WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Did Actors Union Burn Down "The Hobbit" Set?

Posted: October 3rd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Did Actors Union Burn Down "The Hobbit" Set?Submit Comment
"The Hobbit" prequels have been constantly bombarded with problems, which make it surprising that the films are only days away from being greenlit. The project has overcome MGM's financial woes, Guillermo Del Toro dropping out, rights issues, and a union boycott, but now it has to deal with something more dangerous.

Deadline is reporting that Peter Jackson's New Zealand workshop was set on fire on Friday, taking fifty firefighters three hours to put out the blaze. The workshop would have been used for "The Hobbit" movies.

All that's left now is a burned-down warehouse at Jackson's Portsmouth Miniatures Studio which had been used in the past as a specialist miniatures shooting facility, one of the few in the world, to create special effects for his "The Lord of the Rings" trilogy and "King Kong."

Meanwhile, there's still an issue with an Australian actors union. Since Jackson, Warner Bros, New Line and MGM are against the union, many believe that several of its thugs took their anger out on the workshop.

Photo: (click to enlarge)


Click here to read more about "The Hobbit."

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Taco writes:
on October 3rd, 2010 at 4:47:39 AM

this is what greed does!
johnny_boy writes:
on October 3rd, 2010 at 4:48:55 AM

Good reason why unions are ruining it for themselves
Ted Mosby writes:
on October 3rd, 2010 at 4:57:48 AM

thats so f*cked up... I'm so sick of all this Hobbit political crap... just make the movie already!!!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on October 3rd, 2010 at 5:24:36 AM

Seriously? Union thugs? Australian actor's union thugs? Screw The Hobbit, make a movie about that instead.
johnny_boy writes:
on October 3rd, 2010 at 5:25:00 AM

I used to work in a union long time ago during college. Had to pay $50 a month pretty much to keep my job and had to wait 2 years for the good,least to their standards, benefits. I say arrest all responsible and disband this union bullsh*t. Then burn those members and see how they like it.
Sonic writes:
on October 3rd, 2010 at 5:30:33 AM

Union Sc*m (if they did it & if they didn't)
Damon242 writes:
on October 3rd, 2010 at 7:30:58 AM

This report is missing a few facts.

I'm from Wellington, and all of our news sources reported that there was being work done on the warehouse rooftop, and that in all likelihood it was caused by their operation. They were the first to discover the fire had started, and quickly distanced themselves from the warehouse.

Would serve to include that in the report.

However, funnily enough, I thought exactly of what's been suggested when I watched the initial report on the news.
boogiel writes:
on October 3rd, 2010 at 7:31:52 AM

Good Lord! They went too far...Damn The Union!
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on October 3rd, 2010 at 10:59:18 AM

I work for a union and I can tell you this Bullsh*t doesn't suprise me....

I feel bad for Jackson and his crew.
Janus writes:
on October 3rd, 2010 at 11:09:20 AM

Move The Hobbit to another place. No more filming in New Zealand.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 3rd, 2010 at 11:42:12 AM

Did Actors Union Burn Down "The Hobbit" Set?

I personally blame Gollum.
Ranger writes:
on October 3rd, 2010 at 1:49:17 PM

@Damon - thx. for the extra info. Yes a 'torch-on roof' - using that big torch to 'melt' on a new roof does cause fires. Such an accident burned down a MAJOR development in our city.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 3rd, 2010 at 2:28:54 PM

This is turning out to be the Poseidon Adventure of fantasy movies ... if the crew were the kids from The Lord Of The Flies.
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on October 3rd, 2010 at 3:44:27 PM

hahaha i completely agree with freudian: screw the hobbit, make an australian union thug movie instead.
CCBlev writes:
on October 3rd, 2010 at 4:35:47 PM

I personally blame the witch king.
Trentsteel writes:
on October 4th, 2010 at 10:08:26 AM

I'm sure it was just a coincidence.
Odd writes:
on October 4th, 2010 at 4:57:49 PM

See what they dont say is that Lilo-hag and P Hilton were up on that roof smoking a doobie... just what i heard..

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved