WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Michael Caine Explains "Inception" Ending

Posted: September 30th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Michael Caine Explains "Inception" EndingSubmit Comment
Ever since Christopher Nolan's "Inception" hit theaters, fans have been wondering about what the ending really means. Now in an interview with BBC Radio, actor Michael Caine explained everything.

SPOILERS AHEAD

"[The spinning top] drops at the end, that's when I come back on," he said. "If I'm there it's real, because I'm never in the dream. I'm the guy who invented the dream."

Back in August, "Inception" costume designer Jeffrey Kurland also said that the totem fell because "the children's clothing is different in the final scene."

There's also the wedding ring theory. Cobb (Leonardo DiCaprio) is seen wearing the ring when he's dreaming, but not in reality. At the end of the movie, he is ring-less.

So there you have it, Cobb was back in reality.

Source: Gizmodo


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
crimsonshaft writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 8:54:38 PM

The only definitive answer would be from Nolan but I don't think he would give it up because the whole point of the top wobbling/spinning at the closing is to leave it up to interpretation.

I never got what the costume designer was saying about the clothes being different. If the whole thing is a dream then why couldn't the clothes change throughout? But if the whole thing is a dream then it doesn't matter what they think of their totem as well, if it falls over it is reality but if you make that assumption in the dream then it is kind of bunk.

I think all these people that worked on the film should just let everyone decide for themselves, it makes it more fun that way. And everyone knows never to trust the opinion of someone who works with costumes.
Amadeus writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 8:55:49 PM

due to the lack of good movies this summer, Inception & Toy Story 3 were the only 2 I payed to watch.
Loved how everyone in the theater started gabbling over this question at the end, but eh, i knew it.
damn good film.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 9:13:06 PM

The only definitive answer would be from Nolan but I don't think he would give it up because the whole point of the top wobbling/spinning at the closing is to leave it up to interpretation
--------------------------

I wonder why people can't just leave it at that. Why must there be an answer. I loved that the ending got people talking about the film long after they had seen it. How many movies get people to do that?
qwertyuiop22ful writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 9:17:23 PM

So, I was wrong... Damn
AYT BALL writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 9:20:44 PM

Nope, not buying it, lets hear it from Nolan
Whitta writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 9:30:57 PM

It would have been better if he was still in the dream and knew it, just dealt with it.
Rodan writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 9:36:17 PM

This reminds me of a question I had about Blade Runner I never figured out or just can't remember since I haven't seen it in awhile.

SPOILERS



So is Decker a replicant or not? Is there even a definitive answer? I haven't seen the Final Cut yet so I don't know how they left it. Man, am I off topic...
masht7 writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 9:47:28 PM

I'm not believing it, this is Caine's opinion. But I do believe its reality but not following what Caine said.
CCBlev writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 9:47:33 PM

So they say
DHRecords13 writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 9:57:14 PM

@crimson, the reasons the costumes wouldn't have changed throughout the movie is that Leo was going based on his memory, so changing the costumes in the final scene implies that he is in reality. I did not go back to the theater to see if the kids are in different clothing so I really don't know. I didn't notice the wedding ring at all in the course of the movie, so I'm gonna have to check that out when it comes out on dvd. I like to think he is in reality.
Bob82 writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 10:20:12 PM

The whole movie works both ways: it could be a dream and it could be a reality. Yes, there are many hints that proove reality: the children's clothing, the wedding ring, etc. There are also some hints that it could be a dream: repeated lines of dialogues, events that seem forced, etc. The only thing that could prove it is the totem... and we don't know what happens with that. Cobb doesn't care anymore about the totem, he is with his kids. His character found closure. So we are the ones left with the totem and Nolan cuts before we know. The point is: you choose what to believe. The movie's point is people choosing dream over reality and viceverse, confusing them both, and that's what Nolan intended with the ending: if you're happy with your choice, so be it. Mine is reality, but I accept others.
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 10:36:59 PM

I took the ending as that we the audience are dreaming. How many dreams have we had where things happen we don't understand and then when something good is about to happen we just wake up. That is what happened...before we got our answer we woke and have to think about little details we can't remember to make sense of it. Just like a dream.
WV-Films writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 10:41:21 PM

The whole thing is a dream people. She tells him that like 900 times in the movie. Plus if it were real life those bad guys are the worst shots ever.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 11:37:00 PM

Rodan writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 9:36:17 PM

This reminds me of a question I had about Blade Runner I never figured out or just can't remember since I haven't seen it in awhile.

SPOILERS



So is Decker a replicant or not? Is there even a definitive answer? I haven't seen the Final Cut yet so I don't know how they left it. Man, am I off topic...


@Rodan

If I remember correctly, he is. I don't know if they swiped his memory of being created as a replicant (ie the electric 'sheep' or back-up memory) but I believe so. It also is similar to Harry Trasker and the implanted dreams he had of Mars (prior to his marriage to the wife played by Sharon Stone).


They oughta build an HBO Series on Michael Caine called Caine's Mutiny : Perspections of What Has Really Happened on Movies Michael Caine has Personally Been On and not tabloid rumors you would pick up at the Express Lane of your Wal-Mart .... or something like that.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 11:37:49 PM

^ Perceptions
murphyslaw93 writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 12:06:06 AM

Nope. He was dreaming. Him being back in reality would lessen the movie for me, it seemed to easy when he was walking through the airport at the end. It was so dreamlike, that sequence. I think he's been in a much larger dream the entire time.

Whatever Nolan's mind says (though the right answer) I hope he never reveals it. Its one of my favorite endings of all time simply because he managed to take one of the most cliched endings of all time and work it so beautifully
GambleBDJ writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 12:31:57 AM

isnt it better not knowing if hes dreaming or not?

@Max ive seen the every version of Blade runner so many times and i dont see any reference to him being a replicant except his unicorn dream.
filmaddict24 writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 1:20:57 AM

Major spoilers
BDeck writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 2:31:11 AM

so...

can some one tell me if arnie was still jaked in at the end of total recall.
BDeck writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 2:31:47 AM

and i thought i was the only one around these parts that looked at wp and gizmodo.
spider-man writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 2:52:12 AM

hey guys whats up.......havent been on in a while
---------------------------
wow profanity filter nice work alex now if i ever get a job i can see the site from work...hot diggity!!!!
trailertrash writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 4:08:46 AM

This is the final 39 seconds of Inception

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IMR5setaS7I
lppinto writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 4:21:59 AM

@Rodan He's a replicant... Ridley Scott already came clear with this one!
CCBlev writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 4:41:54 AM

Trailer-lol nice find
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 7:37:02 AM

For me, the ending to Inception was "back in reality". After seeing Inception twice, that's still how I read the ending. But I doubt Nolan will give us a definitive answer any time soon...it's better left up to everyone to decide for themselves; just like in Blade Runner. (Deckard was not a replicant, IMO)


@ Max Rockatansky Junior,

Wasn't Harry Trasker the character from "True Lies"? He was Douglas Quaid/Hauser in "Total Recall".
batdump writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 12:23:46 PM

Dream. that costume designer said the clothes were slightly dofferent... what does that mean? a button was missing? a grass stain? who buys multiple outfits of very similar looking clothing for their children unless they are school uniforms... do their closets look like peewee Herman's closet?

dream. Mal is alive (jumping to her death woke her up) and trying to make him kill himself to make him wake up... that totem was her totem not his right?
GIST writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 12:38:26 PM

I love the fact that Inception created an uproar of discussions about the theoretical aspect of the final scene. Something I haven't experienced in a long time.
To this day, I'll walk around the city of Toronto and overhear debates about the ending of the film.
& yes, the citizens of Toronto have nothing better to talk about.
& yes, I have nothing better to do with my time. So I just eavesdrop into other peoples' conversations around the city of Toronto.
ChainsawX writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 12:56:17 PM

the beauty of the ending is that it works either way
dynastygod2000 writes:
on October 2nd, 2010 at 9:25:20 AM

i think the ending was simple to figure out beceause in the dreams when he spun the top it spun so tightly but at the end it spun wide and loose.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved