WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Trent Reznor and HBO Developing "Year Zero" Sci-Fi Series

Posted: September 29th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Trent Reznor and HBO Developing "Year Zero" Sci-Fi SeriesSubmit Comment
It has been over three years since Nine Inch Nails frontman Trent Reznor first mentioned turning his "Year Zero" album into a feature film. And now, he has revealed that HBO is moving forward a "Year Zero" TV series.

"We are in pre-production with HBO and BBC to do a miniseries," Reznor told LA Times. "It's exciting. I probably shouldn't say too much about it except that I understand that there's a thousand hurdles before anything shows up in your TV listing. Our writer is Daniel Knauf from 'Carnivale' and he's busy with pages right now. So it's very much alive and incubating at the moment."

Plot (courtesy of Wikipedia): The story takes place in the United States in the year 2022, which has been termed "Year 0," by the American government, being the year that America was reborn. The US had suffered several major terrorist attacks, apparently by Islamic fundamentalists, including attacks on Los Angeles and Seattle. In response, the government granted itself emergency powers and seized absolute control on the country. The US government is now a Christian fundamentalist theocracy, maintaining control of the populace through institutions like the Bureau of Morality and the First Evangelical Church of Plano. Americans must get licenses to marry, bear children, etc. Subversive activities can result in these licenses being revoked. Dissenters regularly disappear from their homes in the night, and are detained in federal detainment centers and sanitariums, if not executed.

The government corporation Cedocore distributes the drug Parepin through the water supply, making Americans who drink the water apathetic and carefree. There are several underground rebel groups, mainly operating online, most notably Art is Resistance and Solutions Backwards Initiative. The First Evangelical Church of Plano is a fundamentalist Protestant Christian church which is favored by the neo-conservative government.

Amidst all of this are increasing sightings of what is labeled "The Presence," which manifests as a pair of massive ghostly hands and arms extending down from the sky into the ground. Despite early attributions of The Presence to drug-induced mass hysteria, it soon becomes clear that it is a physical phenomenon capable of being recorded on video and film. Theories vary on the real cause of the appearances, but the prevailing opinion appears to be that the hands represent God or some other equivalent supernatural force. On February 10th, 2022, a government official named Doug reports that sightings of the phenomenon are rapidly being reported from all over the world. The sequence ends with a broken message announcing the appearance of The Presence over the United States Capitol Building. The message cuts off suddenly, implying the end of the world.

Working to prevent this are the Solutions Backwards Initiative, which is a group of students, professors, and computer experts who devise a successful means with which to send information back through time using quantum mechanics in order to prevent the dystopian future (and eventual apocalypse) they live in from ever occurring. The websites and music of the "Year Zero" alternate reality game are implied to be part of the information packets sent back through the wormholes.

Source: LA Times, Wikipedia


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
vivier writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 6:01:29 AM

It's gonna be awesome.
Max Fischer writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 6:59:08 AM

tl;dr => Is this about Year One's prequel?
johnny_boy writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 7:00:48 AM

"The US had suffered several major terrorist attacks, apparently by Islamic fundamentalists"

Seems like that may happen in reality unless we stop all this political correctness bullsh*t.
Amadeus writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 7:35:38 AM

^
Oct.30, March to Restore Sanity/ Keep Fear Alive; I think they might be on to something...

Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 7:41:21 AM

"We are in pre-production with HBO and BBC to do a miniseries," Reznor told LA Times. "It's exciting. I probably shouldn't say too much about it except that I understand that there's a thousand hurdles before anything shows up in your TV listing. Our writer is Daniel Knauf from 'Carnivale' and he's busy with pages right now. So it's very much alive and incubating at the moment."

Plot (courtesy of Wikipedia): The story takes place in the United States in the year 2022, which has been termed "Year 0," by the American government, being the year that America was reborn. The US had suffered several major terrorist attacks, apparently by Islamic fundamentalists, including attacks on Los Angeles and Seattle. In response, the government granted itself emergency powers and seized absolute control on the country. The US government is now a Christian fundamentalist theocracy, maintaining control of the populace through institutions like the Bureau of Morality and the First Evangelical Church of Plano. Americans must get licenses to marry, bear children, etc. Subversive activities can result in these licenses being revoked. Dissenters regularly disappear from their homes in the night, and are detained in federal detainment centers and sanitariums, if not executed.

1. the BBC AND HBO ? Very, very cool. Both are known for very groundbreaking programming.

2. A church in Plano being a superchurch AND a governmental authority ? Richardson and Addison, Texas must be jealous as all get out.

3. A license to breed ? Would never work in Hollywood.

4. Mr. Reznor must've locked himself in a room and read 1984 over and over again.

CCBlev writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 8:15:21 AM

sounds interesting.
Bunny X writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 9:15:27 AM

Sounds pretty good. But I'm cautious of Reznor's hand in all this. Fine, come up with a good concept but leave the TV stuff to the TV people.
Ari Gold writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 10:07:42 AM

I reckon this concept sounds better in theory than it would on screen.
secondbest writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 11:43:35 AM

Finally. Can't wait. Although if they got the writer from Carnivale, maybe they'll be *ssholes and cancel after two seasons. Can't get over that.
LEONCIO writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 12:14:57 PM

"Fine, come up with a good concept but leave the TV stuff to the TV people."

That's exactly what he's doing, he wrote the story and concepts for his 2007's album and ARG, but he isn't going to write the show himself, that's Knauf's job, to make a great tv show out of it.

"YZ" was also a f*cking great album btw. I'm just a NIN geek. XD

This is the site of the people that worked with TR in YZ's ARG:

http://www.42entertainment.com/yearzero/

They won several awards (i.e.: "Webby Awards", that are like the Oscars for the internet) for this ARG, and they made the "Dark Knight" ARG later and several things else.
OneTime writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 12:19:13 PM

wow...
captnhowdy writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 12:49:41 PM

This has potential to be entertaining, nine inch nails hasn't dropped a decent album since the fragile. what ever happened to the organic sound of this band verses the sound that is created via a laptop program that allows trent to make music in a manufactured style during his tours.

but they still deliver killer concerts...

worstpreviews failed to mention the part in this year zero concept where us troops were going door to door killing people (suspected terrorists) under the influence of a drug that rewarded homicidal deeds with orgasmic pleasure which only made these troops more inclined to kill, scary schtuff lol.
rquinn1 writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 1:01:38 PM

When I first started reading the plot I thought it was taking the plot of "Equilibrium", with the Neo-Conservative Church State taking control following a disaster and the emotion hindering drug (here Parepin and in Equilibrium Prozium), but the further I read it otherwise seems to be a unique concept for a show.
LEONCIO writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 1:30:42 PM

"nine inch nails hasn't dropped a decent album since the fragile"

Oh please... XD

"With Teeth", "Year Zero", "GhostsI-IV", "The Slip", even Saul William's "Niggy Tardust", are all fantastic albums imo.

And NIN has always used technology for their/his albums, "Ghosts" or "With Teeth" probably have a more "organic" sound than "The Downward Spiral" or "PHM", which are quite electronic-based and were made with computers with a technology much inferior to today's laptops (a 2007's laptop used for "YZ" must be like a billion times better than a PC or a Mac from 1988 or 1993 when those old classic albums were recorded).

And "YZ" is the only one made with laptop technology during tours, but the final recording sessions were made in the studio, and yes, with computers, like basically every other NIN's album. Even Marilyn Manson's "Antichrist Superstar" (produced by Reznor) was recorded with computers, he has never used tapes to record, he always records his stuff with computers to easily manipulate the recordings the way he wants.

Today's laptops music software is excellent for music recording, you can have a full studio wherever you want and make a fantastic sounding album if you know how, not everybody makes bad music with cheap software like Fruityloops. I can't make sh*t whit a laptop, but a genius like this man can make fantastic music.

The "he hasn't made a decent album since The Fragile" argument is just bullsh*t made up by people who must have not listened properly his last albums, because they are excellent, including "The Social Network" score that was released yesterday and it's just a freaking (profanity filter GTFO) masterpiece.

Sorry, I've nothing personal against you captnhowdy (obviosuly), but I'm just a NIN fanboy and I had to say this. XD
captnhowdy writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 3:10:18 PM

leoncio,

its only oppinions man lol, after the fragile none of the albums grabbed my attention. i mean i wanted to like em, i gave em a listen but they didnt peak my interest, as for the whole technology verses organic argument. yes i do know they always use keyboards laptops etc, but when you read the interviews about his earlier albums he acctually played on instruments in studio (also using cardboard boxes), verses making music on a laptop in a hotel room.

i find the earlier albums to be more guitar driven (more metal) albums then the recent that have the occasional bleeps and blurps.

dont get me wrong i still enjoy some of the music that has been released from his camp, like "how to destroy angels" and the occasional song from '00s albums

remember its only oppinions, there are differing perspectives then that of yours.


Man in Black writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 3:56:13 PM

Good for reznor as long as he doesnt turn in to a one trick pony like rob zombie
disturbed01 writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 5:00:50 PM

anything trent does is bound to be awesome
Willy_Idle writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 5:57:03 PM

im really hoping this doesnt suck
liked year zero the most post fragile
LEONCIO writes:
on September 29th, 2010 at 6:48:04 PM

@captnhowdy:

I know, I know, just opinions. But like I said I'm a fanboy and I had to say that. XD

And most of the instruments (guitars, drums, etc...) were made with computers in the old albums too, except a few things here and there, exactly the same way he has made his last albums. For instance, the drums on "With Teeth" were mostly real and mostly played by Dave Grohl (or Jerome Dillon in a few songs), and Josh Freese recorded drums for "The Slip", while most of drums (and guitars) in "The Downward Spiral", "PHM", "Broken" or "The Fragile" were made with computers with a few exceptions (final drums in "Piggy" by Reznor himself or drums in "Hurt" played by Vrenna, but most of the rest are made with computers).

But anyway, just different tastes and opinions I guess, but I love every album and I need to defend them or I'll lose my fanboy licence. XD
Sykora4417 writes:
on September 30th, 2010 at 2:18:23 PM

While I'm all for healthy distrust of government in general (Democrat or Republican), just once I'd like to see the evil government NOT be based in some form of the Republicans. After all, the Democrats are just as interested in Governmental Control of our lives through social engineering (wealth redistribution, government run health care, etc.) and censorship (the PMRC, Fairness Doctorine and Net "Neutrality") as the other side is.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved