WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Myst" Video Game to Become Live-Action Movie

Posted: September 30th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Myst" Video Game to Become Live-Action MovieSubmit Comment
"Myst," the all-time top selling computer adventure game franchise, is set to become a live-action feature film. The game debuted in 1993 and expanded with four top-selling sequels. It established a market for multi-platform CD-ROM gaming and continues to be the biggest selling adventure game ever.

The problem is that it became popular for the atmospheric experience it provided and doesn't have a simple linear narrative. The filmmakers will draw the plot from the mythology within the games, as well as a trilogy of companion novels.

One focus of the film will be the influence of a human who entered Myst and inadvertently brought down the civilization. A search for a writer is currently going on, which will eventually lead to shopping the project to studios.

In the game, players solve a series of puzzles that unlock secrets to this mysterious world. Players can liberate characters trapped inside of books, but have to decide which ones are good and evil. The goal of players is to return to Myst Island and rescue its owner from his imprisonment inside one of the books.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 11 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 9:07:03 PM

I never did understand that video game.
Inception writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 10:13:35 PM

I remember saying that this was going to happen. You don't have to be a genius to figure that out, some people know Hollywood is out of ideas and anyone can predict their next movie now days.
charmed23 writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 11:11:00 PM

@Inception: um you're wrong cause this project started way back, like 3 years ago, from a small independent but dedicated group. Ive never played Myst but as a fan of adventure games and frequent user on Adventuregamers, I have followed the progress for such a long time now. Hollywood doesnt make this, at least doesnt initiate the project.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 12:16:11 AM

I hate to say this. No, actually I don't.

Hollywood is stupid.

They have been for the last couple of years. Remakes, reboots, movies based on board games and now, a movie based on a game that was before Magic : The Gathering, but after the first Sid Miers Civilization game (and I'm even embarrassed for admitting I know of this game). A couple of years, some geek administrative assistant to some movie studio producer is going to suggest :

a. Duke Nukem in 3D

b. That arcade game where you shoot deer.

c. Magic : The Gathering

d. QBert, the Movie

e. Pog, the Movie

or someother bullsh*t idea floating out of some junior snotnosed motherf*ckers ass like twelve month old stench.

I f*cking hate f*cking Hollywood.


Inception writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 3:15:14 AM

"um you're wrong cause this project started way back, like 3 years ago, from a small independent but dedicated group. Ive never played Myst but as a fan of adventure games and frequent user on Adventuregamers, I have followed the progress for such a long time now. Hollywood doesnt make this, at least doesnt initiate the project."

@charmed23:

I hate to break it to you but things are not the way they used to be. Seriously, you didn't understand my post which was clear as crystal. I'm just gonna saying hi, because I don't know why the f*ck I'm wasting my time replying to you.
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 3:49:46 AM

@Inception The article doesn't mention who is making it so how do you know it has anything to do with Hollywood?
Inception writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 4:22:52 AM

@JUST SMILE:

Do you honestly think that the cinema of Spain, Japan, Korea, Mexico, China, HK, UK, uhhh.. even Bollywood, are interested in creating a movie based on an American computer game? NO. Is any Indy film house gonna invest money in this? Hell NO. So who do we got left in the picture? Hollywood, where all the magic disappears.
Inception writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 4:36:49 AM

Edit:

Indy film house = Indy Film studio
Rambo writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 5:27:08 AM

I thought they would figure out by now after 50 failed attempts of movies based on video games to stop making these movies...
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on October 2nd, 2010 at 4:29:54 AM

@Inception I'm pretty sure Far Cry is an American videogame yet the Far Cry movie is a German & Canadian co-production, it has nothing to do with Hollywood. Also, even though Resident Evil isn't an American videogame it's one of the biggest videogame franchises in the world yet Hollywood had nothing to do with the first movie. Resident Evil was a UK, German, French and Japanese co-production. (Japanese because Capcom were co-producers.) Resident Evil: Apocalypse was co-produced by Screen Gems so I think that's a Hollywood company and a USA company was involved in the last 2 but it might not have anything to do with Hollywood. (It's just called Resident Evil Productions.)
seveltoto writes:
on November 8th, 2017 at 6:08:42 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved