WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ridley Scott Wants $250 Million for "Alien" Prequel

Posted: October 1st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ridley Scott Wants $250 Million for "Alien" PrequelSubmit Comment
The upcoming "Alien" prequel is once again in trouble. First Ridley Scott only wanted to produce, but 20th Century Fox wasn't going to fund the film unless he stepped behind the camera. Scott finally agreed and is now expecting for Fox to pay up.

According to ScriptFlags, the director wants a $250 million budget and is pushing for an 'R' rating due to the level of violence and horror. The studio does not plan to invest anywhere near that sum (especially since Scott's original "Alien" film was made for $11 million) and is shooting for a 'PG-13' rating to maximize its earnings.

At this point, Damon Lindelof ("Lost") is still working on the script, which is said to be very dark. "The film will be really tough, really nasty," Scott previously revealed. "It's the dark side of the moon. We are talking about gods and engineers. Engineers of space. And were the aliens designed as a form of biological warfare? Or biology that would go in and clean up a planet?"

Source: ScriptFlags


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
rockkillers writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 7:00:49 AM

f*ck PG13 for this type of film. LFDH sucked because of this fact, AvP sucked. I'm just picturing the Alien running sidebyside in slow motion with a Ripley type character. Not saying all pg13 is bad, but it is for this type of movie. If you screw this up Fox I will never forgive you! Idiots.
wonderBOY writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 7:25:21 AM

why do they scott to direct his last few movies have been flops and werent really good
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 7:26:21 AM

I can understand that they have issues with the budget, it is quite the hefty sum, but it can not be anything but R. This is not a movie that's going to bring in a lot of new young fans, it is a part of a franchise that has never gone PG. It's about chest-bursting aliens, it's not meant for family fun.

Make love you Fox
Rambo writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 8:35:19 AM

make it R and cut the cgi crap for less budget
coldplayesence writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 9:00:45 AM

At least this one isn't starring Russel Crowe... or I'm talkin' too soon. Anyway, I think this one won't get off the ground.
CCBlev writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 9:08:30 AM

Cold-now that you say it i actually can see Crowe being in this.
coldplayesence writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 9:37:24 AM

Hell no, of course it's possible but come on, he looks like he could beat an Alien, the point of the Alien movies are that the lead is weak or at least looks weak. And Crowe would probably give a speech about freedom, I hate that sh*t. He should cast a woman again or Shia Lebouf. My money would go with Mary Elizabeth Winstead but she's already on The Thing as the lead.
SACdaddy writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 10:14:19 AM

Well its good to see everything is going as predicted for these prequels...down the drain. Ridley is out of his mind if he thinks someone will give him $250mill after that POS Robin Hood flopped. He's also crazy if he thinks anyone is dumb enough to spend that much money on any R-rated film let alone one with such stupid plot elements as Space Jockeys and galactic engineers. Ridley really needs to lay off the cocaine and just turn this disaster over to James Cameron or Neil Blomkamp. Jimmy could secure whatever budget he wants and could push the film in a better direction much like he did with Aliens. Its always been mind boggling to me that they never considered telling Newt's story of survival alone on a planet full of these aliens. Its the perfect "prequel" premise to base a new sci-fi horror film. What's more chilling than a child in danger surrounded by monsters? Newt's story is Mr. Cameron's baby, so he should direct. Blomkamp, on the other hand, has made one of the most successful R-rated sci-fi films in recent memory. D-9 was every bit as creative and ambitious as Scott's Alien, Cameron's Terminator, and Carpenter's The Thing and reflects a level of sci-fi filmmaking we just don't get anymore with all the CGI/3D cheeze being pushed these days. I have no doubt he could squeeze something unique from even this overexposed series, and because of his minimalist budgetary needs we could still get the R-rating necessary to make an ALIEN film work.

Of course, Hwood neither has the vision or intelligence to make any of this happen, so we'll be stuck with another underachieving flushable that's heavy on CGI, 3D, and shaky cam and light on story, violence, emotional appeal. Screw this crap!
CCBlev writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 10:33:34 AM

@Cold i know im just saying. MEW o god if she was in that, it wouldn't be alien acid dripping off of the theatre screen, it would be my luv jucie.
Blank x2 writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 10:41:05 AM

Needless to say, if this is PG-13, I'll pass.

AvP taught us how good one of these movies can be if rated PG-13.
rabid writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 11:09:12 AM

PG-13??
Don't even f*cking bother. I'm not going to see it.
coldplayesence writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 11:43:01 AM

@CC- hell yeah, or probably a non alien thing would burst through the seat in front of me. You get the idea.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 11:49:03 AM

The first one was made, how many decades ago? That same $11 mil would be $125 today.

Get another director to do this. Someone mentioned the box office bomb that was Robin Hood? Didn't that movie cost over $200 mil but only raked in $75 mil? I can see the studio's hesitation.
coldplayesence writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 11:57:42 AM

^^ Yeah, but that was the studio's fault. I mean, give it a go to Robin Hood movie? Seriously?
LeeMaca writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 11:58:12 AM

@ ROCKILLERS
what's LFDH?
coldplayesence writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 11:58:24 AM

They had it coming. Period.
Rambo writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 12:08:39 PM

Russel Crowe will play the alien,sigourney weaver and the janitor.
rocketman writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 1:21:40 PM

f*ck PG and give the man the money then leave him alone to make the film.The mans a visual genius.
Salvador writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 1:23:56 PM

Mjjjmm...

I love the work of Ridley Scott, but I think he's now losing the reality, 250...WTF???

Is he now trying to top "Avatar"?
Anung_un_rama writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 1:24:43 PM

This is a proven franchise that has be sh@t on with all the the last 2 movies and AVP movies. Now I love Predator for what it is, but Alien was more and does not deserve to be grouped with run of the mill monsters or to be used as something lesser, like cannon fodder. so if Ridley needs that 250 mill to make his new master piece then fu@ken give it to him. This is the guy that made 2 of the best sci-fi files ever and he's back please don't mess this up FOX by sticking your dumbass d*ckhead into this movie
gimple writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 3:04:16 PM

AHAHAHAHAHA Yes!! I was very much opposed to another Alien movie, especially one that sounded as stupid as this, but if they make a $250 million dollar Alien movie that would be so f*cking hilarious! They gotta get Crowe to be in it! He can fist fight the alien or something stupid like that.
Longo12 writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 4:20:32 PM

Te plot wouldn;t make sense, If the Aliens arecreated by people then they aren't Aliens
Longo12 writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 4:20:38 PM

Te plot wouldn;t make sense, If the Aliens arecreated by people then they aren't Aliens
darkraven28 writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 6:43:19 PM

Why can't they just cut that budget in half? I mean, whatever happened to the days when you could make a huge movie for 100 mil or a little over? Did that die with Bourne Ultimatum or something?

But seriously, if Scott really wants that, here's what he should do. He needs to invoke James Cameron. While Cameron films have always pretty much been successful, he still hadn't directed a big budget feature film in the 12 years between Titanic and Avatar. But he broke the bank and made millions. The difference here is the R-rating, and honestly some studio is eventually going to have to take the chance of doing a huge budget R-rated movie. Fox should take the chance.
WonDerBanGeR writes:
on October 2nd, 2010 at 1:26:21 AM

MAKE IT R NOT f*ckING PG MAKE IT A HARD R!!!!!! RIDLEY tho 250 million is alot BUT IF IT MAKES ME sh*t MY PANTS I WILL WATCH IT 4 times!!!!!
@ rambo is that alexis texas? nice DP!
jdl107 writes:
on October 2nd, 2010 at 3:44:03 AM

"It's the dark side of the moon. We are talking about gods and engineers. Engineers of space. And were the aliens designed as a form of biological warfare? Or biology that would go in and clean up a planet?"

Oh my f*cking god how many times are we gonna hear this goddamn description. Well, I guess I'm okay, since thats the ONLY thing they f*cking say so far about it.

I never heard about it supposed to be PG-13, lol why am i surprised though it's f*cking 20th century fox
supaflywill writes:
on October 3rd, 2010 at 2:44:25 AM

DO NOT MAKE THIS PG13 !!!! f*ck THAT sh*tE!!! THIS R RATED STUFF - WE ALL WANNA SEE THIS FILMS BEING MADE PROPERLY-THIS WILL EASY MAKE ITS MONEY BACK ON A R RATED !!! THIS IS THE ONLY WAY TO RECUE THIS FRANCHISE !!!
darkraven28 writes:
on October 3rd, 2010 at 11:31:58 AM

Or another way would be to look at it like this. The whole point of this is to make a prequel, right? So, since they're still clearly in the script stage now, Scott and Lindelof need to re-write the script so that the initial prequel story can work as a stand-alone film with a budget at say 125 mil.

And then, in writing, leave little areas open that could be explored in a possible prequel 'sequel' that could be greenlit based on the success of the original prequel and which would complete the bridge between the prequel overall and the original Alien. Does that make sense? I think so, and it would show a little common sense on the part of the filmmakers and ultimately would be a very small compromise. Because there should be no problem with an R-rated film budgeted at just over 100 mil.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved