WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Two More Celebrities Pass Away, Greg Giraldo and Tony Curtis

Posted: September 30th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Two More Celebrities Pass Away, Greg Giraldo and Tony CurtisSubmit Comment
First, "Titanic" actress Gloria Stuart passed away on Sunday at the age of 100. Then Sally Menke, a film editor best known for her long association with director Quentin Tarantino and who edited "Reservoir Dogs," "Pulp Fiction," "Kill Bill" and "Inglourious Basterds," was found dead on Tuesday. She passed away during a hike and was only 56 years old.

On that same Tuesday, director Arthur Penn also passed away. Penn started in television where he directed an adaptation of "The Miracle Worker" and later directed a film version with Anne Bancroft and Patty Duke. But he's best know for his 1967 gangster film "Bonnie and Clyde." He died of heart failure at the age of 88.

Just yesterday, comedian Greg Giraldo passed away from an accidental prescription overdose at the age of 44. Giraldo was found by a friend and rushed to a hospital in New Jersey where he was in critical condition. Four days after the incident, Giraldo died with his family by his side.

The comedian wasn't always into comedy. During his younger days, Giraldo was a lawyer and even graduated from Columbia University and Harvard Law school. He eventually quit his full-time job and got into comedy. He is best know for his performances on Comedy Central roasts, appearances on "Tough Crowd with Colin Quinn," and as a judge on "Last Comic Standing."

And now according to daughter Jamie Lee Curtis, Oscar-nominated actor Tony Curtis has died at the age of 85. Curtis was nominated for an Oscar for "The Defiant Ones," but is better known for the 1959 comedy "Some Like It Hot" and "Spartacus."

Earlier this month (September 4th), stand-up comedian Robert Schimmel died during a car crash at the age of 60. His daughter was driving and swerved to avoid another car. Schimmel was a frequent guest on "Late Night with Conan O'Brien" and on Howard Stern's radio show.

Source: Various


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 45 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 7:17:26 AM

Greg giraldo a great talent died. Dam you Lindsey Lohan for still being able to cheat death.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 7:24:37 AM

Tony's gone ? Well, now the three main cast members of Some Like It Hot are now reenacting it in the beyond ...

Greg Girlado, hunh ? Looks like he took the Heath Ledger way of dipping his toe into the deep corner of the pool. But after having to deal with Colin Quinn, I suppose anyone would try to commit suicide.
trailertrash writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 7:24:44 AM

Tony Curtis RIP

Sad day a true hollywood Legend

Some like it hot one of the greatest comedys i've ever seen.


Greg Giraldo RIP also ...

Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 7:25:40 AM

Nice to know the curse of threes is still going strong in Hollyweird ...
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 7:31:20 AM

Also Malcom Douglas died


He was the original and true Crocodile Hunter
trailertrash writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 7:32:02 AM

Sure is max ...
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 7:43:48 AM

@Johnny: Don't worry, her day will come. I promise you, unless she makes a complete turn around (which seems unlikely), she will be dead in about two years. We can only hope that she takes Lady Gaga with her.
Eben1277 writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 8:30:00 AM

Greg Giraldo was really talented, and Robert Schimmel was really really f*cking funny
johnny_boy writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 8:50:39 AM

@ nightmare- you sure have a great way in making people feel better.
CCBlev writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 8:52:01 AM

R.I.P you guys deserve it.
VDODSON writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 9:50:27 AM

Cant stand Lady Gaga.
The R1DDL3R writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 10:18:23 AM

Greg Giraldo was the funniest dude on the roast....I wonder if Lisa Lampenelli is gonna make a joke of it
Rambo writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 10:21:58 AM

@VDODSON

are you trying to say who's next on your celebrity death wish list?
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 10:46:05 AM

Wow. Greg Giraldo. Did NOT see that coming.
Inception writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 11:09:56 AM

Greg Giraldo was one of the best, if not, the best roaster, seriously, the guy was a genius in his field. His stand up shows where also superb. I really hate to see a talented person go away, specially a great comedian. Instead the non-talented Dane Cook is still alive, now that guy sucks and he deserves to be the one in the tomb or preferably in Lohan's womb.

Greg Giraldo RIP
Ranger writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 11:10:36 AM

I read of Greg's passing yesterday.

Now Mr. Curtis. Spartacus out 50 years ago already... amazing.

RIP Guys. Make room for a Lohan (I don't care which one)... they're next (God willing).
Inception writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 11:16:13 AM

I always thought of this, what if there was an event where Daniel Tosh battles Greg Giraldo, who would have been the "winner" in that roast event?
SACdaddy writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 11:31:52 AM

sh*t, at first glance I thought this said Geraldo had died. What a c*cktease.

RIP Tony Curtis. You were the true definition of Hollywood excellence. George Clooney and the rest of the leading men in Hwood have a lot to live up to in your shadow.
Ranger writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 11:33:03 AM

@SAC - well said.
drumpro64 writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 11:35:04 AM

But people still on the death of Mickeal Jackson so we don't hear about them.
Ranger writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 11:47:13 AM

MICHAEL JACKSON DIED?!?!?!
Rambo writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 12:26:19 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jZnUI8tfKjg
barley_cat writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 12:39:47 PM

Aw no!! I Love Tony Curtis! R.I.P to the final lead in Some Like it Hot huh?!
Kurskij writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 12:59:44 PM

He had enormous balls and lived a good life.

RIP
CCBlev writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 1:02:49 PM

@Vdod I want lady caca dead more than i do Lohan
The-BRAD writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 1:26:34 PM

RIP Mr. Curtis.

RIP Mr. Giraldo.

Speaking of Giraldo, do you think he'll have his underwear outside his pants in the casket?
Great roaster, great comedian. will be missed.
-Almost as much as Mr. Curtis...
maddasahatter writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 3:21:18 PM

@ Inception you said it best man. R.I.P. Greg Giraldo and Tony Curtis.
rocketman writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 4:53:38 PM

RIP.
The-BRAD writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 4:56:09 PM

Sorry, Alex probably won't like this, but this was by Greg Giraldo

Why is marijuana not legal? Why is marijuana not legal?
It's a natural plant that grows in the dirt.
Do you know what's not natural?
80 year old dudes with hard-ons. That's not natural.
But we got pills for that.
We're dedicating all our medical resources to keeping the old guys erect,
but we're putting people in jail for something that grows in the dirt?

You know we have more prescription drugs now.
Every commercial that comes on TV is a prescription drug ad.
I can't watch TV for four minutes without thinking I have five serious diseases.
Like: "Do you ever wake up tired in the morning?"
Oh my god I have this, write this down. Whatever it is, I have it.
Half the time I don't even know what the commercial is:
people running in fields or flying kites or swimming in the ocean.
I'm like that is the greatest disease ever. How do you get that?
That disease comes with a hot chick and a puppy.

The schools now: It is all about self-esteem in the schools now.
Build the kids' self-esteem, make them feel good about themselves.
If everybody grows up with high self-esteem, who is going to dance in our strip clubs?
What's going to happen to our porno industry?
These women don't just grown on trees.
It takes lots of drunk dads missing dance recitals before you decide to blow a goat on the internet for fifty bucks.
And if that disappears, where does that leave me on a Friday night with my new high speed connection?

Masterminds are another word that comes up all the time.
You keep hearing about these terrorists masterminds that get killed in the middle east.
Terrorists masterminds.
Mastermind is sort of a lofty way to describe what these guys do, don't you think?
They're not masterminds.
"OK, you take bomb, right? And you put in your backpack. And you get on bus and you blow yourself up. Alright?"
"Why do I have to blow myself up? Why can't I just:"
"Who's the f*cking mastermind here? Me or you?"

Americans, let's face it: We've been a spoiled country for a long time.
Do you know what the number one health risk in America is?
Obesity. They say we're in the middle of an obesity epidemic.
An epidemic like it is polio. Like we'll be telling our grand kids about it one day.
The Great Obesity Epidemic of 2004.
"How'd you get through it grandpa?"
"Oh, it was horrible Johnny, there was cheesecake and pork chops everywhere."

Nobody knows why were getting fatter? Look at our lifestyle.
I'll sit at a drive thru.
I'll sit there behind fifteen other cars instead of getting up to make the eight foot walk to the totally empty counter.
Everything is mega meal, super sized. Want biggie fries, super sized, want to go large.
You want to have thirty burgers for a nickel you fat mother f*cker. There's room in the back. Take it!
Want a 55 gallon drum of Coke with that? It's only three more cents.

Sometimes you have to suffer a little bit in your youth to motivate yourself to succeed in later life.
Do you think if Bill Gates got laid in high school, do you think there'd be a Microsoft?
Of course not.
You got to spend a long time in your own locker with your underwear shoved up your ass before you start to think,
"You'll see. I'm going to take of the world of computers! I'll show them."

We're in one of the richest countries in the world,
but the minimum wage is lower than it was thirty five years ago.
There are homeless people everywhere.
This homeless guy asked me for money the other day.
I was about to give it to him and then I thought he was going to use it on drugs or alcohol.
And then I thought, that's what I'm going to use it on.
Why am I judging this poor bastard.
People love to judge homeless guys. Like if you give them money they're just going to waste it.
Well, he lives in a box, what do you want him to do? Save it up and buy a wall unit?
Take a little run to the store for a throw rug and a CD rack? He's homeless.
I walked behind this guy the other day.
A homeless guy asked him for money.
He looks right at the homeless guy and says why don't you go get a job you bum.
People always say that to homeless guys like it is so easy.
This homeless guy was wearing his underwear outside his pants.
Outside his pants. I'm guessing his resume isn't all up to date.
I'm predicting some problems during the interview process.
I'm pretty sure even McDonalds has a "underwear goes inside the pants" policy.
Not that they enforce it really strictly, but technically I'm sure it is on the books.
rabid writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 5:08:58 PM

My favortie Tony Curtis movie was The Circus of Dr. Lao... there's something to reboot hollywood.
Ranger writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 5:31:51 PM

Spartacus or The Defiant Ones.

Curtis = Legend! AND such Class that has long since gone in the Biz.
trailertrash writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 6:34:11 PM

Agree 100%

Some like it hot
Trapeze
Vikings
Spartacus
Defiant one
Boston Strangler

The TV show's The Persuaders with Roger Moore (who has said some really nice things today)
Vegas as well with Robert Urich

And he made it on to The Beatles Sgt Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band album cover.

Which says it all about Tony Curtis and highly people regarded him....

RIP
Ranger writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 6:50:43 PM

Not intending to curse things, but...

Sidney Poitier I will mourn the day he passes.

Talk about one man in some of the most socially relevant movies of the 20th century.

LONG LIVE SIDNEY!!!!
trailertrash writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 7:12:33 PM

The guy is a class act for sure, a trail blazer for black actors back in the late 50's and 60's

And he directed Stir Crazy , love that movie and in the heat of the night is a classic.

He should still be involved in movies ..

LONG LIVE SIDNEY
trailertrash writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 7:18:02 PM

RIP Arthur Penn as well

Little Big Man
Bonnie and Clyde
The Chase, with Brando, Jane Fonda (never looked better wow) and Redford great film well worth seeing if you've not seen it.
Ranger writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 11:40:58 PM

I have worked with Georg Stanford Brown (Bullitt, The Rookies (TV), Roots) from Stir Crazy. A really nice guy.

Stir Crazy... Wilder and Pryor on their A-Game!

As for Mr. Penn and Bonnie & Clyde... what a movie!

I wish we could swap the Lovag family (and by that I mean Jake's family) to get anyone of these people of worth back.

trailertrash writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 4:01:41 AM

Nice , he was the Doctor in Bullitt (said before one of my fav movies)and Stir Crazy was both those guys on top form, Gene wilder always seems like such a nice guy.

Dont know if you have ever seen Funny about love directed by Leonard Nimoy not a great movie but Wilder was great , it was just after Gilda Radner had died and he must of used that for that for insperation in the movie.

Working with georg what was that doing mate ?

I'm with you on the death swap deal

We will take someone like saddam hussein back if hell takes Jake, Lindsay and Shannon price.

Ranger writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 4:23:36 AM

I can't tell you about the George work (without giving up something). A sad thing is... when I met him, I didn't know he was in Bullitt... otherwise I would have asked him what Steve McQueen was like. When he was introduced only as 'George'... I looked at him and said 'George Stanford Brown' from 'The Rookies'?! And he replied: 'are you that old?' I said: 'Thx. Georg.'

And no... haven't seen the Nimoy directed movie (lol... and just met him this past year as well... talk about your coinky-dinks!).

I miss Rosanna-Rosanna Danna (sp?).
trailertrash writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 4:41:54 AM

Fair play on the georg job thing ...

HAHAHA Rosanna-Rosanna Danna , She had such wild hair !! lol

Back when SNL was really funny ...
Ranger writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 4:48:20 AM

Yep...

Jane... you ignorant slut!
Ranger writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 4:50:27 AM

http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=jane+you+ignorant&aq=0
Ranger writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 4:51:00 AM

Whoops. I meant...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y7S_XWuKpHc
trailertrash writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 5:04:11 AM

LOL !! Nice clip and a slim Dan too

There is a little rumor here Michael Douglas has took a turn for the worst, Hope this isn't true.
Ranger writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 10:11:20 AM

I haven't heard... but yes, hope it's not true either.
Monroe writes:
on October 1st, 2010 at 12:52:04 PM

So sad that Tony Curtis passed away, he will always be one of my favourite actors! he will be missed :(

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved