WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James Cameron in Talks to Direct 3D "Cleopatra" Film with Angelina Jolie

Posted: October 15th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James Cameron in Talks to Direct 3D "Cleopatra" Film with Angelina JolieSubmit Comment
Deadline is reporting that James Cameron is close to a deal with Sony Pictures to direct a big screen 3D version of Stacy Schiff's "Cleopatra: A Life." Angelina Jolie is attached to star and is said to be currently in serious talks.

Apparently Sony Pictures co-chair Amy Pascal decided to fast-track the project after screenwriter Brian Helgeland (Robin Hood, Green Zone) wrote what is being described as a "brilliant script deserving of epic treatment" that is all about "what the Romans took from Egypt." Pascal is hoping to begin filming next year, but has acknowledged that "it won't be cheap."

Part of the reason why Cameron is interested in directing is because Sony is ready to spend the big bucks, referring to the project as their "Gone With The Wind" epic. Plus outside of "Avatar 2," this is the only project that he's considering.

Jolie has been talking about "Cleopatra" for a while, stating that she would be honored to play the Queen of the Nile. Then during a recent interview, she went into great detail about the research she has done on the topic. So clearly this is a project that means a lot to her.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
rabid writes:
on October 15th, 2010 at 6:34:58 AM

A James Cameron Cleopatra movie could be cool, but I don't see the point of doing it in 3D.
Also, Cleopatra was supposedly an ugly woman. They should cast a total Streissand-face for this movie.
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 15th, 2010 at 7:38:02 AM

f*ck 3D!!! that is all...actually i take that back...that's not all...screw titanic in 3D, screw avatar in 3D...this 3D overload is going to eventually cause a lot of appointments for eye doctors as a result
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 15th, 2010 at 7:42:25 AM

i thought when the 3D TVs were coming, that no glasses were needed...it was the only reason why i thought it would be interesting...but wearing glasses every time to watch anything on TV in 3D is a pain in the ears and the ass because 3D seems to butt f*ck everybody out of their money these days
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 15th, 2010 at 7:49:53 AM

Sure! Why not ? 3D did so well for Elizabeth Taylor and Richard Burton.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 15th, 2010 at 7:53:04 AM

Part of the reason why Cameron is interested in directing is because Sony is ready to spend the big bucks, referring to the project as their "Gone With The Wind" epic. Plus outside of "Avatar 2," this is the only project that he's considering.

Clark Gable's ears stick out of the screen at audiences in 3D ? Ewwww. That's like unprotected sex with anaheimduck's mom. Sony is ready to spend the big bucks because they love to throw money down the well, pure and simple.

" Frankly, my dear Scarlett ... I don't give a f*ck! "
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 15th, 2010 at 7:54:02 AM

rabid writes:
on October 15th, 2010 at 6:34:58 AM

A James Cameron Cleopatra movie could be cool, but I don't see the point of doing it in 3D.
Also, Cleopatra was supposedly an ugly woman. They should cast a total Streissand-face for this movie.


@rabid

Yeah, isn't it always the way ? Two babies daddies fighting over an ugly ass ho!
Kurskij writes:
on October 15th, 2010 at 8:16:24 AM

Helgeland may be a great writer, but swords and sandals genre was resurrected and died with Gladiator (or Troy, if you like) and his resume shows that movies he writes are often brilliant but almost always underperform.

Cameron's name alone can save this though.
Ted Mosby writes:
on October 15th, 2010 at 8:20:55 AM

I think Cameron would even try to make a fart in shoe box 3D if he had the chance.
Rambo writes:
on October 15th, 2010 at 9:11:01 AM

shoe box 3d sounds more interesting then Cleopatra
Big_Daddy writes:
on October 15th, 2010 at 9:24:27 AM

@Kurskij

I think we just need to see the ass kicking side of the genre. What made those films good was the action. then the whole "drama" thing got in the way. That genre is action,fighting sequence, minimal story and T&A almost like the new titans. If titans had more fighting and tons of T&A it would have been a good B movie instead its a solid D
CCBlev writes:
on October 15th, 2010 at 9:46:23 AM

I just wonder if Camerons funeral service will be in 3D?
nitishbhat writes:
on October 15th, 2010 at 11:21:19 AM

ancient egyptian boobies in 3D!!!!! AWESOME!!!!
MyCircusLife writes:
on October 15th, 2010 at 11:56:24 AM

uhhh....why do they keep casting cleopatra as a white woman? maybe cameron plans on coloring jolie's skin in post prod. this film is sure to tank. 3D a tad unnecessary for this story.
Ranger writes:
on October 15th, 2010 at 12:53:33 PM

Give Jolie her Tomb Raider (I'd like to raid her tomb!) tits, and I'll watch this in 3D!
Rambo writes:
on October 15th, 2010 at 1:31:17 PM

Ranger,she doesn't have tits anymore...pitt and the babies sucked up all the milk :-(
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on October 15th, 2010 at 3:27:39 PM

Why should this be in 3D? Sure, we all want to get the feeling of being poked in the eye by big nose, but that's it.
And Jolie? First of all, she will be playing Cleopatra using a horrible accent (you know it, they know it, the world know it, not sure if she know it). And she's white. Maybe Cleopatra had a light skin tone, but when it comes down to it, she wasn't white. Which is kind of a big deal. You wouldn't let Morgan Freeman play Lincoln or Mario Lopez play Washington?
Frank4969 writes:
on October 15th, 2010 at 4:21:29 PM

Great another big budget 3G bomb with skankolina Jolie. She has got to be one of the biggest skanks on the planet. Whore!
Frank4969 writes:
on October 15th, 2010 at 4:22:31 PM

3d not 3G. God damn typing on a phone!
jigsaw23 writes:
on October 15th, 2010 at 6:04:22 PM

what the f*ck is the point of 3d for this
Kurskij writes:
on October 15th, 2010 at 6:08:10 PM

@Daddy

IMHO What made Gladiator so good is the sum of its parts.

Badass Russell Crowe (and I DO mean BADASS his balls in this movie must've been seen from Mars), badass Oliver Reed (RIP, God bless that Man), great music, incredibly shot and edited action - it was just a perfect macho movie that also suited gals (thanks to Crowe's physique). Also great score.

Scott then made "The Kingdom of Heaven". The visuals were just as good as in Gladiator (and f*ck all those "he ripped all the battle sequences from the LOTR" people) but, I mean, come on! Orlando Bloom screaming that he'll burn Jerusalem. Who would believe him? He wouldn't be able to burn a bum.

Sure, this genre needs an ass kicking side, but it also needs everything else - "swords and sandals" is an ultimate epic - it must have it all, or you'll have "Troy" that had Bana, Gleeson, Ajax (can't remember dudes name) and even Pitt in badass mode and still managed to become an average movie.

Clash needed a better director. I've got nothing against french - but Clash had no old-school badassery it must have had. And I believe we must thank the director.

Cameron can handle action like no other, so there is hope if he signs.
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on October 15th, 2010 at 8:36:44 PM

I actually like some 3D. I dont like paying the extra price but some of it is kinda a plus in some movies. But this... Not like this...

Booooooooooooooooooollllsh*ttt!!!!

qwertyuiop22ful writes:
on October 15th, 2010 at 11:51:24 PM

In that picture, Cameron looks like he's thinking:

"Wow, with this glasses it all looks like... real, you know?"
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 16th, 2010 at 1:38:27 AM

"James Cameron in Talks to Direct 3D "Cleopatra" Film with Angelina Jolie"

NO! & NO!
Pig Newtons writes:
on October 16th, 2010 at 1:42:37 AM

NO. NO. NO. EPIC FAIL ABOUT TO PROCEED.

Angelina Jolie not only kills marriages, she kills movies too. I see this as her just acting like Dionysis from Alexander, or as Grendel's mother from Beowulf, but with Egyptian costumes.

"hearr my corrrny Transylllvaniaaahh aksent"

If you want to make an epic, Egyptian movie, you go to the man that can get it done-AUTHENTICALLY: Mel f*ckin' Gibson
jordan2delta writes:
on October 16th, 2010 at 6:33:30 AM

@CCBlev writes:- I just wonder if Camerons funeral service will be in 3D?

@@ That was the funniest moment of my boring day
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on October 16th, 2010 at 3:43:35 PM

@MyCircusLife & Freudian_Nightmare Cleopatra WAS white! She was Greek. Also to those people who don't like 3D, GO AND WATCH THE MOVIES IN 2D THEN AND STOP DEMANDING THAT MOVIES SHOULDN'T TECHNOLOGICALLY PROGRESS JUST BECAUSE YOU LIKE RIDING ON THE 3D BASHING BANDWAGON (AKA Roger Ebert's c*ck)!!!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved