WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Best Buy to Reduce Amount of DVDs for Sale

Posted: October 6th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Best Buy to Reduce Amount of DVDs for SaleSubmit Comment
The DVD was introduced only about a decade ago and evidence now shows that the movie industry is already killing the format to make room for the high-definition version known as Blu-ray.

Best Buy, the largest electronics retailer in the US, plans to greatly reduce the amount of floor space it devotes to DVDs this holiday season, using that space instead for netbooks and tablet PCs. And if you visit the retail store today, you'll find that it has already scaled back its DVD selection.

Blu-ray players are now between $50 and $100 and Blu-ray discs are now falling below $20. This doesn't mean that DVDs are about to completely disappear, but the format is now in the process of being phased out.

Source: TimesDaily


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 5:58:37 AM

Its not a surprise they are doing that , Why sit on all that stock nowadays when you can buy from the net. Just Hold the top 30 or 40 titles makes perfect sense
KalVicious writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 6:42:43 AM

It was only a matter of time.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 7:59:39 AM

Best Buy to Reduce Amount of DVDs for Sale ...
going the way of the cassette tape, the CD, the 8 track tape, the vinyl, the VHS .... and now DVDS ...

Personally, I think it so that Best Buy doesn't wind up like Circuit City or near the edge of bankruptcy like Blockbuster.


Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 8:02:25 AM

trailertrash writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 5:58:37 AM

Its not a surprise they are doing that , Why sit on all that stock nowadays when you can buy from the net. Just Hold the top 30 or 40 titles makes perfect sense


@trailertrash

Agreed.

With the influx of eBay, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Borders and Fry's Electronics ... it's surprising that they didn't fold up and close more stores while they had the chance.

Funny story ... the Circuit City that is (I kid you not.) three blocks away from my apartment closed (it looked like Wal-Mart at three in the morning with scattered inventory on the floor) and now it is a Best Buy.

Funny, hunh ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 8:03:32 AM

Oh, and no.

I don't want to join Christina Aguilera to fight world hunger. I want to fist her so hard that she sh*ts every 20 minutes on the 20 minutes.
CCBlev writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 9:04:19 AM

I was wondering what was going on when I went in there last week to buy Iron Man 2 and get the 6th gen I pod Nano, which is awesome btw.
darthraige writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 9:20:00 AM

It's f*cked up. I haven't boughten a DVD in a long long time. Weird.
coldplayesence writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 9:47:30 AM

Again, suck it Microsoft, Blu Ray is still the winner.
Saberhoff writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 10:34:19 AM

Think about the titles that haven't even made it to DVD..given they might be sh*tty movies but there gonna be lost forever. Some movies barely stand a chance grouped together with 3 other movies. These movies will never make it to blu ray... We'll keep changing formats until twilight is the only thing on the shelf.
rabid writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 12:49:49 PM

Blurays won't replace DVDs, but online streaming content will replace them both. Why pay for a hard copy, when its always available on someone's server?
Ranger writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 1:27:26 PM

'And if you visit the retail store today, you'll find that it has already scaled back its DVD selection.' --- well, I was in a BestBuy yesterday and the DVD section wasn't scaled down by an inch. So 'TimesDaily' for making that statement can suck my c*ck.
Che 4 Prez writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 5:21:04 PM

cuz dvds r oldskool they ll stop making them @ all soon blu ray is for the younger ppl
Orias writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 6:23:34 PM

The thing that scares me a little is how books are movies are going to computer format only and if we have some Totalitarian dictatorship take over one of the larger more powerful Western nations ala Hitler and they want to destroy knowledge like declaring it the YEAR 0 that the Khmer Rouge did it would be so much easier to destroy via a virus a few hundred or few thousand servers that hold these e-books and movies so that we lose the knowledge forever like burning down the Library at Alexandria then it would be to hunt down and individually destroy millions of book or VHS/DVD/Blue Rays in private ownership hidden away all over.
jikae writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 6:31:27 PM

Orias- Whhhhaaaaa~?
FBO writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 7:02:57 PM

What bothers me is the is this new entitlement generation that will one day, soon, run the world.
FBO writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 7:15:43 PM

See that, I mock someone for bad grammer then I turn around and do it in my own post... I feel like such a Che, I mean, Dip sh*t
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 7:19:34 PM

Che 4 Prez writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 5:21:04 PM
cuz dvds r oldskool they ll stop making them @ all soon blu ray is for the younger ppl


@Che For Pres

Yet AGAIN, please allow me to "interpret" your comment :

*ahem*

" Because DVDs are old school (Stop you right there. If you want to be more TECHNICAL and ACCURATE with your arguement, you'll have to refer to Betamax, VHS and Lazerdisc. DVDs were only introduced in the mid nineties, so 'Old School' would not be quite ACCURATE.). They'll stop making them (Correction : DVDs and Blu-Rays are still offered because overseas, there are a number of DVD players that adapt only to the DVD codes that are generated overseas, as indicated by a number. So it will be a while before Blu-Rays completely dominate and become the sole market.) all soon. Blu-Ray is for the younger generation (I think you meant generation, rather than people. If you meant people, then the youngest people are infants, newborns and fetus'. So please be more specific in clarifying this). "
trailertrash writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 7:35:30 PM

max- ^^^ lol

and whats a Circuit City :)
vampires_suck writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 10:14:31 PM

Haha Max, i hope you interpret all of Che's posts from now on.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 11:04:37 PM

vampires_suck writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 10:14:31 PM

Haha Max, i hope you interpret all of Che's posts from now on.


@Vampires Suck

I would, but Alex doesn't pay on an hourly rate.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 11:05:58 PM

trailertrash writes:
on October 6th, 2010 at 7:35:30 PM

max- ^^^ lol

and whats a Circuit City :)


@trailertrash

Easy. Circuit City is the Ghost Of Bankruptcy Future for Best Buy.
trailertrash writes:
on October 7th, 2010 at 2:38:53 AM

Touche my friend ...
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on October 7th, 2010 at 2:55:43 AM

sh*t, it was only a matter of time. The only thing I have against Blu-ray (and Best Buys decision to reduce DVD space) is that they dont have everything on Blu-ray. most movies and series havent made the transition, and i dont see them transferring them to blu-rays anytime soon. i guess you could burn em yourself. do they make writable blu-rays yet?
SamND1967 writes:
on October 7th, 2010 at 5:00:23 AM

Are you kidding me?
Great, now I am going to have to spend 100 bucks to continue watching movies.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved