WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Alex Garland on "28 Months Later," "Logan's Run" and "Halo"

Posted: October 3rd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Alex Garland on "28 Months Later," "LoganSubmit Comment
I (Alex) had a chance to sit down with Alex Garland (28 Days Later, Sunshine, Never Let Me Go) and ask him about the status of "28 Months Later," "Logan's Run" remake and Microsoft's "Halo" movie, which the company is now once again interested in making.

28 Months Later: "I'll answer that completely honestly. When we made '28 Days Later,' the rights were frozen between a group of people who are no longer talking to each other. And so, the film is never going to happen unless those people start talking to each other again. There is no script as far as I'm aware."

Logan's Run: "I've been talking to a guy called Carl Rinsch (Ridley Scott's protege) and Warner Bros about making it into a film. I have a slightly uneasy feeling that because I'm now the go-to screenwriter for people who have short lives."

Halo: "I wrote a screenplay for that a long, long time ago. I have no idea what's happening. I was contracted to write one draft of the screenplay. That was it. [That was] eight years ago."

A recent Variety article stated that Stuart Beattie (Pirates of the Caribbean), D.B. Weiss, Josh Olson (A History of Violence) and Garland are working with Microsoft on "Halo" story ideas. But when I asked if the studio has contacted him during the last eight years, Garland replied: "No."

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Detrimental writes:
on October 3rd, 2010 at 7:49:19 PM

Logan's Run is...?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 3rd, 2010 at 8:34:12 PM

"28 Months Later", please don't make this, "28 Days Later" was/is a very good film "28 Weeks Later" was an good sequel right up until the last 5 mins.

"Logans Run" NO REMAKE PLEASE!!!!
Already had one it was called "The Island" and it was utter sh*t.

"Halo" HURRY UP WITH THIS ONE PLEASE!!!!
Charlie9 writes:
on October 3rd, 2010 at 8:51:42 PM

f*ck Halo. f*ck Xbox
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 3rd, 2010 at 9:06:58 PM

Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Wake me up when either one of three is in production.

I mean, they green light 'Cop Out' and we're still waiting on this sh*t ?

What the f*ck ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 3rd, 2010 at 9:24:09 PM

28 Months Later: "I'll answer that completely honestly. When we made '28 Days Later,' the rights were frozen between a group of people who are no longer talking to each other. And so, the film is never going to happen unless those people start talking to each other again. There is no script as far as I'm aware."

Stick them in a room with Uwe Boll, Lindsay Lohan and Shannon Wheeler for a month. Lock the doors and leave them to hear the three bitch, whine and moan about how hard celebrity life is, compared to actually doing 9 to 5 jobs for a living.

They'll be happy to talk then. To get out, of course.

But nonetheless, they'll be Chattering motherf*cking Cathies.
dhkenobi writes:
on October 3rd, 2010 at 9:52:51 PM

His Halo screenplay is GARBAGE. Thrilled that nothing happened with that.
CCBlev writes:
on October 3rd, 2010 at 10:07:49 PM

i dunno bout all of these.
ian_918 writes:
on October 3rd, 2010 at 11:41:09 PM

sad to hear about 28 months.. i liked both the first installments.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on October 3rd, 2010 at 11:47:09 PM

I enjoyed "28 Days Later" but didn't like the sequel so I'm glad that another movie in this franchise isn't going to get made.
Preditorian writes:
on October 4th, 2010 at 12:34:13 AM

Would it be at all crazy to consider the book version of the Halo story? In my eyes the books were far better then the game, and the tale of how the Spartans became who they are shows a hints of the true bond between soldiers and the hard choices that had to be made, and even the devastating defeat at Reach.

Its amazing to see that the story of Halo is equally about the battles that took place in space as to the ones that were fought on the ground, as on ground the Spartans would be gods among ants, in space... the Humans needed 3 to 1 odd in order to be an even fight.

But all in all I would love to see a CGI scene of the "Keys Loop" :)
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on October 4th, 2010 at 12:53:50 AM

@DaveThePhotoGuy The Island is actually a remake of a movie called Parts: The Clonus Horror (not that anybody involved will admit it of course, which is why the makers of the original film sued and actually got a settlement) and I liked it personally.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Parts:_The_Clonus_Horror
Eben1277 writes:
on October 4th, 2010 at 7:01:36 AM

I thought the Island was pretty good, I'm surprised you didn't like it Dave. Ewan McGregor is is good as usual and ScarJo is hot as usual...
VDODSON writes:
on October 4th, 2010 at 7:25:08 AM

f*ck Halo, cant stand that dumbass game.
rabid writes:
on October 4th, 2010 at 11:12:11 AM

Halo sucks, but Logun's Run could be a good remake. I really don't think the Island was the same plot as Logan's Run.
barley_cat writes:
on October 4th, 2010 at 11:54:08 AM

I agree with Eben, The Island wasn't a bad film at all! It worked....
dhkenobi writes:
on October 4th, 2010 at 12:31:08 PM

The halo video games are alright, but the actual story from the halo novels are where its at and what the film(s) should be based off of.
acreshakers writes:
on October 4th, 2010 at 8:07:52 PM

So pretty much you have no info on ANYTHING!
Thx for nothing! BUM
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 4th, 2010 at 8:40:05 PM

@justsmile- thanx for the heads up, never seen that movie as you could tell haha
just watching "The Island" all I could think of was "Logan's Run", but will try to find it and check it out.
kmccarney88 writes:
on October 4th, 2010 at 9:55:07 PM

@Charlie9 - Dont be pissed because your sh*tty Playstation doesn't have a game as awesome as Halo! Actually, dont be pissed because your playstation sucks d*ck altogether.

(I say playstation, because if it's a wii you have, you might need to check to see if you still have a d*ck.)

Halo is friggin awesome and will make an incredible movie with the right writer(s) & director behind it.
kmccarney88 writes:
on October 4th, 2010 at 9:55:51 PM

Same thing goes for you Rabid

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved