WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Dan Aykroyd is Writing "Ghostbusters 3," Hints at Story

Posted: October 7th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Dan Aykroyd is Writing "Ghostbusters 3," Hints at StorySubmit Comment
"Ghostbusters 3" has been in the works ever since the video game was announced. Since then "Year One" writers Lee Eisenberg and Gene Stupnitsky have been hard at work on the script. Unfortunately, "Year One" didn't do very well in theaters, causing Bill Murray to doubt whether it's worth making a third "Ghostbusters" film.

He then stopped answering his phone and eventually told everyone that he wanted to be killed in the first few minutes of the film. Dan Aykroyd didn't appreciate that attitude and tried talking some sense into his friend. Now, in an interview with VanityFair, Aykroyd revealed that everything is back on track.

"I think [Murray] was concerned that the writing on 'Ghostbusters 3' by [Eisenberg and Stupnitsky] would not be up to standard," he explained. "But I can tell you firsthand, I'm working on the script now and those two wrote Bill the comic role of a lifetime, and the new Ghostbusters and the old are all well represented in it. We have a strong first draft that Harold [Ramis] and I will take back, and I'm very excited about working on it."

Aykroyd went on to mention why new Ghostbusters are needed in the movie. He said: "[In 'Ghostbusters 3'] my character's eyesight is shot, I got a bad knee, a bad hip ó I can't drive that caddy anymore or lift that Psychotron Accelerator anymore, itís too heavy. We need young legs, new minds ó new Ghostbusters; so I'm in essence passing the torch to the new regime, and you know what? That's totally okay with me."

Source: VanityFair


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
CCBlev writes:
on October 7th, 2010 at 8:57:02 PM

I'm still skeptical, and Bill Murray is key.
Salvador writes:
on October 7th, 2010 at 9:25:40 PM

"Ghostbuster's franchise is DEAD, period.

Please, NO more Ghostbusters...
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 7th, 2010 at 9:55:08 PM

He paid off Murray.

He had to.

I don't know if they should call this Ghostbusters III : Venkmanzuma's Revenge or
Rustbusters III : We ain't fraid of no ghost, 'cause most of us are past AARP membership anyway and we're one heart attack away from being them anyway.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 7th, 2010 at 9:57:35 PM

Dan Aykroyd didn't appreciate that attitude and tried talking some sense into his friend.

Translation : Dan Ackroyd was seeing his potential franchise going up like Slimer and knew that brainwashing Murray was the only way, since he knew that when Yogi Bear got released into theaters, it would wind up quicker on DVD then Doctor Detroit did when it wound up on VHS.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 7th, 2010 at 9:58:09 PM

Just goes to show the smarter Blues Brother died first. When he still was on top.
JohnZee writes:
on October 7th, 2010 at 10:42:53 PM

No Dan your version of the script will suck just as bad. But you're hoping that Bill Murray will feel obligated to sign up for a complete fiasco of a sequel just because you and him used to be buddies.

Just f*cking let it go. Go open up another Blues Brothers and stick your middle finger straight up as far as it can go towards the estate and family of John Belushi.

Haven't you made enough money and had enough success off of the coattails of your more talented friends?

Just f*cking let it go...
Monash writes:
on October 7th, 2010 at 11:58:57 PM

I just know if they go for new recruits Jay Baruchel is some how going to make it into this movie, please don't let that happen
And i actually didn't mind the Bill Murray dies idea, as long as he's still in the movie as a ghost not just gone, maybe have a punch up with another ghost
bandolero999 writes:
on October 8th, 2010 at 12:12:56 AM

CAN ANYONE ANSWER THIS QUESTION? WAT EVER HAPPENED TO RICK MORANIS?
boogiel writes:
on October 8th, 2010 at 12:47:18 AM

@Bandolero

About Rick Moranis?? The last time I checked he shrunk himself.
coldplayesence writes:
on October 8th, 2010 at 1:29:17 AM

And his kids. He is probably waiting for the trial, child wellfare are going to hunt him down.
trailertrash writes:
on October 8th, 2010 at 2:56:12 AM

Dan Aykroyd and Writing all i will say is "Nothing But Trouble"

CC- No Bill No point making it ...
darkraven28 writes:
on October 8th, 2010 at 3:05:04 AM

Well, since they bothered to actually shoot Men In Black 3 (i.e. the sequel no one ever f*cking wanted), I'm sure at some point they'll actually make Ghostbusters 3. But if this sh*t is titled Ghostbusters 3-D, I'm running straight into a wall immediately. (Sighs) Why didn't they just make this sh*t in the '90s and be done with it? All this 20 years later and suddenly a new movie is just plain bullsh*t. And if this actually gets made, can you imagine how damn awkward the PREMIERE is gonna be? Especially considering how much Murray has said he didn't want to get out of bed for it?
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on October 8th, 2010 at 4:26:01 AM

I recognize this somehow. Years of wanting, the build up of anticipation. Hmmm...where does it come from. Oh yeah: Indiana Jones and The Crystal Skull
Monash writes:
on October 8th, 2010 at 6:03:48 AM

@Freudian
-Phantom Menace
strobemandixon writes:
on October 8th, 2010 at 12:06:51 PM

Bill I dont no why you have doughts. You should do this movie anyway because I know you need the money. I am pretty sure there is no producer or director knocking on your door for film roles
Champ1432 writes:
on October 8th, 2010 at 6:42:25 PM

Well, there is a big chance of this being a disaster, but hopefully Aykroyd will make it right.

The second one was not as good as the first IMO, I would hate to see this one take it all the way down the drain. I think it will hinge mostly on who they get as the "new blood". If they can cast some funny actors and create good chemistry with them, this could still be very good. Here's hoping..........
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on October 9th, 2010 at 12:18:16 PM

Ill only see it if Murrays in it....and if the new Ghostbusters are actually good choices....no f*cking Beiber sh*t-heads
Adamtheflash writes:
on October 11th, 2010 at 3:30:14 PM

Look up "thunderbusters" on youtube. Epic
TNC1701 writes:
on October 14th, 2010 at 1:40:04 AM

Bill Murray's funniest role? My big 'ole butt! Aykroyd is saying that for his benefit, not for Bill Murray's.

I don't really believe GB needs younger blood, unless they do a reboot and take it past the day GB was formed to show how Venkman, Stantz, and Egon ended up together. Otherwise, this has echoes of "Crystal Skull" written all over it. Cheap gimmicks don't produce lasting results, they just make a little bit of money while drive-by graffiti'ing whatever they attach themselves to, along the way.

Besides, who would want a Ghostbusters movie with a dead Peter Venkman? I am 34, and still remember watching Ghostbusters over, and over again on VHS while my Mom was at work when I was a 12-year-old. Now, the idea of a dead Peter Venkman is making me sick. The news of that plot idea killed every bit of anticipation I had for this movie. No thanks, y'all!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved