WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

More Details About the "Superman" Reboot

Posted: October 6th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
More Details About the "Superman" RebootSubmit Comment
Back in June, Christopher Nolan revealed that writer David Goyer's idea for the "Superman" reboot was to address the character in modern context. Now, NY magazine has a few more details in addition to the fact that Zack Snyder (Watchmen, 300) will direct and that the villain will be General Zod.

The magazine has learned that in "Superman," Clark Kent is a journalist traveling the world trying to decide if he should, in fact, even become Superman.

NY Mag added that Warner Bros originally wanted Darren Aronofsky (The Wrestler) to direct the film, but believe that Snyder can put everything together much faster. What's the rush though?

As some of you may remember, the heirs of the superhero's creators have sued Warner Bros, but the court decision was to see if the studio will actually develop another "Superman" film. If production doesn't begin in 2011, the heirs can once again take the studio to court.

With so much little time remaining, everything became a huge rush. Even the script by David Goyer is said to be unfinished and a complete mess. Even Snyder once revealed to his agency that the "Superman" script needs work, but he has now become the man to make everything happen.

Click here to read more about "Superman."

Source: NY Mag


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 47 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 6:41:00 AM

Oh, they're rushing this one out too. That's a relief. Why bother with a script? Singer's movie barely had one either. Most of what was said was either annoying or irrelevant. "The father becomes the son. The son becomes the student. The student gets a job at McDonalds." Marlon Brando's CGI was probably the best thing about that flick. Also, studios need to keep Parker Posey out of superhero movies and leave her in Christopher Guest movies where she belongs.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 7:27:17 AM

The magazine has learned that in "Superman," Clark Kent is a journalist traveling the world trying to decide if he should, in fact, even become Superman ... first it was Caine ... then it was Jules ... now Clark ?

f*ck.


But don't worry. He's Superman. He won't catch any foreign disease in a third world country where he doesn't belong.


Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 7:29:11 AM

As some of you may remember, the heirs of the superhero's creators have sued Warner Bros, but the court decision was to see if the studio will actually develop another "Superman" film. If production doesn't begin in 2011, the heirs can once again take the studio to court.


eVil.kEv2, THAT's why. Warner Bros. doesn't want to get the f*ck sued out of their ass and have to pay for a wrong Direct Comics did decades before.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 7:31:38 AM

Back in June, Christopher Nolan revealed that writer David Goyer's idea for the "Superman" reboot was to address the character in modern context.

They tried that. Remember ? Superman was a baby's daddy that was a deadbeat to a single mom (Lois) and Lex Luthor was gayer than Cirque Du Soleil on Harvey Firestein Appreciation Night at the Blue Oyster.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 7:32:56 AM

To repeat both Ranger AND Max : Where's my motherf*cking script, bitch ?

They're gonna f*cking royally screw the motherf*cking French pooch on this.
CCBlev writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 7:52:36 AM

Yup this is f*cked too!!
boogiel writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 8:58:29 AM

"The magazine has learned that in "Superman," Clark Kent is a journalist traveling the world trying to decide if he should, in fact, even become Superman."


Sounds too similar with Bruce Wayne's in Batman Begins....


Anung_un_rama writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 9:02:33 AM

Script solution, grab all star superman comic and take the clark kent and superman from that and keep them in the fantasy realm where towel head extremists don't cause the sh*t Super villains do. To start off lets have supe's deal with parasite leaching off the power grid or eating people? and take New Krypton's general Zod cause he was bad ass, as i remember it. instead of them being enemies show how different Kryptons are and then they clash, through in some robots at the end or very near the end which plant the seed for Brainiac?

is it that hard????? really i'm no script writer yet but come on know one wants to see a p*ssy ass superman or one thinking about if he should be. he just is thats what i want to see... NO MORE ORIGINS STORIES. or i will not watch it
SACdaddy writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 9:09:40 AM

Jesus stop rewinding the character! Advance the story or pick another hero for an origin film.
theoey writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 9:11:14 AM

For some reason I don't really buy this. Goyer may have a spotty track record but Nolan? Man's batting 1.000. I don't see Nolan letting his name be attached (in any role) to a film that is crap.
theoey writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 9:11:14 AM

For some reason I don't really buy this. Goyer may have a spotty track record but Nolan? Man's batting 1.000. I don't see Nolan letting his name be attached (in any role) to a film that is crap.
CCBlev writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 9:12:37 AM

Sounds like Jake_awesomeless, he's traveling the world seeing if he really wants to take daddy back in his ass one more time.
coldplayesence writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 10:09:11 AM

Well I see no other remedies but putting some boobs in the movie, not only man boobs like Snyder did int 300. Some real big boobs, that'll do.
billofill writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 10:54:35 AM

Sooooooooooo they are borrowing from Superman Birthright.
Salvador writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 11:04:39 AM

@Max Rockatansky Junior:jajajajaja! Well said.
Salvador writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 11:06:04 AM

But if they have an unfinished script, no matter Nolan is behind this, this flick will bomb!!!
rabid writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 12:05:40 PM

Sounds like they have their work cut out for them. Or they could have just pitched in some dough to have the Schusters and Seigels' grandpigs assassinated and then took their time with the project.
rocketman writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 12:49:29 PM

Crap,not good.
Ranger writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 1:42:47 PM

So Clark bums around trying to decide if he wants to be Superman or not? Despite one of the VERY FIRST premises was that Jor-El BEAT IT INTO LITTLE KAL-EL'S HEAD WITH THOSE AUDIO TAPES PLAYING FOR 3 f*ckING YEARS IN HIS SHIP ON HIS VOYAGE TO EARTH, TO BE EARTH'S SAVIOR! So MILLIONS of people die needlessly because Clark if trying 'to find himself'?!? Are they kidding me?! Is this April f*cking 1st?!?!

Jesus H... they have ALREADY dropped the ball! Being Superman was never a 'choice' for Kal-El... IT'S HIS f*ckING DESTINY!!!

Who... WHO can f*ck up a story that is 72 years old, that EVERYBODY knows... REPEATEDLY like this?!?!?!

This sh*t is so SIMPLE! Either do a battle TO THE DEATH (YES... Supes may actually have to kill someone/thing) with Grundy or Darkseid (after my time in comics... but have heard about him here), OR do that 3 movie story about he being the last survivor on Earth. And does he stay because Earth is his adoptive home or leave to survive as our sun is slowly turning red.

That's it... I'M ON A KILLING SPREE... BRB!!!
LEONCIO writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 1:46:12 PM

I don't like this sh*t so far. Like Boogiel has said, it sounds too similar to Wayne's story on "Batman Begins", they should start this film with Clark already being Superman for years or go for a complete reboot with origins story again, but this sh*t about Clark traveling the world to know if he should be Superman sounds retarded. :(
Ranger writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 1:51:02 PM

Oh God no more origin story please! Donner, Puzo, Brando and Reeves did a fine job. Let's leave the classic stuff alone and just get on with this story (your first suggestion).
Bunny X writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 1:52:29 PM

Because of the premise described in this story, the people involved, and the timing, this really leads me to believe that they are going to go the post-Smallville route. I really really hope they don't. I will reach a never before imagined level of rage if they take the Smallville story and pull it to the big screen. Simply because, I will not go through a lifetime of superman not getting the proper big screen treatment and after so many attempts, they try to build a franchise on a backstory that is so convoluted and mashed up from the original? F'ing please!!
Ranger writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 2:00:47 PM

The ONLY thing I have seen that has kept Smallville on for 10 years (besides how girls, and Welling and Justin are handsome), and I know the Smallville fans on here will jump on me (but be realistic/open to what I'm saying... because it's the truth - and if there's to be ANY jumping on me in here... ladies only - please and thank you), is they have honed this formula for making ONE episode really true to the Superman's story... then 2 (min.) usually 3 episodes of pure unrelated sh*t that could be the same characters from Heartland for all we care. And just when you're about to lose hope... BANG, another episode back on track with Kal-El's destiny. As much as I despise them for doing this... as a producer, I would have done EXACTLY the same thing. A 10-year box set of Smallville will sell for a lot more than a 5-year run of the series would have. So good on them for their succes. f*ck them for leading people on for 10 years only to barely eek the story along. And before ANYone posts after this defending Smallville, don't bother. I KNOW it's called Smallville, for the true Supes coming to maturity wasn't to happen. But they're so far away from Smallville for the past FEW years, how does that argument float?
Ranger writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 2:02:44 PM

BTW: how = hot.
Che 4 Prez writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 5:23:25 PM

i cant wait 4 this this will b the best superman better than the last 1 4 sur
Champ1432 writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 6:21:58 PM

This article does not exactly instill a lot of confidence in this movie, hopefully it's not entirely accurate. I'm really hoping they can do this well keep the franchise going, not kill it off for good or for a long time.

Like several others have said, when was it ever a question that Kal-El would become Superman? The story does sound a little too much like Batman Begins.

And there's no need to go back over that anyway. The Reeve movies did the origin as well as it needs to be done, and Smallville is also there as kind of an alternate, drawn-out origin. Why re-hash that again?
rabid writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 6:37:04 PM

because if they make it a standalone movie, they won't be able to make sequels.
if they base it off Smallville, they can make sequels since Smallville still legally retains its copyrights.
Don't blame WB. Blame those greedy offspring of Superman's creators.
FBO writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 7:04:59 PM

the lst sprmn suxd cuz it ws lngr thn an hr & thr wsnt n e cartoons in it.
FBO writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 7:06:11 PM

my nme is che & i dnt knw wht a vowel is or hw 2 use mre thn 10 n a sngl pst
FBO writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 7:11:03 PM

u all sux cuz u say thngs tht mke ppl cry, regrdles if thse thngs r true. Also, my m0m is 2 wh0res what w@lmart is 2 retail... hmm, that's not simple enough... Take 2: my mm is 2 whrs wht wlmrt is 2 rtl... nope, still not simple enough... Take 3: my mm = the wlmrt of whrs. And we have a winner
FBO writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 7:12:39 PM

That brings a whole new meaning to; "Save Money, Live Happy"
trailertrash writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 7:22:26 PM

U R FunE , 4 sur
Ranger writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 7:26:40 PM

O/W - whit iz ah mezur ov entelignz, knot crpy spehlng!
FBO writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 10:20:29 PM

SuX iT cHe
jdl107 writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 10:41:12 PM

"i cant wait 4 this this will b the best superman better than the last 1 4 sur"



Who are you why are you here and where the f*ck do you come from. After your posts from the past couple of days IO've have found that you deserve no respect. Hence the..... uh profanitys. (Damn I really need to read a thesaurus lol) Anyway what the f*ck, you're like troll. But you don't talk like one. Like for instance, for some reason your gayness speaks some truth, but at least you are right in somewhat saying the last wasn't that good, your trollness.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 11:48:41 PM

Che 4 Prez writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 5:23:25 PM
i cant wait 4 this this will b the best superman better than the last 1 4 sur

@ChezLounge ... why do I bother ?

*ahem*

" I can't wait for this! It will be the best Superman movie yet! (Hard to defend, since there is a sentimental attachment to Donner's first two movies. But that's neither here nor there.) It will be better than the last one, that is for sure (Most of everyone that had to sit through Kevin Spacey summoning the acting hamminess of Nathan Lane, circa The Birdcage, will certainly agree to that defense of the new movie.)!

Congratulations! You have a winning defense!

Now here's your banana, spidermonkey.
LEONCIO writes:
on October 7th, 2010 at 1:16:30 AM

"because if they make it a standalone movie, they won't be able to make sequels.
if they base it off Smallville, they can make sequels since Smallville still legally retains its copyrights.
Don't blame WB. Blame those greedy offspring of Superman's creators."
Oh please dude, stop the Smalville campaign, seriously, all the SV's fanboys in the world would never get to convince Nolan to ruin this franchise doing something remotely related to such a crap show. XD

And James Bond has had standalone movies for a while and nobody asked for an origins story or for a previous tv show to explain to them who is James Bond, everybody knows who is JB and everybody knows who is Superman and his origins, but if these origins needed to be told again they better explain it in 10-15 minutes in the movie (I guess the movie will be around 150 minutes) than asking everybody to watch 10 f*cking long seasons of such a mediocre show.

Please, don't get pissy with me, it's just my opinion. XD
Ranger writes:
on October 7th, 2010 at 1:37:06 AM

@Leo - good post.

None of the regulars on here have ever gotten 'pissy' with anyone contributing and expressing their opinions (such as yourself). The same can not be said for non-contributing, frustrated, pathetic lurkers with their personal attacks.

You just keep on voicing your honest opinions my friend!
gunfighterii writes:
on October 7th, 2010 at 3:06:03 AM

@ Ranger, i couldnt agree more with you about Smallville! lets hope Season 10 is 21/22 episodes of the good stuff so far they are 2/2..
and if they are smart they'll have Welling for superman and you praticly need no origin story and the sh*t villians are out of the way thanks to SM!
gunfighterii writes:
on October 7th, 2010 at 3:07:46 AM

oh ant another thing did you also think the hawk girl in Smallville looked exactly like the JLA cartoon version? twas freaky!
Trentsteel writes:
on October 7th, 2010 at 4:20:18 AM

GO SNYDER
Ranger writes:
on October 7th, 2010 at 4:41:45 AM

Thx. gunfighterii
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on October 7th, 2010 at 8:09:48 AM

Forget the reebooting! Just make Superman Returns a dream by having Clark wake up at the start of the new movie and say "That was a weird dream, Lois was only 23 and we had a 5 year old kid!" Then continue on with an epically fun movie with Brandon Routh kept as Clark Kent/Superman, Courteney Cox as Lois Lane and 1 or more supervillains that haven't been in the movies before.
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on October 7th, 2010 at 9:00:55 AM

Just to point out the Courteney Cox as Lois Lane thing again:

Margot Kidder

http://2k3hd.com/nucleus/media/1/20070824-Margot%20Kidder.jpg

http://www.esplatter.com/images/amityvillehorror3.jpg

http://www.coolwatersprods.com/images/kidderREPOERTER.jpg

Courtney Cox

http://www.imdb.com/media/rm3835791360/nm0001073

http://www.imdb.com/media/rm1739953664/nm0001073

http://www.imdb.com/media/rm3919677440/nm0001073

If they do decide to reboot maybe Zooey Deschanel would make a good Lois Lane?
Moose756 writes:
on October 7th, 2010 at 11:27:46 AM

lame
Ranger writes:
on October 7th, 2010 at 1:53:29 PM

I've had wood for Courtney for 25 years!
Bunny X writes:
on October 7th, 2010 at 2:36:45 PM

@Ranger, as usual, I look to you for the voice of reason regarding Superman. I for one, wouldn't mind Welling as Supes. He's done a great job on Smallville under such sh*tty circ*mstances. Imagine if he was giving good material to work from? He would have been an amazing Superman. But you are soooooooo right. The producers of SV have done nothing but beat off the fans and stop short of them spewing over and over and as a fan, that is f'ing annoying. I so wanted this show to be so much better than it has been. It's to the point where I'm not broken hearted at all to see it go. they have done too much damage to an originally good idea that they can't fix the sh*t they created and have to see this train wreck through.
Probably the #1 most annoying fact of this show is of all the angles they played and all the c*ck-teases they've done. they haven't introduced a young Bruce Wayne/Batman into the show. I mean they've tossed the Wonder Twins and that Che offspring retarded monkey in the mix for sh*t's sake!! But not Bats??
I just hope this never gets carried over to the big screen. But that would mean no Welling for Superman though.
Someone needs to call Mr. Routh.....seriously.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved