WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Eric Stoltz on Being Replaced in "Back to the Future"

Posted: October 14th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Eric Stoltz on Being Replaced in "Back to the Future"Submit Comment
Just recently, we showed you a featurette from "Back to the Future 25th Anniversary Trilogy" Blu-ray and DVD collection that hits stores on October 26th. The featurette shows the first footage of Eric Stoltz as Marty McFly before he was replaced by Michael J. Fox a full five weeks into shooting.

Stoltz has now opened up about his experience, stating that everything worked out well, even though he didn't become "exceedingly rich." He said: "You know, it was twenty-something years ago and I rarely look back, if at all, but in retrospect, I think just getting through that difficult period helped me realize how freeing it really was. I went back to acting school, I moved to Europe, I did some plays in New York and I actually invested in myself in a way that was much healthier for me."

He continued: "If I had become a massive star, I don't know if I wouldn't have gone into therapy. I would've been unable to walk down the street. It's a whole different life. I was lucky in that way."

Stoltz went on to say it would have been weird to be in a movie where his character is the love interest of his mother. And wonders whether Fox would have ended up taking roles in "Pulp Fiction" and his other movies if he was never replaced.

Source: Moviehole


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 7:03:06 AM

How bad must you be if they were willing to exchange you with a different actor after already doing 5 weeks worth of filming only for it to all be reshot as well?
Big_Daddy writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 9:38:31 AM

I would've been unable to walk down the street. It's a whole different life. I was lucky in that way."

I think he took a shot at Parkinson's

Stoltz! What kind of a sick bastard are you!
CCBlev writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 9:49:57 AM

um ok
otis writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 12:07:46 PM

The fact of the matter is, Stoltzy my boy, you would never have become a big star. That movie is carried by the funny, quirky teen boy [and the batsh*t Doc], and that boy was not you. So yes, while it's good to make light in some sort of counterfactual psychosis, the truth of the matter is: you are not Marty McFly.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 12:39:10 PM

I know it probably would be one of those situations where if they kept Stoltz as McFly, and 20 years later there was an article how they were thinking about having Fox take on the role instead, people would ponder it and be like "No, I dont see Fox being great, I mean maybe, but Stolz was good".......Fox was awesome as Marty, I seriously wouldnt have it any other way
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 12:57:22 PM

Stoltz has now opened up about his experience, stating that everything worked out well, even though he didn't become "exceedingly rich." He said: "You know, it was twenty-something years ago and I rarely look back, if at all, but in retrospect, I think just getting through that difficult period helped me realize how freeing it really was. I went back to acting school, I moved to Europe, I did some plays in New York and I actually invested in myself in a way that was much healthier for me."

Translation : f*ck Spielberg and Bob Zemeckis ... I got f*cking paid, bitch!

Eric Stoltz on Being Replaced in "Back to the Future" ...

" In retrospect, at least now I'm not shaking uncontrollably like a chihuahua when the air-conditioner's turned on. "
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 12:59:13 PM

Stoltz went on to say it would have been weird to be in a movie where his character is the love interest of his mother.

Hey Eric,

Ask Billibong Buttf*ck. He can tell you firsthand.
darkraven28 writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 1:33:05 PM

Maybe the switch shouldn't have been made. Then we might have seen Michael J. Fox play the coke dealer in Pulp Fiction and the molester in Butterfly Effect. Weirdness.

Or maybe not. Michael J. FOx and Chris LLoyd ARE Back To The Future.
Ranger writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 2:29:09 PM

'...it would have been weird to be in a movie where his character is the love interest of his mother.'

Same as Time Travel Hot Tub...

It wouldn't bother me one bit. If I went back in time. Met my mother... and she was HAWT, I'd hit it! I may even have ended up being my own father. And that gives me an Expendables-Class boner right there!
Ranger writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 2:29:48 PM

So when I'm called 'Motherf*cker!' I could reply: 'Oh, buddy... you have NO idea!'
Ranger writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 2:38:53 PM

Then if mom ever got 'out of line' with me... I could tell her I know of her 'actions' decades ago... then mentally blackmail her into the sack again.


(OK... now I'm weirdin' me out a bit!)
WV-Films writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 4:17:43 PM

Keep tellin urself that buddy. Keep tellin urself that.
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 4:33:39 PM

What else is he supposed to say? He cries at night and constantly thinks if only.....
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 4:49:41 PM

very insightful @wv
trailertrash writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 5:19:24 PM

Ranger- LOL

At least you can pick your own fathers day card...

Mom do you remember the night you were Tea Bag by that guy and then he stuck it to you 6 ways till sunday while Nanny & grandad were down stairs ..

Then with Balls in hand and big smile on your face...

Remember these mom :)
murphyslaw93 writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 8:01:53 PM

Based on that first footage alone with no dialogue, Stoltz just looked wrong for the part. He looked just like Crispin Glover all in a black leather jacket and sh*t. The movie definitely would not have been as good if Zemekis hadn't replaced him. Still, if the past had played out differently I wonder what it would have been like to see Michael J. Fox is Mask or in Pulp Fiction. Regardless of what Stoltz has done off screen or the minor amount of time he's spent on screen in his career, his character in Pulp Fiction is still awesomely hilarious. "Prank caller, prank caller!"
Ranger writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 9:24:22 PM

@tt - LOLOLOLOL!
ChristianNYC writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 11:43:38 PM

I am not sure why some loved Back to the Future Movies. It was cute for about 2 minutes
Ranger writes:
on October 15th, 2010 at 12:33:16 AM

Yeah, but watching to see if he was going to impregnate his mother made the other 88 minutes tense.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on October 15th, 2010 at 2:00:37 AM

" In retrospect, at least now I'm not shaking uncontrollably like a chihuahua when the air-conditioner's turned on. "


ROFLMAO! Max I busted a gut for a good 10 minutes. You are too damn funny.
trailertrash writes:
on October 15th, 2010 at 2:42:45 AM

I found Back to the future 2 just as Exciting.

Would he or wouldn't he go back and double team his mom with himself !!!

Good stuff
templegown writes:
on October 15th, 2010 at 3:31:38 AM

This is actually an interview from about three years ago, Moviehole is just re-releasing it to get attention.

trailertrash writes:
on October 15th, 2010 at 4:33:42 AM

I streak to get attention , maybe they should try that instead

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved