WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

DC Comics Insults Marvel, Says No to "Justice League" Movie

Posted: October 8th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
DC Comics Insults Marvel, Says No to "Justice League" MovieSubmit Comment
Speaking at the New York Comic-Con, DC Comics' chief creative officer Geoff Johns confirmed that Warner Bros and DC Comics are not planning to bring their superheroes together for a "Justice League of America" movie.

"I'm going to speak frankly: I think our characters are bigger than Marvel's," he said, adding that he would rather spend time building on each character rather than "smashing them together."

We've already heard rumors that a "Justice League of America" movie may never happen, but that may be because Christopher Nolan has previously shared his opinion that Superman and Batman can't exist in the same world.

Source: /Film


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 52 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
jgrantt18 writes:
on October 8th, 2010 at 9:11:23 PM

DC's been making strides lately. They've been signing bigger talent and they did a great job in cutting their cost across all books (while Marvel went with the superficial route by only making some of them cheaper). And yeah, DC has had development problems with some movies but with WW coming to TV, Green Lantern out next year, Batman 3 gearing up in April and Snyder starting preproduction on Superman, it sounds like DC is making the right push.

Meanwhile it looks more and more like Thor will be good but Cap'n America looks like a disaster and a half. And am I the only thinking that the Avengers might have too much in the way of characters, as well as a director that can't bring in audiences?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 8th, 2010 at 9:37:17 PM

f*cking called it.

Thanks for confirming this mind-numbingly obvious decision by DC! I knew they weren't retarded enough to do this shlockfest idea!
popcorn writes:
on October 8th, 2010 at 9:39:13 PM

now thats the way you kick someone in the balls
johnny_boy writes:
on October 8th, 2010 at 9:41:27 PM

Oh no he didn't! (snapping fingers)
Cr0wnd212 writes:
on October 8th, 2010 at 9:47:51 PM

They are right. DC superheroes are bigger and better than Marvels heroes.
Rambo writes:
on October 8th, 2010 at 10:03:42 PM

yeah,i always liked more dc superheroes
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 8th, 2010 at 10:04:11 PM

"I'm going to speak frankly: I think our characters are bigger than Marvel's," he said, adding that he would rather spend time building on each character rather than "smashing them together."


Way to bitchslap Joe Quesada and Stan 'Stale Man' Lee, along with Wolverine : Original Gangster; Daredeviled Eggs; Blade : Trinity's A Crowd; Ghost Ruster; X-Men 3 : Brett Ratner's Gaping Vagina; SpicaMan 3 : Eric Parodies Zach; Hulk 'O sh*t ...., DC!

If Avengers goes down in flames (which quite honestly, its waaaaaay to early to tell) ... then staying away from doing a Justice League movie (live action) is again smart Warner Brothers taking again smart moves (and you can't think in the back of your mind that Marvel isn't living off Walt Disney money, which is tainted from the time of Walt Disney, but be careful to tread lightly in that area, because Disney can afford assassins ..., so it's very possible that Frank Castle will go to DisneyLand or Young Wolvie will wind up on the Disney Family channel, opening the slot for Your So Raven! ... I mean Disney is the new Mafia) ...

But then again you have Zack Snyder doing the next Superman movie ...

Damn. I would love for someone to steal those 8-sided dice they keep rolling to make their decisions ...
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 8th, 2010 at 10:05:54 PM

f*ck Marvel with a gigantic dildo made of Kryptonite.
Ted Mosby writes:
on October 8th, 2010 at 10:10:41 PM

I'm glad DC isn't rushing to "compete" with Marvel's Avengers... and not selling out a franchise... its called character development and not pumping out movie after movie for a final project... Avengers seems kind of rushed but i dunno we'll have to wait and see obviously
Ted Mosby writes:
on October 8th, 2010 at 10:23:25 PM

also...
Geoff Johns is a LEGEND
Detrimental writes:
on October 8th, 2010 at 10:34:11 PM

Batman > All (or Iron Man for syntax)
Superman > Thor/Hulk/Captain America
Green Lantern > Dr. Strange
Wonder Woman > ...Wait. Women aren't superheros.
[Footnote: "superpersons" is not politically correct]
Marvel can have this:
Spider-man BARELY > Flash (Highly debatable, I've seen some badass Flash'ness and disagree with this statement of his lesser support, but I'm fair to general public)
Detrimental writes:
on October 8th, 2010 at 10:35:21 PM

So it's ok DC. We'll make it through this. Thank you for having balls.
boogiel writes:
on October 8th, 2010 at 10:43:46 PM

"Christopher Nolan has previously shared his opinion that Superman and Batman can't exist in the same world."

I Completely disagree. They can exist in the same world but not in the same movie ( Well, Nolan's movie, at least)


Detrimental writes:
on October 8th, 2010 at 10:48:18 PM

@Max Rockatansky Junior

"so it's very possible that Frank Castle will go to DisneyLand or Young Wolvie will wind up on the Disney Family channel, opening the slot for Your So Raven! ... I mean Disney is the new Mafia) ..."

It's "That's So Raven." Hurry & repent before Disney's Brotherhood & SHIELD Projects come after you.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 8th, 2010 at 11:04:41 PM

Detrimental writes:
on October 8th, 2010 at 10:48:18 PM

@Max Rockatansky Junior

"so it's very possible that Frank Castle will go to DisneyLand or Young Wolvie will wind up on the Disney Family channel, opening the slot for Your So Raven! ... I mean Disney is the new Mafia) ..."

It's "That's So Raven." Hurry & repent before Disney's Brotherhood & SHIELD Projects come after you.


@Detrimental

Sorry for the incorrect title. Not like I really give a sh*t about this show. Wasn't that girl/tween/woman a Cosby Kid ? If so, why hasn't she f*cked around men and taken some drugs by now ? f*ck, she looks like a bit like a young chubby, black Ricki Lake circa Cry Baby.

f*ck Disney. I don't have any young fetus to fillet, remove the skull, spine and humerus from and then consume their pre-infant flesh and organs, so I would fail as a Disney acolyte. So as far as Mickey and his coven is concerned, I'm f*cking Richard Dawkins.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 8th, 2010 at 11:06:21 PM

I clearly expected an animated Stan " The Whore That Just Won't Leave " Lee to show up unexpected and unexplained in their Rapunzel movie they have coming out soon.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 8th, 2010 at 11:08:09 PM

Stan must be under contract to lick and suck the taint of Joe Quesada .... daily.

Then he has to drink Joe's "creative ink" coming out of Joe's c*ck into Joe's coffee mug, mixed in with office coffee ... Stan's own " Cup Of Joe ".

'Nuff said, hunh Stan ?
rabid writes:
on October 8th, 2010 at 11:36:59 PM

The truth is that the origin and history of the JLA isn't nearly as memorable and eciting as that of the Avengers. I'm a huge Justice League fan, but even I would not want to see their classic origin told on the big screen. Their characters are all so iconic and others so forgettable, it would take some serious thought to put them all in a film together.

It's only a matter of time before it happens, but they'll play coy until they can figure it out. It's a shame they don't want to use the Smallville universe as a start. Smallville has done half their storytelling for them already.
Matiax writes:
on October 8th, 2010 at 11:39:39 PM

"I'm going to speak frankly: I think our characters are bigger than Marvel's,"

Well, duh. Of course he can say that, having the two superheroes that started it all (Superman/Batman) but "rather spend time building on each character rather than "smashing them together."

Batman and Superman had enough of "Character development", Green Lantern is just starting and Wonder Woman and Flash have been in development like, forever. Marvel isn't smashing characters together out of nowhere. Each one will have their own movie first.

@Max: Why all the hate against old Stan?
SaulSilver writes:
on October 9th, 2010 at 12:11:20 AM

This is total Bullsh*t. DC is just saying this because Batman is so far ahead of all thier other properties, not DC bigger than Marvel. If Nolan's Batman wasn't so awesome, it'd be easy for them to do a JL movie.
CCBlev writes:
on October 9th, 2010 at 12:24:28 AM

Well I guess I dont need to look for a JL movie now.
rabid writes:
on October 9th, 2010 at 12:32:41 AM

They have to play through Nolan's vision to the end, and that means a solo Batman. And Superman's screen future is still up in the air. They know a Justice League movie can't work without them.
It'll be a different story a few years from now when a new director takes on Batman and all the Super-suits are settled.
Zebastian von Kane writes:
on October 9th, 2010 at 1:28:19 AM

Hoping not to be misunderstood, but putting together all those extraterrestrial superheroes wouldn't make any sense. It would be ridiculous.

So it is indeed a clever turn for DC in the right direction.
HOCK writes:
on October 9th, 2010 at 2:25:27 AM

Cop out. I admit that Batman is my favorite comic book character to read, but they could totally put Batman and Supes in the same movie. Honestly if you think about it Superman makes at least a cameo in almost every major Batman story. As much as a great director Chris is, he hasn't captured the persona and drama of Batman from the comics at all.
JohnZee writes:
on October 9th, 2010 at 2:35:56 AM

Okay first of all. Though it may be true that the whole Appelexian JLA origin story smacks of too damn much Silver Age hokey alien crap. But there's been so many different versions of the initial team up of the group that would be called the JLA that any possible film could pretty much have their pick of a ton of cinematic stories...

...For instance the pre-Magnificent Seven MidSummers Night Dream, or even the initial Morrison White Martian HyperClan story...

...Sorry but an average White Martian can give Superman a good fight...

...Now compare that to how many Skrulls Thor can swat to death with his half limp penis.

And to emphasis my point even more. The Avengers movie isn't even going with the original Avengers origin where Loki manipulates Hulk and the team assembles to handle a smashing crashing Loki influenced Hulk...

...Nope just the Skrulls.

...As in how many Skrulls can Thor swat to death with his half limp penis.

Anung_un_rama writes:
on October 9th, 2010 at 2:37:37 AM

f*ck off you DC wanker all you got is Batman thus far. how does your foot tastes like cause with your chances of finding out is high *sshole.
Devil writes:
on October 9th, 2010 at 2:38:18 AM

I disagree with Johns.

As far as comparing quality of Movies, Iím a fan of both Marvel and DC but right now I REALLY think Marvel is overall doing it right, and by Marvel I mean Marvel Studios. I am not throwing in the stuff done by Fox and Sony in there cause good or bad, Marvel did not have the control on those movies (all Spider-mans, X-men, Fantastic Four, Daredevil, etc) as they do with the ones under the Marvel Studios banner.

You wanna judge Marvel Movies from Marvel Studios, you have a pretty short list, but I will still take that over 75% of the stuff DC has out there. Why you ask? Because DC/Warners has had control over their stuff for the git-go, and they have only a(relative) handful of successes. Just look at the list of DC/Warner movies that have come out in my lifetimeÖ(I may have missed a couple)

Superman
Superman II
Superman III
Superman IV: The Quest for Peace
Supergirl
Swamp Thing
The Return of Swamp Thing
Batman
Batman Returns
Batman Forever
Batman & Robin
Steel
Catwoman
Batman Begins
The Dark Knight
Superman Returns
Watchmen
The Losers
Jonah Hex

Only six or seven of those I would consider really good or even passable, definitely not "quality over quantity". All of these were done on DC/Warners watch, so that although the good ones are 100% theirs, it also means means all of the crappy ones (a big chunk of the majority) are 100% their fault.

Ironman 2 gets some grief on this site, but its miles over the majority of what DC has put out. Of course Marvel Studios has only put out 3 movies so far, but from their start, they show they have a plan, maybe a few hiccups, but they have a plan. DC does not. Focusing on one character is nothing new, Hell, its what they have been doing from the start, and 75% of the time it sucks.

I will be one of the first people to see the new Green Lantern movie (I LOVE the character, and Iím a huge Hal Jordan fanboy), so again, I donít hate DC. But people who point to the Dark Knight and Batman Begins have a VERY short memory as basically, those flicks are two shiny great examples on top of a huge ass manure pile.

So to sum it up, yeah, I think they were stupid to NOT consider a JLA movie, but then Iím not surprised, they ALMOST didnít make the JL toon (you know, the one from Bruce Timm, which is the super-toon others are compared to) and when you look back and read things of how close that didnít happen, you see how something SO GREAT almost passed us by.

IMO, its happening again, this time with movies.
gunner writes:
on October 9th, 2010 at 2:57:02 AM

what a deuche lmfao ... BIGGER than Marvel? please X-Men alone has more characters that can hold their own then the entire DCU. And Batman is the only reason these DC f*cks are feeling so f*cking mighty nowadays days. If it wasn't for Nolan WB won't even consider taking your sh*tbag of "Characters" after the last HP. As soon as the last batman movie drops DC will go back to rock bottom. oh and btw marvel never had gay nipples suits? so GTFO!!
Ranger writes:
on October 9th, 2010 at 3:03:10 AM

I want to sniff Wonder Woman's panties!

Dark writes:
on October 9th, 2010 at 3:08:50 AM

What a bunch crap......I can't believe the BS coming out of this dudes mouth, "our characters are bigger than MARVELS"...are you f'n kidding me?!!!....Marvel Studios turned Iron Man into a household name with just one movie!....One movie!!!....and they did it on their terms w/o some big movie studio (FOX/SONY) putting their two cents in and messing things up. Instead of branching out and giving us movies on their other characters, DC/WB has just recycled Batman/Superman movies over the past 25-30 years now!....We're FINALLY getting a Green Lantern movie next year and I'm almost positive that's because of MARVEL's success with Iron Man. The truth is, DC are just waiting to see how much of a success The Avengers is before risking making their own version of it. In fact, Warner Bros are a pretty lousy studio when you think about it. They only greenlighted movies like Green Lantern and Flash because they need new ways to make money now that the Harry Potter franchise is almost over and they're rushing out The Man of Steel because of that argument over who owns the rights! thank God for Marvel! At least they're happy to make money AND keep us fans happy.
alpha writes:
on October 9th, 2010 at 4:01:27 AM

Batman , thats it . Thats all u have at DC ... and it took 7 films to get it right .
Marvel rules !!!!!
rocketman writes:
on October 9th, 2010 at 4:01:56 AM

Both are GAY,2000AD FTW! Yeah i said it America.
trailertrash writes:
on October 9th, 2010 at 4:44:58 AM

Sure does ...
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 9th, 2010 at 4:46:37 AM

Looks like he's playing it safe till they have a good storyline or concept to film.
johnny_boy writes:
on October 9th, 2010 at 5:15:23 AM

@Devil-well said, bro.
johnny_boy writes:
on October 9th, 2010 at 5:22:03 AM

@Dark-well said as well.

You guys are writing too much to catch up. Good points both sides.
bradjo72 writes:
on October 9th, 2010 at 5:46:51 AM

Im loving the animated movies they put out so much better than marvel slow and stedy wins the race i think marvel are in a hurry to get stuff out cause there head writer Stan Lee is 83 now
WonDerBanGeR writes:
on October 9th, 2010 at 6:41:56 AM

viva dc!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 9th, 2010 at 7:42:15 AM

Devil writes:
on October 9th, 2010 at 2:38:18 AM

I disagree with Johns.

As far as comparing quality of Movies, Iím a fan of both Marvel and DC but right now I REALLY think Marvel is overall doing it right, and by Marvel I mean Marvel Studios. I am not throwing in the stuff done by Fox and Sony in there cause good or bad, Marvel did not have the control on those movies (all Spider-mans, X-men, Fantastic Four, Daredevil, etc) as they do with the ones under the Marvel Studios banner.

You wanna judge Marvel Movies from Marvel Studios, you have a pretty short list, but I will still take that over 75% of the stuff DC has out there. Why you ask? Because DC/Warners has had control over their stuff for the git-go, and they have only a(relative) handful of successes. Just look at the list of DC/Warner movies that have come out in my lifetimeÖ(I may have missed a couple)

Superman
Superman II
Superman III
Superman IV: The Quest for Peace
Supergirl
Swamp Thing
The Return of Swamp Thing
Batman
Batman Returns
Batman Forever
Batman & Robin
Steel
Catwoman
Batman Begins
The Dark Knight
Superman Returns
Watchmen
The Losers
Jonah Hex

Only six or seven of those I would consider really good or even passable, definitely not "quality over quantity". All of these were done on DC/Warners watch, so that although the good ones are 100% theirs, it also means means all of the crappy ones (a big chunk of the majority) are 100% their fault.

Ironman 2 gets some grief on this site, but its miles over the majority of what DC has put out. Of course Marvel Studios has only put out 3 movies so far, but from their start, they show they have a plan, maybe a few hiccups, but they have a plan. DC does not. Focusing on one character is nothing new, Hell, its what they have been doing from the start, and 75% of the time it sucks.

I will be one of the first people to see the new Green Lantern movie (I LOVE the character, and Iím a huge Hal Jordan fanboy), so again, I donít hate DC. But people who point to the Dark Knight and Batman Begins have a VERY short memory as basically, those flicks are two shiny great examples on top of a huge ass manure pile.

So to sum it up, yeah, I think they were stupid to NOT consider a JLA movie, but then Iím not surprised, they ALMOST didnít make the JL toon (you know, the one from Bruce Timm, which is the super-toon others are compared to) and when you look back and read things of how close that didnít happen, you see how something SO GREAT almost passed us by.

IMO, its happening again, this time with movies.


@Devil


Swamp Thing
(Return Of) Swamp Thing
Watchmen
V for Vendetta
From Hell
Constantine
SACdaddy writes:
on October 9th, 2010 at 9:55:24 AM

I don't think DC's characters are bigger or better, I just think DC has always made strides to make their characters darker and more realistic when they hit the big screen. Even going back to Reeve's original Supes film, they added a touch of realism to the character and the narrative by going a little dark. Lois Lane's death scene in that film was guttwrenching to say the least, but it gave us a brief but extremely intimate look at Superman (a larger than life character) at his most vulnerable and most human. The second film goes even further to humanize the character through his desires to sacrifice all his power to be with the woman he loves and lead a normal life. sh*t, they even had sex in that film! In comparison, nobody even f*cks in the Marvel Universe. They never capitlize on the character's vice or malice. Their idea of humanizing a character on the big screen is turning Wolverine into a huge crybaby! They've had great opportunities with characters like Bruce Banner, Wolverine, Frank Castle, and Tony Stark to give them more dramatic range by paying just a little more attention to character development and personal conflict. But in the long run the great minds at Marvel studios instead oppted to dumb down their product with more generic CGI action, cartoonish violence, and comic relief than their rivals at DC. Iron Man and Hulk are perfect examples of this problem. Where's Tony's massive drinking problem, where's Banner desire to help others but himself? sh*t, what the f*ck happened to Ed Norton's screentime?!?! Christopher Nolan's TDK and Synder's Watchmen have only served to widen the gap between a much darker DC and the more kid friendly Marvel. Nolan's made Batman almost so realistic that there is no room for superpowered villains and flying heroes in his world. While this may limit the talent pool of bad guys for Batman to fight, it has also opened the door for audiences to connect and identify with the character better. My favorite scene in TDK comes after Rachel get blown away when Batman is sitting maskless staring at a window. He's completely detroyed not only by the loss of his true love/life long friend but also by the loss of any chance of he may have had to lead a normal life while Dent protected the Gotham. Worst of all he finally realizes that his vigilante actions may have actually caused all of this loss and turmoil. That's just drama and character insight you don't get from a Marvel film! Marvel's lack of character scope actually leaves them more room for a big ensemble film like The Avengers that's heavy on action and CGI but light on heart or depth. That sh*t just won't cut it in the DCU. Its a great decision for DC to scrap the Justice League project. Apparently someone is still using their brain at that company and not just thinking with their wallets.
SACdaddy writes:
on October 9th, 2010 at 10:01:37 AM

Where's Bunny to settle this debate?
trailertrash writes:
on October 9th, 2010 at 5:06:31 PM

SAC- Nice post BTW
Golpe de Estado writes:
on October 9th, 2010 at 7:21:49 PM

Always liked DC better as well.

My Favorite Comic Book Movies are as follows? (excluding Sin City and 300)

1. Watchmen

2. The Dark Knight

3. Batman Begins

4. V for Vendetta

5. Iron Man (Second one about ruined it tho)


I actually enjoyed The Losers as well, some of the acting was over the top but I like Chris Evans and Idris Alba.

Looking forward to seeing RED (DC) as well. I having a feeling it will be similar to The Losers on the cheese factor, but thats what they want.
Golpe de Estado writes:
on October 9th, 2010 at 7:24:08 PM

Not to say DC hasn't produced some sh*tty movies, Superman Returns was god Awful and we all remember the old Batman Movies (Batman 1 was good, all others sucked)

Generally though, there characters are deeper. Watchmen is f*cking epic, and Batman is probably the single greatest superhero of all time if handled correctly. (Which as of now he is)
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 9th, 2010 at 7:41:18 PM

@SACdaddy

In regards to scope, DC's characters are the Yankees and Marvel's characters are the Mets, to use a baseball metaphor. You are correct in stating that DC's characters, on a whole, have gone through more darker plots (drug use; homicide; masochism; sadism) more grounded to human nature than Marvel (with the exception of Uncle Ben's death; Tony's alcholism; Steven Strange's car crash; Gwen Stacy's death; the death of Rick Jones; the US Agent's murder of his enemies, while wearing Captain America's costume), therefore when going back to the big screen, the goal is to keep the source material close to the idea and theme of the movie, albeit that screenwriters (and treatment writers who are hired to reedit the original treatment) will tweak a script to fit a modern-day audience, while also trying to target audiences who not may be avid collectors of said source material.

In Superman (Reeves), it would be correct to say, 'Then Superman wept'. Hell, Superman worked to physically turn the Earth counter-clockwise to reverse time (which didn't quite make sense, only because to reverse time, he would also have to reverse orbit. But that is neither here nor there.). In the second one, you are also spot on, as Superman fought against Kryptonian general Zod and his co-horts, the hottie and the Jaws-lookalike.

Marvel's main problem with their films is that the stories that are the best known are also the most dated. True, DC has been known to 'update' their source material multiple times (which goes to the Crisis on Infinite Earths, where they attempted at least once to tie up all their loose ends ... done again in 52 and even moreso in Blackest Night, where they tried to update obscure characters that for some reason never quite took off or clear out acquisitions or make sense of them (ex : Booster Gold or Blue Beetle; WildCats) But Marvel turned Nick Fury into Samuel L Jackson and completely clustef*cked some stories (Wolverine in Afghanistan, rather than Vietman; Captain American getting assassinated, having Bucky becoming the new Captain, but then bringing Steve Rogers back; the Clones of Spiderman; the Red Hulk; World War Hulk), which turned the continuity bass-ackwards. Marvel doesn't give two sh*ts for character development, they just want to turn a fast buck ... hence the Punisher : War Zone, which could have been shown on a public access network ... for laughs.

Nolan took Batman from Schumacher's 60's television shows goof * When you get voted as the worst superhero film ever made, then step away from the character * with Arnold dressed as a giant glass vibrator, Uma balancing a two-story high beehive, Batskates, nipples on the Bat (& Robin) suits and Robin fighting the dancers from Fame in glow-makeup, then you've f*cked up bad. Nolan brought Bruce Wayne back to his roots. If you look back in the 70's, in Detective Stories, Batman did have the suit, but his stories were more like detective/mystery novels, like Donald Westlake, Mickey Spillane or Raymond Chandler used to write, if they did supehero stories.

In the Dark Knight, by having Batman lose at the end, then be on the run makes so much sense, upon really understanding the person. Batman never won all the time. If he did, then the reader would lose interest. Case in Point : The Killing Joke. If you really think about it, Batman lost big time. Think about it ... Jason Todd chose to be with Batman. He could've walked away or Bruce could've avoided him. But as soon as Jason took over d*ck's mantel as Robin, then it was inevitable that he would run into Batman's very first and most influentally closest enemy, the Joker. And when he died, Batman lost.

Marvel only came once to this level of loss. The death of Jean Grey, during her " Phoenix " run. Sure, Wolverine lost his love in Japan, Peter lost Gwen Stacy, Uncle Ben and even Aunt May (who eventually died from health problems), Daredevil lost Elektra to the Hand, Bruce lost Rick Jones, Bucky lost Steve Rogers .... but with Jean and Scott ... they were husband and wife. And her death overshadowed quite a number of others, even Piotr's loss of Illyana Rasputin in Inferno or the death of Kurt Wagner, to the shock of Logan.

Justice League of America doesn't need to do a live action ensemble piece. If DC were to do one of a highly critiqued calibre, they could choose either Astro City (whom they own the rights for) or the Justice Society of America (the early guys, such as the original Sandman and Shazaam). Hell, if they wanted to wipe Marvel off the map, they oughta make Kingdom Come : The Movie. But with their animated series and other ventures, Detective Comics has nothing to prove.
vampires_suck writes:
on October 10th, 2010 at 5:43:09 AM

@ Max

Killing Joke was the story where Joker shot and crippled Barbara, Jason died shortly after at the Jokers hands in 'A Death In The Family'.

Like your thoughts though.

BTW, i don't care who has the bigger penis, as long as we get quality films from both houses.
Farradin writes:
on October 10th, 2010 at 3:39:50 PM

I want them both to succeed. I am a DC though and have always thought that their stories always asked the bigger questions.

For example while Superman copes with his godlike power and status. Iron man who is one of the smartest and most powerful people on the planet has alcohol issues. DC is better.

But let's not mistake history for current status (that's what my beloved Liverpool have done and as such are about to enter their most difficult week in their 118 year history). Marvel have pretty much always outsold DC. DC have some the most iconic characters, and most of the greatest stories the industry has produced; but Marvel have always had a better marketing strategy. So as to which films I expect to do better in the long run wait out...
bspence writes:
on October 10th, 2010 at 3:55:43 PM

Finally!!!
DC IS better than marvel. love stan lee and the early comics of his characters. but the majority of the marvel movies have sucked. the only ones im looking the least bit forward to are the remake of spidey (i still dont know what to think but my fingers are crossed), xmen first class (same feeling as spidey), thor, and maybe xmen 4 is bryan singer directs.
as for DC theres nothing im not looking forward to. they can balance out perfectly what works on the big screen and what they should just save for the animated films.
ive been waiting so long for DC to get everything together and just sh*t all over marvel. and here in 2011 and 2012 its finally happening!
2011:
DC - Green Lantern
Marvel - Thor (ok this will probably be good), Cap. America, Xmen First CLass (also good)

2012:
DC - Batman 3, Superman, supposibly Green Lantern 2
Marvel - Avengers, Spidey (like this one too), and Wolverine 2

i love how marvel has to put out almost twice as many movies every year then DC and still cant do as good as DC.

f*ck Marvel.
if you ruin Thor, Spidey, Ironman, and Xmen your officially done.
Punisher might be good if they do it right this time.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 10th, 2010 at 11:34:41 PM

vampires_suck writes:
on October 10th, 2010 at 5:43:09 AM

@ Max

Killing Joke was the story where Joker shot and crippled Barbara, Jason died shortly after at the Jokers hands in 'A Death In The Family'.

Like your thoughts though.

BTW, i don't care who has the bigger penis, as long as we get quality films from both houses.


@Vampires Suck

Good call on correcting me on the storyline.

I haven't kept up much with comics lately because of the price of each comic book and also because of the glut of them coming out in the 90's (and the multiple variants of covers they did, along with foil covers, etc.), but I am glad that you got the point.

DC is just realizing that it is better to be cautious, but it is a point well taken that Marvel stragized to have all their current lineup (for the Avengers) fold within story-wise by implementing plot points within the movies that not only tied them all together, but helped to better mesh the Avengers storyline, when that movie became released.

Now, could Superman exist in Nolan's world ?

It certainly was possible in World's Finest and Batman showed Superman that he was his strategic superior in The Dark Knight Returns (which was also a smart parody of the Cold War and the Reagan Era). But Nolan's movies dealt a LOT with psychology and mental aptitude ... Superman, for all his attributes and faults ... is an alien fighting much bigger fish (with the possible exception of Lex Luthor) and in doing so, would overshadow the noir and complex poetic justice vs crime unhinged nuances that Nolan has brought forth in both movies .... quite simply put, Supeman would be Buddy Holly trying to exist in a universe run by the Sex Pistols.
Cheap_Trick writes:
on October 11th, 2010 at 12:31:10 AM

Guess Johns didn't know that a Justice League movie was a month away from filming when it was cancelled due to the writer's strike in 2008. Or maybe he missed the TV pilot from 1997 that was a pure piece of crap. Maybe before he opens his mouth again, he should do a little research. Avengers is going to kick ass and make a ton of money. Being a little bitch about it isn't going to change a thing.
JohnZee writes:
on October 11th, 2010 at 3:52:21 AM

I think that Marvel has some good characters. I like the pre-gun welding Punisher clone Steve Rogers. I like that flawed technologist Tony Stark. And I thought that the idea of a Marvel Comics Avengers movie was a great idea...

...But

DC has more iconic characters. You know the characters that are larger than life, akin to the mythological gods of old. Say what you will about how many comic books one or the other has sold...

...but

Before DC comics decided to throw a bunch of their superheroes together in one book, and eventually tell stories about all of them fighting a common enemy you would be hard pressed to find any equivalent of such a heroic gathering in any story consumed by the mass public.

And probably the closest thing to an established storyline of multiple different well established heroes gathering together would be the tales of King Arthur and the knights of the round table.

Then how many decades later did Marvel finally decide to get into that particular game?

Not until Fantastic Four # 1. And really that book was NEVER planned to be a comic book about a costume wearing superhero team.

But it was turned into exactly that because Marvel was following DC's lead.

As was Marvel following DC's lead when they decided to bring the Avengers together.

And time and time again Marvel has followed DC's lead for decades.

Read that Spiderman issue where Marvel delved into drug abuse. Talk about kid's gloves. First they made sure that the drug abuser was African American. Then they made sure to not even go into what was the exact drug that had messed this kid up so bad he was willing to take a dive and become street pizza.

And then look at DC addressing the same exact issue. But they don't make the drug abuser some random African American kid. They make him the sidekick of a very well established DC character, and member of the Justice League. Pretty much making a point that it wasn't just the African American kids that were suffering from abusing drugs, but that drug abuse could affect anyone and everyone. Even the brightest most heroic. And it wasn't some hypothetical unmentioned drug. It was heroin.

And it took decades for that sidekick to slowly maneuver past that point. You know the point where he was shooting heroin in his veins for fun.

Big difference in the way both companies approach anything.

And let's face it, even if one of Marvel's characters had been shooting heroin in their veins, within six issues that whole heroin issue would be completely solved to an almost ridiculous level.

Everyone remembers Tony Stark having a problem with alcohol. But the simple truth is that from beginning to complete end his alcoholism only lasted from 1983 to 1985.

(And really I'm stretching that a bit.)

Lol, if only all the alcoholics in the world could only be such for two measly years, and then COMPLETELY and TOTALLY never suffer from alcoholism again.

And the proof is in the pudding. Modern day Marvel movies don't have a damned thing to do with modern Marvel comics. When developing a script for a Marvel movie, they'll go back eight to twenty years ago.

The new Green Lantern movie? It is going to be far more about stories that have been written about Hal Jordan in the last two to three years.

DC characters are more iconic. Time seems to have more of an effect on them. Alan Scott was around during World War 2. Ted Kord was a product of the 70's, 80's, and 90's.

Marvel? Who the f*ck knows. Pretty doubtful that the Fantastic Four were trying to beat the Russians in the space race, otherwise it would be called the Geriatric Four.

And was that Vietnam, Grenada, the Falkland Islands, Kuwait, Afghanistan, or Iraq where that shrapnel go stuck dangerously close to Tony Stark's heart?

Marvel sells more comics because they are concerned with selling more comics that day. Each and every day their sole concentration is on selling the most comics everyday. And the storylines are vague, replicating, and quickly forgotten.

And sometimes it would seem that the editing team at Marvel is either Amnesiac, or suffers from Alzheimer's.

Yes Steve Rogers packing a pistol or carrying a assault rifle make look badass, hardcore, and uber-gritty.

But it also makes him less of a hero, because a hero that completely abandons difficult decisions made easier looks like a flip flopper, a hypocrite, or just a lesser man than what the man that used to be the iconic Captain America could be...

...But Marvel will rush to have comics completely violating a line that one of their characters said they would NEVER EVER cross again...

...if it will sell more comics.

I think that at times both companies lose sight of their characters, but Marvel grossly and completely loses sight of that initial spark that made their heroes great.

And now with their movies Marvel is taking a nickel and dime, half assed independent pedestrian movie company approach to their films.

Iron Man 2 was just a hint of things to come. And I think that Thor will be the last hurrah before the Captain America movie that will be a fiasco because they are trying to make it World War 2 Avengers...

...And then the Avengers movie will suck balls because Joss Whedon is out of his f*cking league. The man is so out of his depth he's begging for oxygen.

...Or how about clueless Matthew Vaughn and the new X-Men movie. Come on Vaughn playing the same exact game that Bryan Singer played with Richard Donner...with Bryan Singer's previous X-Men films?

That has disaster written all over it.

Yes Marvel comics sell more comics than DC. But there is far more to this game then just who sells the most comic books...

...It is also which company has the most iconic and memorable characters.

And that would be DC, because they are more iconic.

anaheimducks writes:
on October 11th, 2010 at 6:51:42 AM

I love both dc and marvel but marvel is the best they have way more cooler characters then dc.dc has batman superman and green lantern everyone else kind of sucks.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved