WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Rhys Ifans is The Lizard in "Spider-Man" Reboot

Posted: October 14th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Rhys Ifans is The Lizard in "Spider-Man" RebootSubmit Comment
A few days ago Columbia Pictures announced that it has cast Rhys Ifans (Notting Hill, Little Nicky) to play the villain in the upcoming "Spider-Man" reboot.

Now comes word from The Wrap that Ifans will play Dr. Curt Connor, who is better known as The Lizard. This news comes as no surprise since Peter Parker (Andrew Garfield) will be going back to high-school in the new film.

For those not familiar with the comics, Curt Connors tried to re-grow his amputated arm by uncovering the secrets of reptilian limb regeneration, eventually turning into The Lizard.

Dylan Baker played Connor in two of Sam Raimi's "Spider-Man" sequels, but never had the chance to play The Lizard.

Click here to read more about "Spider-Man."

Source: The Wrap


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 6:36:25 AM

I don't give a sh*t
boogiel writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 6:40:57 AM

Ditto.
johnny_boy writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 6:53:13 AM

You can't do Luzard right off the bat. The lizard should have been used for the Raimi franchise being with how experienced SM was at that point. It seems dumb now that he's just starting with the lizard as a villain
masht7 writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 7:11:02 AM

Oh... the irony.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 7:19:12 AM

I understand that they would like to use The Lizard, since they can't use any of the villains from the previous movies and The Lizard might be the most known left (correct me if I'm wrong). But building a movie around the villain that was left behind seems like a poor move.
johnny_boy writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 7:34:12 AM

Guess the rumors that Raimi wanted Vulture and Vultress(whoever that is) as villains may have been true since Sony has Lizard as a villain.
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 7:56:56 AM

well, reboot or not, the point i've been trying to make from the beginning is to f*ckING stick to the details of the comics and/or the cartoons...if sony was so great, they could afford to pay attention to detail, and that means, make the characters look like they do in the comics, don't change sh*t up...make a cgi version of what is portrayed in the comics...they almost had it right on venom, except for casting the right guy for one, and having venom's slimy tongue flopping around all over the place, and his voice being creepy instead of a deeper version of topher grace saying 'interested?' in sm3...and not to mention that he lives on to fight carnage with spiderman...it's just sad that they'll never make a spiderman that feels like watching the cartoon...every episode he fights somebody but they're always back to fight again in another episode, and again and again until a dramatic conclusion...honestly what's so hard about that?...apparently everything i guess
CCBlev writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 9:36:40 AM

Jesus titty f*cking christ. Now you do em. f*ck you sony!!!
coldplayesence writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 10:28:48 AM

They don't use the Lizard: Wrong. They use the Lizard: Wrong. Awesome.
masht7 writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 10:36:00 AM

I find it hypocritical that Saimi wanted Lizard in Spidey 4 but Sony didn't allow it now they are. Bunch of selfish corpral ass licking selfish c*nts. I feel sorry for Dylan Baker right now, having been in two Spidey films for nothing.
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 10:44:04 AM

i'm betting this reboot will have plenty of wrong in it...and in the end, i'll still get better enjoyment out of reading the comics or watching the cartoons
fadeddragon2469 writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 11:16:57 AM

f*cked up. this movie is looking less and less appealing, especially now that they took the role of Lizard away from Baker.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 12:28:57 PM

Dylan Baker did all the heavy lifting in establishing the background development of Doctor Conners, who eventually becomes the Lizard and then Sony gave the character to Rhys Ifans ????

As much as Sony can go f*ck AmaDouchbag; Billibong Buff*ck; ChezLounge; Jack_Assmuncher and COC(kSucker) ... I can't say ill of Rhys. He is a hell of a solid actor that can interpret and inhabit a character, making it his own, while giving a nice, wicked twist to the character (Ex : Pirate Radio aka The Boat That Rocked and his piece dela resistance, Iki in Formula 51 ...

Iki: What is chemistry but the ability to attract adoration in others. You see, you're like me, Mr. McElroy. You're a sky-high-etrist, I'm a sky-high-etrist. See, I always knew I'd be a drug dealer, even when I was a kid. I saw me dad hit me mother, me mother hit me brother, me brother hit me sister, and me sister f*ck me father. So I suppose it's inevitable, really. I mean, you'd have to be on drugs just to live in that madhouse, wouldn't you?

Although, his comedic timing and spastic acting style is more in align with Shocker (and they don't have to use that gay-glo yellow costumer with electric spark-Halloween mask they sketched in the comic book) ... but like past commentators reiterated ... it's f*cking Sony's call.

f*ck.
generalmac writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 12:58:32 PM

figures, the company wanted the gay vulture to be the villian, so everyone left. now they go back to the lizard. looks like they just wanted a new cast and director
SaulSilver writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 1:16:30 PM

How about Kraven, also....comes to try and kill them both.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 2:02:24 PM

f*ck Sony.

bspence writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 2:05:47 PM

@ SaulSilver
i could definitley see the lizard setting up kraven for a sequel. but to be honest id prefer to see kraven in a spidey movie where he was part of the sinister 6.

out of all the comments here im pretty sure i am the first to say that i love this news and that im looking forward to it.

look at the talent involved in making this, with the exception of sony.
not to mention almost everybody on here was begging to see the lizard since SR spidey2 came out and even after everyone was fired and they decided to reboot it most of you still wanted to see the lizard. so just because its not a SR movie (which his spidey films werent that good. the first was good and the second was really good with the exception of the CGI) but look at what happened with the 3rd. i understand that sony was the main cause but sam was the one who butchered venom in it and casted all the new roles like eddie brock and gwen stacy with talentless actors. and yes baker would have been good as the lizard but ifans will be too, if not better. so stop crying about it just so you can act like a critic and hate on a movie that you havent even seen a trailer or pic from yet.

so far you have the studio who in my opinion is a sh*tty one but still made the last spidey franchise everybody here loved. then you have webb directing. and so far awesome actors (garfield, ifans, and stone) who actually have talent unlike the people in the last series. the only people from the last series who were good at the roles they played were franco, jk simmons, defo (idr how to spell his name right now for some reason), idr this guys name but the one who played doc ock, and the lady who played aunt may. i guess baker and the guy who played uncle ben but neither of them had large roles so i dont count them as the main talent.
i think the only thing you guys are all saying that i agree with here is that i also wish they made the spidey movies feel more like the cartoon when you are watching them. but regardless i know this will be good, i mean other then thor and MAYBE xmen first class or deadpool...what is marvel making that is worth the time right now? (im not judging avengers till i see a trailer).
Sleuth1989 writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 4:11:23 PM

Well you bastards at Sony you got your flippin' wish. You got the Lizard as the villian. Worst of all you got an actor who I can't even imagine as the role. Dylan Baker was gearing up to be perfect for the role but no you couldn't wait for Raimi to tell the story. We all know the Lizard was going to come soon, but you idiots couldn't be patient and let the filmmaker do HIS job, not your job. I hope you enjoy the lack of money you make from this picture. This whole movie is just fishy. I saw Social Network and Andrew Garfield and he is not Peter Parker or Spider-Man. In fact I'd say he is even wimpier than Tobey McGuire. When he yelled his voice was almost as high as Celion Dion. And MArc Webb, you give a hit like this a that bozo after one good movie...one good chick flick I might add. So how exactly do you think this movie is going to sell? I really wish Sony could read this because I would just love hear how their retarded, below 50 IQ minds work.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 4:30:16 PM

Sleuth1989 writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 4:11:23 PM
Well you bastards at Sony you got your flippin' wish. You got the Lizard as the villian. Worst of all you got an actor who I can't even imagine as the role. Dylan Baker was gearing up to be perfect for the role but no you couldn't wait for Raimi to tell the story. We all know the Lizard was going to come soon, but you idiots couldn't be patient and let the filmmaker do HIS job, not your job. I hope you enjoy the lack of money you make from this picture. This whole movie is just fishy. I saw Social Network and Andrew Garfield and he is not Peter Parker or Spider-Man. In fact I'd say he is even wimpier than Tobey McGuire. When he yelled his voice was almost as high as Celion Dion. And MArc Webb, you give a hit like this a that bozo after one good movie...one good chick flick I might add. So how exactly do you think this movie is going to sell? I really wish Sony could read this because I would just love hear how their retarded, below 50 IQ minds work.

@Sleuth1989

LMMFAOAHTFCISF !!! Yeah!!!!!

Sony's CEOs must be a bunch of spidermonkeys flinging pooh in a quarantied room, hitting those 3X5 index cards they use on cork-bulletin boards to determine the progress of jobs at the studio.

Or how we can make fun of Che's mom, in mult-layered levels.

* Note : The reason Zach looked uncomfortable in that two piece bathing suit (the Vanity Fair piece) is because Che's mom menstruated into the panty linings of the bottoms.

Also, they didn't need to let out the bottoms, since they perfectly hold Che's mom's ballsacks and penis.
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 4:36:09 PM

Sony... I hate you soooo much right now.
anaheimducks writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 4:54:16 PM

I'm happy and I'm not they should wait and put the lizard in the 2nd movie not the first.
Champ1432 writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 5:59:30 PM

Ifans is a good actor, and whatever the level of quality of the movie overall is, I'm sure he'll do a great job.

I still would rather see Baker do it, after his roles laying the groundwork in SM 2&3, think he would have been awesome.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 5:59:53 PM

Dylan Baker played Connor in two of Sam Raimi's "Spider-Man" sequels, but never had the chance to play The Lizard.


THANK YOU SONY PICTURES, YOU MOTHERf*ckING SONS OF BITCHES.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 6:47:16 PM

@Max Rockatansky Junior

I don't think anyone could have said it any better than you just did my friend. Especially with the Spidermonkey reference.

@Champ1432
I agree Rhys Ifans is a good actor. Dude was awesome in Replacements, Notting Hill, and so on, but he is also known for being comedic which doesn't really fit Dr. Connors personality. Dylan Baker was in my opinion perfect for the role. Who knows, maybe the movie will fall through and we'll get Spider-Man 4, the real Spider-Man series, back on track. Trust me though, this is overoptimism that probably won't be rewarded. LOL
mrstretch writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 7:47:41 PM

Spiderman and all these reboots can go straight to hell!!
encoreyourface writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 9:15:22 PM

i still don't know if this will be good or not but the lizard is a terrible choice.
SaulSilver writes:
on October 15th, 2010 at 12:12:07 AM

The best way to do the Lizard is to combo him with Kraven the Hunter. That way you have what would be a great dynamic of Peter having to stop his friend and mentor from rampaging all over new york, as well as having to save Connors from being killed by Kraven. Kraven is risky I know because he'd have to be well written and have a great actor to be able to pull it off...but I dunno, I feel like it's the perfect scenario.
WonDerBanGeR writes:
on October 15th, 2010 at 12:20:37 AM

still not interested and the new spider man actor LOL yes...thats right i L o L at you !
spider-man writes:
on October 15th, 2010 at 2:18:51 AM

hmmmmmm what is the word im looking for here??? ooh yeah i got it now FFFFFFFUUUUUCCCCCCKKKKK YOU SONY....you stupid idiotic dumb f*cks, you f*cked up spider-man because you tried to push rami around and tell him what to put into the film and what not to put in the film. and now your f*cked because you have to reboot it. you should have just given the rights back to Marvel so we can have a decent spider-man film for once. f*ck YOU!!!!! i will boycott this film and will not spend a dime of my f*cking money to see this film
AshTrey writes:
on October 15th, 2010 at 3:33:55 AM

I called it
LastActionHero writes:
on October 15th, 2010 at 6:45:12 AM

He's wirey.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 15th, 2010 at 8:21:39 PM

I am not very religious,
so I am praying to every voodoo god that exists that this movie bombs so bad that
Stan Lee dies and after he does, we find out they found out he had Poloroid photographs in a shoebox of young boys inappropriately touching his wrinkled, old c*ck.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved