WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Superman" Reboot May Be an Origin Story

Posted: October 16th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Superman" Reboot May Be an Origin StorySubmit Comment
Almost immediately after Zack Snyder (Watchmen, 300) was announced as the director of the "Superman" reboot, we found out that in the movie Clark Kent will be a journalist traveling the world trying to decide if he should even become Superman.

Now, during an interview with Filmsactu, Snyder added: "The film will focus on the early days of Superman, so there will be no links to the other films. This is not a remake. I still cannot talk about the script, but I can assure you that this a new Superman and will not be based on any comic book in particular."

Sounds like the new movie will once again be an origin story, but one that may avoid Clark's early childhood. And even though most people are familiar with how Clark became Superman, Snyder will apparently try to be as original as possible.

This news also probably means that Jon Hamm will not be able to play the lead role.

Click here to read more about "Superman."

Source: Filmsactu, BleedingCool


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 35 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on October 16th, 2010 at 6:48:51 AM

Just like Chris Nolans batman series. Smart formula.
Monash writes:
on October 16th, 2010 at 7:00:52 AM

It also means the lazy f*cking Siegel family can continue to live off the work of their Dad/Grandad
God they sh*t me
CCBlev writes:
on October 16th, 2010 at 9:06:52 AM

as long as lex luther is not that main villan
Ted Mosby writes:
on October 16th, 2010 at 10:16:56 AM

@Johnny
Exactly what I was thinking. I have complete faith in Snyder doing Superman.
Pig Newtons writes:
on October 16th, 2010 at 10:22:36 AM

Jesus Christ....

How about we just face facts...Singer f*cked up, and it's too soon to make a new Superman series. Give it another 5 years when people are interested. Nobody really WANTS to see ANOTHER Superman. Let's agree on that.
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on October 16th, 2010 at 10:50:02 AM

batman reboot, spider man reboot, hulk reboot, superman reboot. lol its a horrible competition of which director can produce a better super hero movie!
FBO writes:
on October 16th, 2010 at 10:52:35 AM

Actually I want to see Singer do another Superman. He's Man of Steel movie would have been badass, Brainiac as the villan, some sort of space battle, Brandon Routh as Superman... what more could you possibly want?
lebowski writes:
on October 16th, 2010 at 11:29:14 AM

cant say that im liking the idea of seeing an origin story again even if its with a new twist but maybe this is what this franchise needs.dont mind seeing lex luthor again as long as he is a secondary villain.they better have some epic fight scenes in this if not this will be the last movie for supes.i have been watching white collar lately and if that guy muscles up he could easilly play supes
SaulSilver writes:
on October 16th, 2010 at 1:05:20 PM

I'm fine with an Origin story as long as it doesn't take up the whole movie. The first act, and then a time jump and get to the good stuff that everyone wants to see....AKA A real FIGHT involving Superman and someone he can actually I dunno, hit?
billofill writes:
on October 16th, 2010 at 2:51:16 PM

Superman Birthright much..........
buttabean writes:
on October 16th, 2010 at 3:06:26 PM

If they do another god dam origin movie they should should base the whole movie on krypton and skip his growing up years on earth... like a prequel to the last one.

Sick of watching superman grow up and find himself. It's been done to death.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 16th, 2010 at 3:09:26 PM

"Superman" Reboot May Be an Origin Story ...

Snyder will apparently try to be as original as possible.


Gotta idea for you Zack. Have Ka-El land in an island known for sweatshop work. Have him work in a sweatshop, never really developing his powers, when he develops a rare venereal disease that causes his immune system to 'shut off' his powers.

Then have him travel by ferry to a third world country, where he is forced into slavery and sold on the black market as a male prostitute, throughout the whole Eastern Asia territories ....

then have him die by committing suicide.

Original enough for you ?

Jake_Awesomeness writes:
on October 16th, 2010 at 3:10:16 PM

Oh, cool.
Smallville to be made into a movie.
*rolls eyes*

Besides, Superman already feels like a near-defunct franchise.Tried and tested many times, it always ends being hackneyed and insipid.

With The Avengers coming out and many other tie-ins entailing it, the best bet is to keep it on hold perpetually.

Unless someone like Cameron or Nolan helms it.
Which is highly unlikely.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 16th, 2010 at 3:11:03 PM

FBO writes:
on October 16th, 2010 at 10:52:35 AM

Actually I want to see Singer do another Superman. He's Man of Steel movie would have been badass, Brainiac as the villan, some sort of space battle, Brandon Routh as Superman... what more could you possibly want?


@FBO

Kate Bosworth's head on a spike.

Lex in a tight one piece thong, ala Borat.

And the kid winds up kissing Robin, fully on the mouth, with tongue.
Jake_Awesomeness writes:
on October 16th, 2010 at 3:11:07 PM

*ends up
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on October 16th, 2010 at 3:21:18 PM

@Jake: Because "The Avengers" and "Superman" is so very connected.
Jake_Awesomeness writes:
on October 16th, 2010 at 3:22:33 PM

Both belong to the superhero genre.
Ranger writes:
on October 16th, 2010 at 4:20:13 PM

We really don't need ANOTHER origin story. They don't need to disrespect the fine job Donner, Reeve, Brando and the Salkind's have already done. People know the origin story TO DEATH!!! MOVE f*ckING ON HOLLYWOOD... ARE YOU SCARED TO?!?!? MOVE ON!!!!!!
Ranger writes:
on October 16th, 2010 at 4:41:15 PM

Clark Kent wandering the planet to 'find himself' - whilst millions die in tragedies Superman could have stopped.

Ohh... where can I buy my ticket?

Yeah, that was Jor-El's vision of his son the savior he sent to Earth.

Zzzzzzz...

Hollywood.. seriously... f*ck OFF!

Ranger writes:
on October 16th, 2010 at 5:03:41 PM

Maybe he'll eat granola from his backpack and hug trees while he's at it.
shamusot00le writes:
on October 16th, 2010 at 9:04:09 PM

@Jake_Awesomeness... You know Nolan's supervising it, Goyer's writing the script (he wrote Dark Knight), and Snyder did 300 and Watchmen. There is no doubt this will be a good movie, but only time and trailers will prove if it can do great. In Nolan I trust.
CCBlev writes:
on October 16th, 2010 at 11:11:38 PM

Shamus-Good call, In Nolan do we, cept jake_pusscake, trust.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 17th, 2010 at 12:25:32 AM

shamusot00le writes:
on October 16th, 2010 at 9:04:09 PM

@Jake_Awesomeness... You know Nolan's supervising it, Goyer's writing the script (he wrote Dark Knight), and Snyder did 300 and Watchmen. There is no doubt this will be a good movie, but only time and trailers will prove if it can do great. In Nolan I trust.


@shamus

If Chris is producing, then I trust it.

Goyer's pretty decent in bringing the essence of the character from the mythos established by previous writers on the character into the script (as noted in both Batman Begins and The Dark Knight) and Zack Snyder, for all that fanboys/fangirls/comic book geeks did NOT and DID like about both 300 (based on the Frank Miller comic) and Watchmen (based on the Alan Moore comic), they have to unequivolently agree that he did remain true to the source material, exercizing the abiity to cover every nuance and detail to the original source (even if he had to use CGI to do it, which would not be as available as when Terry Gilliam had the rights to the Watchmen, which he had finally noted to Alan was 'unfilmable', since it had already been coveered so thouroughly by Dave Gibbons and Moore in the whole deconstruction of the superhero mythos to begin with). So these guys are pretty solid.

What my trepedations are are the same as with the Will Smith version of the story "I Am Legend", which hung around Hollywood's "Development Hell" for years (rumor was Swartzenegger was supposed to star in it during the mid 80s) ... why the origin AGAIN ? It's saying MAYBE, but that's just treaded material that's the comic book equivalent of chewed up Bazooka that has lost its flavor. Done. Next.

And General Zod ? Already done by Terence Stamp and he did a very solid job. He held his own with Reeves in scenes where Supeman could have easily overshadowed Zod and his two remaining minons (in regards to the presence ... acting, the bad guys were pretty memorable) ... and with Gene Hackman again as Lex, c'mon! He put Spacey to shame.

I just want a firm idea of what it's going to be. If it's going to be Clark journeying the Earth (i.e. "Birthright"), I'm just going to stay home and read Birthright.
Man in Black writes:
on October 17th, 2010 at 1:33:03 AM

we know the origin now give us original
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 17th, 2010 at 2:58:26 AM

@ Ranger...i agree completely...how can it not be a reboot if it's another origin story after an origin has been showed before with christopher reeves?...and ESPECIALLY if it's not based on any comic, why would i even care a fraction of a bit?...sorry mr. snyder but this just sounds like superman is being killed off to the point of annoyance and beyond...reboot superman returns with brainiac instead of lex luthor or both, and i think people will be happy
Rambo writes:
on October 17th, 2010 at 3:35:06 AM

@FBO

'Actually I want to see Singer do another Superman. He's Man of Steel movie would have been badass, Brainiac as the villan, some sort of space battle, Brandon Routh as Superman... what more could you possibly want?'

a good script,no annoying children,some good action,much better actor then brandon routh,no soap opera scenes,better speical effects...

seems like a long list...why is that?oh...maybe because 'SUPERMAN RETURNS SUCKED!!!!!!!'

Ranger writes:
on October 17th, 2010 at 4:52:51 AM

Thx. Synthetic.

On their present path... they could call this next one:

'Superman - beating a dead dog!'
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 17th, 2010 at 7:54:30 AM

@ Ranger...now that's an original superman i'd want to see!...are we learning anything yet hollywood?...same question goes for you to zack snyder
Vin12 writes:
on October 17th, 2010 at 8:49:53 AM

HELLO MCFLY! THE JON HAMM RUMOR WAS DEBUNKED WEEEKS AGO. PAY ATTENTION U IDIOTS
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 17th, 2010 at 9:41:36 AM

Vin12 writes:
on October 17th, 2010 at 8:41:17 AM
OH MY GOD WTF! HOW THE HELL IS THIS SITE EVEN ALLOWED TO EXIST U PEOPLE ARE ALL IDIOTS, ESPECIALLY THAT ALEX f*ck. GET SOME f*ckIN JOURNALISTIC INTEGRITY ASS HOLE THEY HAD A PANEL FOR WEBMASTERS THIS YEAR. WERE YOU THERE? NO? WHAT A f*ckIN SHOCK!

Vin12 writes:
on October 17th, 2010 at 8:41:17 AM
OH MY GOD WTF! HOW THE HELL IS THIS SITE EVEN ALLOWED TO EXIST U PEOPLE ARE ALL IDIOTS, ESPECIALLY THAT ALEX f*ck. GET SOME f*ckIN JOURNALISTIC INTEGRITY ASS HOLE THEY HAD A PANEL FOR WEBMASTERS THIS YEAR. WERE YOU THERE? NO? WHAT A f*ckIN SHOCK!


@Vin12

ARRRREEEE YYYYOOOOOOUUU YEEEELLLLLLINNNNNGGGG?????

numbnuts.

Nice to see you back. How was your time with N.A.M.B.L.A ?

The toddlers say "Hi". They miss grabbing onto your c*ck and riding you like those cheap mechanical bucking animals in front of a strip mall. And when you stuck your tiny c*ck through the glory hole at the camp's outhouse for $ 3.00 a blow ? Ingenious.

It's time to play, "Let's interpret a sh*thead."

VinDandyliciousc*cksucker12 writes :
on October 17, 2010

" Oh my God! What the f*ck ? How the hell is this site even allowed to exist (much like my penis, which rots off every day from malnutrition) ? You (not U) people are all idiots (and I'm a bigger f*cking idiot for typing in all caps since my Caps Lock button is stuck down on my keyboard due to late night protein shake churning to the website Dog Licking Peanut Butter Off Of Mens d*cks.com, so it comes off like I'm screaming, which I'm not allowed to do because if I do the police will haul my ass off to jail this time if I do). Alex, the web-editor is the biggest one (f*ck. I still owe that f*cker money. Double f*ck.). I want you to show me some journalistic integrity (Really ? That's like asking Mike Wallace to cover a story in Afghanistan.) *sshole (not two words, numbnuts). They had a discussion panel for webmasters this year (Masterbaters, on the other hand, didn't have jack sh*t. Speaking of other hands, how goes the shaving of your palms ? I hear the hair is ingrown and just won't die.) Were you there ?
No ? That truly shocks the f*ck out of me ? "

When your finished blowing your landlord to avoid paying the rent, let us know.

d*ckcheese.
Bunny X writes:
on October 17th, 2010 at 10:14:42 AM

I'm going to throw the hell up!! @Ranger, I 100% agree. The origin is a done deal. EVERYONE knows it.
I say, bring everyone back from Returns. But have the storyline dictate that Brainiac intercepted Superman's shuttle on the way back to Earth and somehow had him under and all the events that took place in Return was just an elaborate dream to keep Superman docile while Brainiac takes over Earth. Superman realizes it's a dream because he, just like all of us know that the whole Lois and him having a kid storyline is an effing JOKE.
Anung_un_rama writes:
on October 17th, 2010 at 12:43:45 PM

this movies smells like sh*t soup already so make whatever you numbskulls want cause until a trailer comes out I will not post on anything that's to deal with this flowing turd known as superman
billofill writes:
on October 17th, 2010 at 8:57:35 PM

If it is based on Superman Birthright they only glance over the origin.
Man in Black writes:
on October 18th, 2010 at 1:11:19 PM

@ bunny .... you are a genius a goddess among comic lore , now just try to sell that to hollowood cause they are out of ideas
Odd writes:
on October 18th, 2010 at 1:29:50 PM

Hmmm as long as its in the same formula as the Batman ones, then i say give it a try...

@Jake_Unawesome oh yea you still suck!


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved