WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Wes Craven on "My Soul to Take" Idea, Casting, Fears and 3D

Posted: October 8th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Wes Craven on "My Soul to Take" Idea, Casting, Fears and 3DSubmit Comment
During the press junket for "My Soul to Take," we had the chance to speak to director Wes Craven (A Nightmare on Elm Street, Scream, The Hills Have Eyes) and actors Max Thieriot (Jumper) and Emily Meade (Assassination of a High School President).

Q: With "My Soul to Take," where you thinking of ideas for a new franchise?
Craven: No, not that at all, honestly. It was just an idea that came. And it happened to come to me when I had kind of closed down my offices of developmental. I said 'You're Wes Craven, you write and direct, and you should do that again.' So, I had this idea. I had a summer with nothing planned. I talked to Andrew Rona, who at the time was head of Rogue Films and he said 'I like the idea. Go write it and let's make a movie.' And that's how it got started. I felt that I was back where I should be.

Q: How difficult and extensive was the casting process?
Craven: It was very extensive. With Max [Thieriot] it was an extraordinary story because we had originally cast it with another kid, and he had gotten mononucleosis a week before we shot. So the doctor told him that he could not go on. And somebody told us about Max and we went to New York. And John Magaro (The Box, The Brave One) also had not been cast, because we lost that kid too. We lost our two principal actors on Thursday before we shot, so we went to New York and found both those actors and just crossed our fingers and... god were we lucky. We pushed by a week to give him and John time to work together with me and off we went. I just think he had done a wonderful job.

Q: How do you find ways to scare people?
Craven: I don't know. I think I have a way of perceiving what people are afraid of. I think in some ways, this is a biographical film. Most laugh when I say it. I wasn't able to see movies until I was out of college. I only had two or three memories of [my father]. He was quite a mystery to everybody. He was a working man, he worked sometimes two jobs at the same time. He died when I was four. In that sense, a character trying to find out who his father really was. In that way it was very personal.

Q: What scares you the most?
Craven: At this point I just have adult fears, what's going to happen with our planet and what people will do to each other with everyone getting their hands on the nuclear trigger. That scares me. I'm not terribly scared of walking down a dark street or having a Boogie man come get me, but when I was a child, I was. And I can remember going to school and being afraid that I was going to be hurt terribly by a bully. I had nightmares as a child, probably something to do with my parents breaking up.

Q: Why did you decide to make this film in 3D?
Craven: We shot 'My Soul to Take' without a thought of 3D and it was delivered to the studio as a 2D picture. Right after we finished shooting, Rogue Pictures was bought by Relativity and they called with the idea. At first I was very resistant to it. They said 'we just want you to check it out.' And I had not gone to see any 3D films. I thought they were kind of gimmicky, but I thought I should at least look. We decided that this was the coming thing like it or not. You don't want to be on the dock when that boat sails. This is my first 3D film and I'm satisfied with the results.

Q: We heard you were a last minute replacement. Did you audition?
Thieriot: Yes I was. I read for Wes in New York. I didn't audition before that. They called last minute. I flew out here and met with him and went straight to Connecticut (shooting location) after that. I had somebody send all my clothes. I'm happy it worked out that way.

Q: Did Max and John Magaro become the new kids?
Meade: [Max] and John were the new kids. There were two kids replaced. We had a little time to rehearse before they got there. The other two kids were great, but there was an instant bond once Max and John joined the cast.

Q: What was it like meeting Wes Craven?
Thieriot: Whenever I heard his name I had this image of 'Scream,' 'A Nightmare on Elm Street,' Freddy Krueger, kind of scary. I really didn't know what to expect. I didn't necessarily expect some guy scaring people, hiding and creeping around. He is different from what I expected.

Meade: The name, Wes Craven, is almost not human. It's a household word. So to meet an actual human behind the name is so weird to begin with and then the fact that he is so sweet and gentle. I figured he would be smart, since he created some of the best horror movies ever, but I didn't expect this wise, gentle soul. You really don't expect a human, you expect the Wizard of Oz or something.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved