PM

I wonder what the action scenes will be like?

Columbus look over there its.......... water!

Columbus could you please pass the "Jelly"

Columbus lets count stars tonight

Columbus wanna do some fishin?

Thoughts anyone?
otis writes:
on October 18th, 2010 at 3:14:33 PM

I can see it now:

"This...IS...CHINA!!!"
otis writes:
on October 18th, 2010 at 3:15:02 PM

Or was it India? I don't remember. That's how much I care.
technoreaper writes:
on October 18th, 2010 at 3:39:09 PM

Just quit. No one cares about Columbus, ESPECIALLY if the movie is going to be directed by MCG!!!!

Who does this idiot know in Hollywood? His career should be OVER.
darkraven28 writes:
on October 18th, 2010 at 4:26:27 PM

Ohhhhhh gooood!!! How WAS it!?!?! That's what that IS!!! That's what THAT IS!!!

IT's AMERICAAAAAAAA!!!!

Thank God for Christian Bale, I tell ya.
Rambo writes:
on October 18th, 2010 at 7:32:17 PM

What kind of a woman names her son 'McG'???
Ranger writes:
on October 18th, 2010 at 9:18:42 PM

@Pig - its the same with MegaForce, can't find it anywhere (except Amazon.UK), but I suspect for different reasons... it's just a really, really bad movie!

@Rambo - don't forget Vangelis (+ Jon Anderson)'s 'The Friend's of Mr. Cairo!'
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 19th, 2010 at 1:33:17 AM

LOL, awesome comments...i have to agree, and furthermore, i really don't think people would buy it if christopher columbus looks like a spartan, especially coming from michael c*ck bay, i mean gay, i mean mcg...i thought hollywood was beyond out of ideas, but now they're just mixing things up and going into worse uncharted territories than columbus ever discovered...judas!!
jigsaw23 writes:
on October 19th, 2010 at 5:30:57 AM

hmmmm no thanks ill pass
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 4:00:53 AM

Don't think a "300" style movie is what's needed for "Columbus", what it should be is an epic piece of movie making like the movies of old (30's,40's &50's), and maybe if "1492" & "The Discovery" came out now they would probably be held up as masterpieces.

And trailer, I remember "Carry On Columbus" and I'm still trying to forget it.
batdump writes:
on October 20th, 2010 at 11:39:33 PM

nobody cares about Columbus because he didn't actually do anything but start the indirect genocyde of an entire people. He "discovered" a land that was already inhabited by natives and already found by vikings. and he was looking for India. what a puttz.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved