WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Social Network" Takes First Again, "My Soul to Take" Bombs

Posted: October 11th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Social Network" Takes First Again, "My Soul to Take" BombsSubmit Comment
David Fincher's "The Social Network" took first place at the domestic box office for the second week in a row. It grossed $15 million, which is just 31% less than last week's take, proving that the film will easily earn back its $50 million budget. It currently stands at $46 million.

Coming in close second is "Life As We Know It" romantic comedy with $14.6 million, giving itself with a good chance of making back its $38 million budget.

Disney's horse-racing drama "Secretariat" underperformed, but still grossed $12.6 million on a $35 million budget, which was good enough for third place. Unfortunately, the high-profile film cost another $35 million to market. "The people who have seen it loved it," said Disney. "So we're going to hope that it will have legs."

Looking back to 2003, the racing drama "Seabiscuit" debuted with $20.9 million and ended up grossing $120 million domestically.

Wes Craven's new horror film "My Soul to Take" ended up in fifth place with $6.9 million, despite higher ticket prices in more than 1,900 3D locations. It was developed for only $25 million, which means that the movie will struggle to make its money back.

Click here to read our "The Social Network" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
-Chewy- writes:
on October 10th, 2010 at 10:29:29 PM

Good word of mouth for The Social Network. Deserved too.
Che 4 Prez writes:
on October 10th, 2010 at 10:36:42 PM

the social ntework waz sooooo booooooooring its only about 2 legal things and i wanted 2 fall asleep and they actors talked 2 fast all there words ran 2gether
CCBlev writes:
on October 10th, 2010 at 10:44:20 PM

I keep hearing this is really good, I may have to check it out.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 10th, 2010 at 11:08:44 PM

Wes Craven's new horror film "My Soul to Take" ended up in fifth place with $6.9 million, despite higher ticket prices in more than 1,900 3D locations. It was developed for only $25 million, which means that the movie will struggle to make its money back.

Wow. Wes must feel like he's the Chevy Chase of horror directors right now.

Whatever you do, Wes, don't commit suicide. I mean, unless you really WANT to.

He could take up hooking for celebrities at the airport to make up his money, I guess .... Wes, have you ever tasted the salty c*m from another man's penis before ? If not, don't worry. ChezLounge aka Laint Ticker and Jake_ICrawledUpAndDiedUpSomeMan'sAss will give you pointers on how to swallow without looking or getting any going into your eye.
telur writes:
on October 10th, 2010 at 11:14:52 PM

"The Social Network" Takes First Again because David Fincher. If Breeeet Ratner or Uwe Boll nobody care
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 10th, 2010 at 11:15:34 PM

Che 4 Prez writes:
on October 10th, 2010 at 10:36:42 PM
the social ntework waz sooooo booooooooring its only about 2 legal things and i wanted 2 fall asleep and they actors talked 2 fast all there words ran 2gether

Chez for Pez aka Laint Ticker says,

" The Social Network was so boring (because I have the attention span of a tapeworm). It's only about two legal things and I wanted to fall asleep (Gee, blowing guys who stay overnight to ramrod you with rubber gloves lubed with KY must keep you up at night, you night owl you.) and the (not they. They talked would make sense, but when you start off with "and they actors", then you sound like a shock therapy patient and a schmuck.) actors talked too fast (Yep. They talked at the normal speed that the human brain takes to comprehend language. Hence, my accusation that you were doped up the time you watched it, sticky icky man.), so it seemed that all their (not there, numbnuts) words ran together (look who's calling the kettle black, you f*cking pot(head))."

For f*ck's sake, use your f*cking Spellcheck ... Corky.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 10th, 2010 at 11:17:22 PM

If it was Brett Ratner, people would be screaming, trying to tear their clothes off and their hair out, gnash their teeth and demand their money back.

If it was Uwe Boll, they would've just take cyanide and called it a day.
qwertyuiop22ful writes:
on October 10th, 2010 at 11:39:38 PM

Che 4 Prez writes:
on October 10th, 2010 at 10:36:42 PM
the social ntework waz sooooo booooooooring its only about 2 legal things and i wanted 2 fall asleep and they actors talked 2 fast all there words ran 2gether

This comes from a guy (or whatever) that writes "howribly rong, and eye h8 him"!!! So, don't listen to him... f*ckin' Che...
fadeddragon2469 writes:
on October 10th, 2010 at 11:42:08 PM

I am one of the unfortunate "souls" to take my ass to the movie theater to see that sh*tty ass movie. f*cking horrid. Pretty much scream for teens. And the worst part was I couldn't stop laughing throughout the entire movie. The final act was completely laughable with the serial killer jumping out and screaming "ha!" everytime he appeared. Horrible. f*cking horrible. Does anyone know how I can get my $24 back from them? Seriously. I want my f*cking money back.
qwertyuiop22ful writes:
on October 10th, 2010 at 11:44:09 PM

PS: "they actors talked 2 fast"?? So, in all the movies you've seen, they talk 2 miles per day?? I can only imagine the size of your brain... Or in your case, the size of the space where your brain should be.
qwertyuiop22ful writes:
on October 10th, 2010 at 11:45:49 PM

Oh, I'm sorry... Did I write too fast? I.............. am………… sorry……………… dou-Che!!
tmfaust writes:
on October 11th, 2010 at 12:01:55 AM

I wonder how they portrayed my family in secretariat... dont think its worth seeing to find out though.
Che 4 Prez writes:
on October 11th, 2010 at 12:32:00 AM

qwerty dont talk if u havent seen it
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on October 11th, 2010 at 12:38:59 AM

And here I wanted to see Freakanomics at the independant movie house.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on October 11th, 2010 at 12:57:03 AM

@Chez: You do know that "2" isn't a actual letter, it's a number? Just for future writings...

@Telur: Really think about what it is that you want to say, then write. Not other way around.


What really surprises me this week is that "Let me in" couldn't manage to stay in the top ten, but the godawful "Case 39" did. These horror remakes usually does good business, pulling its budget back despite being bad remakes. "Let me in" is, as I understand it, good. Don't understand the lack of audience.
Che 4 Prez writes:
on October 11th, 2010 at 12:57:46 AM

iz freakonmics that the lame antiobama doc
johnny_boy writes:
on October 11th, 2010 at 1:43:24 AM

@Che- love how you wrote on the Die Hard thread about it being republican propaganda, but you're a dumbass whos name is Che 4 Prez, a socialist *sshole and terrorist(not the sand monkey kind).
SquirrelFlyer writes:
on October 11th, 2010 at 2:25:13 AM

Che yet again you refuse to use the english language at an even moderately acceptable level. You probably need some pretty explosions and big loud noises to keep your attention and for something to be considered a good movie. If that was too fast ill say it in your language: YOU ARE STILL STUPID
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 11th, 2010 at 5:30:01 AM

well i gotta say, it does suck not having money, being out of a job, with no welfare or unemployment even, top it off with going on countless job interviews and still not having any luck...but at least i'm not wasting time or money watching the sh*tty line up of films today...if the social network is as good as people say it is, i'll give it a watch when someone else has it on dvd or blu ray and i don't have to pay a fraction of a penny to see it...btw, i was watching jackass 2.5 on mtv, when they went to commercial break, it showed the guys from the jersey shore telling people to watch jackass 3d when it comes out, and the situation said something like 'if you don't watch it, i got a situation you don't want be near'...after i heard that, i kind of threw up in my mouth a little bit and shat myself in disgust lol...but i do love stupid people, i mean, the world wouldn't be right if they weren't here for us to die laughing at their expense...maybe i should make up a slogan for a tshirt company that says, 'i got a situation...it's vibrating in my ass as you read this'...haven't been able to check out the website for a few days, and was looking at the previous articles...i had no idea other countries were starting their own version of the jersey shore lol...but it's like mr. garrison once said in pink eye episode of south park 'but that's ok eric, there are no stupid questions, just stupid people'...hope everybody else had fun this weekend, i got really drunk and was vomiting from it this morning but it was all worth it :D
qwertyuiop22ful writes:
on October 11th, 2010 at 7:18:24 AM

Where on Earth did I write I haven't seen it?? God, you're very stupid!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 11th, 2010 at 7:25:20 AM

Che 4 Prez writes:
on October 11th, 2010 at 12:57:46 AM
iz freakonmics that the lame antiobama doc

Time once again for that favorite of yours and mind :

" Let's ... Translate ... ChezLounge!!!!! "

Laint Ticker writes :

" Is Freaknomics (the book and the movie) that lame Anti-Obama doc*mentary (Doc is the abbreviated form of doctor. But of course, ChezLounge For Pez would already know that.) ? "

The book is a collection of economic articles written by Levitt, an expert who has already gained a reputation for applying economic theory to diverse subjects not usually covered by "traditional" economists; he does, however, accept the standard neoclassical microeconomic model of rational utility-maximization. In Freakonomics, Levitt and Dubner argue that economics is, at root, the study of incentives. The book's topics include:
Chapter 1: Discovering cheating as applied to teachers and sumo wrestlers (See below)
Chapter 2: Information control as applied to the Ku Klux Klan and real-estate agents
Chapter 3: The economics of drug dealing, including the surprisingly low earnings and abject working conditions of crack cocaine dealers
Chapter 4: The controversial role legalized abortion may have played in reducing crime. (Levitt explored this topic in an earlier paper entitled "The Impact of Legalized Abortion on Crime.")
Chapter 5: The negligible effects of good parenting on education
Chapter 6: The socioeconomic patterns of naming children
One example of the authors' use of economic theory involves demonstrating the existence of cheating among sumo wrestlers. In a sumo tournament, all wrestlers in the top division compete in 15 matches and face demotion if they do not win at least eight of them. The sumo community is very close-knit, and the wrestlers at the top levels tend to know each other well. The authors looked at the final match, and considered the case of a wrestler with seven wins, seven losses, and one fight to go, fighting against an 8-6 wrestler. Statistically, the 7-7 wrestler should have a slightly below even chance, since the 8-6 wrestler is slightly better. However, the 7-7 wrestler actually wins around 80% of the time. Levitt uses this statistic and other data gleaned from sumo wrestling matches, along with the effect that allegations of corruption have on match results, to conclude that those who already have 8 wins collude with those who are 7-7 and let them win, since they have already secured their position for the following tournament.
The authors attempt to demonstrate the power of data mining. Many of their results emerge from Levitt's analysis of various databases, and asking the right questions. Authors posit that various incentives encourage teachers to cheat by assisting their students with multiple-choice high-stakes tests. Such cheating in the Chicago school system is inferred from detailed analysis of students' answers to multiple choice questions. But first Levitt asks, "What would the pattern of answers look like if the teacher cheated?" The simple answer: difficult questions at the end of a section will be more correct than easy ones at the beginning.


In Chapter 2 of Freakonomics, the authors wrote of their visit to folklorist Stetson Kennedy's Florida home where the topic of Kennedy's investigations of the Ku Klux Klan were discussed. However, in their January 8, 2006 column in the New York Times Magazine, Dubner and Levitt wrote of questions about Stetson Kennedy's research ("Hoodwinked" pp 26-28) leading to the conclusion that Kennedy's research was at times embellished for effectiveness.
In the "Revised and Expanded Edition" this embellishment was noted and corrected: "Several months after Freakonomics was first published, it was brought to our attention that this man's portrayal of his crusade, and various other Klan matters, was considerably overstated....we felt it was important to set straight the historical record."[3]


Freakonomics commented on the effects of an abortion ban in Romania, stating "Compared to Romanian children born just a year earlier, the cohort of children born after the abortion ban would do worse in every measurable way: they would test lower in school, they would have less success in the labor market, and they would also prove much more likely to become criminals. (p. 118)". The paper Freakonomics cites states, according to University of Michigan professor John DiNardo, "virtually the opposite of what is actually claimed"; quote "On average, children born in 1967 just after abortions became illegal display better educational and labor market achievements than children born just prior to the change. This outcome can be explained by a change in the composition of women having children: urban, educated women were more likely to have abortions prior to the policy change, so a higher proportion of children were born into urban, educated households. (Pop-Eleches, 2002, p.34)".[4] However, on the Freakonomics Blog, Levitt states that Freakonomics and Pop-Eleches "are saying the same thing," quoting:
"Here is the abstract of the version of the Pop-Eleches paper that we cited:
'…controlling for composition using observable background variables, children born after the ban on abortions had worse educational and labor market achievements as adults. Additionally, I provide evidence of crowding in the school system and some suggestive evidence that cohorts born after the introduction of the abortion ban had higher infant mortality and increased criminal behavior later in life.'
The introduction of the Pop-Eleches paper says:
This finding is consistent with the view that children who were unwanted during pregnancy had worse socio-economic outcomes once they became adults.
Freakonomics claimed that it was possible to "tease" out the effect of extra police on crime by analysing electoral cycles. The evidence behind these claims was shown to be due partly to a programming error. McCrary stated "While municipal police force size does appear to vary over state and local electoral cycles ... elections do not induce enough variation in police hiring to generate informative estimates of the effect of police on crime."

Freakonomics peaked at number two among nonfiction on The New York Times Best Seller list and was named the 2006 Book Sense Book of the Year in the Adult Nonfiction category. The book received positive reviews from critics. The review aggregator Metacritic reported the book had an average score of 67 out of 100, based on 16 reviews.[5]

The success of the book has been partly attributed to the blogosphere. In the campaign prior to the release of the book in April 2005, the publisher (William Morrow and Company) chose to target bloggers in an unusually strategical way, sending galley copies to over a hundred of them, as well as contracting two specialized word of mouth (buzz marketing) agencies.[1]
In 2006, the Revised and Expanded Edition of the book was published, with the most significant corrections in the second chapter (see above).[6]
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 11th, 2010 at 7:26:33 AM

^ Next week, ChezLounge will show us how he is able to tell his left shoe from his right shoe.
FBO writes:
on October 11th, 2010 at 1:06:53 PM

^^^ and we'll show you, sorry, u, where your head stops and your ass begins
FBO writes:
on October 11th, 2010 at 2:13:15 PM

that is, unless Max kicks your ass first
FBO writes:
on October 11th, 2010 at 2:13:30 PM

that is, unless Max kicks your ass first
HudakOnHollywood writes:
on October 11th, 2010 at 3:35:31 PM

Is My Soul to Take worth $10? http://bit.ly/9Jp60J
fadeddragon2469 writes:
on October 11th, 2010 at 9:27:56 PM

Hudak- Why couldn't you have posted it before i saw the dog forsaken movie??? I wish I only payed $10 but my retarded ass spent $12 for me and a friend to see it. Damn movie ain't even worth watching if your getting paid for it.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 11th, 2010 at 9:49:51 PM

FBO writes:
on October 11th, 2010 at 2:13:30 PM
that is, unless Max kicks your ass first

@FBO

Thanks for the encouragement *smile*

It's like punching the fetus of the Virgin Mary ....

satisfying.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved