WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Steven Spielberg Wants to Make "Halo" Movie

Posted: October 6th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Steven Spielberg Wants to Make "Halo" MovieSubmit Comment
Microsoft recently stated that it is considering a movie based on their popular "Halo" video game and will use "Halo: Reach" as the game to turn the franchise into something that can be adapted for the big screen.

And now that "Halo: Reach" has become a big success (grossed $200 million on first day), a year-old rumor has now surfaced again. According to NY magazine, DreamWorks and Steven Spielberg are currently negotiating to obtain the rights to make a "Halo" movie.

And even though Fox and Universal have already attempted this, Spielberg is taking a different approach. Instead of adapting the game, he will instead base the movie on the novelizations of the video game as a way to avoid dealing with complicated legal issues.

At this point, no writer has been hired, but Microsoft still has scripts by Alex Garland (28 Days Later) and Skip Woods (Wolverine, Hitman). Spielberg will likely start from scratch.

Click here to read more about "Halo."

Source: NY Mag


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 43 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 8:00:18 PM

......if he directs then maybe....but they should use Alex Garlands script.
otis writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 8:01:57 PM

This is tricky if he just gets a fresh script out of the blue. I'm also not quite sure how this gets around the legal rights of the franchise unless there is no mention of "Halo" at all.
crimsonfiend420 writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 8:04:34 PM

Thank f*ck. This is the first decent news about this f*ckin project I've heard yet. Let's hope it's JP or Jaws Spielberg, as opposed to Indiana Jones: The last anal rape Spielberg. But we'll see if those greedy c*nts at Microsoft ALLOW it to happen. Just MAYBE it won't ENTIRELY suck. But we'll see. Maybe.
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 8:08:25 PM

...I still think that Peter Jackson and Blomkamp(sp?) could of pulled off a decent Halo movie.
johnny_boy writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 8:15:18 PM

With spielberg directing, dam! Can't get any better.
wonderBOY writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 8:21:03 PM

well if the movie will be anything like the new game it will be boring but good soundtrack
elrei writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 8:21:34 PM

Never played the game... dunno much about it. BUT it's Spielberg so maybe it's something to keep an eye on.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 8:40:52 PM

I want to make one too Steven, lets hop to it!

Seriously, Spielberg I hope you wrap this up.


Rambo writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 9:00:45 PM

another movie based on a video game...come on...
dhkenobi writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 9:01:55 PM

Considering the crap they keep doing to the storyline, I'm now against this.

In either case, it's just another RUMOR.
dhkenobi writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 9:02:37 PM

BUT...since he wants to base it off the novels like a smart person SHOULD, I might have see it...
jdl107 writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 9:21:28 PM

No...... f*ck I've played all the games, bought the first one when it first came out. Please don't do this, Spielbergs good, but he's just not f*ckin' right. He'll mess it up I already know it.....

But I'm impressed :) after playing Reach I immediately thought that they would be stupid not to use that to begin the franchise. That game was maaad f*ckin' insane.
jdl107 writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 9:22:36 PM

Granted he has a smart strategy.


But like I said, he's just not right. It's too bad these guys are stupid, cuz Neill Blomkamp, now that f*ckin' guy had it right.
MrJS1 writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 9:29:51 PM

This movie will make even the most hardcore Avatar fanboy love it. Unless he's a furry that is.
coldplayesence writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 9:39:02 PM

Yes, another movie that I'm gonna laugh at, I knew there have got to be something else beside Captain America.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 9:55:49 PM

If we were talking Steven Spielberg, circa Jaws, Close Encounters and Raiders of the Lost Ark, I'd say " Hell yeah! " ...

If we were talking Steven Spielberg, circa Saving Private Ryan, Shindler's List and Minority Report, I'd say, " Sure, why not ? "

But since we're talking about Steven Spielberg, circa Indiana Jones 4 : The Rape of Dr. Jones and his indecisive streak of dumping movie projects like ex wives right after the pre-up, I'd have to say, " f*ck off. "

f*ck Spielberg.

Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 9:57:43 PM

Steven Spielberg is what Robert Rodriguez would be if he were a yenta and had the financial capital of Neverland Ranch.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 9:59:38 PM

At this point, no writer has been hired, but Microsoft still has scripts by Alex Garland (28 Days Later) and Skip Woods (Wolverine, Hitman). Spielberg will likely start from scratch.


No! *sarcastically* Let's keep the script written by the guy who wrote those Academy Award winners Hitman and Wolverine : Origin! You can't let it go!!!!! You just can't!

lebowski writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 10:15:10 PM

if he does it its going to be good.he may not be as good as he was this last few years but the guy is still one of the best storytellers.IJ4 was not good i give you that but after 18 years of waiting i think that the expectations were pretty high.the next generation that watches IJ and consider it as a four movie series and not as a trilogy will like the fourth like the other 3.
mrstretch writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 10:21:34 PM

Nice
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 10:40:54 PM

lebowski writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 10:15:10 PM

if he does it its going to be good.he may not be as good as he was this last few years but the guy is still one of the best storytellers.IJ4 was not good i give you that but after 18 years of waiting i think that the expectations were pretty high.the next generation that watches IJ and consider it as a four movie series and not as a trilogy will like the fourth like the other 3.


@lebowski

That's just it. The Raiders Series has been packaged as a series right after the Last Crusade was released into theaters. And they kept Indiana going in television prequels with Young Indiana Jones, starring both Sean Patrick Flanery and Corey Carrier.

But Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of The Crystal Skull looked like it was a clusterf*ck of bad decisions mixed in a with a bit of nostalgia that seemed to those who grew up watching the first three movies (and trust me, even The Temple Of Doom had some What the f*ck ? moments, such as the monkey brains scene and the heart sacrafice) like the writers were hoping we would put aside any queries about the plot holes, bad or mediocre CGI and ... the introduction of Shia as "Mutt" ... and Cate Blanchett as the Soviet karate expert .... well, some of us felt ... miffed at Steven and George for taking a cliffhanger serial series (which is what inspired them to do this in the first place and also ironically inspired Tales of The Golden Monkey, the TV Series) and just
cashed out.

I would've made the rape innuendo they did on South Park, but that is so two years ago.

In summary, a quote from Wikipedia :

The Associated Press reported the film received a "respectful though far from glowing reception," saying that "some viewers at its first press screening loved it, some called it slick and enjoyable though formulaic, some said it was not worth the 19-year wait...," adding that J. Sperling Reich, who writes for FilmStew.com, said: "It really looked like they were going through the motions. It really looked like no one had their heart in it."[
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 10:42:25 PM

I want a "Halo" movie too, but not keen on Speilberg directing after the last few movies he's done.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 10:45:21 PM

^ It's like saying Star Wars III : Revenge of the Sith is not part of a space opera that begins and ends with Anakin Skywalker's death.

You can't separate Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of The Crystal Skull from the previous three movies as a continuation of the story.

Now, I am very confident that Spielberg can direct action. Anyone whose seen Sugarland Express alone (a car chase, nonetheless) can attest to that. I just think he needs to commit and show why we loved him for Jaws, Close Encounters, ET and the Back to the Future Trilogy (AND Raiders of the Lost Ark) in the first place.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 10:46:38 PM

^ That, Che 4 Prez, is how to debate.

Without cutting corners on punctuation, grammar or cutting to the lowest common denominator.

Though most of us will admit, I do love a good d*ck joke.
Kindlegolas writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 10:49:55 PM

Halo: Reach was gay, not worth the 60 bucks I spent on it
Amadeus writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 11:18:46 PM

do you think they'll put a huge budget cap on this project?

....it'll be in 3D too lol
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 11:21:03 PM

Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 10:45:21 PM

^ It's like saying Star Wars III : Revenge of the Sith is not part of a space opera that begins and ends with Anakin Skywalker's death.

You can't separate Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of The Crystal Skull from the previous three movies as a continuation of the story.

Now, I am very confident that Spielberg can direct action. Anyone whose seen Sugarland Express alone (a car chase, nonetheless) can attest to that. I just think he needs to commit and show why we loved him for Jaws, Close Encounters, ET and the Back to the Future Trilogy (AND Raiders of the Lost Ark) in the first place.

@max

I am with you on that.

Speilberg and Lucas are great film makers, just seems at the moent no-one has the balls to tell them that some of the stuff they are making is well not up to par.
CCBlev writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 11:27:58 PM

We'll see how this turns out. It has potential.
ian_918 writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 11:29:04 PM

I think Synder would be a good choice for this one. The way he brings a dark gritty atmosphere to the screen would be amazing for this project.
qwertyuiop22ful writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 11:53:04 PM

Oh, goodie!

What? Too much Jakeness?

Really, this could be a great movie if they actually let it happen...
I'm just imagining "Halo" movie directed by Christopher Nolan...

Nerdgasm over...
jdl107 writes:
on October 7th, 2010 at 12:01:30 AM

Hmm, Avatar WAS gay. So say all the sh*t you want, but after seeing the Mech-Suits in Avatar, the world, environment, etc. James Cameron would probably almost be perfect for it. He could give it it's much deserved epic-as-f*ck scale, and like I said the design of the Mech-Suits and even the Marines' gear looks like f*ckin' Halo. That movie was Halo-ish look to it.

Ah f*ck, apply his 3D and advanced CGI to the Covenant and the world of Halo and you got yourself a fine f*ckin' adaptation. Don't worry I haven't forgotten the main thing though, as long as HE DOESN'T WRITE IT. I don't want no self-conscious ego *sshole bullsh*t thrown all over this movie. Eh, f*ck I think I take back almost all of what I just said ;)
qwertyuiop22ful writes:
on October 7th, 2010 at 12:34:57 AM

@jdl107: Cameron would be good for the special effects, and nothing else... I like your point of view
rabid writes:
on October 7th, 2010 at 12:40:05 AM

LOL
Will the Marines carry walkie-talkies instead of laser rifles?
Goober3000 writes:
on October 7th, 2010 at 12:42:45 AM

"Instead of adapting the game, he will instead base the movie on the novelizations of the video game"

--I can only hope.

"Microsoft still has scripts by Alex Garland (28 Days Later) and Skip Woods (Wolverine, Hitman)"

--BURN THEM!!
julia2030ce writes:
on October 7th, 2010 at 12:51:04 AM

What, he ran out of real wars to make into movies! I dont think anybody has milked WWII more then him...
jikae writes:
on October 7th, 2010 at 1:18:19 AM

@jdl Well, the mech warriors in Matrix Reloaded and Revolutions looked much better, and they were done back in 2003. Granted, you can say that the Wachowski's copied off Cameron from Aliens. The Wachaoski's might've been good had they not fallen off the deep end...
jdl107 writes:
on October 7th, 2010 at 2:28:01 AM

@ Qerty, yeah...... kinda why i said I needed a thesaurus in an earlier post. But then again, his directing I don't think would a bad touch to the film at all. Just keep him away from the writing and damn, I dunno I thknk it just might be okay.

And as for you Jikae..... hmm. That honestly never even came up in my mind. Without you saying it it probably would never have, I don't know, I don't really remember the Mech Suits from that movie. And didn't Aliens only have that one yellow suit meant for carrying cargo or whatever?

But umm now that I think about it, I do remember a pretty good picture of the ones in Reloaded...... Uh, i think I liked Avatar's better. It just had a realisticness to it, but thats what I think dude.
jdl107 writes:
on October 7th, 2010 at 2:29:24 AM

I honestly can't think of a good writer for this movie, but from what I've always wondered (and there's probably an explanation for it) why don't they just let the guy's who made the game write a treatment for it?
jdl107 writes:
on October 7th, 2010 at 2:30:45 AM

Probably because game stories (dialogue, etc.) are much different than that of cinema, no?
jdl107 writes:
on October 7th, 2010 at 2:35:37 AM

@Qwerty, thanks again.... that was cool :)
coolguy writes:
on October 7th, 2010 at 4:25:05 AM

this could turn out awesome, if they base it on The Fall Of Reach, which is the prequel book to the first game.
It has all the makings of an excellent sci fi/action film, im hoping like hell they dont f*ck this up!
Anung_un_rama writes:
on October 7th, 2010 at 11:56:45 AM

if it gets made the book fall of reach is where to take from.
darkraven28 writes:
on October 8th, 2010 at 4:59:31 AM

Eh, at least it will be probably better than that next sh*t Spielberg's doing. His remake of the Horse Whisperer or some such arse.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved