WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Natalie Portman in Talks for "Alien" Prequel, Plus Script Details

Posted: October 13th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Natalie Portman in Talks for "Alien" Prequel, Plus Script DetailsSubmit Comment
According to NY magazine, "Lost" co-creator Damon Lindelof just turned in a new draft of the screenplay for Ridley Scott's "Alien" prequel, and 20th Century Fox is very pleased with it.

The reason why the studio likes the script is because not only is it creative, but it also avoids expensive set pieces and effects-heavy action sequences. There have been some issues regarding the budget, which currently sits at $150 million.

Scott has been meeting with actresses to star as Colonial Marine general, and he has narrowed down his search to two contenders. At the top of the list is Natalie Portman. Right behind her is Noomi Rapace, the star of the Swedish "Girl With the Dragon Tattoo" trilogy.

While Scott has been aiming to make a "really tough, really nasty" movie, Lindelof's script allows for the movie to be PG-13. Word is that it will still be as violent as the original "Alien" film.

Source: NY Mag


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on October 13th, 2010 at 6:48:49 AM

Violent, YES
R18, YES
Natalie Portman or Noomi Rapace, either will do, they are both f*cking awesome, and easy on the eye!
VDODSON writes:
on October 13th, 2010 at 6:54:19 AM

Yes she's pretty, but she can't act for sh*t. I will leave you gents with this timeless line. ''Anakin, your breaking my heart!'' Pure garbage, i almost threw up after that delivery. Almost as bad as, ''Love wont save you Padme, only my new powers can''.
johnny_boy writes:
on October 13th, 2010 at 6:54:49 AM

Aliens is below Portmans level. She deserves better. Put her in some more movies where she self gratifies herself.
trailertrash writes:
on October 13th, 2010 at 6:58:11 AM

^ Like BlackSwan 2
trailertrash writes:
on October 13th, 2010 at 7:03:44 AM

Noomi Rapace would seem the better choice.

Natalie Portman is easy on the eye but i would like to see this movie as dark as possible so i would go with Noomi !!
rockkillers writes:
on October 13th, 2010 at 7:03:50 AM

Fail. f*ck PG13. If it is so I will not be seeing this. How are they going to mess this up?
Sev writes:
on October 13th, 2010 at 7:05:49 AM

PG-13? f*ck!!!!! OFF!!!!!!!!!!

Make it R rated, and if it's f*ckin' incredible people will come back for more. Simple as that! Jesus f*cking christ!!! f*ck YOU FOX YOU sh*tf*ckING c*ntS!!!!
rockkillers writes:
on October 13th, 2010 at 7:13:39 AM

pg-13?? Look at AVP, LFDH, T Salvat, Robin Hood... all those films were sh*t because their watered down rating. I hate 20 Century Fox!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on October 13th, 2010 at 7:19:59 AM

150 millions is still a lot of money.

Either Portman or Rapace could work. They can both look good while not necessarily looking good (Portman in V for Vendetta and Rapace in the only thing she has ever done). They are not porcelain-dolls.

If this film will be as violent as the first, it can't be PG because the first wasn't PG. It's quite logical when you think about it.
Rambo writes:
on October 13th, 2010 at 7:25:38 AM

What is Portman suppose to do?kill the alien from over-masturbation?
sc_kg writes:
on October 13th, 2010 at 7:32:44 AM

I vote for Noomi Rapace.
Big_Daddy writes:
on October 13th, 2010 at 7:41:04 AM

I vote for Portman as her presence will not over shadow the movie itself. She will act will enough for the role letting the movie standout.

With Noomi( which I still have not seen that movie)everyone will be watching to see what she brings to the table.

Pig Newtons writes:
on October 13th, 2010 at 7:49:35 AM

Maybe I'm the only one that thinks this, but does anybody else see Michelle Rodriguez as perfect for this role? I just don't see anybody else for it. If they want another "Ellen Ripley" then they need an "Alpha Female" like Michelle Rodriguez. But maybe they want an "Anti-Ripley" type female for this role?

Gemma Arterton sounds like she's 4 years old. Pass. Natalie Portman's alright I guess, but just not what I imagined for the role.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 13th, 2010 at 7:49:46 AM

While Scott has been aiming to make a "really tough, really nasty" movie, Lindelof's script allows for the movie to be PG-13. Word is that it will still be as violent as the original "Alien" film.


A really tough, really nasty PG 13 FILM ? I'm getting the familiar whiff of what happened with Live Free or Die Hard ....

Fail.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 13th, 2010 at 7:51:32 AM

The reason why the studio likes the script is because not only is it creative, but it also avoids expensive set pieces and effects-heavy action sequences. There have been some issues regarding the budget, which currently sits at $150 million.

So that what it is! 20 CENTURY COX IS A STUDIO OF CHEAPASS YENTAS!!!! Well, $ 150 million does buy a lot of styrofoam, black crepe paper and cocaine ....
AYT BALL writes:
on October 13th, 2010 at 8:24:17 AM

Portman, a Marine General?? nope, its not sexist to have a dude in a role like that you know Ridley?
CCBlev writes:
on October 13th, 2010 at 8:53:21 AM

Y not have both? :) I love Natalie, buit I think Noomi would be awesome for this. Plus this kinda movie would great to really expose her to the US crowds
Sev writes:
on October 13th, 2010 at 8:59:53 AM

Give Cameron 300million for Avatar, but not give Ridley 250million to save a dying franchise...yeah, nice one FOX you twats!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 13th, 2010 at 9:03:06 AM

Scott has been meeting with actresses to star as Colonial Marine general, and he has narrowed down his search to two contenders. At the top of the list is Natalie Portman. Right behind her is Noomi Rapace, the star of the Swedish "Girl With the Dragon Tattoo" trilogy.

HEY RIDLEY!!!! NOOMI RAPACE!!!

Seriously I can't see Portman in this, it will be like Winona Ryder in "Alien Resurrection", which is a good movie, but if they want it to be badass they have to go with Noomi.




While Scott has been aiming to make a "really tough, really nasty" movie, Lindelof's script allows for the movie to be PG-13. Word is that it will still be as violent as the original "Alien" film.


BETTER f*ckING BE R-RATED!!!!
DON'T WANT NO PG-13 BULLsh*t!!!
trailertrash writes:
on October 13th, 2010 at 9:25:00 AM

Dave-

Will you be able to watch it over there !! lol
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 13th, 2010 at 9:36:12 AM

@trailer-

I hope so too...lol
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on October 13th, 2010 at 11:01:09 AM

So is this movie about the "space jockies" or isn't it??
Sev writes:
on October 13th, 2010 at 11:30:44 AM

@DaveThePhotoGuy

Ressurection was a TERRIBLE film!
ChainsawX writes:
on October 13th, 2010 at 12:06:02 PM

it will be as violent as the original alien? the chestburster scene alone would make it beyond pg 13...
Bunny X writes:
on October 13th, 2010 at 1:53:21 PM

Wow, this story had me right up to PG-13......
LEONCIO writes:
on October 13th, 2010 at 2:28:43 PM

I think it's a big mistake to have a female main character again, it'll be compared with Ripley and it'll always lose, also it's too much coincidence that the other person kicking alien's ass years before Ripley was a woman too.

They (specially Scott) should try to avoid comparisons with the original movie/s imo.
Rambo writes:
on October 13th, 2010 at 2:55:09 PM

game over man,game over!
technoreaper writes:
on October 13th, 2010 at 4:03:01 PM

A female Colonial Marine general? Natalie Portman or Noomi Rapace?

This project stinks to high hell. Fox, don't even bother, this movie is going to suck hard anyways.

If anyone is going to direct an Alien prequel, it should be Danny Boyle, IMO. Let him do it indie-style and work his magic.
kmccarney88 writes:
on October 13th, 2010 at 5:05:00 PM

@Johnny Boy - "Aliens is below Portmans level" - Shut your giddity, bitch-ass up! Did you forget her performance in the Star Wars films......f*cking horrendous.

Not to say she sucks at acting, but she doesn't do well with Sci-fi.....at all.

This movie is going to fail if they make it PG-13, It NEEDS to be R, no question.....and it wont be Ridley Scotts fault.

f*cking Fox, they have this incredible ability to f*ck up the un-f*ckable! What a bunch of *ssholes!
LEONCIO writes:
on October 13th, 2010 at 5:29:02 PM

Off-topic news: Tom Hardy casted for Batman 3.
Frank4969 writes:
on October 13th, 2010 at 6:16:03 PM

Pg 13 will kill the movie. I won't even bother. As for those of you who think she can't act think again. She is a fantastic actress. You could put marlon Brando in his heyday in those sh*t star wars films and he would suck. Blame George Lucas crappy script. Anyone ever see v for vendetta. Nuff said!
jdl107 writes:
on October 13th, 2010 at 7:58:58 PM

Ah, you guys are wathcing or at least heard about that Chile rescue, no?

Well, I heard they're making a movie about it. Roman Polanski is set to direct, apparently he is excited about the chance since minors are involved.
WonDerBanGeR writes:
on October 13th, 2010 at 10:44:33 PM

PG f*ckING 13 WHAT THE f*ck THIS IS f*ckING ALIENS!!!! I WANNA SEE PORTMAN OR THE CHICK WITH THE TATS KILL SOME f*ckING ALIENS and ofcourse those chest busters whatever there called come out of somesones ass for once come on MAKE IT HARD R!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
jdl107 writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 12:27:29 AM

Ohhh....... MinErs....... right.
darkraven28 writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 1:09:48 AM

Put both chicks in the movie. But f*ck that PG13 bullsh*t.
kmccarney88 writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 1:38:00 AM

there is a Petition online to keep an R-rating for this film, please go sign it so we can get the r rating it deserves.

http://www.petitiononline.com/AlienR/petition.html
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 3:59:16 AM

Sev writes:
on October 13th, 2010 at 11:30:44 AM

@DaveThePhotoGuy

Ressurection was a TERRIBLE film!

@Sev

Yes it was not a good movie per say...but would you prefer that or AvP or AvP:R?

I know which one I would choose as a better movie.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 4:00:14 AM

trailertrash writes:
on October 13th, 2010 at 9:25:00 AM

Dave-

Will you be able to watch it over there !! lol



change avatar DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 13th, 2010 at 9:36:12 AM

@trailer-

I hope so too...lol


@tt

I'll probably see it before it get's made...lol
rabid writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 4:59:26 AM

Natalie Portman is terrible in every movie always. Somehow she still manages to star in good films. Personally I think it's because she has cute tits... it sure isn't her personality.
or maybe she just comes cheap.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 5:13:45 AM

rabid writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 4:59:26 AM

Natalie Portman is terrible in every movie always. Somehow she still manages to star in good films. Personally I think it's because she has cute tits... it sure isn't her personality.
or maybe she just comes cheap.

@rabid

Or maybe she is willing to do things on the casting couch that other girls consider un-hygenic.
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 7:06:38 AM

i never wanted to see a prequel anyway...even alien resurrection looks better than this...it's nothing without sigorney weaver kicking some alien ass...that's what made them so popular anyway right?...so in short, let me spell it out for you people in hollywood trying to make this prequel with a classic line, 'get away from her you BITCH!'

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved