WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Lots of New "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Photos and Story Details
Jul 3rd, 2015
New Photo From Ryan Reynolds' "Deadpool" Comic Book Film
Jul 3rd, 2015
"Monopoly" Movie Hires "The Truman Show" Writer
Jul 3rd, 2015
New Photo From Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight"
Jul 3rd, 2015
"Terminator Genisys" - What Did You Think?
Jul 2nd, 2015
New Trailer for Michael Fassbender's "Steve Jobs" Biopic is Here!
Jul 2nd, 2015
New Trailer for "Transporter" Reboot
Jul 2nd, 2015
Trailer for "Rocky" Spin-Off "Creed"
Jul 1st, 2015
Trailer for Gerard Butler's "Olympus Has Fallen" Sequel, "London Has Fallen"
Jul 1st, 2015
Marlon Wayans Threatening to Make "White Chicks" Sequel
Jul 1st, 2015
Teaser Trailer for Oliver Stone's "Snowden" Film, with Joseph Gordon-Levitt
Jul 1st, 2015
Robert Zemeckis Says He'll Stop Any "Back to the Future" Reboot
Jun 30th, 2015
Titles for "Star Trek 3" and "Guardians of the Galaxy 2" Revealed
Jun 30th, 2015
First Look at Costumes From "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Jun 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Ten Thousand Saints," with Ethan Hawke and Asa Butterfield
Jun 30th, 2015
"Ted 2" Underperforms at Box Office, "Jurassic World" Continues to Dominate
Jun 29th, 2015
"Lucy" and "Colombiana" Sequels in the Works
Jun 27th, 2015
Steven Spielberg Acquires Michael Crichton's "Micro" Novel
Jun 27th, 2015
New "Heroes Reborn" Trailer Arrives Online
Jun 26th, 2015
Photos From New Episodes of "The X-Files"
Jun 26th, 2015
New Trailer for Tom Hardy's "Legend" Thriller
Jun 26th, 2015
Adrian Grenier Would Make "Aquaman" Cameo
Jun 26th, 2015
Shia LaBeouf Hospitalized After Sustaining a Head Injury on Set
Jun 25th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Rampage" Video Game Movie
Jun 25th, 2015
First Look at Gerard Butler in "London Has Fallen"
Jun 25th, 2015
Emma Watson Joins Tom Hanks in "The Circle" Thriller
Jun 25th, 2015
"Spider-Man" Reboot Announces Actor and Director
Jun 24th, 2015
First Trailer for "Paranormal Activity: The Ghost Dimension"
Jun 24th, 2015
Channing Tatum Says He Hates "GI Joe: The Rise of Cobra"
Jun 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "Hitman: Agent 47" Reboot
Jun 24th, 2015
Arnold Schwarzenegger to Star in "478" Drama, Darren Aronofsky is Producing
Jun 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "Masterminds" Comedy, with Zach Galifianakis and Kristen Wiig
Jun 24th, 2015
Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight
Jun 23rd, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Alex Garland on "28 Months Later," "Logan's Run" and "Halo"

Posted: October 3rd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Alex Garland on "28 Months Later," "LoganSubmit Comment
I (Alex) had a chance to sit down with Alex Garland (28 Days Later, Sunshine, Never Let Me Go) and ask him about the status of "28 Months Later," "Logan's Run" remake and Microsoft's "Halo" movie, which the company is now once again interested in making.

28 Months Later: "I'll answer that completely honestly. When we made '28 Days Later,' the rights were frozen between a group of people who are no longer talking to each other. And so, the film is never going to happen unless those people start talking to each other again. There is no script as far as I'm aware."

Logan's Run: "I've been talking to a guy called Carl Rinsch (Ridley Scott's protege) and Warner Bros about making it into a film. I have a slightly uneasy feeling that because I'm now the go-to screenwriter for people who have short lives."

Halo: "I wrote a screenplay for that a long, long time ago. I have no idea what's happening. I was contracted to write one draft of the screenplay. That was it. [That was] eight years ago."

A recent Variety article stated that Stuart Beattie (Pirates of the Caribbean), D.B. Weiss, Josh Olson (A History of Violence) and Garland are working with Microsoft on "Halo" story ideas. But when I asked if the studio has contacted him during the last eight years, Garland replied: "No."

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Detrimental writes:
on October 3rd, 2010 at 7:49:19 PM

Logan's Run is...?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 3rd, 2010 at 8:34:12 PM

"28 Months Later", please don't make this, "28 Days Later" was/is a very good film "28 Weeks Later" was an good sequel right up until the last 5 mins.

"Logans Run" NO REMAKE PLEASE!!!!
Already had one it was called "The Island" and it was utter sh*t.

"Halo" HURRY UP WITH THIS ONE PLEASE!!!!
Charlie9 writes:
on October 3rd, 2010 at 8:51:42 PM

f*ck Halo. f*ck Xbox
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 3rd, 2010 at 9:06:58 PM

Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Wake me up when either one of three is in production.

I mean, they green light 'Cop Out' and we're still waiting on this sh*t ?

What the f*ck ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 3rd, 2010 at 9:24:09 PM

28 Months Later: "I'll answer that completely honestly. When we made '28 Days Later,' the rights were frozen between a group of people who are no longer talking to each other. And so, the film is never going to happen unless those people start talking to each other again. There is no script as far as I'm aware."

Stick them in a room with Uwe Boll, Lindsay Lohan and Shannon Wheeler for a month. Lock the doors and leave them to hear the three bitch, whine and moan about how hard celebrity life is, compared to actually doing 9 to 5 jobs for a living.

They'll be happy to talk then. To get out, of course.

But nonetheless, they'll be Chattering motherf*cking Cathies.
dhkenobi writes:
on October 3rd, 2010 at 9:52:51 PM

His Halo screenplay is GARBAGE. Thrilled that nothing happened with that.
CCBlev writes:
on October 3rd, 2010 at 10:07:49 PM

i dunno bout all of these.
ian_918 writes:
on October 3rd, 2010 at 11:41:09 PM

sad to hear about 28 months.. i liked both the first installments.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on October 3rd, 2010 at 11:47:09 PM

I enjoyed "28 Days Later" but didn't like the sequel so I'm glad that another movie in this franchise isn't going to get made.
Preditorian writes:
on October 4th, 2010 at 12:34:13 AM

Would it be at all crazy to consider the book version of the Halo story? In my eyes the books were far better then the game, and the tale of how the Spartans became who they are shows a hints of the true bond between soldiers and the hard choices that had to be made, and even the devastating defeat at Reach.

Its amazing to see that the story of Halo is equally about the battles that took place in space as to the ones that were fought on the ground, as on ground the Spartans would be gods among ants, in space... the Humans needed 3 to 1 odd in order to be an even fight.

But all in all I would love to see a CGI scene of the "Keys Loop" :)
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on October 4th, 2010 at 12:53:50 AM

@DaveThePhotoGuy The Island is actually a remake of a movie called Parts: The Clonus Horror (not that anybody involved will admit it of course, which is why the makers of the original film sued and actually got a settlement) and I liked it personally.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Parts:_The_Clonus_Horror
Eben1277 writes:
on October 4th, 2010 at 7:01:36 AM

I thought the Island was pretty good, I'm surprised you didn't like it Dave. Ewan McGregor is is good as usual and ScarJo is hot as usual...
VDODSON writes:
on October 4th, 2010 at 7:25:08 AM

f*ck Halo, cant stand that dumbass game.
rabid writes:
on October 4th, 2010 at 11:12:11 AM

Halo sucks, but Logun's Run could be a good remake. I really don't think the Island was the same plot as Logan's Run.
barley_cat writes:
on October 4th, 2010 at 11:54:08 AM

I agree with Eben, The Island wasn't a bad film at all! It worked....
dhkenobi writes:
on October 4th, 2010 at 12:31:08 PM

The halo video games are alright, but the actual story from the halo novels are where its at and what the film(s) should be based off of.
acreshakers writes:
on October 4th, 2010 at 8:07:52 PM

So pretty much you have no info on ANYTHING!
Thx for nothing! BUM
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 4th, 2010 at 8:40:05 PM

@justsmile- thanx for the heads up, never seen that movie as you could tell haha
just watching "The Island" all I could think of was "Logan's Run", but will try to find it and check it out.
kmccarney88 writes:
on October 4th, 2010 at 9:55:07 PM

@Charlie9 - Dont be pissed because your sh*tty Playstation doesn't have a game as awesome as Halo! Actually, dont be pissed because your playstation sucks d*ck altogether.

(I say playstation, because if it's a wii you have, you might need to check to see if you still have a d*ck.)

Halo is friggin awesome and will make an incredible movie with the right writer(s) & director behind it.
kmccarney88 writes:
on October 4th, 2010 at 9:55:51 PM

Same thing goes for you Rabid

Hugh Jackman on Quitting Wolverine and Making "Deadpool" Cameo

Hugh Jackman Quit Wolverine Role Because of Jerry Seinfeld

It's Official: "Jurassic World" Beats "The Avengers" for Biggest Box Office Opening

Marvel and Sony Can't Agree on Which Actor Should Play Spider-Man

Spider-Man Contractually Cannot be Black or Gay

"Jurassic World" is a Massive Hit, Chris Pratt to Return for Sequel

"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Plot Synopsis Revealed

Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight

"Star Wars" Actor Arrested After Insane Car Chase

Targon Egerton Wants to Replace Hugh Jackman as Wolverine
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved