WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Disney Wants Best Picture Oscar for "Alice in Wonderland"

Posted: October 17th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Disney Wants Best Picture Oscar for "Alice in Wonderland"Submit Comment
Disney's "Alice in Wonderland" recently broke the $1 billion mark and has become the sixth highest-grossing film of all time. But despite a lousy 51% RottenTomatoes rating, producers of the movie are hoping to win the Best Picture Oscar during the upcoming awards season.

According to Deadline, the studio has launched a massive (and expensive) consideration campaign, which includes a theatrical re-release (October 18th-21st), full-page ads in newspapers and an exhibit of costumes at Arclight theaters.

Producers of "Alice in Wonderland" know that the film has a good chance to win the technical awards such as visual effects, costumes and make-up, but they want Best Picture and Best Director (for Tim Burton) recognition.

"I think it would be terribly disappointing not to make the Top Ten," said producer Dick Zanuck. "You can't make a billion dollar gross unless millions of people are satisfied with a picture. The whole point of the new rule of 10 Best Picture nominees was not to exclude the most popular pictures of the year such as 'The Dark Knight.' It was like pooh-poohing the audience. There should be recognition that you don't get that business unless there were a lot of repeats and broad-based appeal and true creative accomplishment."

Click here to read our "Alice in Wonderland" review.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 36 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on October 17th, 2010 at 5:19:59 AM

"Disney Wants Best Picture Oscar for "Alice in Wonderland""

And Jake wants his dad to accept him for being gay but we know both ain't gonna happen
Bigcheese writes:
on October 17th, 2010 at 5:49:33 AM

Disney are forgetting one cruicial bit of information: GOOD films win Best Picture. Your pile of sh*t Alice in Wonderland should win a Razzie.
TGDirector writes:
on October 17th, 2010 at 5:49:36 AM

"Alice in Wonderland" Doesn't f*cking deserve an Oscar. Are you kidding me!?

I am still surprised by people who tell me this was the best movie they ever seen and it's not that f*cking great! It was a horrible movie!
trailertrash writes:
on October 17th, 2010 at 6:14:15 AM

Still can't believe that movie did over a Billion dollars at the boxoffice, Damn you 3D

I thought it was ok at best ...
masht7 writes:
on October 17th, 2010 at 6:15:25 AM

"I think it would be terribly disappointing not to make the Top Ten," said producer d*ck Zanuck

Ah, it shouldn't even be in the top 50 let alone 10. Alice was an average film but nominating it for BP picture is a marketing scam (just like what Avatar did for re-releasing it with only 8 minutes of extra footage).

And also I've been hearing that 'The Social Network' is being wanted for BP, I haven't seen the movie (it's not out here in Australia yet) and I'm a big fan of David Fincher but a film about Facebook going for BP, juvenile. Have something like Black Swan or 127 Hours.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 17th, 2010 at 6:46:24 AM

"It was like pooh-poohing the audience."

That's exactly how I felt when I saw AIW. Not even worth a nod for the "technical" awards. Best Visual Effects? Not even close. That movie gave my colon a seizure.
Rambo writes:
on October 17th, 2010 at 7:01:43 AM

and I want Scarlett Johanssen on my d*ck
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 17th, 2010 at 7:13:42 AM

^ all the above statements about alice in wonderland being a terrible film is true...i mean sure, visually it had some interesting effects, but the storyline sucked, the red queen wasn't scary enough...the movie just wasn't as good as i expected it to be, AND it was ONLY because of 3D that it reached a billion...the dark knight did that WITHOUT 3D, which is just one of many reasons that explains how stupid this producer is...and let me add, disney films don't get oscars unless they made a really really GOOD drama film, but when was the last time a disney film ever got an oscar, or got nominated for that matter?...the only disney film that could come close to an oscar or be nominated for one is a disney/pixar film
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 17th, 2010 at 7:18:15 AM

and they want tim burton for best director?...yikes, the only way i could see him getting best director is either for beetlejuice or edward scissorhands...maybe even sleepy hollow...but that's about it
manichispanic writes:
on October 17th, 2010 at 9:24:48 AM

if this comes anywhere close to best picture, i'll lose all my respect for the oscars.
lebowski writes:
on October 17th, 2010 at 9:46:03 AM

this is the most stupid demand i have ever heard from a producer.id rathere give the oscar to crank 2 than this.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 17th, 2010 at 10:07:54 AM

Disney Wants Best Picture Oscar for "Alice in Wonderland" ... then they better start blowing those judges early and be willing to take it up the ass.

Payola won't work this time with this sh*tburger of a film.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 17th, 2010 at 10:09:09 AM

The whole point of the new rule of 10 Best Picture nominees was not to exclude the most popular pictures of the year such as 'The Dark Knight.' It was like pooh-poohing the audience.

And Disney would know a LOT about sh*t.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 17th, 2010 at 10:10:07 AM

f*ck Disney.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 17th, 2010 at 10:40:08 AM

Disney Wants Best Picture Oscar for "Alice in Wonderland"

HAHAHAHAHA..
HAHAHAHAHA..
need to breath..HAHAHAHAHA..
HAHAHAHAHAHA
Dillypogo writes:
on October 17th, 2010 at 10:40:34 AM

Transformers 2 for Best Picture Oscar. I mean, that made a ton of money. It was obviously very popular.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 17th, 2010 at 11:52:12 AM

Hey Disney, if you want to win best picture, maybe you should add in more futterwacken dances!

Seriously, the only thing spinning faster than Johnny Depp's head while he's doing that retarded dance is Lewis Caroll in his grave.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 17th, 2010 at 11:53:29 AM

Dillypogo makes a good point!

Apparently popularity + revenue = quality in hollywood!
Gomez writes:
on October 17th, 2010 at 12:13:25 PM

They also want Walt Disney's cryogenically frozen corpse to come back to life and save their sorry ass.....you tell me which is more likely to happen
Crazyhorse writes:
on October 17th, 2010 at 12:27:04 PM

Just pay the right voters and you will get it Disney
Anung_un_rama writes:
on October 17th, 2010 at 12:53:52 PM

HAhahahahahahahahahaha now we know someones eating paint chips dipped in acid.... that movie sucked bad in 3D worst upgrade I've seen.
disturbed01 writes:
on October 17th, 2010 at 1:13:15 PM

ok just because you put billions of dollars in the movie doesn't mean it deserves best picture...f*ckin dumbasses
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on October 17th, 2010 at 2:33:22 PM

This is number six on the all-time box office? How the f*ck did that happen?
struck21 writes:
on October 17th, 2010 at 5:43:36 PM

Money doesn't mean it's a good movie. Titanic, Transformers, and Spiderman..... all pieces of crap and all made tons of money.
jigsaw23 writes:
on October 17th, 2010 at 6:18:14 PM

not a f*ckin chance
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 17th, 2010 at 6:47:15 PM

@ Freudian_Nightmare...i can answer that, it was a combination of 3D and stupid people...i saved myself a lot of grief by watching the 2D version...and by the way for all you dumb ass people in hollywood, 3D doesn't count when it comes to money competition at the box office...the dark knight had no 3D at all and look how well that did?...take the extra bucks from 3D off and you'll have the real amount of money that it made, or any other movie in 3D for that matter
Adamtheflash writes:
on October 17th, 2010 at 7:01:41 PM

I watched this movie drunk off my ass and it was still crap. Worst movie I saw all year
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 17th, 2010 at 7:12:41 PM

@ Adamtheflash...i watched it while really really stoned...i couldn't believe how fast it killed my high...wish lewis carroll was still alive today...if he directed it, well, it would've been darker and more lenient towards an R rating...but seriously, watching this film is a bad idea for people who want a good acid trip
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 17th, 2010 at 9:16:25 PM

They'll probably sacrifice two young tourists in the bunkers underneath Epcot, so that they can use the blood to cast a spell to Lucifer to win the award.

They've done it before for their animated series (before Pixar).
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 17th, 2010 at 9:17:36 PM

The only realistic thing about the movie was the size of Helen Bonham Carter's head to the rest of her body. Ironic symbolism of her ego ?
Zebastian von Kane writes:
on October 17th, 2010 at 10:08:12 PM

"Disney Wants Best Picture Oscar for 'Alice in Wonderland'"

Depp: I don't want to be gay!

Burton: "I don't want Depp to dump me!"

Cameron: "I am the king of the world!"

MY ASS!
otis writes:
on October 17th, 2010 at 10:40:40 PM

"There should be recognition that you don't get that business unless there were a lot of repeats and broad-based appeal and true creative accomplishment."

The only true creative accomplishment of this film is the marketing scamming. That's like making a film about a talking sponge and releasing it under the title of "Spongebob Squarepants the Movie" when really it's about a sexually abusive house sponge that gets it on with a rusty tractor. Just because you name it Alice in Wonderland doesn't mean it's comparable to the essence of the thing it's based off of.
telur writes:
on October 17th, 2010 at 10:58:03 PM

iw ant Uwe Boll win Best Director
johnthemon writes:
on October 18th, 2010 at 1:03:10 AM

well of course, money always equals quality. That's why Twilight is such a great movie.

(sarcasm)
KallousTom writes:
on October 18th, 2010 at 5:22:10 AM

The reason movies like The Dark Knight got nominated for an Oscar is because it was exceptional. This was not.
Moose756 writes:
on October 18th, 2010 at 1:03:21 PM

The academy would be a joke if they let this happen oh wait they are a joke already

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved