WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Guillermo Del Toro Offered to Direct "Godzilla" Reboot

Posted: October 14th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Guillermo Del Toro Offered to Direct "Godzilla" RebootSubmit Comment
Back in May, Deadline reported that Legendary Pictures acquired a pitch for "Pacific Rim" sci-fi film by "Clash of the Titans" writer Travis Beachem. The movie is set in a future in which malevolent creatures threaten the earth, so the planet must band together and use highly advanced technology to eradicate the growing menace.

At the same time, the studio is also working on a "Godzilla" reboot. LatinoReview is reporting that the script is far from perfect, but merging it with the ideas found in "Pacific Rim" made it into something worth pursuing.

In other words, the new "Godzilla" movie will be based on "Pacific Rim." And to bring the film to the big screen, Legendary has offered Guillermo Del Toro the chance to direct. No word on whether Del Toro will take the job, but he's currently pretty busy with "At the Mountain of Madness."

Source: LatinoReview


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
AYT BALL writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 6:44:15 AM

oh wow Godzilla......no thanks
boogiel writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 6:49:05 AM

Nah, I'd rather stick with the hellboy
johnny_boy writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 6:59:08 AM

He won't do it. If I can guarantee anything it's that
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 7:30:34 AM

i was satisfied with the remake with matthew broderick...screw this reboot...in fact, screw a lot of reboots...i hope people come to their senses because hollywood will just keep coughing up the same sh*t to get another dollar out of anybody and everybody
CCBlev writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 9:54:24 AM

um no
bandolero999 writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 11:15:56 AM

Hollywood leave Godzilla to the Japanese everytime.They don't learn from their mistakes.hollywood wants to make something that's not from America it fails like Speed Racer,total sh*t movie from the Wachowskis and the first Godzilla with Mathew Broderick
Blank x2 writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 12:17:34 PM

@synthetic1985 - You were SATISFIED with that piece of sh*t Emmerich reboot?

No offense, but if THAT movie was satisfactory to you, I can never take anything you say about movies seriously ever again. Ever.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 1:01:06 PM

In other words, the new "Godzilla" movie will be based on "Pacific Rim."

Pacific Rim sounds like a sexual position Che's mom gives every guy ... licking around their 'Pacific Rim'.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 1:10:15 PM

synthetic1985 writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 7:30:34 AM

i was satisfied with the remake with matthew broderick...screw this reboot...in fact, screw a lot of reboots...i hope people come to their senses because hollywood will just keep coughing up the same sh*t to get another dollar out of anybody and everybody


@synthetic1985

I just keep envisioning that scene with the babies of Godzilla (who up until the Roland Emmerich remake was never given a gender ... I mean to make those babies, Godzilla had to f*ck and procreate with a male version of itself and I'm pretty sure King Kong was f*cking busy) in Madison Square Guards, slipping and sliding around on basketballs like reptilian version of the Keystone Cops (and who looked more like Triraptasaurus' than like miniature Godzillas) .... and Hank Azaria's look like, " Did I just f*cking sell out at this point ? "

... and f*ck. It was like watching Azaria, Jimmy Page and Broderick trying to avoid Lucifer's calls for soul recanting.

ESPECIALLY Jimmy Page.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 1:12:07 PM

Besides ... they're gonna give this to Del Toro ? When's he going to do it ? When he's 70 ? He's already committed himself to more projects than Robert Rodriguez signing up for paternal projects at the local PTA.
Ted Mosby writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 2:48:49 PM

theres really no reason to reboot it? Theres a better monster movie out there "Cloverfield" and I have yet to see that one movie literally titled "Monsters" and ALSO theres that JJ Abrams movie that looks like another badass monster movie so WHY the f*ck would you bother rebooting Godzilla?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 2:55:16 PM

Ted Mosby writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 2:48:49 PM

theres really no reason to reboot it? Theres a better monster movie out there "Cloverfield" and I have yet to see that one movie literally titled "Monsters" and ALSO theres that JJ Abrams movie that looks like another badass monster movie so WHY the f*ck would you bother rebooting Godzilla?


@Ted

A. $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

Q. Was Ted Mosely the pimp name for Tom Bosley, when he went to go pick up co-eds in the Seventies ?

" Erin Moran ? Yeah, I f*cked her ... man, she had a nice ass. "
rocketman writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 3:09:28 PM

Get James f*cking 3D Cameron to direct it otherwise it will be sh*t.
Blank x2 writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 6:54:24 PM

@Ted Mosby

Shame on you for saying the Cloverfield monster is better than Godzilla.

I know at least some of us watched ToHo movies when we were little, and would like to see a decent American version that isn't a turd sandwich a la Roland Emmerich's pile of poo.

And Max just did a perfect job of explaining how "awesome" that disaster was: Baby godzilla raptors running around Madison Square Garden while Mo the bartender films it.

Yea. That movie was swell.
murphyslaw93 writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 7:57:50 PM

Could turn out really corny if in the hands of someone other than Del Toro. But granted, the only Del Toro films I like are the ones he makes in spanish, all his other ones actually suck. The new horror movie he wrote that has Katie Holmes in it looks pretty good, but I dont know anything about At the mountain of Madness
Ranger writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 10:17:04 PM

Put another Jap in a rubber Godzilla suit, stomping on balsa villages. That I'd watch.
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 15th, 2010 at 6:48:18 AM

@ Blank x2...easy buddy...when i said satisfied, i meant i put up with it...i used to watch the older japanese versions all the time...and i still get a kick out of them better than any American version

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved