WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Philip Seymour Hoffman is Venom in "Spider-Man" Reboot?

Posted: October 1st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Philip Seymour Hoffman is Venom in "Spider-Man" Reboot?Submit Comment
Deadline is reporting that Sony and director Marc Webb (500 Days of Summer) are working very hard to find a young actress to play Mary Jane and Gwen Stacy in the upcoming "Spider-Man" reboot.

The studio is now speaking with Dianna Agron ("Glee"), Georgina Haig (Wasted on the Young), Emma Stone (Zombieland), Mia Wasikowska (Alice in Wonderland) and Dominique McElligott (Moon). A decision should be made soon.

The site added that early talks point to Venom being the main villain in the movie. And Sony is looking at Philip Seymour Hoffman (Doubt, Mission: Impossible 3) to play him.

Click here to read more about "Spider-Man."

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 57 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 3:41:43 PM

'...are working very hard to find a young actress to play Mary Jane...'

How about Frankie Muniz?
Ranger writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 3:43:56 PM

So Sony is only LOOKING at Philip Seymour Hoffman to play Venom. He's not actually cast, thus confirmed as the headline would indicate.

Please WP... don't lie to me... not you! NOT YOU!!
Moose756 writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 3:48:47 PM

He is a great actor who i think with some more upper body strength wou;d be great in this role.
bspence writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 3:53:50 PM

im all for venom being in the new series but for gods sake why the main villain in the first film!? we just saw him in the last raimi installment. is it that f*cking hard to just make the lizard the villain for once?
bspence writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 3:55:13 PM

PSH is a good actor. but im not totally convinced i can picture him as eddie brock / venom. even if im watching him play the character. love the guy, but i just dont know if i believe it.
bspence writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 3:59:40 PM

you know its not hard to come up with a good spidey series outline.
part 1. origin story. green goblin.
part 2. character based. the lizard
part 3. hero doubts himself. scorpion and the alien costume (to set up venom), maybe rhino.
part 4. venom saga part 1. venom
part 5. venom saga part 2. carnage
part 6. finale of series. the sinister six.

...is it me, or would that make for the best spidey series possible? its not that hard to put together.
Ranger writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 4:02:27 PM

@bspence - good list.

The Lizard would be my next choice in a Spidey flick.
bspence writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 4:17:26 PM

@ranger thanks.
i want to see lizard most.
the chameleon would also be cool even though hes not as well known by most people. unless they used to watch the cartoon maybe.
Longo12 writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 4:25:35 PM

Not for the first movvie anyways, but i think having Carnage would be realy cool to see. And he can't really be Venom cause Eddie Brock is a young guy....Lizard would be a good start though, i do agree with that
Frank4969 writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 4:28:17 PM

Great! A fat old short ugly venom. Good choice. Why not nic cage, Shia la douche, Frankie Muniz. PLEASE read the comic to get a sense of what the character looks and acts like. It's not brain surgery people.
Rambo writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 4:31:46 PM

RIP Stephen J. Cannell

http://www.imdb.com/news/ni4659253/
CCBlev writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 4:33:31 PM

jesus Sony you really wanna fukc up Spidey odnt you???
trailertrash writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 4:38:47 PM

Rambo good call

RIP Stephen J. Cannell

Grew up watching his shows

Ateam
Rockford Files
Hunter
Hardcastle and McCormick
Ranger writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 4:48:37 PM

And RipTide.
Ranger writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 4:52:25 PM

RIP Mr. Cannell. The man was a producing machine! What a talent!



Any word if Lohan is dead yet?
trailertrash writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 4:55:40 PM

Bitch is still here !! WTF is up with that ..
Ranger writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 5:04:46 PM

That's worse news than Cannell's passing!
Rambo writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 5:16:05 PM

when is freaky friday 2 coming out?
trailertrash writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 5:24:42 PM

Out of Respect to Tony Curtis ITV in the UK has changed their movie tonight and are now showing Some Like It hot.

If Lohan pegs will they even bother to mention it at all...

Doubt it..
Anung_un_rama writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 6:14:33 PM

i want the Lizard to be the bad guy and lay ground work for venom.... and we are to believe these actors are all high school age? yeah right

make Hoffman the Lizard he's old for venom, and get the Rock to play Kraven?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 7:21:18 PM

I know Topher Grace didn't portray Venom in the best light ( and seriously, I couldn't even take the initiative to blame him. It just looked like Eric from That 70s Show trying to come off like Zach from Saved By The Bell, with a bad case of the temper tantrums ) ... but Philip Seymour Hoffman ?

Who knew Venom was a chubby chaser ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 7:22:24 PM

^ Oh. And rest in peace, Stephen.

Now you and George can plan your next great conquest.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 7:27:14 PM

trailertrash writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 4:38:47 PM

Rambo good call

RIP Stephen J. Cannell

Grew up watching his shows

Ateam
Rockford Files
Hunter
Hardcastle and McCormick


@trailertrash

And Wiseguy. And others he either created or wrote on :
The Greatest American Hero.
The Commish.
21 Jump Street.
Mickey Spillane's Mike Hammer.
Hunter.
Baretta.
johnny_boy writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 9:00:36 PM

They're talking to someone from Glee to be in this? This only confirms our fears of this film turning gay like Twilight or Jake_faggotness at club rainbow
johnny_boy writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 9:06:14 PM

Awwww. Is topher not available to play venom? Or any other very thin untalented actor
maddasahatter writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 9:19:02 PM

@ Longo: there is no way in hell you could release a Carnage movie without it being restricted. AH could you imagine Carnage rated PG-13?
lostwarrior writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 10:03:03 PM

@ ranger not yet, dr's are keeping Lohanalive, so they can see how many diseases one c*nt can have at once.
lostwarrior writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 10:04:28 PM

and I love PSH, and I see him as the Lizard, but vemon come on, no way. He has the look as a professor, but not eddie brock. they should give the role of venom to one of the other actors they were gonna choose to play spidey in this reboot.
jdl107 writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 10:25:14 PM

Seymour "Fat Nigga" Hoffman to play Eddie Brock? Don't get me wrong bros he's a good actor but...... just.... f*ck no.
vaodsi writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 11:45:58 PM

hoffman said if the role of the penguin or any villian in batman was offered to him, he would decline....
i doubt he'll be in a spidey remake.. i mean "reboot"
Jedimax writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 11:54:36 PM

yeah... I think not.
SaulSilver writes:
on October 2nd, 2010 at 12:18:25 AM

Agron for Gwen, Stone for MJ, Ashton Holmes for Harry Osborn, John C McGinley for Jameson.
There, Sony...I just casted your movie for you. You're welcome.
Of course what they actually choose will be far worse.
DHRecords13 writes:
on October 2nd, 2010 at 12:23:00 AM

I could see PSH as the Lizard, but not Venom, that is just ridiculous. Honestly, most actors that look the part of Eddie Brock/Venom can not act their way out of a paper bag. They would have to go with unknown "big man" that can act. Because Vin Diesel would be just as ridiculous
DHRecords13 writes:
on October 2nd, 2010 at 12:23:11 AM

I could see PSH as the Lizard, but not Venom, that is just ridiculous. Honestly, most actors that look the part of Eddie Brock/Venom can not act their way out of a paper bag. They would have to go with unknown "big man" that can act. Because Vin Diesel would be just as ridiculous
Zebastian von Kane writes:
on October 2nd, 2010 at 12:26:51 AM

Gay and it doesn't fit.

Sony, f*ck you!
WonDerBanGeR writes:
on October 2nd, 2010 at 12:50:23 AM

if he bulked up he would kill it....but thats if. Still not interested in this movie :( i actually hope it fails xD unless carnage becomes the villain :)
boogiel writes:
on October 2nd, 2010 at 12:55:35 AM

Too fat. 'Nuff said
rocketman writes:
on October 2nd, 2010 at 12:57:54 AM

Too fat
SquirrelFlyer writes:
on October 2nd, 2010 at 1:09:06 AM

if thats true send his ass to gym jones where they trained the guys for 300...he'll need it, WOOF
SquirrelFlyer writes:
on October 2nd, 2010 at 1:09:25 AM

if thats true send his ass to gym jones where they trained the guys for 300...he'll need it, WOOF
JohnZee writes:
on October 2nd, 2010 at 1:09:55 AM

Spiderman 3 was not as successful as it could have been because Marvel forced Sam Raimi's hand and made him put Venom in it, even though he adamantly fought against it and thought that the inclusion of a character that had nowhere near as much mass appeal as a lot of other Spidey bad guys, was idiotic catering to the group of Spiderman fans that fanatically like Venom.

Frankly put, most movie audiences had no freaking idea who Venom was. And although some Spiderman comic book fans are big fanatical fans of Venom, certainly not ALL of them.

(Like myself, to me he's Bizarro-Spidey/Random Supporting Cast Guy, and Carnage is the pathetic red headed stepchild of Venom.)

And the core reason why Spiderman 3 was known as a suckfest compared to the other two was because of...

Venom.

...And all the plot points that led up to...

Venom.

Exactly as Sam Raimi said.

But now that Raimi is no long involved, and the new director is just happy to have the Spidey job, here comes Marvel again pushing Venom, and this time the director has no choice by to take Venom shoved about as deep down his throat as it could get.

And Venom was problematic for Raimi, so you think Mr. Nobody one successful ROMCOM director is going to pull off Venom?

Good luck with that.

Phillip Seymour Hoffman is being considered? Oh yeah that speaks volumes about how good of a handle the director has on the Venom character.
encoreyourface writes:
on October 2nd, 2010 at 1:17:14 AM

yeah .... right. that fat ass? don't think so. to old anyway.
Ranger writes:
on October 2nd, 2010 at 3:25:15 AM

@Max - great list.

Baretta and Rockford files certainly started things for him.

Wiseguy - amazing show. A very involved storyline.

And 'The Greatest American Hero' - what a cast - Katt, Selleca and Culp. Well cast. But like 'Enterprise' with Bakula... I think they brought the story around too slowly and people lost interest. He should have found that suit's manual a lot sooner (or have an alien instruct because they got tired of him f*cking around with it)... and got going on it. Then when it was canceled and someone else brought it back... it sucked (same as 'Davis Rules' story... great originally, canceled, someone ELSE brought it back... and it sucked).
trailertrash writes:
on October 2nd, 2010 at 3:47:13 AM

Spot on max , nice info ranger

This is what i will always remember.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vEMAInWLZ_c
jdl107 writes:
on October 2nd, 2010 at 3:53:16 AM

I'm watching Starship Troopers right now...... Damn dude I never realized how good the special effects were for a movie made at that time. Not even good it's great, holy sh*t.

It's just too damn bad it has a bit of lame and cheese thrown all over it.
jdl107 writes:
on October 2nd, 2010 at 3:58:29 AM

After a couple more minutes I can safely say it's not wholly because of Casper FagDien.
trailertrash writes:
on October 2nd, 2010 at 4:01:43 AM

That time !!!

My god It was only 1997 .... :)
jdl107 writes:
on October 2nd, 2010 at 4:06:01 AM

I remember Dina Meyer's boobies gave me a pretty good hard on when I was a kid..... now, eh. Not so much.
trailertrash writes:
on October 2nd, 2010 at 4:16:04 AM

A little handful, how sweet they were ..
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on October 2nd, 2010 at 5:32:27 AM

Stephen J Cannell died?! :( I wonder if before he died he typed out his will on a typewriter then pulled it out and threw it in the air then it floated onto a pile of paper and curled up into a "C"?
Rambo writes:
on October 2nd, 2010 at 6:30:44 AM

starship troopers was f*cking awesome!!!Michael Ironside ruled this movie!!!

venomex writes:
on October 2nd, 2010 at 1:21:11 PM

yes, when i think of venom....i think of the fat pervy guy from doubt...or the stoner from twister. /sarcasm
Pepeman writes:
on October 2nd, 2010 at 4:43:10 PM

You guys need to think outside the box a little (okey, alot). Done right, PSH would make a awesome venom. Maybe not the Eddie Brock we've all seen in the comics, but a more human and symphatetic character that could end up stealing the show. PHS is one of the most talented actors working at the moment. Very interesting bit of casting, i hope it pans out.
batdump writes:
on October 2nd, 2010 at 6:29:43 PM

Sony's Spiderman 2 will feature Jack Black as Mysterio...
koul writes:
on October 3rd, 2010 at 1:21:39 AM

how is he gonna be venom? is he gonna play him while a younger actor plays eddie brock?
bill the butcher writes:
on October 3rd, 2010 at 10:10:33 AM

anton yelchin spiderman
emma stone mary jane
david thewlis bad guy
coollewisrocks writes:
on October 12th, 2010 at 1:51:46 PM

Ok Philip Seymour Hoffman is a good actor, but i don't think he can portray the character of venom and unless they go in to the spiderman story a fews years after peter parker became spiderman, then venom won't work because venom comes in later and you can't put him in straight away unless you create a different story for how venom came about

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved