WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ben Affleck to Direct "Tales From the Gangster Squad"?

Posted: September 30th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ben Affleck to Direct "Tales From the Gangster Squad"?Submit Comment
It turned out that Ben Affleck is a better director than actor, since his last two helming gigs (Gone Baby Gone, The Town) have become successful both financially and critically.

Warner Bros recently offered Affleck the chance to direct the upcoming "Superman" reboot, but he turned it down. Now the studio is offering him "Tales From the Gangster Squad," a script about the LA Police Department's secret squad of mercenary cops who tried to chase infamous gangster Micky Cohen out of town in the 1940s.

Cohen started out as hired muscle for Al Capone in Chicago, but became a mogul after being sent to Los Angeles by Murder, Inc kingpin Meyer Lansky to follow Bugsy Siegel, with whom Cohen helped set up the Flamingo Hotel in Las Vegas and ran its sports-betting operation. He also ran a panoply of LA businesses, presumably as fronts to launder money including floral shops, paint stores, nightclubs, casinos, gas stations, a haberdashery, and an ice-cream parlor before getting busted for tax evasion in 1950 and serving four years in federal prison.

It's not clear whether Affleck will take the job since he's also considering directing "Homeland," a pilot for Showtime about a sleeper cell and an ex-CIA operative.

Source: NY Mag


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 10 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rodan writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 8:53:33 PM

Wow, what a career. I had no idea Affleck could pull this off, but after two good movies I'm pretty sure he's the real deal. I hope he does this one. Sounds really good. Although I'm more interested in the noir Michael Mann was trying to do with Leonardo DiCaprio, which I think is still looking for funding.
Lowryder writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 9:09:47 PM

Ok i seen The Town, and it was a good movie, and i think Affleck did a good job, but i DO NOT want him anywhere near the superman reboot, i just dont think he could pull that one off.
Rodan writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 9:28:49 PM

Lowryder, I agree. I really hope he does Tales from the Gangster Squad, but I'm glad he turned down Superman. That's a lot of pressure. Nobody really expected anything from his first 2 movies.
masht7 writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 9:51:19 PM

Affleck has come a long why from those embaressing performances like 'Daredevil' and 'Jersey Girl'. Like what WP said 'Affleck is better director than actor' so by all means, hire him for the posistion.
johnny_boy writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 11:58:01 PM

If he does direct this it'll be another gangster movie and will be viewed as the one trick pony who can only direct gangster movies like Francis Coppola
Ranger writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 12:00:37 AM

So a Jew WAS behind the start-up of Vegas. That figures. I knew the Dagos couldn't do it alone!
Sure they can pour concrete... but who's going to pay for it (enter... The Jew)?




Note - my post was strictly for clarity, no racial (anti-Semitic - Jews = $'s = Accountants / Dago - Ginny - Wop) slams are intended. Thank you.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 12:17:42 AM

Good for Ben.

But will Al Capone have to be a mick, played by Casey ?
Ranger writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 12:34:08 AM

When he and Joaquin aren't wife-swapping.
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 3:44:03 AM

@Ranger Don't forget the jews are responsible for all the wars in the world!
Ranger writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 4:17:42 AM

Yep. And gold-diggers are responsible for all the wars in Mel's house.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved