WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Director Says Jason Bourne is NOT in "Bourne Legacy"

Posted: October 9th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Director Says Jason Bourne is NOT in "Bourne Legacy"Submit Comment
About a week ago, Universal Pictures announced the hiring of Tony Gilroy (Michael Clayton, Duplicity) to direct the fourth installment in the Jason Bourne franchise, called "Bourne Legacy." At the time it was unclear whether Matt Damon would return, but Gilroy has now got in touch with Hollywood-Elsewhere to explain everything.

"It's a completely original screenplay," Gilroy explained. "This is not a reboot or a recast or a prequel. No one's replacing Matt Damon. There will be a whole new hero, a whole new chapter. This is a stand-alone project."

He continued: "The easiest way to think of it is an expansion or a reveal. Jason Bourne will not be in this film, but he's very much alive. What happened in the first three films is the trigger for what happens. I'm building a legend and an environment and a wider conspiracy. The world we're making enhances and advances and invites Jason Bourne's return [down the road]."

"Everything you saw in the first three films actually happened, and everyone who got into will be rewarded for paying attention. We're going to show you the bigger picture, the bigger canvas. When you see what we're going and see what we're doing it'll be pretty obvious, but Jason Bourne's activities in the first three films is the immediate trigger."

Source: Hollywood-Elsewhere


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on October 9th, 2010 at 10:59:14 PM

Making a Bourne film....without Bourne! makes no sense what so ever!!!!

Unless in teh book, Bourne is only mentioned?

Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 9th, 2010 at 11:13:01 PM

Director Says Jason Bourne is NOT in "Bourne Legacy"

*blinks in a quandry* Then it wouldn't be the BOURNE LEGACY, WOULD IT ? YOU f*ckING DIPsh*tS ....
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 9th, 2010 at 11:14:45 PM

He continued: "The easiest way to think of it is an expansion or a reveal. Jason Bourne will not be in this film, but he's very much alive. What happened in the first three films is the trigger for what happens. I'm building a legend and an environment and a wider conspiracy. The world we're making enhances and advances and invites Jason Bourne's return [down the road]."


Translation : We can't get Matt Damon to sign the contract to secure the deal, since right now he is in production on Clint Eastwood's movie about the afterlife.

How about 'dem apples ?
Gomez writes:
on October 9th, 2010 at 11:14:51 PM

-The world we're making enhances and advances and invites Jason Bourne's return [down the road].

So what, is he like jigsaw?


Barney Stinson writes:
on October 9th, 2010 at 11:15:11 PM

@Skippy - Completely agree. If Bourne is not even in the movie, change the f*cking name. They're only using "The Bourne Legacy" to draw unsuspecting viewers in.

As for the book, I haven't read it but Bourne is the main character. I don't plan on reading it though as it was not written by Ludlum and I've heard it's crap.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 9th, 2010 at 11:16:12 PM

Well. At least no SHAKY-CAM.

With all that shaking, didn't know if I was watching a movie or the old David Letterman show on NBC, when they ran the cam through the audience, while he was throwing pencils to crashing windows sound effects.
Gomez writes:
on October 9th, 2010 at 11:22:14 PM

@Barney Ur right they should totally change the name....I got it, this is genius

Wait for it...

The PORN legacy

completely redirect the franchise, its going to be epic
CCBlev writes:
on October 9th, 2010 at 11:26:08 PM

Ok so all that turds rambling on above was all hype, this is gonna bomb harder than Jake_sh*thead bombing his S.A.T's
masht7 writes:
on October 10th, 2010 at 1:51:56 AM

This makes no f*cking sense what so ever. Bourne without Bourne is the most stupidest thing I heard since Schumacher put tits on Batman.
trailertrash writes:
on October 10th, 2010 at 2:43:47 AM

Universal will then be making the next james bond movie without James Bond.

Their PR guy has stated this could become a new trend in Hollywood.
Rambo writes:
on October 10th, 2010 at 3:48:57 AM

whats next?superman reboot without superman?
trailertrash writes:
on October 10th, 2010 at 4:02:46 AM

Yep , have you not heard ...
anaheimducks writes:
on October 10th, 2010 at 4:27:57 AM

Hope matt comes back for the 4th movie.
Devil writes:
on October 10th, 2010 at 5:02:05 AM

I don't think we need another Bourne movie. I mean Bourne Legacy is not even written by Robert Ludlum. I'm happy with the movie trilogy and it should be left alone for awhile so I will say a no to this.
KalVicious writes:
on October 10th, 2010 at 5:36:53 AM

As long as the title changes, I'm good with this. They could combine heroes later.
darkraven28 writes:
on October 10th, 2010 at 7:12:40 AM

Well, Matt's at least got to have a cameo if they're OMINOUSLY BUILDING A LEGEND. I guess i can try to not laugh about that when the film actually arrives. Hmmm. What will his cameo entail? He can't forget his bloody car keys or somefin.
SACdaddy writes:
on October 10th, 2010 at 8:35:42 AM

LOL, as long as they bring back the shaky cam I'll be happy :)

I'm guessing this guy never saw Halloween 3: Season of the Witches
telur writes:
on October 10th, 2010 at 9:23:49 AM

yeah whatever, just bring back doug liman because i hate shaky camera
Sinestro writes:
on October 10th, 2010 at 9:50:13 AM

Works for me. At least it's not a reboot or a forced sequel with the main character being played by someone else. There were lots of Treadstone agents, so why not focus on another one? Damon could always make a comeback appearance, like it's hinted at, in the sequels, if the movie is successful. If it's not, then at least they don't have to f*ck up the first three in the process.
otis writes:
on October 10th, 2010 at 10:15:57 AM

"Everything you saw in the first three films actually happened, and everyone who got into will be rewarded for paying attention. We're going to show you the bigger picture, the bigger canvas. When you see what we're going and see what we're doing it'll be pretty obvious, but Jason Bourne's activities in the first three films is the immediate trigger."

I'm sorry, but I have to be grammar police here. Either the source posted typos in this interview, or this guy interviews like Michael Vick.
Crazyhorse writes:
on October 10th, 2010 at 10:54:11 AM

Put Christian Bale, or Jason Stathum in it and you might have my attention

Oh and put Selma Hayek, or Scarllet Johanson as the replacement for Julia Stiles

Then I will definitley be all in
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on October 10th, 2010 at 12:37:07 PM

This sounds interesting. As Sinestro said, there were many Treadstone/Blackbriar agents out there, and a lot of possible stories to be told that don't need to focus directly on Bourne. And if that's the path the movie is taking, then the title "Bourne Legacy" makes absolute sense, since it will be focusing on the repercussions of Bourne's actions in the first 3 films. And paving the way for Bourne to possibly return could be cool.

Anyway, who they bring in to star in the film, and how the trailer looks, will be the deciding factors for me to see this.
minkowski writes:
on October 10th, 2010 at 5:53:04 PM

Because I could connect with the plight and emotional distress of Damon's character, I enjoyed all three films, though the first was, for me, far superior, especially given the ambiance of the set locations and the general love-oriented tone of the story.

In fact, Damon's character made the film, a man without a memory, rediscovering who he is and recreating him anew, while fighting off hordes of dark agents and exploring his capacity to love another human, rather than killing them, an aspect likely missing from his days as assassin Bourne.

To not have Damon come back means we will have a big budget films where the title character does NOT appear. It is in fact a lame spin-off then, and NOT a Bourne film.

To me, this sounds like nothing short of a vulgar attempt to cash in on the franchise name without having the main character, the central pillar of the first three films, return. Matt signed off on Bourne, I think, but the studios said, screw that, we'll make this film without him, just to make some money out of the wallets of those too ignorant to know better.

And watch the trailers for this film when they arrive. They'll use footage of the previous three films in a dishonest attempt to mislead the viewers.
Aaron writes:
on October 10th, 2010 at 6:05:58 PM

The subject of the title is Jason Bourne's legacy. Which the movie as apparently about.

What's the problem?

(I agree with Mink about the first film entirely.)

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved